Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20190254121) Yang in view of Karaoguz (US 20070082699 A1).
With respect to claims 1,14, Yang discloses A method, wherein the method comprises: receiving, by a terminal device (See e.g. [0007], a method for switching a communication mode is provided, which includes: receiving, by a terminal device, first indication information (or reconfiguration signaling sent by the network device, See e.g. [0008]) sent by a network device), configuration information from an access network device (See e.g. [0008], reconfiguration signaling sent by the network device) , wherein the configuration information is used to configure a communication mode of the terminal device (See e.g. 500 of Fig. 5 & [0049]) [the communication mode is determined based on a type of the terminal device] (See e.g. [0015]-[0016]), Service information of the terminal device), and the communication mode comprises a first mode; and in response to receiving the configuration information from the access network device, communicating, by the terminal device, with the access network device (See e.g. 600 of Fig. 6& [0050]) in the first mode ( See e.g. [000], the current communication mode is one of the first communication mode and the second communication mode, and the target communication mode is another one, other than the current communication mode, of the first communication mode and the second communication mode, and receiving, by the terminal device, the first indication information sent by the network device, includes: receiving, by the terminal device, reconfiguration signaling sent by the network device, the reconfiguration signaling includes the first indication information, and the reconfiguration signaling is used for instructing the terminal device to switch the communication mode to the target communication mode according to the first indication information while maintaining a control connection between the terminal device and the network device.).
However, Yang does not expressly state the communication mode is determined based on a type of the terminal device.
In the same file endeavor, Karaoguz teaches a similar A system and method in a multimode mobile communication device for providing communication configuration (See e.g. Abstract). Karaoguz also teaches the configuration information is used to configure a communication mode of the terminal device (See e.g. [0028] & [0036], receiving the communication configuration information from a wireless LAN or wireless PAN access point). Karaoguz further teaches the communication mode is determined based on a type of the terminal device (Se e.g. [0051], receiving / transmitting a particular mobile communication device or type of mobile communication device & [0052], information identifying the particular mobile communication device or particular type of mobile communication device & [0055], receiving communication configuration information over the first communication link, where the communication configuration information corresponds to a second communication mode different from the first communication mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang by Karaoguz method and or a system for transmitting various identification information (i.e. identifying a particular communication service or service provider or identifying the particular mobile communication device or particular type of mobile communication device or user of the device identifying a particular manufacturer (e.g., of the mobile communication device or various components of the mobile communication device) to receive communication configuration information that is associated with a particular mobile communication device or type of mobile communication device to request ( or receive or transmit) communication configuration information that is associated with a particular communication mode (e.g., cellular telephone communication mode, 802.11 communication mode, Bluetooth communication mode, DVB-H communication mode, 802.15 communication mode, UltraWideBand communication mode, etc.) ass suggested by Karaoguz (See e.g. [0051] & [0055]).
Regarding claims 2, 15, Yang discloses the first mode (See e.g. [0007] first communication mode, second, third and connected mode) is an idle state, an inactive state, or a connected state (See e.g. [0072], idle state or connected state ); or the first mode is having a radio resource control (RRC) connection or having no RRCconnection (See e.g. [0023] the reconfiguration signaling is one of the following signaling: Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling, Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), and physical layer signaling).
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses the communicating with an access network device in the first mode comprises: communicating with the access network device based on a radio resource control (RRC) state of the first mode ( See e.g. [0009], the reconfiguration signaling is one of the following signaling: Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling).
Regarding claim 8, Yang discloses the communication mode further comprises a second mode, and the second mode is different from the first mode (See e.g. [0010], the current communication mode is one of the first communication mode and the second communication mode, and the target communication mode is another one, other than the current communication mode).
Regarding claims 9, Yang discloses the method further comprises: determining that a mode switching condition is met , wherein mode switching is switching from the first mode to the second mode or from the second mode to the first mode; and performing the mode switching (See e.g. [0018], the terminal device to switch from the current communication mode to the target communication mode when the occupancy status of the communication resource in the current communication mode satisfies a condition indicated by the second indication information).
Regarding claims 10, Yang discloses the configuration information further comprises the condition for switching between the first mode and the second mode (See e.g. [0018], the terminal device to switch from the current communication mode to the target communication mode when the occupancy status of the communication resource in the current communication mode satisfies a condition indicated by the second indication information).
Regarding claims 11, Yang discloses receiving a first message sent by the access network device, wherein the first message indicates (See e.g. Figs. 1-2 to perform mode switching; and performing the mode switching, wherein the mode switching is switching from the first mode to the second mode or from the second mode to the first mode (See e.g. [0021], a method for switching a communication mode is provided and includes: generating, by a network device, first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used for instructing a terminal device to switch from a current communication mode to a target communication mode, wherein the current communication mode and the target communication mode are any two of a first communication mode, a second communication mode, and a third communication mode, …; and sending, by the network device, the first indication information to the terminal device).
Claim(s) 4-6, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Karaoguz and further in view of Kim (US 20210044956 A1) hereinafter Kim-956.
Regarding claims 4, 6 and 16, while Yang further teaches i.e. the first indication information sent by the network device, the method further includes: sending, by the terminal device, resource occupancy information to the network device, wherein the resource occupancy information is used for indicating an occupancy status of a communication resource in the current communication mode (See e.g. [0013]).
However, Yang in view Karaoguz do not explicitly teach the configuration information comprises at least one piece of the following information in the first mode: a function set, a function parameter, or a resource parameter.
In the same file endeavor, Kim-956 teaches configuration information comprises (or executing) at least one piece of the following information in the first mode: a function set , a function parameter (See e.g. [0172]to support MIMO functions, configuration information of maximum supportable MIMO functions, transmission power class information, information on whether to support beamforming functions and related TCI configuration information, and/or information on a type of the terminal. Here, the information on the type of the terminal may mean information identifying whether the terminal is a terminal installed in a vehicle, a normal user terminal, an IoT terminal, an MTC terminal, a fixed terminal, or an RSU device), or a resource parameter (See e.g. Kim-956 the terminal may be in the idle state ( or 1st mode) (e.g., RRC idle state) without establishing a connection with the base station , and may operate in a state of being camped on the base station. That is, the terminal may identify resource pool configuration information included in system information received from the base station or resource pool configuration information ( or resource parameter) pre-configured from the base station, and be in a state of being capable of performing direct communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang and Karaoguz by Kim-956 to utilize a method / a system for receiving configuration information of a radio resource pool, wherein the sensing signal or the sidelink discovery signal is transmitted through a radio resource selected from the radio resource pool to determine a cast type for the peer terminal, and establishing a PC5-radio resource control (RRC) connection with the peer terminal when the cast type is determined to be a unicast scheme or groupcast scheme; and performing direct communication with the peer termina as suggested by (See Kim-956, [0007]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim-965 teaches the function set comprises at least one of the following functions (See e.g. Kim-965 , [0172]to support MIMO functions, configuration information of maximum supportable MIMO functions, transmission power class information, information on whether to support beamforming functions and related TCI configuration information, and/or information on a type of the terminal. Here, the information on the type of the terminal may mean information identifying whether the terminal is a terminal installed in a vehicle, a normal user terminal, an IoT terminal, an MTC terminal, a fixed terminal, or an RSU device): ( See e.g. Kim-965 , [0176], configuration information transmitted through an RRC and/or PC5-RRC control message may include information ) downlink scheduling (see e.g. Kim-965, [0083), [0089]), a downlink channel state information (CSI) feedback, uplink scheduling (see e.g. Kim-965, [0083], [0089]) , uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (see e.g. Kim-965, [0079] ) , timing advance (TA} synchronization (See e.g. Kim-965 TA and synchronization, [0176]), power headroom report (PHR} reporting, a random access channel (RACH), a logical channel priority (LCP}, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ} feedback (see e.g. Kim-965, [0176], HARQ feedback information), terminal context storage, mobility, a dual active protocol stack (DAPS), conditional handover (CHO), a high rate, energy saving, an industrial internet of things (jIIoT}(See e.g. Kim-965 [0191],Internet of Thing (IoT) device) , reliability, uplink coverage enhancement, small data transmission, service isolation, multicast (See e.g. Kim-965 [0023], the cast type is determined to be a unicast scheme or groupcast scheme; and perform direct communication with the peer terminal.), a non-terrestrial network (NTN}, a self-optimization network (SON) /minimization of drive test (MDT}, and vehicle-to-V2X) (See e.g. Kim-956, [0053], UE 130-5 may perform the D2D or V2X services under coordination).
Regarding claim 17, Kim-965 teaches the function set comprises at least one of the following functions (See e.g. Kim-965, [0172]to support MIMO functions, configuration information of maximum supportable MIMO functions, transmission power class information, information on whether to support beamforming functions and related TCI configuration information, and/or information on a type of the terminal. Here, the information on the type of the terminal may mean information identifying whether the terminal is a terminal installed in a vehicle, a normal user terminal, an IoT terminal, an MTC terminal, a fixed terminal, or an RSU device): ( See e.g. Kim-965 , [0176], configuration information transmitted through an RRC and/or PC5-RRC control message may include information ) downlink scheduling (see e.g. Kim-965, [0083), [0089]), a downlink channel state information (CSI) feedback, uplink scheduling (see e.g. Kim-965, [0083], [0089]) , uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (see e.g. Kim-965, [0079] ) , timing advance (TA} synchronization (See e.g. Kim-965 TA and synchronization, [0176]), power headroom report (PHR} reporting, a random access channel (RACH), a logical channel priority (LCP}, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ} feedback (see e.g. Kim-965, [0176], HARQ feedback information), terminal context storage, mobility, a dual active protocol stack (DAPS), conditional handover (CHO), a high rate, energy saving, an industrial internet of things (jIIoT}(See e.g. Kim-965 [0191],Internet of Thing (IoT) device) , reliability, uplink coverage enhancement, small data transmission, service isolation, multicast (See e.g. Kim-965 [0023], the cast type is determined to be a unicast scheme or groupcast scheme; and perform direct communication with the peer terminal.), a non-terrestrial network (NTN}, a self-optimization network (SON) /minimization of drive test (MDT}, and vehicle-to-V2X) (See e.g. Kim-956, [0053], UE 130-5 may perform the D2D or V2X services under coordination).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view Karaoguz by Kim-956 providing a method / a system for receiving configuration information of a radio resource pool, wherein the sensing signal or the sidelink discovery signal is transmitted through a radio resource selected from the radio resource pool to determine a cast type for the peer terminal, and establishing a PC5-radio resource control (RRC) connection with the peer terminal when the cast type is determined to be a unicast scheme or groupcast scheme; and performing direct communication with the peer termina as suggested by (See Kim-956, [0007]-[0008]).
Claims 7, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Karaoguz and further in view of Park (US 20190124572A1).
Regarding claims 7, 18, Yang and Karaoguz do not explicitly teach limitations of claims 7 and 18.
In the same file endeavor, Park teaches before the receiving configuration information (see e.g. Park, [0293], [0293] At step 2907, the core network entity may send a PDU session configuration request message associated with the wireless device 2920 to the base station 2930. The PDU session configuration request message may comprise one or more configuration information to establish a second PDU session associated with the second data network connection. The second PDU session may be Ethernet type. The PDU session configuration request message may be sent to request, to the base station 2930, establishment of one or more PDU sessions of Ethernet type (e.g., Ethernet type data network connection, Ethernet type PDU session, Ethernet type QoS flow, Ethernet type bearer, Ethernet frame transmission flow, etc.) for the wireless device 2920. The PDU session configuration request message may be sent via a direct interface between the core network entity and the base station (e.g., NG interface, N2 interface, S1 interface, N3 interface, etc.). , the method further comprises: reporting the type of a terminal device, wherein the type of the terminal device is: a type obtained through classification based on a service feature of the terminal device (See e.g. Park , [0268], The wireless device capability information may comprise a MAC address of the wireless device for an Ethernet type service (e.g., Ethernet type PDU session, Ethernet type data connection, Ethernet type bearer, Ethernet type QoS flow, etc.). The MAC address may be associated with a certain PDU session of Ethernet type, which may be established and/or will be established for the wireless device.); or a type obtained through classification based on a quality of service (QoS} level of a service of the terminal device (see Park , [0285], The network feature support information may comprise a MAC address of an end node (source or destination node, e.g., opposite side node of the wireless device) for an Ethernet type service (e.g., Ethernet type PDU session, Ethernet type data connection, Ethernet type bearer, Ethernet type QoS flow, etc.). The MAC address may be associated with a certain PDU session of Ethernet type, which may be established and/or will be established for the wireless device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang and Karaoguz by Reference Park to provide Systems, apparatuses, and methods are described for communications associated with Ethernet type packet data unit sessions. A base station may transmit, to a wireless device, a request for capability information, which may include the capability of the wireless device conducting an Ethernet type packet data unit session. The wireless device may transmit, to the base station, the capability information. The base station may transmit the capability information to an access and mobility management function. Based on the capability information, the base station and/or the access and mobility management function may determine to instantiate an Ethernet type packet data unit session between the wireless device and the base station. The base station may facilitate a handover of the wireless device to a target base station. The Ethernet type packet data unit session may utilize compressed headers based on instructions from the base station and/or the access and mobility management function as suggested by (See e.g. Park, [0004]).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Karaoguz and further in view of Kaur (WO 2015143170 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kaur teaches after the mode switching is performed, sending a response message of the first message to the access network device (See e.g. [0173], A WTRU may use Mode 2 resource until a successful RRC re-establishment. Upon successful reception of the re-establishment message, the WTRU may continue Mode 2 operation until the WTRU has successfully completed the RRC re-establishment (e.g., a RRC re- establishment complete message has been transmitted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view of Karaoguz by Kaur to utilize a method and or a system when mode of operation may be determined based on one or more triggering events observed at the WTRU. The trigger events may be related to detected radio conditions, or network coverage. Then WTRU may evaluate and re-evaluate the WTRU mode of operation based on different types of triggers depending on whether the WTRU is connected to the network or in IDLE mode. Resource pool selection for WTRU transmission (Tx) and/or reception (Rx) for D2D communication may be performed by the WTRU, and the WTRU may select the D2D communication parameters using configuration(s) of resource pools and message content as suggested by Kaur (See e.g. [0006]).
Regarding claim 13, Kaur teach before the receiving configuration information, the method further comprises: sending a second message to the access network device, wherein the second message is used to request the configuration information (see e. g. Kaur, [114], the WTRU to send an uplink message (e.g., a service or RRC request, dedicated RACH request, or a scheduling request). The WTRU may continue to operate as an in-coverage WTRU, for example, if the uplink procedure is successful).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view of Karaoguz by Kaur method and or a system when mode of operation may be determined based on one or more triggering events observed at the WTRU. The trigger events may be related to detected radio conditions, or network coverage. Then WTRU may evaluate and re-evaluate the WTRU mode of operation based on different types of triggers depending on whether the WTRU is connected to the network or in IDLE mode. Resource pool selection for WTRU transmission (Tx) and/or reception (Rx) for D2D communication may be performed by the WTRU, and the WTRU may select the D2D communication parameters using configuration(s) of resource pools and message content as suggested by Kaur (See e.g. [0006]).
Claim(s) 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Karaoguz and further in view of KADIRI (US 20210368547 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Yang in view of Karaoguz are silent that the type of the terminal device includes a narrow band internet of things (NB-IoT) type, an enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB) type, or an ultra-reliable and-low latency communication (URLLC) an enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB) type, or an ultra-reliable and-low latency communication (URLLC) type.
In the same field of endeavor, KADIRI teaches the type of the terminal device (See e.g. UE type 804 of Fig. 8, [0102], UE may be classified as one of three types: a BL UE, a non-BL CE UE, or an ordinary UE that is not operating as a BL UE or as non-BL UE in an enhanced coverage (CE) configuration) includes a narrow band internet of things (NB-IoT) type, an enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB) type, or an ultra-reliable and-low latency communication (URLLC) type (See e.g . Examples of UEs, Narrowband IoT. [0067], different protocol types (such as MTC, NB-IoT, enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB), or others) that may provide access for different types of devices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang in view of Karaoguz by KADIRI to a method and a system where a base-station (BS) receiving a random access request from user equipment (a UE), followed by a connection request. The connection request contains UE identity information which may have one of multiple formats depending on whether the access request and/or the connection request indicate that the UE is operating as a bandwidth-limited (BL) UE, an enhanced coverage (CE) UE, or a UE that operates in neither the BL mode nor the CE mode. In the BL mode, the UE may transmit a truncated identifier that is sufficient for the BS to retrieve capability information for the UE prior to transmitting a resource grant to the UE. The BS may then configure the UE and BS to using a radio configuration optimized for the UE's capabilities and transmit the resource grant in accordance with the optimized configuration as suggested by KADIRI (See e.g. Abstract).
Regarding claim 22, KADIRI teaches the type of the terminal device is a device type configured by the access network device or a core network device for the terminal device (See e.g. [0047], retrieval of user equipment (UE) capabilities when a UE seeking to establish a connection with a radio access network is not able to provide an entirety of its UE identity in a single radio resource control (RRC) message. For example, many types of UEs may employ an RRC connection establishment procedure by sending an RRC connection request message that allows for a 40-bit UE identifier (UEID). UEs seeking to establish a connection with a 5G base station (such as an ng-eNB or gNB) and/or a 5G core network).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-8, filed on 7/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-18 and 21-22 have been fully considered and are partially persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Karaoguz (US 20070082699 A1) & KADIRI (US 20210368547 A1) which is fully addressed above in items 1-11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure listed on 892 Form.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KAMRAN AFSHAR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2125