DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-3 in the Remarks, filed May 19, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 4, 6-11, 15, 18, 20-25, 29, and 30 under 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Pelletier et al (US Publication 2018/0123769 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 11, 15, 18, 20-23, 25, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US Publication 2017/0223670 A1) in view of Pelletier et al (US Publication 2018/0123769 A1).
Regarding to claims 1 and 29, Chen discloses an apparatus 1400 (fig. 14) for wireless communications at a user equipment UE 115, comprising: at least one processor 1420 (page 14 paragraph 0147); and memory 1410 coupled with the at least one processor (page 14 paragraph 0146), the memory storing instructions 1415 executable by the at least one processor (page 13 paragraph 0121) to cause the UE to: monitor 1020/1025 a search space for a first downlink control message (fig. 10 page 11 paragraph 0094); receive 1035 the first downlink control message based at least in part on the monitoring (page 11 paragraph 0095); and perform 1040 a redundancy check associated with the first downlink control message based at least in part on a first cyclic redundancy check CRC (page 5 paragraph 0058), wherein a quantity of bits included in the first CRC is based at least in part on one or more transmission characteristics (formats) of the first downlink control message (pages 11-12 paragraphs 0105-0106).
Chen fails to teach for the quantity of bits included in the first CRC is from a set of defined lengths of CRCs, and wherein each length of the set of defined lengths is associated with the one or more transmission characteristics.
However, Pelletier discloses a system 100 for downlink control (fig. 1A), wherein a quantity of bits included in a CRC is from a set of defined lengths 16/24 of CRCs, and wherein each length of the set of defined lengths is associated with one or more transmission characteristics (page 20 paragraph 0174; associated with DCI formats).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange for the set of CRCs lengths as taught by Pelletier into Chen’s system to determine the validity of DCI based on properties of the set of DCI.
Regarding to claim 4, Chen discloses receive a configuration message indicating the quantity of bits included in the first CRC (page 10 paragraph 0087).
Regarding to claim 6, Chen discloses the one or more transmission characteristics comprise one or more component carriers used to transmit the first downlink control message, one or more bandwidth parts used to transmit the first downlink control message, a subcarrier spacing used to transmit the first downlink control message, a control resource set associated with the search space, the search space (page 11 paragraph 0105), an aggregation level associated with the first downlink control message, a size of a payload of the first downlink control message, a downlink control information format of the first downlink control message (page 11 paragraph 0105), a radio network temporary identifier associated with the first downlink control message (page 5 paragraph 0058), or any combination thereof.
Regarding to claim 7, Chen discloses receive 1035 a second downlink control message (in second search space) based at least in part on receiving the first downlink control message (page 11 paragraph 0095); and perform a redundancy check associated with the second downlink control message based at least in part on a second CRC, wherein a quantity of bits included in the second CRC is based at least in part on one or more transmission characteristics associated with the second downlink control message (pages 11-12 paragraph 0106).
Regarding to claim 8, Chen discloses the quantity of bits included in the first CRC is different than the quantity of bits included in the second CRC (page 12 paragraph 0106).
Regarding to claim 9, Chen discloses the quantity of bits included in the first CRC is different than the quantity of bits included in length of the second CRC based at least in part on a format or a radio network temporary identifier associated with the first downlink control message being different than a format or a radio network temporary identifier associated with the second downlink control message (pages 11-12 paragraph 0106).
Regarding to claim 11, Chen discloses the first downlink control message is received on a downlink control channel monitoring occasion (page 11 paragraph 0094), and wherein the second downlink control message is multiplexed with a downlink data channel (page 12 paragraph 0107).
Regarding to claims 15 and 30, Chen discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity 105 (fig. 10), comprising: at least one processor; and memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions 1235 executable by the at least one processor (page 15 paragraphs 0153-0154) to cause the network entity to: identify 1010 data for transmission in a first downlink control message (page 11 paragraph 0094); apply 1030 a first cyclic redundancy check CRC to the data (page 5 paragraph 0058), wherein a quantity of bits included in the first CRC is based at least in part on one or more transmission characteristics (formats) associated with the first downlink control message (pages 11-12 paragraphs 0105-0106); and transmit 1035 the first downlink control message via a search space based at least in part on applying the first CRC (page 11 paragraph 0095).
Regarding to claim 18, Chen discloses transmit a configuration message indicating the quantity of bits included in the first CRC (page 10 paragraph 0087).
Regarding to claim 20, Chen discloses the one or more transmission characteristics comprise one or more component carriers used to transmit the first downlink control message, one or more bandwidth parts used to transmit the first downlink control message, a subcarrier spacing used to transmit the first downlink control message, a control resource set associated with the search space, the search space (page 11 paragraph 0105), an aggregation level associated with the first downlink control message, a size of a payload of the first downlink control message, a downlink control information format of the first downlink control message (page 11 paragraph 0105), a radio network temporary identifier associated with the first downlink control message (page 5 paragraph 0058), or any combination thereof.
Regarding to claim 21, Chen discloses identify 1035 a second data for transmission (in second search space) in a second downlink control message (page 11 paragraph 0095); and apply a second CRC to the second data, wherein a quantity of bits included in the second CRC is based at least in part on one or more transmission characteristics associated with the second downlink control message (pages 11-12 paragraph 0106); and transmit 1035 the second downlink control message based at least in part on transmitting the first downlink control message (page 11 paragraph 0095).
Regarding to claim 22, Chen discloses the quantity of bits included in the first CRC is different than the quantity of bits included in the second CRC (page 12 paragraph 0106).
Regarding to claim 23, Chen discloses the quantity of bits included in the first CRC is different than the quantity of bits included in length of the second CRC based at least in part on a format or a radio network temporary identifier associated with the first downlink control message being different than a format or a radio network temporary identifier associated with the second downlink control message (pages 11-12 paragraph 0106).
Regarding to claim 25, Chen discloses the first downlink control message is received on a downlink control channel monitoring occasion (page 11 paragraph 0094), and wherein the second downlink control message is multiplexed with a downlink data channel (page 12 paragraph 0107).
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Pelletier and Zhu (US Publication 2021/0058205 A1).
Regarding to claims 3 and 17, Chen and Pelletier combined disclose all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 15, except for receive/transmit a configuration message indicating the associations between the set of defined lengths and the one or more values of the one or more transmission characteristics. However, Zhu discloses a system (fig. 3) for receiving/transmitting a configuration message 304 indicating the associations between the set of defined lengths and the one or more values of the one or more transmission characteristics (page 5 paragraph 0078; DCI size/format). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange a configuration message as taught by Zhu into the combination of Chen and Pelletier’s system to determine appropriate CRC length for corresponding DCI format, thereby saving the resources for DCI transmission.
Claims 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Pelletier and Liao et al (US Publication 2024/0098754 A1).
Regarding to claims 10 and 24, Chen and Pelletier combined disclose all the limitations with respect to claims 7 and 21, except for the first downlink control message is a first stage downlink control information and the second downlink control message is a second stage downlink control information. However, Liao discloses a user equipment 910 (fig. 9) for receiving a first stage downlink control information and a second stage downlink control information (fig. 10 page 7 paragraphs 0063- 0064). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange for first and second stages downlink control information as taught by Liao into the combination of Chen and Pelletier's system reduce blind decoding complexity and DCI overhead.
Claims 12, 13, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Pelletier and Chen (2) et al (US Publication 2017/0127316 A1).
Regarding to claims 12, 13, 26, and 27, Chen and Pelletier combined disclose all the limitations with respect to claims 7 and 21, except for transmit/receive a capability message indicating a capability of a user equipment UE to support a plurality of lengths of CRCs associated with a plurality of downlink control messages (claims 12 and 26), wherein the capability message further indicates a numerical quantity of lengths of CRCs supported by the UE (claims 13 and 27). However, Chen (2) discloses a system (fig. 1) for transmit/receive a capability message indicating a capability of a user equipment UE to support a plurality of lengths of CRCs (page 8 paragraph 0084) associated with a plurality of downlink control messages (page 7 paragraph 0082), wherein the capability message further indicates a numerical quantity of lengths (24/36 bits) of CRCs supported by the UE (page 8 paragraph 0084). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange for capability message as taught by Chen (2) into the combination of Chen and Pelletier's system for using differing CRC field lengths for different transmissions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 14, 19, and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DUC T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467