DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/309297 following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Amendment date 02/05/26
2. Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-19 are presented for examination. Claims 1-4, 6,8- 9, 11-12, 16 and 18-19 are being amended. Claims 10 and 20 is being cancelled.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Different sections of 3GPP are also included to further explain the claim limitations.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 1-4, 11-14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1 and 6 states, … in case…” Using this phrase can be considered to not have the remaining limitation used. Applicant may want to use “when” instead.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
6. Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over NPL-3GPP TR 23.700-80 v0.30(2022-05) in view of WATFA (WO2019139903A1)
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP teaches an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity in a wireless communication system, the AMF entity comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled to the transceiver, and configured to: receive, from a user equipment (UE), registration request including request information requesting a network analytic for an artificial intelligence/machine learning, (AI/ML), of the UE, wherein the request information includes a reporting criterion for a network congestion (3GPP 6.5, 6.5.1.1…..the UE may be allowed to collect User Data Congestion, but not DN performance without the explicit consent of the DN Service Provider…6.5.2 explains….0a-c: During the Registration procedure, the AMF checks whether the UE is allowed to request/subscribe to Network Exposure events, ….. If the UE is allowed to request Analytics and/or Event Notifications, via CP, the UE subscribes to analytics information either using a PDU Session Establishment or PDU Session Modification procedure and it provides input parameters e.g. within the PCO IE, including AI/ML Operation Type, e.g. "Model Distribution", 6.31…. The UE requests AI/ML assistance information on network congestion during the registration procedure. The UE may include conditions for periodical provisioning of the information…) transmit, to the UE, a registration response message including information on whether the network analytic for the UE is allowed, transmit, to a network data collection and analysis function (NWDAF) entity, a message requesting information on the network analytic for the AI/ML of the UE based on the first requestion information, receive, from the NWDAF entity, the network analytic, identify a level of the network congestion prediction for the UE based on the information on the network analytic, and in case that the level of the network congestion meets the reporting criterion transmit, to the UE, a control message including the information on a prediction of the network congestion, wherein the information on the network congestion is used for determining an AI/ML model of the UE. (see 3GPP 5.7 explains… Whether and what existing or new monitoring events (e.g. QoS, location, load, congestion) are required to capture specific System Performance and Predictions for traffic related to AI/ML operations for FL operation….6.5.2 explains…2b. The NWDAF may provide an immediate response to the NWDAF Service consumer, providing an Event Notification or relevant Analytics…..The NWDAF notifies the NWDAF service consumer (i.e. the SMF acting on behave of the UE) with the analytics information by invoking Nnwdaf_AnalyticsSubscription_Notify service operation, based on the request from the NWDAF service consumer, e.g. Specific AI/ML Operation Type)……6.6.1. A suggested time window for a better result for the FL operation, e.g. when network is going to be congested at the preferred time window when FL training needs to be performed, or when the NWDAF estimates that latency could be drastically reduced by delaying the FL training process to a later point in time…QoS flow level data (QFI, QoS flow Bit Rate, QoS flow Packet Delay, Packet transmission, Packet retransmission), as the statistics/prediction of QoS for the FL traffic transmission…6.31.2….The AMF subscribes to the NWDAF to request analytics for network congestion prediction, e. g. (Slice) Load Level, NF load, Network Performance, and receives analytics output from the NWDAF. The AMF may set the Analytics Filter information based on stored UE context information, e.g. UE ID, Registration Area, allowed S-NSSAIs for the UE, etc.
.Fig. 6.5.2.-1, 6.31.2)
While it can be understood 3GPP teaches control message (i.e NWDAF to request analytics for network congestion prediction,)
However to further explain this limitation analogous art WATFA explains notification message may also be used by the AMF to inform the WTRU of a start of congestion control for either mobility management or session management. When it determines that the AMF or SMF is congested, the AMF may send the notification message and indicate that congestion control should be applied by the WTRU for mobility management and/or session management signaling. The AMF may include a corresponding mobility management backoff timer and/or session management timer. The latter may be related to SMF congestion, DNN congestion, S-NSSAI congestion, or a combination thereof. (see paragraph [00151])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the modified 3GPP with Watfa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention improve on PDU session release (See paragraph [0003])
Regarding claim 2, the modified 3GPP taught the AMF entity of claim 1, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: receive, from a unified data management (UDM) entity, a message including subscription information of the UE based on the registration request; and identify whether the network analytic for the UE is allowed based on the subscription information. (see 3GPP 6.5.2 explains….The SMF subscribes, on behalf of the UE, to Analytics associated specific AI/ML operation type (s) provided by the UE. Two alternatives are provided, the SMF may get the list of allowed Analytics/Network Exposure events the UE may request from the UDM by providing the AIML operation type and correlation ID, or the SMF may send this information to the NDWAF and the NWDAF can get the relevant Analytics from the UDM.)
Regarding claim 3, the modified 3GPP taught the AMF entity of claim 1, , as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the request information further includes at least one of a single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), a data network name (DNN), or a reporting period of the UE.(see 3GPP 6.5.2 explains…, the UE may use a UL NAS TRANSPORT message to convey inputs, indicating the PDU Session ID, S-NSSAI and DNN this request is intended for.)
Regarding claim 4, the modified 3GPP taught the AMF entity of claim 3, , as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the control message is based on the reporting period included in the request information. (see 3GPP 6.5.2 explains…, the UE may use a UL NAS TRANSPORT message to convey inputs, indicating the PDU Session ID, S-NSSAI and DNN this request is intended for. Fig.6.5.2-1)
5. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 6, 3GPP teaches a user equipment (UE), in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled to the transceiver, and configured to: transmit, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, a registration request message including request information requesting a network analytic for an artificial intelligence/machine learning, (AI/ML), of the UE, wherein the request information includes a reporting criterion for a network congestion (3GPP 6.5, 6.5.1.1…..the UE may be allowed to collect User Data Congestion, but not DN performance without the explicit consent of the DN Service Provider…6.5.2 explains….0a-c: During the Registration procedure, the AMF checks whether the UE is allowed to request/subscribe to Network Exposure events, ….. If the UE is allowed to request Analytics and/or Event Notifications, via CP, the UE subscribes to analytics information either using a PDU Session Establishment or PDU Session Modification procedure and it provides input parameters e.g. within the PCO IE, including AI/ML Operation Type, e.g. "Model Distribution", 6.31…. The UE requests AI/ML assistance information on network congestion during the registration procedure. The UE may include conditions for periodical provisioning of the information…) receive, from the AMF entity, a registration response message including information on whether the network analytic for the UE is allowed, receive, from the AMF entity, a control message including information on a prediction of the network congestion identified prediction for the UE which is based on information on the network analytic transmitted from a network data collection and analysis function (NWDAF) entity, wherein a level of the network congestion based on the information on the network analytic meets the reporting criterion, determine an AI/ML model used by of the UE based on the information on prediction of the network congestion and transmit, to an ML server, a request for the determined AI/ML model of the UE. (see 3GPP 5.7 explains… Whether and what existing or new monitoring events (e.g. QoS, location, load, congestion) are required to capture specific System Performance and Predictions for traffic related to AI/ML operations for FL operation….6.5.2 explains…2b. The NWDAF may provide an immediate response to the NWDAF Service consumer, providing an Event Notification or relevant Analytics…..The NWDAF notifies the NWDAF service consumer (i.e. the SMF acting on behave of the UE) with the analytics information by invoking Nnwdaf_AnalyticsSubscription_Notify service operation, based on the request from the NWDAF service consumer, e.g. Specific AI/ML Operation Type)……6.6.1. A suggested time window for a better result for the FL operation, e.g. when network is going to be congested at the preferred time window when FL training needs to be performed, or when the NWDAF estimates that latency could be drastically reduced by delaying the FL training process to a later point in time…QoS flow level data (QFI, QoS flow Bit Rate, QoS flow Packet Delay, Packet transmission, Packet retransmission), as the statistics/prediction of QoS for the FL traffic transmission…6.31.2….The AMF subscribes to the NWDAF to request analytics for network congestion prediction, e. g. (Slice) Load Level, NF load, Network Performance, and receives analytics output from the NWDAF. The AMF may set the Analytics Filter information based on stored UE context information, e.g. UE ID, Registration Area, allowed S-NSSAIs for the UE, etc…. 5-6 The UE forwards the received information to the AI/ML applications that require AI/ML assistance information on network congestion prediction. The AI/ML application at the UE decides/changes AI/ML model based on the received network congestion information, and sends selected AI/ML model information to the application server using an application signalling
.Fig. 6.5.2.-1, 6.31.2, 6.32)
While it can be understood 3GPP teaches control message (i.e NWDAF to request analytics for network congestion prediction,)
However to further explain this limitation analogous art WATFA explains notification message may also be used by the AMF to inform the WTRU of a start of congestion control for either mobility management or session management. When it determines that the AMF or SMF is congested, the AMF may send the notification message and indicate that congestion control should be applied by the WTRU for mobility management and/or session management signaling. The AMF may include a corresponding mobility management backoff timer and/or session management timer. The latter may be related to SMF congestion, DNN congestion, S-NSSAI congestion, or a combination thereof. (see paragraph [00151])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the modified 3GPP with Watfa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention improve on PDU session release (See paragraph [0003])
Regarding claim 7, the modified 3GPP taught the UE of claim 6, , as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the registration response message is based on subscription information of the UE transmitted
from a unified data management (UDM) entity. (see 3GPP 6.5.2 explains….The SMF subscribes, on behalf of the UE, to Analytics associated specific AI/ML operation type (s) provided by the UE. Two alternatives are provided, the SMF may get the list of allowed Analytics/Network Exposure events the UE may request from the UDM by providing the AIML operation type and correlation ID, or the SMF may send this information to the NDWAF and the NWDAF can get the relevant Analytics from the UDM.)
Regarding claim 8, the modified 3GPP taught the UE of claim 6, wherein the request information further includes at least one of a single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), a data network name (DNN), or a reporting period of the UE. (see 3GPP 6.5.2 explains…, the UE may use a UL NAS TRANSPORT message to convey inputs, indicating the PDU Session ID, S-NSSAI and DNN this request is intended for.)
Regarding claim 9, the modified 3GPP taught the UE of claim 8, , as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the control message
is based on the reporting period included in the request information. (see 3GPP 6.5.2 explains…, the UE may use a UL NAS TRANSPORT message to convey inputs, indicating the PDU Session ID, S-NSSAI and DNN this request is intended for. Fig.6.5.2-1)
Regarding claim 11, 3GPP teaches a method performed by an access and mobility
management function (AMF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), registration request message including request. Information requesting a network analytic for an artificial intelligence/machine learning, (AI/ML), of the UE, wherein the request information includes a reporting criterion for a network congestion; (3GPP 6.5, 6.5.2 explains….0a-c:During the Registration procedure, the AMF checks whether the UE is allowed to request/subscribe to Network Exposure events, ….. If the UE is allowed to request Analytics and/or Event Notifications, via CP, the UE subscribes to analytics information either using a PDU Session Establishment or PDU Session Modification procedure and it provides input parameters e.g. within the PCO IE, including AI/ML Operation Type, e.g. "Model Distribution", )
transmitting, to the UE, a registration response message including information on whether the network analytic for the UE is allowed; (see 3GPP 5.7, 6.5.2.2, Fig. 6.5.2-1)
transmitting, to a network data collection and analysis function (NWDAF) entity, message requesting information on the network analytic for the AI/ML of the UE based on the request information;(see 3GPP 5.7, 6.5.2.2, Fig. 6.5.2-1 Nnwdaf_AnalyticSubcription_subscribe)
receiving, from the NWDAF entity, the information on the network analytic; (see 3GPP 5.7, 6.5.2.2, Fig. 6.5.2-1 Nnwdaf_AnalyticsSubscription_Notify)
identifying a level of the network congestion for the UE based on the information on the network-analysis analytic; (see 3GPP 5.7, 6.5.2.2, Fig. 6.5.2-1 Nnwdaf_AnalyticsSubscription_Notify…. The NWDAF may provide an immediate response to the NWDAF Service consumer, providing an Event Notification or relevant Analytics) and in case that the level of the network congestion meets the reporting criterion,
transmitting, to the UE, a control message including the information on the network congestion,
wherein the information on the prediction of the network congestion is used for determining an AI/ML model of the UE. (see 3GPP 5.7 explains… Whether and what existing or new monitoring events (e.g. QoS, location, load, congestion) are required to capture specific System Performance and Predictions for traffic related to AI/ML operations for FL operation….6.5.2 explains…2b. The NWDAF may provide an immediate response to the NWDAF Service consumer, providing an Event Notification or relevant Analytics…..The NWDAF notifies the NWDAF service consumer (i.e. the SMF acting on behave of the UE) with the analytics information by invoking Nnwdaf_AnalyticsSubscription_Notify service operation, based on the request from the NWDAF service consumer, e.g. Specific AI/ML Operation Type)……6.6.1. A suggested time window for a better result for the FL operation, e.g. when network is going to be congested at the preferred time window when FL training needs to be performed, or when the NWDAF estimates that latency could be drastically reduced by delaying the FL training process to a later point in time…QoS flow level data (QFI, QoS flow Bit Rate, QoS flow Packet Delay, Packet transmission, Packet retransmission), as the statistics/prediction of QoS for the FL traffic transmission…6.31.2….The AMF subscribes to the NWDAF to request analytics for network congestion prediction, e. g. (Slice) Load Level, NF load, Network Performance, and receives analytics output from the NWDAF. The AMF may set the Analytics Filter information based on stored UE context information, e.g. UE ID, Registration Area, allowed S-NSSAIs for the UE, etc.
.Fig. 6.5.2.-1, 6.31.2)
While it can be understood 3GPP teaches control message (i.e NWDAF to request analytics for network congestion prediction,)
However to further explain this limitation analogous art WATFA explains notification message may also be used by the AMF to inform the WTRU of a start of congestion control for either mobility management or session management. When it determines that the AMF or SMF is congested, the AMF may send the notification message and indicate that congestion control should be applied by the WTRU for mobility management and/or session management signaling. The AMF may include a corresponding mobility management backoff timer and/or session management timer. The latter may be related to SMF congestion, DNN congestion, S-NSSAI congestion, or a combination thereof. (see paragraph [00151])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the modified 3GPP with Watfa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention improve on PDU session release (See paragraph [0003])
Regarding claim 12, the modified 3GPP taught the method of claim 11, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches further comprising:
receiving, from a unified data management (UDM) entity, a message including subscription information of the UE based on the registration request; and
identifying whether the network analytic for the UE is allowed based on the subscription information. (see 3GPP 6.5.2 explains….The SMF subscribes, on behalf of the UE, to Analytics associated specific AI/ML operation type (s) provided by the UE. Two alternatives are provided, the SMF may get the list of allowed Analytics/Network Exposure events the UE may request from the UDM by providing the AIML operation type and correlation ID, or the SMF may send this information to the NDWAF and the NWDAF can get the relevant Analytics from the UDM.)
Regarding claim 13, the modified 3GPP taught the method of claim 11,as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the request information further includes at least one of a single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), a data network name (DNN), or a reporting period of the UE. (see 3GPP 6.5.2 explains…, the UE may use a UL NAS TRANSPORT message to convey inputs, indicating the PDU Session ID, S-NSSAI and DNN this request is intended for…)
Regarding claim 14, the modified 3GPP taught the method of claim 13, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the second
| control message is based on the reporting period included in the first control message. (see 3GPP 6.5.2 explains…, the UE may use a UL NAS TRANSPORT message to convey inputs, indicating the PDU Session ID, S-NSSAI and DNN this request is intended for. Fig.6.5.2-1)
15. (Cancelled)
Regarding claim 16, 3GPP teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, a registration request message including request information requesting a network analytic for an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) of the UE, wherein the request information includes a reporting criterion for a network congestion; (3GPP 6.5, 6.5.1.1…..the UE may be allowed to collect User Data Congestion, but not DN performance without the explicit consent of the DN Service Provider…6.5.2 explains….0a-c: During the Registration procedure, the AMF checks whether the UE is allowed to request/subscribe to Network Exposure events, ….. If the UE is allowed to request Analytics and/or Event Notifications, via CP, the UE subscribes to analytics information either using a PDU Session Establishment or PDU Session Modification procedure and it provides input parameters e.g. within the PCO IE, including AI/ML Operation Type, e.g. "Model Distribution", 6.31…. The UE requests AI/ML assistance information on network congestion during the registration procedure. The UE may include conditions for periodical provisioning of the information…) receiving, from the AMF entity, a registration response message including information on whether the network analytic for the UE is allowed; (see 3GPP 5.7, 6.5.2.2, Fig. 6.5.2-1)
receiving, from the AMF entity, a control message including information on a prediction of the network congestion for the UE which is identified based on information on a network analytic transmitted from a network data collection and analysis function (NWDAF) entity wherein a level of the network congestion based on the information on the network analytic meets the reporting criterion; (see 3GPP 5.7, 6.5.2.2, Fig. 6.5.2-1)
determining an AI/ML model of the UE based on the information on prediction of the network congestion and transmitting, to an ML server, a request for the determined AI/ML model of the UE. (see 3GPP 5.7 explains… Whether and what existing or new monitoring events (e.g. QoS, location, load, congestion) are required to capture specific System Performance and Predictions for traffic related to AI/ML operations for FL operation….6.5.2 explains…2b. The NWDAF may provide an immediate response to the NWDAF Service consumer, providing an Event Notification or relevant Analytics…..The NWDAF notifies the NWDAF service consumer (i.e. the SMF acting on behave of the UE) with the analytics information by invoking Nnwdaf_AnalyticsSubscription_Notify service operation, based on the request from the NWDAF service consumer, e.g. Specific AI/ML Operation Type)……6.6.1. A suggested time window for a better result for the FL operation, e.g. when network is going to be congested at the preferred time window when FL training needs to be performed, or when the NWDAF estimates that latency could be drastically reduced by delaying the FL training process to a later point in time…QoS flow level data (QFI, QoS flow Bit Rate, QoS flow Packet Delay, Packet transmission, Packet retransmission), as the statistics/prediction of QoS for the FL traffic transmission…6.31.2….The AMF subscribes to the NWDAF to request analytics for network congestion prediction, e. g. (Slice) Load Level, NF load, Network Performance, and receives analytics output from the NWDAF. The AMF may set the Analytics Filter information based on stored UE context information, e.g. UE ID, Registration Area, allowed S-NSSAIs for the UE, etc. 5-6 The UE forwards the received information to the AI/ML applications that require AI/ML assistance information on network congestion prediction. The AI/ML application at the UE decides/changes AI/ML model based on the received network congestion information, and sends selected AI/ML model information to the application server using an application signalling
.Fig. 6.5.2.-1, 6.31.2, 6.32)
While it can be understood 3GPP teaches control message (i.e NWDAF to request analytics for network congestion prediction,)
However to further explain this limitation analogous art WATFA explains notification message may also be used by the AMF to inform the WTRU of a start of congestion control for either mobility management or session management. When it determines that the AMF or SMF is congested, the AMF may send the notification message and indicate that congestion control should be applied by the WTRU for mobility management and/or session management signaling. The AMF may include a corresponding mobility management backoff timer and/or session management timer. The latter may be related to SMF congestion, DNN congestion, S-NSSAI congestion, or a combination thereof. (see paragraph [00151])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the modified 3GPP with Watfa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention improve on PDU session release (See paragraph [0003])
Regarding claim 17, the modified 3GPP taught the method of claim 16, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the registration response message is based on subscription information of the UE transmitted from a unified data management (UDM) entity. (see 3GPP 6.5.2 explains….The SMF subscribes, on behalf of the UE, to Analytics associated specific AI/ML operation type (s) provided by the UE. Two alternatives are provided, the SMF may get the list of allowed Analytics/Network Exposure events the UE may request from the UDM by providing the AIML operation type and correlation ID, or the SMF may send this information to the NDWAF and the NWDAF can get the relevant Analytics from the UDM.)
Regarding claim 18, the modified 3GPP taught the method of claim 16, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the request information further includes at least one of a single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), a data network name (DNN), or a reporting period of the UE. (see 3GPP 6.5.2 explains…, the UE may use a UL NAS TRANSPORT message to convey inputs, indicating the PDU Session ID, S-NSSAI and DNN this request is intended for…)
Regarding claim 19, the modified 3GPP taught the method of claim 18, as described above. The modified 3GPP further teaches wherein the second
| control message is based on the reporting period included in the first control message. (see 3GPP 6.5.2 explains…, the UE may use a UL NAS TRANSPORT message to convey inputs, indicating the PDU Session ID, S-NSSAI and DNN this request is intended for. Fig.6.5.2-1)
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Gerald Smarth whose telephone number is (571) 270-1923. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 6am-4:30pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-7784. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478