DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/26/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Seok (Pub No 20240073773)
Regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues that the prior art Lanante does not teach second CSC for a second link.
The examiner relies on newly cited Seok to teach the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 14, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seok (Pub No 20240073773)
Regarding claim 1 and 14 and 20,
Seok teaches the method comprising:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which, when executed by an access point (AP), cause the AP to:
at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions to cause the at least one processor to:
receiving, by a first access point (AP) and from a second AP, a first beacon including an indication of a first channel switch count (CSC) for a first link between the first AP and the second AP; (interpreted as reporting AP MLD receiving an announcement of channel switching by a reported AP, see para [0008]. Also see target/new operating channel/class on Link 1. Before the switching occurs, AP1 may announce the event of channel switching. For instance, AP1, as an affected or reported AP, may transmit beacon frames with each of the beacon frames carrying a respective channel switch count in a countdown manner (e.g., first beacon frame indicating channel switch count=4, see para [0031])
obtaining, by the first AP, a second CSC for a second link between the first AP and a station, wherein the second CSC is configured such that a second switch period associated with the second CSC is lower than a first switch period associated with the first CSC; and (interpreted as The values of the Channel Switch Count field of the Channel Switch Announcement element carried on Link 2 may be set by AP 2 with reference to Link 1. As the value of the beacon interval for AP 2 is twice the value of beacon interval for AP 1, the Channel Switch Count field of the Channel Switch Announcement element may be decremented by 2 in every subsequent beacon transmitted by AP 1, see para [0027])
transmitting, by the first AP and to the station a second beacon within a beacon interval of the second AP upon receipt of the first beacon, including an indication of the second CSC (interpreted as station (STA) MLD receiving an indication from a reporting AP affiliated, see para [0007]. Also see beacon interval for AP 2 is twice the value of beacon interval for AP 1, the Channel Switch Count field of the Channel Switch Announcement element may be decremented by 2 in every subsequent beacon transmitted by AP 1, see para [0027. Also see beacon from with channel switch count =3 on link2 (Ap2) is within the beacon interval of beacon frames channel switch count =4 and channel switch count=3 on link 1, fig. 3.)
Regarding claim 4 and 17,
Seok teaches the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the second beacon comprises: obtaining, by the first AP, an indication of a time offset between a first time of receipt of the first beacon and a second time of transmission of the second beacon, the time offset being greater than or equal to a transmission time period associated with traffic between the first AP and the second AP, and being smaller than or equal to the second interval of the second TBTT; and transmitting, by the first AP and to the station at the second time, the second beacon. (interpreted as When AP 1 begins to include the Channel Switch Announcement element in its Beacon frames, the Change Sequence subfield in the TBTT Information field corresponding to AP 1 in the Reduced Neighbor Report element carried in AP 2's Beacon frames may be incremented by 1. The values of the Channel Switch Count field of the Channel Switch Announcement element carried on Link 2 may be set by AP 2 with reference to Link 1. As the value of the beacon interval for AP 2 is twice the value of beacon interval for AP 1, the Channel Switch Count field of the Channel Switch Announcement element may be decremented by 2 in every subsequent beacon transmitted by AP 1, see para [0027])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok (Pub No 20240073773) in view of Kim (Pub No 20240137979)
Regarding claim 2 and 15,
Seok teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first switch period is determined based on the first CSC and a first target beacon transmission time (TBTT), and the second switch period is determined based on the second CSC and a second TBTT.
Kim teaches wherein the first switch period is determined based on the first CSC and a first target beacon transmission time (TBTT), and the second switch period is determined based on the second CSC and a second TBTT. (interpreted as channel switching of the second AP may be configured on the basis of a target beacon transmission time (TBTT) and a beacon interval (BI) for the first AP of the primary link, and the fields related to the channel switching of the second AP may include a switch time field indicating a time interval in which a first frame is transmitted through a switched channel from a time point at which channel switching is started and/or a channel switch count field indicating the number of TBTTs remaining until the channel switching is started, see para [0350])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the TBTT and channel switching as taught by Seok with the specifics of channel switching based on the TBTT as taught by Kim with the motivation of switching channels at the designated times.
Regarding claim 3 and 16,
Seok teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the second TBTT is configured such that a first listen time period including a first number of intervals of the first TBTT is shorter than or equal to a second listen time period including a second number of intervals of the second TBTT. (interpreted as In example 700, the Extended Channel Switch Announcement element includes a New Channel Number field that indicates channel B, and a Channel Switch Count field set to 1 TBTT. As described above, the Channel Switch Count field indicates a number of TBTTs until AP 702 switches to the new primary channel. Particularly, a Channel Switch Count field set to 1 TBBT indicates that the switch occurs immediately before the next TBTT (the scheduled transmission of the next beacon frame), see para [0071])
Claim(s) 5-6, 8-9, 11, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok (Pub No 20240073773) in view of Shafin (Pub No 20230337316)
Regarding claim 5 and 18,
Seok teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: determining, by the first AP, a channel switch for the second link between the first AP and the station; transmitting, by the first AP and to the station, a first traffic mapping request indicating a re-allocation of traffic mapped to the second link to at least one further link between the first AP and the station during the channel switch; and receiving, by the first AP and from the station, a first traffic mapping response to the traffic mapping request.
Shafin teaches further comprising: determining, by the first AP, a channel switch for the second link between the first AP and the station; transmitting, by the first AP and to the station, a first traffic mapping request indicating a re-allocation of traffic mapped to the second link to at least one further link between the first AP and the station during the channel switch; and receiving, by the first AP and from the station, a first traffic mapping response to the traffic mapping request. (interpreted as At operation 704, the non-AP MLD receives a TID-to-link Mapping Request frame including a TID-to-link Mapping element from the associated AP MLD that intends to enable a link to the non-AP MLD. At operation 706, the TDLS peer STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD sends an unsolicited TDLS Channel Switch Response frame to the other TDLS peer STA and switches the TDLS direct link back to the base channel. At operation 708, the non-AP MLD accepts the requested TID-to-link mapping by sending a TID-to-link Mapping Response frame with the Status Code set to 0 (SUCCESS) to the associated AP MLD, see para [0074])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the channel switching as taught by Seok with the channel switching mapping broadcast as taught by Shafin with the motivation of disabling the predetermined link may be utilized for the purpose of preventing a data from being transmitted in a link for which channel switching is ongoing thereby wasting resources.
Regarding claim 6 and 19,
Seok teaches the method of claim 5, however does not teach further comprising: in response to determining that the channel switch is complete, transmitting, by the first AP and to the station, a second traffic mapping request indicating a re-allocation of traffic between the first AP and the station to a new second link and the at least one further link; and receiving, by the first AP and from the station, a second traffic mapping response to the second traffic mapping request.
Shafin further comprising: in response to determining that the channel switch is complete, transmitting, by the first AP and to the station, a second traffic mapping request indicating a re-allocation of traffic between the first AP and the station to a new second link and the at least one further link; and receiving, by the first AP and from the station, a second traffic mapping response to the second traffic mapping request. (interpreted as At operation 704, the non-AP MLD receives a TID-to-link Mapping Request frame including a TID-to-link Mapping element from the associated AP MLD that intends to enable a link to the non-AP MLD. At operation 706, the TDLS peer STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD sends an unsolicited TDLS Channel Switch Response frame to the other TDLS peer STA and switches the TDLS direct link back to the base channel. At operation 708, the non-AP MLD accepts the requested TID-to-link mapping by sending a TID-to-link Mapping Response frame with the Status Code set to 0 (SUCCESS) to the associated AP MLD, see para [0074])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the channel switching as taught by Seok with the channel switching mapping broadcast as taught by Shafin with the motivation of disabling the predetermined link may be utilized for the purpose of preventing a data from being transmitted in a link for which channel switching is ongoing thereby wasting resources.
Regarding claim 8,
Seok teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising: receiving, by the AP and from the station, traffic mapped to the first link on both the first link and the at least one further link during the transmission time period.
Shafin teaches further comprising: receiving, by the AP and from the station, traffic mapped to the first link on both the first link and the at least one further link during the transmission time period. (interpreted as At operation 704, the non-AP MLD receives a TID-to-link Mapping Request frame including a TID-to-link Mapping element from the associated AP MLD that intends to enable a link to the non-AP MLD. At operation 706, the TDLS peer STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD sends an unsolicited TDLS Channel Switch Response frame to the other TDLS peer STA and switches the TDLS direct link back to the base channel. At operation 708, the non-AP MLD accepts the requested TID-to-link mapping by sending a TID-to-link Mapping Response frame with the Status Code set to 0 (SUCCESS) to the associated AP MLD, see para [0074])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the channel switching as taught by Seok with the channel switching mapping broadcast as taught by Shafin with the motivation of disabling the predetermined link may be utilized for the purpose of preventing a data from being transmitted in a link for which channel switching is ongoing thereby wasting resources.
Regarding claim 9,
Seok teaches the method of claim 5, further comprising: receiving, by the first AP and from the second AP on a third link between the first AP and the second AP, a first action frame including the indication of the first CSC and an indication of a new channel for the first link; and transmitting, by the first AP and to the station, a second action frame on a fourth link between the first AP and the station, a channel of the fourth link being same as a channel of the third link. (interpreted as transmitting, via transceiver 626, an indication on one link of multiple links indicating a channel switching time when the reported AP switches from operating in a current channel of the reported AP to operating in a new channel on one other link of the multiple links based on the indication, see para [0053]. The examiner notes that the system taught by Seok could be performed any number of additional times on addition links)
Regarding claim 11,
Seok teaches The method of claim 9, further comprising: establishing, by the first AP, a new first link on the new channel between the first AP and the second AP based on the indication of the new channel. (interpreted as At 720, process 700 may involve processor 612 determining a channel switching time when a reported AP switches from operating in a current channel of the reported AP to operating in a new channel on one other link of the multiple links based on the indication, see para [0047])
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok (Pub No 20240073773) in view of Shafin (Pub No 20230337316) and Kim (Pub No 20250063619)
Regarding claim 7,
Seok in view of Shafin teaches The method of claim 5, however does not teach further comprising: obtaining, by the first AP, a transmission opportunity (TXOP) on the at least one further link during the channel switch; transmitting, by the first AP and to the station, a transmission trigger frame indicating an allocation of a transmission time period for the station within the transmission opportunity on the at least one further link; and receiving, by the first AP and from the station, a transmission determination frame corresponding to the transmission trigger frame.
Kim teaches further comprising: obtaining, by the first AP, a transmission opportunity (TXOP) on the at least one further link during the channel switch; transmitting, by the first AP and to the station, a transmission trigger frame indicating an allocation of a transmission time period for the station within the transmission opportunity on the at least one further link; and receiving, by the first AP and from the station, a transmission determination frame corresponding to the transmission trigger frame. (interpreted as According to an embodiment, an MU-RTS TXS trigger frame may indicate an STA which is allocated a time in a triggered TXOP sharing procedure indicated by the MU-RTS TXS trigger frame. For example, an RA field included in the MU-RTS TXS trigger frame may indicate an MAC address of the STA to which the time is allocated. Alternatively, an AID12 subfield included in a User Info field included in the MU-RTS TXS trigger frame may indicate the STA to which the time is allocated. The AID12 subfield, which is included in the User Info field included in the MU-RTS TXS trigger frame, may indicate 12 LSBs of the AID of the STA to which the time is allocated, see para [0768])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the channel switching as taught by Seok in view of Shafin with the TXOP as taught by Kim with the motivation being to indicate the resources for transmitting without interference.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok (Pub No 20240073773) in view of Shafin (Pub No 20230337316) and Kim (Pub No 20250280460)
Regarding claim 10,
Seok teaches the method of claim 9, however does not teach wherein the indication of the first CSC is included in a beacon frame of the second AP, and wherein the beacon frame and the action frame are transmitted simultaneously.
Kim teaches wherein the indication of the first CSC is included in a beacon frame of the second AP, and wherein the beacon frame and the action frame are transmitted simultaneously. (interpreted as the AP transmits the extended channel switch announcement element through the beacon frame, and a channel switch count field of the corresponding element indicates information on the number of times that the beacon frame will be transmitted before the channel switching (operation channel switching) is performed, see para [0247])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the channel switch announcement and the beacon frame as taught by Seok in view of Shafin with the simultaneous transmission of both as taught by Kim with the motivation being to more efficiency utilize resources.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok (Pub No 20240073773) in view of Takagi (Pub No 20120190370)
Regarding claim 12,
Seok teaches The method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: in response to determining that a channel of the second link needs to be switched, determining, by the first AP, a channel switch for the second link; and transmitting, by the first AP and to the second AP, a channel switch request and an indication to terminate a transmission from the second AP to the first AP.
Takagi teaches further comprising: in response to determining that a channel of the second link needs to be switched, determining, by the first AP, a channel switch for the second link; and transmitting, by the first AP and to the second AP, a channel switch request and an indication to terminate a transmission from the second AP to the first AP (interpreted as the radio cell station CS issues a radio channel switching request to the radio personal station as it is (step 5), and issues an old CS release request of the radio cell station CS which is the handover source (step 6). Thereafter, the processing is returned to step 1 for waiting, see para [0196])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the channel switching as taught by Seok with the termination as taught by Takagi with the motivation being to not waste resources on old channels after switching to a new channel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13,
The prior art does not teach The method of claim 12, further comprising:
detecting, by the first AP, an external signal on a first channel;
determining, by the first AP, that the first channel is the same as the channel of the second link; and determining, by the first AP, that the channel of the second link needs to be switched.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/JASON E MATTIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461