DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-30 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. Claims 11-30 are withdrawn. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 11/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 4: “with accommodating groove” should read “with an accommodating groove”
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Pg. 6, Line 7: “the resisting column is movably” should read “the abutting column is movably”
Pg. 6, Line 11: “against the resisting column” should read “against the abutting column”
Pg. 6, Line 12: “drives the resisting column” should read “ drives the abutting column”
Pg. 18, Line 4: “an airflow channel 192” should read “an airflow passage 192”
Pg. 22, Line 14: “the resisting column is” should read “the abutting column is”
Pg. 22, Line 22: “drives the resisting column 952” should read “ drives the abutting column 952”
Pg. 23, Line 2: “drives the resisting column 952” should read “ drives the abutting column 952”
Pg. 23, Line 14: “on the abutting post 952” should read “on the abutting column 952”
Pg. 23, Line 18: “the holding column 952” should read “the abutting column 952”
Pg. 24, Line 9: ““drive the resisting column 952” should read “ drive the abutting column 952”
Pg. 25, Lines 12-13: “the spring needle 99” should read “the spring pin 99”
Pg. 25, Line 20: “number of spring needles 99” should read “number of spring pins 99”
Pg. 25, Line 21: “three elastic pins 99” should read “three spring pins 99”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2: “with accommodating groove” should read “with an accommodating groove”
Line 10: “cover, is configured to” should read “cover configured to”
Line 13: “groove, is configured to” should read “groove configured to”
Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 6-7: “fourth through holes to the” should read “fourth through holes through which the”
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 5: “he atomizing core” should read “the atomizing core”
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 11: “elastic member 8 elastically” should read “elastic member elastically”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the aerosol-forming substrate" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examining, "the aerosol-forming substrate" will be interpreted as "an aerosol-forming substrate".
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the liquid storage chamber" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examining, "the liquid storage chamber" will be interpreted as "a liquid storage chamber".
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the liquid storage member" in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examining, "the liquid storage member" will be interpreted as "a liquid storage member".
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the positive pole" in lines 16-17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examining, "the positive pole" will be interpreted as "a positive pole".
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the power supply device" in lines 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examining, "the power supply device" will be interpreted as "a power supply device".
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the negative pole" in lines 17-18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examining, "the negative pole" will be interpreted as "a negative pole".
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the control board" in line 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examining, "the control board" will be interpreted as "a control board".
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the bottom opening" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examining, "the bottom opening" will be interpreted as "a bottom opening".
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the top port" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examining, "the top port" will be interpreted as "a top port".
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the top smoke outlet" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examining, "the top smoke outlet" will be interpreted as "a top smoke outlet".
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the bottom end" in line 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examining, " the bottom end" will be interpreted as " a bottom end".
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the sealing gasket" in line 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examining, " the sealing gasket" will be interpreted as " a sealing gasket".
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the bottom port" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examining, " the bottom port" will be interpreted as " a bottom port".
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the inner chamber" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examining, " the inner chamber " will be interpreted as " an inner chamber ".
Claims 2-5, 7, and 9-10 are rejected as being indefinite due to their dependency on rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20170224018 A1) as, and further in view of Johnson (US 20170303587 A1) and Chen (CN 110652040 A, hereinafter referring to English language equivalent, EP 4035542 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Li teaches (i) an atomizer (Fig. 1: #10) comprising a ceramic heater (Fig. 1: #20), relating to the heating member of the claimed invention. (ii) A shell (Fig. 1: #101), relating to the atomizing cover of the claimed invention, is provided outside of the ceramic heater (Fig. 1: #20), and the shell (Fig. 1: #101) is provided with a liquid inlet (Fig. 1: #102, [0013]) for communicating with chambers of an external liquid reservoir through a liquid guiding body [0013-0014 & 0037]. (iii) The liquid guiding body (Fig. 1: #103), relating to the liquid guiding member of the claimed invention, absorbs liquid entering from the liquid inlet (Fig. 1: #102, [0015]) and delivers it to the ceramic heater to generate aerosol [0014].
(iv) A controller may be arranged at the end of the shell (Fig. 1: #101, [0014]) and used to obtain temperature information of the ceramic heater to control and maintain a constant temperature of the ceramic heater within the atomizing core [0025]. (v) The atomizer may comprise an electrode assembly (Fig. 6: #303) comprising a first electrode (Fig. 2: #206) and a second electrode (Fig. 2: #207) electrically connected to a power supply [0020]. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a power supply has at least two terminals and in order for current to flow, the first and second electrode must be connected to a positive and negative pole. (vi) The first and second electrodes (Fig. 2: #206 & #207) and are connected to the ceramic heater (Fig. 1: #20, [0021]) and the power supply [0020]. Li teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however Li is silent to:
An atomizing base recessed with an accommodating groove
An atomizing bracket, one end of which is accommodated and fixed in the accommodating groove
The heating member supported on the other end of the atomizing bracket
A detecting chip providing in the accommodating groove
Signal electrodes for electrically connecting the detecting chip with the control board of the power supply
The atomizing base is provided with first through holes respectively for the ends of the first electrode and the second electrode away from the heating member to pass through
The atomizing base is provided with a second through hole for the end of the signal electrode away from the detecting chip to pass through
In regards to i., ii., iii., iv., and vi., Johnson, directed to a heating assembly and aerosol generating device, teaches (i) a heating assembly comprising a backing plate (Fig. 9: #93) that recesses downward to form an accommodating space. (ii) A bracket (Fig. 9: #106) is situated on a circuit board (Fig. 9: #105) accommodated and fixed into the accommodating space of the backing plate (Fig. 9: #93). (iii) A heating plate (Fig. 5: #73) is held within a heater receptacle (Fig. 11: #95) on an upper end of the bracket (Fig. 9: #106, [0043]). (iv) A circuit board (Fig. 9: #105) is provided in the accommodating space of the backing plate (Fig. 9: #93) configured to measure precise sensing or changes of temperature of the medium for use in generating aerosol [0053]. (vi) The backing plate (Fig. 9: #93) is provided with apertures (Fig. 9: #121) to receive a pair of electrodes distanced away from the heating plate (Fig. 5: #73, [0054]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the atomizing cover of Li to an atomizing base recessed with an accommodating groove, an atomizing bracket, one end of which is accommodated and fixed in the accommodating groove, the heating member supported on the other end of the atomizing bracket, a detecting chip providing in the accommodating groove, and wherein the atomizing base is provided with first through holes respectively for the ends of the first electrode and the second electrode away from the heating member to pass through because both Li and Johnson are directed to improving temperature control in aerosol generating devices. Johnson teaches a device comprising an atomizing backing plate recessed with a groove comprising a bracket, heating member, through holes, and circuit board to securely hold the components in place to improve electrical connectivity [0054] and this merely involves applying a known fixing technique to components of a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regards to v. and vii., Chen, directed to an electronic atomizing device, teaches (v) detection electrodes for connecting with a circuit board [0053], where the circuit board is electrically connected to a battery [0034]. (vii) A base (Fig. 3: #22) is provided with two detection connection terminals (Fig. 3: #28) for the end of the detection electrodes (Fig. 3: #28) to be electrically connected [0053] to generate a signal and ensure precision of detection when the device is in use [0053].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the detecting chip of modified Li to include signal electrodes for electrically connecting the detecting chip with the control board of the power supply device and wherein the atomizing base is provided with a second through hole for the end of the signal electrode away from the detecting chip to pass through because both Li and Chen are directed to improving atomization efficiency in aerosol generating devices. Chen teaches detection electrodes connected through a base of a device to generate a signal and ensure precision of detection when the device is in use [0053] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known connectivity methods to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 6, Li teaches (i) wherein the liquid reservoir (Fig. 6: #304) is contained within a main body (Fig. 6: #301). (ii) The main body is provided with chambers (Fig. 6: "C") containing liquid, an atomization area (Fig. 6: "A") to receive an atomizing core (Fig. 6: #10), and a plurality of pores in the liquid guiding body (Fig. 6: #103), meeting the claim limitation of a liquid outlet, where the liquid guiding body allows liquid to flow from the chambers (Fig. 6: "C") to the atomization area (Fig. 6: "A", [0013-0014]). (iii) The atomizing core can be detachably arranged inside of the main body (Fig. 6: #103, [0038]). One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the atomizing core is detachable from a bottom opening of the main body (Fig. 6: #301) based on the configuration of the device in Figure 6. The mouthpiece (Fig. 6: #302) is not disclosed as removable and the bottom is the only mechanically open end.
With regard to Claim 7, Li teaches (i) a cartridge base (Fig. 6: "B"). One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the cartridge base (Fig. 6: "B") is fitted around an opening, relating to the mounting hole of the claimed invention, at the bottom of the main body (Fig. 6: #301) based on the atomizing core (Fig. 1: #10) being detachable from the main body through the bottom [0038] and how the atomizing core (Fig. 1: #10) rests in between two sides of the cartridge base (Fig. 6: "B"). (iii) An atomizing base (Fig. 6: "A2") under the atomizing core (Fig. 6: #10) comprising the electrode assembly (Fig. 6: #303) is also inserted and fixed with the cartridge base (Fig. 6: "B").
(iv) The opening of the cartridge base (Fig. 6: "B") is within the atomization area (Fig. 6: "A"), meant for holding the atomizing core (Fig. 1: #10), when the atomizing base (Fig. 6: "A2") is attached, the ceramic heater (Fig. 1: #20) is also placed within the atomization area (Fig. 6: "A"), as shown in Figure 6. Li teaches (i) a cartridge base (Fig. 6: "B"). One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the cartridge base (Fig. 6: "B") is fitted around an opening, relating to the mounting hole of the claimed invention, at the bottom of the main body (Fig. 6: #301) based on the atomizing core (Fig. 1: #10) being detachable from the main body through the bottom [0038] and how the atomizing core (Fig. 1: #10) rests in between two sides of the cartridge base (Fig. 6: "B"). (iii) An atomizing base (Fig. 6: "A2") under the atomizing core (Fig. 6: #10) comprising the electrode assembly (Fig. 6: #303) is also inserted and fixed with the cartridge base (Fig. 6: "B"). (iv) The opening of the cartridge base (Fig. 6: "B") is within the atomization area (Fig. 6: "A"), meant for holding the atomizing core (Fig. 1: #10), when the atomizing base (Fig. 6: "A2") is attached, the ceramic heater (Fig. 1: #20) is also placed within the atomization area (Fig. 6: "A"), as shown in Figure 6.
With regard to Claim 10, Li teaches wherein the atomizer may be part of an electronic cigarette device [0035].
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20170224018 A1), Johnson (US 20170303587 A1), and Chen (CN 110652040 A, hereinafter using EP 4035542 A1 as English language equivalent), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fisher (CN 108211387 A, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation).
With regard to Claim 2, modified Li teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Li is silent to:
Wherein the detecting chip is arranged at the bottom of the accommodating groove
The first through hole and the second through hole are respectively provided at the bottom wall of the accommodating groove
The detecting chip is provided with third through holes through which the first electrode and the second electrode respectively pass through
The first electrode and the second electrode are respectively inserted into the corresponding third through holes and electrically connected to the detecting chip
In regards to i. and ii., Johnson teaches wherein (i) the circuit board (Fig. 9: #105) is received in the accommodating space of the backing plate (Fig. 9: #93). (ii) The apertures (Fig. 9: #121) are positioned on a bottom wall of the space provided in the backing plate (Fig. 9: #93, [0054]) to allow electrodes to pass through into receiving terminals easily [0054].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the detecting chip of modified Li to wherein the detecting chip is arranged at the bottom of the accommodating groove and the first through hole and the second through hole are respectively provided at the bottom wall of the accommodating groove because both Li and Johnson are directed to are directed to improving temperature control in aerosol generating devices using communication between electrodes. Li teaches a circuit in an accommodating space of a backing plate and apertures within the backing plate to allow electrodes to pass through into receiving terminals easily [0054] and this merely involves applying known connection techniques to a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regards to iii. and iv., Fisher, directed to an evaporator and evaporating device, teaches (iii) a third through hole, connected to a control device, through which a heating electrode passes through [0111]. (iv) One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify Fisher, in combination with Li, to wherein multiple third holes and electrodes are added by duplicating the known through hole structure of Fisher to promote reliable electrical connectivity.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the detecting chip of modified Li to wherein the detecting chip is provided with third through holes through which the first electrode and second electrode respectively pass through and wherein the first and second electrodes are respectively inserted into the corresponding third through holes and electrically connected to the detecting chip because both Li and Fisher are directed to improving the risk of poor atomization production in aerosol generating devices. Fisher teaches a third through hole for electrodes to pass through to promote a reliable electrical connection and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known connectivity methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20170224018 A1), Johnson (US 20170303587 A1), and Chen (CN 110652040 A, hereinafter using EP 4035542 A1 as English language equivalent), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang (CN 111631439 A, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation).
With regard to Claim 3, modified Li teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Li is silent to:
A sealing member provided in the accommodating groove
The outer peripheral surface of the sealing member is in close contact with the inner wall of the accommodating groove
A groove is concavely provided at the end of the sealing member away from the heating member
The detecting chip is accommodated and fixed in the groove
The sealing member is provided with fourth through holes to the first electrode and the second electrode respectively pass through
Huang, directed to a heating wire fixing structure, teaches (i) an oil sealing seat (Fig. 3: #27) mounted inside an accommodating space of a base (Fig. 3: #3). (ii) The outer peripheral surface of the oil sealing seat (Fig. 3: #27) is compressed against the inner walls of the space defined by the base (Fig. 6: #3), as seen in Figure 2. (iii) The oil sealing seat (Fig. 3: #27) comprises a recessed groove (Fig. 3: "G") on the opposite side of the heating element (Fig. 3: #25).
(iv) The recessed groove (Fig. 3: "G") receives electrodes to pass through to the base (Fig. 6: #3, [0051]). One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a detecting chip can be interpreted as an electronic control or sensing module and the electrodes sitting within the groove form a system that receives signals and controls electrical behavior, meeting the claim limitation of the detecting chip. (v) The oil sealing seat (Fig. 3: #27) is provided with first and second electrode holes for allowing electrical connectors (Fig. 6: #251) connected to electrodes to pass through [0050 & 0051] to ensure a secure that there is a strong connectivity [0050].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the accommodating groove of modified Li to include a sealing member provided in the accommodating groove, the outer peripheral surface of the sealing member is in close contact with the inner wall of the accommodating groove, a groove is concavely provided at the end of the sealing member away from the heating member, the detecting chip is accommodated and fixed in the groove, and wherein the sealing member is provided with fourth through holes to the first electrode and the second electrode respectively pass through because both Li and Huang are directed to providing ease of assembly for aerosol generating devices. Huang teaches a sealing member in an accommodating groove of a base with through holes to ensure a secure that there is a strong connectivity [0050] and this merely involves applying a known sealing method to a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20170224018 A1), Johnson (US 20170303587 A1), and Chen (CN 110652040 A, hereinafter using EP 4035542 A1 as English language equivalent), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yan (CN 111772246 A, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation).
With regard to Claim 4, modified Li teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Li is silent to:
A heat insulating member interposed between the heating member and the detecting chip
Wherein the heat insulating member is fixedly provided in the accommodating groove
Yan, directed to a heating module and smoking device, teaches (i) a first heat insulation component (Fig. 4: #60) that is disposed between a heating component and a base [0099], wherein a temperature sensing element is installed on the base [0082]. (ii) The first heat insulation component (Fig. 4: #60) is received in a first insulation cavity (Fig. 4: "N1") provided in a groove of the base (Fig. 4: #11) to prevent overheating while avoiding heat loss [0004].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the accommodating groove of modified Li to wherein a heat insulating member is interposed between the heating member and the detecting chip and fixedly provided in the accommodating groove because both Li and Yan are directed to improving heating efficiency in aerosol generating devices. Li teaches a heat insulation component between a heating component and sensing element to prevent overheating while avoiding heat loss [0004] and this merely involves applying a known locational technique to a known insulation layer ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20170224018 A1), Johnson (US 20170303587 A1), Chen (CN 110652040 A), and Yan (CN 111772246 A), as applied to claims 1 and 4, and further in view of Liu (US 20160316818 A1, hereinafter referred to as Liu ‘818), Ding (WO 2019127471 A1, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation), and Liu (WO 2018113669 A1, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation and referred to as Liu ‘669).
With regard to Claim 5, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Liu is silent to:
Wherein the atomizing bracket comprises a bracket body and a cylindrical support with the bracket body
One end of the heat insulating member close to the heating member is inserted into the cylindrical support
The other end of the insulating member protrudes from the cylindrical support
The outer peripheral surface of the portion of the heat insulating member protruding from the cylindrical support is in close contact with the inner wall of the accommodating groove
The heating insulating member is provided with an airflow passage that guides the outside air to flow to the heating member
The atomizing base is provided with an air inlet communicating with the airflow passage
Fifth through holes are defined on the thermal insulating member for the pins of the heating member to respectively pass through
In regards to i. and iv., Liu ‘818, directed to a battery rod and electronic cigarette, teaches (i) a holder (Fig. 5: #42) with a first connection section (Fig. 5: #422), relating to the cylindrical support of the claimed invention, and a second connection section (Fig. 5: #423), relating to the bracket body of the claimed invention. (iv) The outer peripheral surface of an insulation ring (Fig. 1: #43) on the first connection section (Fig. 5: #422) is in close contact with an inner wall of a space provided in the bottom of the device, as shown in Figure 2, comprising the whole assembly (Fig. 2: #4). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply the different bracket parts of Liu ‘818 to the bracket of modified Li to assist in securing an electrode connected to the heating member [0014].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the atomizing bracket of modified Li to wherein the atomizing bracket comprises a bracket body and a cylindrical support with the bracket body and the outer peripheral surface of the portion of the heat insulating member protruding from the cylindrical support is in close contact with the inner wall of the accommodating groove because both Li and Liu ‘818 are directed to improving atomization efficiency in aerosol generating devices. Liu ‘818 teaches a holder with first and second connection sections, containing an insulating ring to assist in securing an electrode connected to the heating member [0014] and this merely involves applying known sectional techniques to a bracket of a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regards to ii., iii., v., and vi, Ding, directed to a composite heating tobacco device, teaches (ii) a heat insulation cylinder (Fig. 1: #6), where a bottom end of the heat insulation cylinder (Fig. 1: #6) close to a tobacco heating section (Fig. 1: #3) is inserted into the top part of a second heat insulation body (Fig. 1: #71), relating to the bracket of the claimed invention. (iii) The top end of the heat insulation cylinder (Fig. 1: #6) protrudes out from the top part of the second fixed bracket (Fig. 1: #72).
(v) The heat insulation cylinder (Fig. 1: #6) comprises an air inlet pipe (Fig. 1: #8) that guides outside air from a first air inlet (Fig. 1: #121, [0056]) to an air heating pipe (Fig. 1: #4, [0051]) and tobacco heating section (Fig. 1: #4) to generate heat [0050]. (vi) The bottom cover (Fig. 1: #12) comprises a first air inlet that is in communication with the air inlet pipe (Fig. 1: #8, [0056]). One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the bracket body and cylindrical support of modified Li with the configuration relative to an insulating member of Ding to improve atomization that is insufficient or too fast in evaporation [0004].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the heat insulating member of modified Li to wherein one end of the heat insulating member close to the heating member is inserted into the cylindrical support, the other end of the insulating member protrudes from the cylindrical support, the heating insulating member is provided with an airflow passage that guides the outside air to flow to the heating member, and the atomizing base is provided with an air inlet communicating with the airflow passage because both Li and Ding are directed to improving heating efficiency in aerosol generating devices. Ding teaches a heat insulation cylinder held within and protruding out of a bracket in connection with an air passageway to improve atomization that is insufficient or too fast in evaporation [0004] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known heat insulation methods to yield predictable results.
In regards to vii., Liu '669 teaches an insulating ring comprising a through hole to allow an inner electrode connected to an ultrasonic atomizer to pass through [0123]. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the insulating member of modified Li with the through hole of Liu '669 to improve the heat insulation effect in the device and prevents burns [00028].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the atomizing bracket of modified Li to wherein fifth through holes are defined on the thermal insulating member for the pins of the heating member to respectively pass through because both Li and Liu '669 are directed to lowering the risk of poor atomization production in aerosol generating devices. Liu '669 teaches an insulating ring comprising a through hole to provide a connection to an atomizer to improve the heat insulation effect in the device and prevents burns [00028] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known heat insulation methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20170224018 A1), Johnson (US 20170303587 A1), and Chen (CN 110652040 A, hereinafter referring to English language equivalent, EP 4035542 A1), as applied to claims 1, 6, and 7 above, further in view of Chen (US 20180303158 A1, hereinafter referred to as Chen ‘158).
With regard to Claim 8, Li teaches (i) wherein the liquid reservoir (Fig. 6: #304) comprises an inner cylindrical member (Fig. 6: "IC") disposed in the main body (Fig. 6: #301). (ii) The top part of the inner cylindrical member (Fig. 6: "IC") communicates with a top outlet (Fig. 6: "O") of a mouthpiece (Fig. 6: #302) of the main body (Fig. 6: #301). (iii) The top of the main body (Fig. 6: #301) is equipped with the mouthpiece (Fig. 6: #302) communicating with the top outlet (Fig. 6: "O"). (v) The bottom port of the inner cylindrical member (Fig. 6: "IC") communicates with the opening defined by the cartridge base (Fig. 6: "B"). (vi) The part of the main body (Fig. 6: #301) outside of the inner cylindrical member (Fig. 6: "IC") defines the liquid storage chambers (Fig. 6: "C"). (vii) The atomization area (Fig. 6: "A") is between the two inner parts of the inner cylindrical member (Fig. 6: "C"). (viii) The pores of the liquid guiding body (Fig. 6: #103) are located on a side wall of the inner cylindrical members (Fig. 6: "IC"). Modified Li teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Li is silent to:
The bottom end of the inner cylindrical member is connected to the cartridge base through the sealing gasket
The atomizer further comprises a blocking member that is movably arranged in the inner cylindrical member
An elastic member elastically pressing against the blocking member toward the bottom of the inner cylindrical member to limit the blocking member to a position where the liquid outlet can be closed
Chen, directed to an e-liquid bottle and electronic cigarette, teaches (i) inner cylindrical members (Fig. 6: "IC") that are connected to a base (Fig. 6: #28) through a sealing cover (Fig. 10: #276) part of an atomization assembly (Fig. #10: #27), [0065]). (ii) The device further comprises an abutting member (Fig. 6: #231) that is movably arranged [0024]. (iii) An elastic second restoring member (Fig. 6: #233) that provides a force to keeps the abutting member (Fig. 6: #231, [0061]) in a position where a liquid inlet is kept out of an end wall, keeping the flow of liquid closed [0057]. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the layout of the abutting member of Chen to where it is placed within the inner cylindrical member of Li and combine it with the inner cylindrical member of Li to improving its sealing ability and reduce the chance of leakage based on Chen's goal of providing automatic liquid blockage in the device [0059].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the liquid storage member of modified Li to wherein the bottom end of the inner cylindrical member is connected to the cartridge base through the sealing gasket, the atomizer further comprises a blocking member that is movably arranged in the inner cylindrical member, and an elastic member elastically pressing against the blocking member toward the bottom of the inner cylindrical member to limit the blocking member to a position where the liquid outlet can be closed because both Li and Chen are directed to controlling movement of liquid throughout an aerosol generating device. Li teaches an abutting member provided with an elastic restoring member to reduce the chance of leakage in the device [0059] and this merely involves combining prior art elements according to known sealing methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 20170224018 A1), Johnson (US 20170303587 A1), and Chen (CN 110652040 A, hereinafter referring to English language equivalent, EP 4035542 A1), as applied to claims 1, 6, and 7 above, further in view of Wu (US 20160113327 A1).
With regard to Claim 9, modified Li teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Li is silent to:
A sealing ring for sealing the connection between the atomizing base and the cartridge base when the atomizing base is inserted into the mounting hole
The atomizing base is provided with a sealing groove
The sealing ring is disposed in the sealing groove
Wu, directed to an electronic atomization device, teaches (i) a sealing ring (Fig. 3: #42) for sealing the connection between a second connection element (Fig. 2: #23) and an oil cup body (Fig. 1: #22, [0022]) when the second connection element (Fig. 1: #23) is inserted into an opening of the oil cup body (Fig. 1: #22). (ii) The second connecting element (Fig. 3: #23) comprises a second stepped structure (Fig. 3: #231). (iii) The second stepped structure is formed for fitting the sealing washer (Fig. 4: #42) to avoid oil leakage within the device [0022].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the atomizing base of modified Li to comprise a sealing ring for sealing the connection between the atomizing base and the cartridge base when the atomizing base is inserted into the mounting hole, the atomizing base is provided with a sealing groove, and wherein the sealing ring is disposed in the sealing groove because both Li and Wu are directed to improving ease of assembly for aerosol generating devices. Wu teaches a sealing ring to avoid oil leakage within the device [0022] and this merely involves applying a known sealing technique to a known aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/O.O.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755