DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges receipt of amendment to application 18/309,404 filed on July 20, 2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are still pending, with claims 1 and 11 currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldman et al. US PGPUB 2022/0228877 in view of Dobrzynski et al. US PGPUB 2021/0342958.
Regarding claim 1, Feldman discloses a method for improving efficiency of charging an Electric Vehicle (EV) that follows a prescribed route, the method comprising:
transmitting, by a charger, charger data to a server, wherein the charger is among a plurality of chargers along the prescribed route [fig. 1; pars. 16-17, 26-28 & 60-61; server (i.e. database 128 or electric mobility service provider (eMSP) 102 receive data regarding various chargers 108-114, including chargers on the route (fig. 2)];
receiving, by the charger, a charging plan from the server, wherein the charging plan is calculated based on a total cost per distance (TCD) of travel over each of a plurality of route segments between the plurality of chargers along the prescribed route, telemetry data received from the EV, and the charger data [fig. 6; pars. 59-64 & 68-70; the server can determine the best route based on the route segment costs, the SOC of the vehicle (telemetry data) and charger data (i.e. which charging network the charging station belongs to “CPO”); the route segment costs are determined based on a total cost per distance, based on the cost of charging at a particular charging station and the time/distance to reach it, is determined based on weightings for a plurality of different segments] and
detecting, by the charger, that the EV is located at the charger; and automatically charging, by the charger, the EV according to the charging plan in response to the detecting [par. 43; the charger exchanges credentials with the vehicle upon vehicle arrival, thus detects that it is located at the charger; pars. 45, 47 and 50-52; the charger controls charging according to plan received from the server, once credentials are exchanged (par. 43)].
Feldman does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging plan further specifies a charging current level and a charging duration for a charging interval that is a subset of a preset total stop duration at the charger and including charging the EV at the charging current level for the charging duration during the charging interval.
However, Dobrzynski discloses an electric vehicle charging system wherein the charging plan further specifies a charging current level and a charging duration for a charging interval that is a subset of a preset total stop duration at the charger and including charging the EV at the charging current level for the charging duration during the charging interval [pars. 4-6, 29-30, 32, 37 & 64-67; the charge provided can be provided over a plurality of intervals, thus a subset of the stop is for charging for a particular duration and rate at a particular “charging site”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feldman to further include wherein the charging plan further specifies a charging current level and a charging duration for a charging interval that is a subset of a preset total stop duration at the charger and including charging the EV at the charging current level for the charging duration during the charging interval for the purpose of determining the charging rate and duration according to priority of the charging, as taught by Dobrzynski (pars. 4-6, 29-30, 32, 37 & 64-67).
Regarding claim 2, Feldman discloses wherein the TCD of travel over each of the plurality of route segments is calculated based on at least one of environmental conditions, charger characteristics, EV characteristics, charging sessions, energy cost data, terrain data, or traffic data along the prescribed route [par. 59; at least cost].
Regarding claim 3, Feldman discloses wherein the terrain data includes at least one of inclination, declination, curves, speeds, stops, or traffic signals along the prescribed route [pars. 59-64; the cost data is determined as a weighted value, including actual pricing and other characteristics including user preference for highways/city streets (thus information regarding speeds, stops and traffic signals; highways having higher speeds and less stops/traffic lights)].
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Feldman does not explicitly disclose further comprising: receiving, by the charger, battery information from the EV, and wherein the charging is further based on the battery information received from the EV.
However, Admitted Prior Art discloses receiving battery information from the EV, and wherein the charging is further based on the battery information received from the EV, so that the charger can avoid overcharging or undercharging the battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feldman to further include receiving, by the charger, battery information from the EV, and wherein the charging is further based on the battery information received from the EV for the purpose of receiving, by the charger, battery information from the EV, and wherein the charging is further based on the battery information received from the EV to ensure the desired amount of charge is in the battery, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
NB: Examiner took Official Notice with respect to the above limitation of claims 4 and 14 in the Non-Final Rejection mailed March 19, 2026. Applicant did not traverse or did not adequately traverse. Thus, the limitation is being treated as taught by admitted prior art. See MPEP 2144.03.
Regarding claim 6, Feldman discloses wherein the charging plan is determined to minimize a total TCD over all segments of the prescribed route [par. 28].
Regarding claim 7, Feldman discloses wherein: the TCD of travel over each of the plurality of route segments is calculated based on battery pack characteristics, and the battery pack characteristics include make, model, manufacturer, capacity, battery aging, past battery usage, or past inter-journey battery storage state of charge of the EV [par. 70; vehicle characteristics like battery size/capacity are stored, and used to calculate the SOC, which is in turn used to determine the TCD since the SOC and the associated range is used for the TCD calculations (pars. 59-64 & 68-70)].
Regarding claim 8, Feldman discloses wherein the charging plan is determined to maintain the EV within upper and lower state of charge thresholds as the EV traverses the prescribed route [par. 78; the route can be modified to maintain the SOC above a certain threshold, the SOC will be below the maximum threshold while driving since it discharges the battery to drive the vehicle].
Regarding claim 9, Feldman discloses wherein the charging plan is determined based on a minimum state of charge (SoC) established for the EV, wherein the minimum state of charge is established based on at least one of:
a minimum SoC to limit battery damage, a lifespan reduction, a minimum SoC required to reach a next two charging stations in a route, a minimum SoC need to complete the route without charging, a minimum SoC calculated to abort the route and to reach a depot, the SoC equals charge when the route was started, or a manually set SoC threshold [par. 78; a minimum SOC to limit battery damage].
Regarding claim 10, Feldman discloses wherein the telemetry data includes at least one of an internal temperature of the EV, external temperature, internal lighting state, external lighting state, a temperature of a battery pack, or a number of passengers in the EV [par. 70, 72 & 76; the computing device estimates the SOC via information from the vehicle regarding external temperature of the vehicle].
Regarding claim 11, Feldman discloses a system for improving efficiency of charging an Electric Vehicle (EV) that follows a prescribed route, the system comprising:
a memory; a communication interface [fig. 4 charger management 420; par. 90’ 420 communicates over a network to 128, 102 and 106 and has a usage DB 422; thus a memory and communication interface]; and
a charger, wherein the charger is among a plurality of chargers along the prescribed route [fig. 1; pars. 16-17, 26-28 & 60-61; electric mobility service provider (the computing device/eMSP) 102 receive data regarding various chargers 108-114, including chargers on the route (fig. 2)]; and
a processor communicatively coupled to the memory and, the communication interface and the charger [par. 90; 420 has multiple components which process various types of information, and it is coupled to one or more chargers (i.e. 214 of fig. 4)]
wherein the processor is configured to:
transmit, using the communication interface, charger data, for the charger to a server [fig. 4; par. 30, 83, 88 & 90; 420 has an authorization system and a power monitoring system, it translate usage data (charger data) to severs 102/106/128],
receive, using the communication interface, a charging plan from the server, wherein the charging plan is calculated a total cost per distance (TCD) of travel over each of a plurality of route segments between the plurality of chargers along the prescribed route, telemetry data received from the EV, and the charger data [fig. 6; pars. 59-64 & 68-70; the server can determine the best route based on the route segment costs, the SOC of the vehicle (telemetry data) and charger data (i.e. which charging network the charging station belongs to “CPO”); the route segment costs are determined based on a total cost per distance, based on the cost of charging at a particular charging station and the time/distance to reach it, is determined based on weightings for a plurality of different segments; the charging plan is transmitted to the chargers which are a part of 420 (fig. 4)];
detect that the EV is located at the charger, and automatically charge the EV according to the charging plan in response to the EV being detected [par. 43; the charger exchanges credentials with the vehicle upon vehicle arrival, thus detects that it is located at the charger; pars. 45, 47 and 50-52; the charger controls charging according to plan received from the server, once credentials are exchanged (par. 43)].
Feldman does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging plan further specifies a charging current level and a charging duration for a charging interval that is a subset of a preset total stop duration at the charger and including charging the EV at the charging current level for the charging duration during the charging interval.
However, Dobrzynski discloses an electric vehicle charging system wherein the charging plan further specifies a charging current level and a charging duration for a charging interval that is a subset of a preset total stop duration at the charger and including charging the EV at the charging current level for the charging duration during the charging interval [pars. 4-6, 29-30, 32, 37 & 64-67; the charge provided can be provided over a plurality of intervals, thus a subset of the stop is for charging for a particular duration and rate at a particular “charging site”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feldman to further include wherein the charging plan further specifies a charging current level and a charging duration for a charging interval that is a subset of a preset total stop duration at the charger and including charging the EV at the charging current level for the charging duration during the charging interval for the purpose of determining the charging rate and duration according to priority of the charging, as taught by Dobrzynski (pars. 4-6, 29-30, 32, 37 & 64-67).
Regarding claim 12, Feldman discloses wherein the TCD of travel over each of the plurality of route segments is calculated based on at least one of environmental conditions, charger characteristics, EV characteristics, charging sessions, energy cost data, terrain data, or traffic data along the prescribed route [par. 59; at least cost].
Regarding claim 13, Feldman discloses wherein the terrain data includes at least one of inclination, declination, curves, speeds, stops, or traffic signals along the prescribed route [pars. 59-64; the cost data is determined as a weighted value, including actual pricing and other characteristics including user preference for highways/city streets (thus information regarding speeds, stops and traffic signals; highways having higher speeds and less stops/traffic lights)].
Regarding claim 16, Feldman discloses wherein the charging plan is determined to minimize a total TCD over all segments of the prescribed route [par. 28].
Regarding claim 17, Feldman discloses wherein: the TCD of travel over each of the plurality of route segments is calculated based on battery pack characteristics, and
the battery pack characteristics include make, model, manufacturer, capacity, battery aging, past battery usage, or past inter-journey battery storage state of charge of the EV [par. 70; vehicle characteristics like battery size/capacity are stored, and used to calculate the SOC, which is in turn used to determine the TCD since the SOC and the associated range is used for the TCD calculations (pars. 59-64 & 68-70)].
Regarding claim 18, Feldman discloses wherein the charging plan is determined to maintain the EV within upper and lower state of charge thresholds as the EV traverses the prescribed route [par. 78; the route can be modified to maintain the SOC above a certain threshold, the SOC will be below the maximum threshold while driving since it discharges the battery to drive the vehicle].
Regarding claim 19, Feldman discloses wherein the charging plan is determined based on a minimum state of charge (SoC) established for the EV, wherein the minimum state of charge is established based on at least one of a minimum SoC to limit battery damage, a lifespan reduction, a minimum SoC required to reach a next two charging stations in a route, a minimum SoC need to complete the route without charging, a minimum SoC calculated to abort the route and to reach a depot, the SoC equals charge when the route was started, or a manually set SoC threshold [par. 78; a minimum SOC to limit battery damage].
Regarding claim 20, Feldman discloses wherein the telemetry data includes at least one of an internal temperature of the EV, external temperature, internal lighting state, external lighting state, a temperature of a battery pack, or a number of passengers in the EV [par. 70, 72 & 76; the computing device estimates the SOC via information from the vehicle regarding external temperature of the vehicle].
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feldman et al. US PGPUB 2022/0228877 in view of Dobrzynski et al. US PGPUB 2021/0342958, and further in view of Gerrese et al. US PGPUB 2022/0120569.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Feldman does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the TCD of travel over each of the plurality of route segments is calculated based on characteristics of the EV, and the characteristics of the EV include at least one of a make, model, manufacturer, age, mileage, state of repair, tire condition, tire selection or aerodynamics of the EV.
However, Gerrese discloses a charging routing system for vehicles [abs.; par. 44] wherein the TCD of travel over each of the plurality of route segments is calculated based on characteristics of the EV, and the characteristics of the EV include at least one of a make, model, manufacturer, age, mileage, state of repair, tire condition, tire selection or aerodynamics of the EV [par. 44; route selection (weighted cost) includes a plurality of parameters, including maintenance cost (state of repair)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feldman to further include the TCD of travel over each of the plurality of route segments is calculated based on characteristics of the EV, and the characteristics of the EV include at least one of a make, model, manufacturer, age, mileage, state of repair, tire condition, tire selection or aerodynamics of the EV for the purpose of considering a plurality of goals when routing the vehicle, as taught by Gerrese (par. 24).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859