Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant amendment filed on 1/27/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 7, are amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11, 14-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US 20190254121) hereinafter Yang.
With respect to claims 1,14, Yang discloses A method, wherein the method comprises: receiving, by a terminal device (See e.g. [0007], a method for switching a communication mode is provided, which includes: receiving, by a terminal device, first indication information (or reconfiguration signaling sent by the network device, See e.g. [0008]) sent by a network device), configuration information from an access network device (See e.g. [0008], reconfiguration signaling sent by the network device) , wherein the configuration information is used to configure a communication mode of the terminal device (See e.g. 500 of Fig. 5 & [0049]) the communication mode is determined based on a type of the terminal device (See e.g. [0015]-[0016]), Service information of the terminal device), and the communication mode comprises a first mode; and in response to receiving the configuration information from the access network device, communicating, by the terminal device, with the access network device (See e.g. 600 of Fig. 6& [0050]) in the first mode ( See e.g. [000], the current communication mode is one of the first communication mode and the second communication mode, and the target communication mode is another one, other than the current communication mode, of the first communication mode and the second communication mode, and receiving, by the terminal device, the first indication information sent by the network device, includes: receiving, by the terminal device, reconfiguration signaling sent by the network device, the reconfiguration signaling includes the first indication information, and the reconfiguration signaling is used for instructing the terminal device to switch the communication mode to the target communication mode according to the first indication information while maintaining a control connection between the terminal device and the network device.).
Regarding claims 2, 15, Yang discloses the first mode (See e.g. [0007] first communication mode, second, third and connected mode) is an idle state, an inactive state, or a connected state (See e.g. [0072], idle state or connected state ); or the first mode is having a radio resource control (RRC) connection or having no RRCconnection (See e.g. [0023] the reconfiguration signaling is one of the following signaling: Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling, Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE), and physical layer signaling).
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses the communicating with an access network device in the first mode comprises: communicating with the access network device based on a radio resource control (RRC) state of the first mode ( See e.g. [0009], the reconfiguration signaling is one of the following signaling: Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration signaling).
Regarding claims 8, 20, Yang discloses the communication mode further comprises a second mode, and the second mode is different from the first mode ( See e.g. [0010], the current communication mode is one of the first communication mode and the second communication mode, and the target communication mode is another one, other than the current communication mode).
Regarding claims 9, Yang discloses the method further comprises: determining that a mode switching condition is met , wherein mode switching is switching from the first mode to the second mode or from the second mode to the first mode; and performing the mode switching (See e.g. [0018], the terminal device to switch from the current communication mode to the target communication mode when the occupancy status of the communication resource in the current communication mode satisfies a condition indicated by the second indication information).
Regarding claims 10, Yang discloses the configuration information further comprises the condition for switching between the first mode and the second mode (See e.g. [0018], the terminal device to switch from the current communication mode to the target communication mode when the occupancy status of the communication resource in the current communication mode satisfies a condition indicated by the second indication information).
Regarding claims 11, Yang discloses receiving a first message sent by the access network device, wherein the first message indicates (See e.g. Figs. 1-2 to perform mode switching; and performing the mode switching, wherein the mode switching is switching from the first mode to the second mode or from the second mode to the first mode (See e.g. [0021], a method for switching a communication mode is provided and includes: generating, by a network device, first indication information, wherein the first indication information is used for instructing a terminal device to switch from a current communication mode to a target communication mode, wherein the current communication mode and the target communication mode are any two of a first communication mode, a second communication mode, and a third communication mode, …; and sending, by the network device, the first indication information to the terminal device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kim (US 20210044956 A1) hereinafter Kim-956.
Regarding claims 4, 6 and 16, while Yang further teaches i.e. the first indication information sent by the network device, the method further includes: sending, by the terminal device, resource occupancy information to the network device, wherein the resource occupancy information is used for indicating an occupancy status of a communication resource in the current communication mode (See e.g. [0013]).
But, Yang does not explicitly teach the configuration information comprises at least one piece of the following information in the first mode: a function set, a function parameter, or a resource parameter.
In the same file endeavor, Kim-956 teaches configuration information comprises (or executing) at least one piece of the following information in the first mode: a function set , a function parameter (See e.g. [0172]to support MIMO functions, configuration information of maximum supportable MIMO functions, transmission power class information, information on whether to support beamforming functions and related TCI configuration information, and/or information on a type of the terminal. Here, the information on the type of the terminal may mean information identifying whether the terminal is a terminal installed in a vehicle, a normal user terminal, an IoT terminal, an MTC terminal, a fixed terminal, or an RSU device), or a resource parameter (See e.g. Kim-956 the terminal may be in the idle state ( or 1st mode) (e.g., RRC idle state) without establishing a connection with the base station , and may operate in a state of being camped on the base station. That is, the terminal may identify resource pool configuration information included in system information received from the base station or resource pool configuration information ( or resource parameter) pre-configured from the base station, and be in a state of being capable of performing direct communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang by Reference Kim-956 by a method / a system for receiving configuration information of a radio resource pool, wherein the sensing signal or the sidelink discovery signal is transmitted through a radio resource selected from the radio resource pool to determine a cast type for the peer terminal, and establishing a PC5-radio resource control (RRC) connection with the peer terminal when the cast type is determined to be a unicast scheme or groupcast scheme; and performing direct communication with the peer termina as suggested by (See Kim-956, [0007]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim-965 teaches the function set comprises at least one of the following functions (See e.g. Kim-965 , [0172]to support MIMO functions, configuration information of maximum supportable MIMO functions, transmission power class information, information on whether to support beamforming functions and related TCI configuration information, and/or information on a type of the terminal. Here, the information on the type of the terminal may mean information identifying whether the terminal is a terminal installed in a vehicle, a normal user terminal, an IoT terminal, an MTC terminal, a fixed terminal, or an RSU device): ( See e.g. Kim-965 , [0176], configuration information transmitted through an RRC and/or PC5-RRC control message may include information ) downlink scheduling (see e.g. Kim-965, [0083), [0089]), a downlink channel state information (CSI) feedback, uplink scheduling (see e.g. Kim-965, [0083], [0089]) , uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (see e.g. Kim-965, [0079] ) , timing advance (TA} synchronization (See e.g. Kim-965 TA and synchronization, [0176]), power headroom report (PHR} reporting, a random access channel (RACH), a logical channel priority (LCP}, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ} feedback (see e.g. Kim-965, [0176], HARQ feedback information), terminal context storage, mobility, a dual active protocol stack (DAPS), conditional handover (CHO), a high rate, energy saving, an industrial internet of things (jIIoT}(See e.g. Kim-965 [0191],Internet of Thing (IoT) device) , reliability, uplink coverage enhancement, small data transmission, service isolation, multicast (See e.g. Kim-965 [0023], the cast type is determined to be a unicast scheme or groupcast scheme; and perform direct communication with the peer terminal.), a non-terrestrial network (NTN}, a self-optimization network (SON) /minimization of drive test (MDT}, and vehicle-to-V2X) (See e.g. Kim-956, [0053], UE 130-5 may perform the D2D or V2X services under coordination).
Claims 7, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Park (US 20190124572A1) hereinafter Park.
Regarding claims 7, 18, Yang does not explicitly teach limitations of claims 7 and 18.
However, in the same file endeavor, Park teaches before the receiving configuration information (see e.g. Park, [0293], [0293] At step 2907, the core network entity may send a PDU session configuration request message associated with the wireless device 2920 to the base station 2930. The PDU session configuration request message may comprise one or more configuration information to establish a second PDU session associated with the second data network connection. The second PDU session may be Ethernet type. The PDU session configuration request message may be sent to request, to the base station 2930, establishment of one or more PDU sessions of Ethernet type (e.g., Ethernet type data network connection, Ethernet type PDU session, Ethernet type QoS flow, Ethernet type bearer, Ethernet frame transmission flow, etc.) for the wireless device 2920. The PDU session configuration request message may be sent via a direct interface between the core network entity and the base station (e.g., NG interface, N2 interface, S1 interface, N3 interface, etc.). , the method further comprises: reporting the type of a terminal device, wherein the type of the terminal device is: a type obtained through classification based on a service feature of the terminal device (See e.g. Park , [0268], The wireless device capability information may comprise a MAC address of the wireless device for an Ethernet type service (e.g., Ethernet type PDU session, Ethernet type data connection, Ethernet type bearer, Ethernet type QoS flow, etc.). The MAC address may be associated with a certain PDU session of Ethernet type, which may be established and/or will be established for the wireless device.); or a type obtained through classification based on a quality of service (QoS} level of a service of the terminal device (see Park , [0285], The network feature support information may comprise a MAC address of an end node (source or destination node, e.g., opposite side node of the wireless device) for an Ethernet type service (e.g., Ethernet type PDU session, Ethernet type data connection, Ethernet type bearer, Ethernet type QoS flow, etc.). The MAC address may be associated with a certain PDU session of Ethernet type, which may be established and/or will be established for the wireless device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu by Reference Park to provide Systems, apparatuses, and methods are described for communications associated with Ethernet type packet data unit sessions. A base station may transmit, to a wireless device, a request for capability information, which may include a capability of the wireless device conducting an Ethernet type packet data unit session. The wireless device may transmit, to the base station, the capability information. The base station may transmit the capability information to an access and mobility management function. Based on the capability information, the base station and/or the access and mobility management function may determine to instantiate an Ethernet type packet data unit session between the wireless device and the base station. The base station may facilitate a handover of the wireless device to a target base station. The Ethernet type packet data unit session may utilize compressed headers based on instructions from the base station and/or the access and mobility management function as suggested by (See e.g. Park, [0004]).
Regarding claim 19, Park teaches the obtaining a type of a terminal device comprises: receiving the type reported by the terminal device; receiving the type of the terminal device sent by a core network device (See e.g. [0048], 5GC Core Network, 1301 of Fig 13A, 1310 of Fig. 13B, ); or determining the type of the terminal device (i.e. capability information) based on a historical communication record of the terminal device ( See e.g. Park, [0074], A wireless device may send its radio access capability information which may be static. A base station may request what capabilities for a wireless device to report based on band information. If allowed by a network, a temporary capability restriction request may be sent by the wireless device to signal the limited availability of some capabilities (e.g. due to hardware sharing, interference or overheating) to the base station. The base station may confirm or reject the request. The temporary capability restriction may be transparent to 5GC (e.g., static capabilities may be stored in 5GC).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Kim (US 20210044956 A1) hereinafter Kim-956. .
Regarding claim 17, Yang does not explicitly teach claim 17.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim-965 teaches the function set comprises at least one of the following functions (See e.g. Kim-965 , [0172]to support MIMO functions, configuration information of maximum supportable MIMO functions, transmission power class information, information on whether to support beamforming functions and related TCI configuration information, and/or information on a type of the terminal. Here, the information on the type of the terminal may mean information identifying whether the terminal is a terminal installed in a vehicle, a normal user terminal, an IoT terminal, an MTC terminal, a fixed terminal, or an RSU device): ( See e.g. Kim-965 , [0176], configuration information transmitted through an RRC and/or PC5-RRC control message may include information ) downlink scheduling (see e.g. Kim-965, [0083), [0089]), a downlink channel state information (CSI) feedback, uplink scheduling (see e.g. Kim-965, [0083], [0089]) , uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (see e.g. Kim-965, [0079] ) , timing advance (TA} synchronization (See e.g. Kim-965 TA and synchronization, [0176]), power headroom report (PHR} reporting, a random access channel (RACH), a logical channel priority (LCP}, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ} feedback (see e.g. Kim-965, [0176], HARQ feedback information), terminal context storage, mobility, a dual active protocol stack (DAPS), conditional handover (CHO), a high rate, energy saving, an industrial internet of things (jIIoT}(See e.g. Kim-965 [0191],Internet of Thing (IoT) device) , reliability, uplink coverage enhancement, small data transmission, service isolation, multicast (See e.g. Kim-965 [0023], the cast type is determined to be a unicast scheme or groupcast scheme; and perform direct communication with the peer terminal.), a non-terrestrial network (NTN}, a self-optimization network (SON) /minimization of drive test (MDT}, and vehicle-to-V2X) (See e.g. Kim-956, [0053], UE 130-5 may perform the D2D or V2X services under coordination).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu and Park by Reference Kim-956 providing a method / a system for receiving configuration information of a radio resource pool, wherein the sensing signal or the sidelink discovery signal is transmitted through a radio resource selected from the radio resource pool to determine a cast type for the peer terminal, and establishing a PC5-radio resource control (RRC) connection with the peer terminal when the cast type is determined to be a unicast scheme or groupcast scheme; and performing direct communication with the peer termina as suggested by (See Kim-956, [0007]-[0008]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ying (US 20210120624 A1), method, including: An access network device receives indication information from an access and mobility management network element. The indication information is used to indicate that the access and mobility management network element is overloaded. When a first terminal is in a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode or an RRC inactive mode, the access network device triggers, based on the indication information and characteristic information of the first terminal, setting the first terminal to be in an RRC idle mode; or when a first terminal is in an RRC connected mode, etc. (See e.g. Par [0005])
Lyn, (US 20190230694 A1), mod switching, terminal type and RRC etc.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KAMRAN AFSHAR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2125