Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/6/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 13-14 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant: “Therefore, for at least the reasons presented above, Applicant submits that the combination of Samsung and Kim fails teach or suggest "receiving signaling, comprising at least one of a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) or a downlink control information (DCI), that indicates at least frequency locations of at least one uplink (UL) subband and at least one downlink (DL) subband for subband full duplex (SBFD) communications," (emphasis added) as recited in claim 29 and similar features recited in claims 1, 25, and 30.“.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument. Samsung expressly discloses configuring the UL and DL subbands by the gNB: “The simplest approach is that the gNB configures the SBFD UL subband and the DL subband(s) for the UE inside the UE channel BW”(p3). Samsung expressly discloses the configuring of the UL subband by SFI (i.e. DCI) and “the SBFD UL subband is configured by cell-common or UE dedicated RRC signaling and/or provided to UEs by SFI” (p9). Samsung implicitly discloses configuring DL subband by SFI based on the above disclosures. Kim expressly discloses RRC signaling, MAC CE signaling, and DCI signaling can be used for the signaling of configuration information (p55); MAC CE signaling is used configuring RB sets for UL and DL transmissions, i.e. subbands (p13-17)(p128); or the RB sets can be signaled using an SFI received as a group common DCI (p131); Kim further discloses “the terminal may identify whether a resource of a DL signal/channel and/or a resource of a UL signal/channel is valid by receiving an enhanced SFI (i.e., a dynamic signal or channel indicating DL or UL for each subband). Here, the DL signal/channel and/or the UL signal/channel may be scheduled by a DCI format or allocated by RRC signaling” (p319). Thus the combination of Samsung in view of Kim disclose the configuration of UL and DL subbands using MAC CE signaling or DCI signaling.
In view of the above discussions the rejection of claims 1, 3-25, and 27-30 still stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-14, 17, 21, 25, and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung (“Subband non-overlapping full duplex for NR duplex evolution”, R1-2203904, 5/20/2022) in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0007641) (“Kim”).
For claims 1, 25, 29, and 30; Samsung discloses: receive signaling indicating at least one of time or frequency locations of at least one uplink (UL) subband and at least one downlink (DL) subband for subband full duplex (SBFD) communications (Section 4.1, Proposal 7: UE dedicated SBFD UL subband configuration, e.g., symbols/slots and the frequency occupancy in which UL transmissions can be scheduled by the gNB, is provided to the UE); and perform SBFD communications, in one or more symbols or slots, based on the signaling (Section 4.1, Page 9: SBFD UL transmissions).
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Kim from similar fields of endeavor teaches: herein the signaling comprises at least one of a medium access control control element (MAC-CE) or a downlink control information (DCI) (paragraph 89, 128: A DL/UL pattern may be applied to subcarriers belonging to SD symbols whose duplex may vary for each subband. The base station may configure this pattern to terminals by RRC signaling or may indicate it to them by using a DCI. For convenience of description, this DCI may be referred to as a DCI format x). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Kim in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
For claim 3 and 27; Samsung discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Kim from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the signaling indicates: a starting resource block (RB) index for each DL subband of the at least one DL subband (paragraph 121-123: RB.sub.s.sup.end or GB.sub.s.sup.end may be expressed only by an RB index, or may be derived from a value obtained by adding the RB index and the number of RBs), at least one of an ending RB index or an allocation bandwidth for each DL subband of the at least one DL subband (paragraph 121-123: RB.sub.s.sup.end or GB.sub.s.sup.end may be expressed only by an RB index, or may be derived from a value obtained by adding the RB index and the number of RBs), a starting RB index for each UL subband of the at least one UL subband (paragraph 121-123: RB.sub.s.sup.end or GB.sub.s.sup.end may be expressed only by an RB index, or may be derived from a value obtained by adding the RB index and the number of RBs), and at least one of an ending RB index or an allocation bandwidth for each UL subband of the at least one UL subband (paragraph 121-123: RB.sub.s.sup.end or GB.sub.s.sup.end may be expressed only by an RB index, or may be derived from a value obtained by adding the RB index and the number of RBs…terminal may be indicated with an RB set interpreted as DL subcarriers in specific symbol(s). Similarly, the terminal may be indicated with an RB set interpreted as UL subcarriers in specific symbol(s)); or a starting resource block (RB) index of a guard band (GB) having a frequency between the frequency location of the at least one DL subband and the frequency location of the at least one UL subband (paragraph 121-123: RB.sub.s.sup.end or GB.sub.s.sup.end may be expressed only by an RB index, or may be derived from a value obtained by adding the RB index and the number of RBs), at least one of an ending RB index or an allocation bandwidth of the GB (paragraph 121-123: RB.sub.s.sup.end or GB.sub.s.sup.end may be expressed only by an RB index, or may be derived from a value obtained by adding the RB index and the number of RBs), and a starting resource block (RB) index and at least one of an ending RB index or an allocation bandwidth of the GB (paragraph 121-123: RB.sub.s.sup.end or GB.sub.s.sup.end may be expressed only by an RB index, or may be derived from a value obtained by adding the RB index and the number of RBs) of the at least one or more DL subbands or the at least one UL subband (paragraph 120: An RB set may be indicated by one RB index and the number of RBs. The RB set may include both RB(s) to which data can be mapped and RBs to which data is not mapped (i.e., a guard band or a gap)). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Kim in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
For claim 4, 7, and 11; Samsung discloses the subject matter in claim 3 as described above in the office action.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Kim from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the signaling further indicates at least one of: an offset value indicating a start time when the signaling becomes effective; or a symbol and slot configuration pattern, comprising: a first indication of a set of slots during which the signaling is effective; and a second indication of a set of symbols in each slot of the set of slots during which the signaling is effective (paragraph 6: a subband duplex (SD) operation method of a terminal may comprise: receiving, from a base station, slot pattern information for a slot; receiving, from the base station, information on at least one subband; and performing uplink transmission and/or downlink reception with the base station in the at least one subband included in at least one SD symbol included in the slot). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Kim in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
For claim 5, 8, and 12; Samsung discloses the subject matter in claim 4 as described above in the office action.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Kim from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the signaling indicates the symbol and slot configuration pattern and further indicates frequency locations of a plurality of UL subbands or frequency locations of a plurality of DL subbands (paragraph 92: The base station may determine which subcarriers of SD symbols to be placed in the DL region or the UL region according to a traffic condition or a position of the terminal. This may be indicated to the terminal by a DCI), and the symbol and slot configuration pattern further comprises: a third indication of a first subset of slots in the set of slots when a first UL subband in the plurality of UL subbands and a first DL subband in the plurality of DL subbands is configured; and a fourth indication of a second subset of slots in the set of slots when a second UL subband in the plurality of UL subbands and a second DL subband in the plurality of DL subbands is configured (paragraph 104-110: a temporal order of (DL, FL, and UL) may be satisfied at a given frequency, and at the same time, a frequency order of (DL, FL, and UL) (or UL, FL, and DL) may be satisfied at a given time... a periodicity at which the DCI format x is received by the terminal may be configured through RRC signaling, and an index derived from the DCI format x may be interpreted for SD symbols belonging to one period). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Kim in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
For claim 6; Samsung discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Kim from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the signaling comprises: one or more indices of resource block (RB) sets included in each DL subband of the at least one DL subband; and one or more indices of resource block (RB) sets included in each UL subband of the at least one UL subband (paragraph 127-129: Since the RB set is indicated to the terminal by RRC signaling, it may be difficult to flexibly apply the RB set. Accordingly, a plurality of RB sets may be configured to the terminal, and one RB set may be selected from among them. The base station may transmit MAC signaling indicating activation/deactivation of one RB set to the terminal. For example, the RB set may be indicated to the terminal using an index…an RB set for DL reception and an RB set for UL transmission may be independently indicated to the terminal). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Kim in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
For claim 9; Samsung discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Kim from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the signaling indicates: an explicit subband frequency configuration pattern indicating a relationship of the frequency location of the at least one DL subband to the frequency location of the at least one UL subband (paragraph 101-103: characteristics of subcarriers are represented in a bitmap with respect to consecutive SD symbols… one value (e.g., ‘1’) set to each bit of the bitmap may indicate that utilization for DL and UL is allowed, and another value (e.g., ‘0’) may indicate that utilization for DL and UL is not allowed); a starting resource block (RB) index of a guard band (GB) having a frequency between the frequency location of the at least one DL subband and the frequency location of the at least one UL subband; and at least one of an ending RB index or an allocation bandwidth of the GB (paragraph 121-123: RB.sub.s.sup.end or GB.sub.s.sup.end may be expressed only by an RB index, or may be derived from a value obtained by adding the RB index and the number of RBs), (paragraph 121-123: RB.sub.s.sup.end or GB.sub.s.sup.end may be expressed only by an RB index, or may be derived from a value obtained by adding the RB index and the number of RBs). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Kim in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
For claim 10; Samsung discloses the subject matter in claim 9 as described above in the office action.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Kim from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the signaling further indicates: a frequency location of an additional DL subband of the at least one DL subband, wherein the explicit subband frequency configuration pattern further indicates a relationship of the frequency location of the additional DL subband to the frequency location of the at least one UL subband (paragraph 101-103: characteristics of subcarriers are represented in a bitmap with respect to consecutive SD symbols… one value (e.g., ‘1’) set to each bit of the bitmap may indicate that utilization for DL and UL is allowed, and another value (e.g., ‘0’) may indicate that utilization for DL and UL is not allowed… The arrangement of 1's and 0's in a pattern of subcarriers at a given time (or SD symbols) may be limited. That is, the positions of 0's may be restricted to a configuration in which consecutive 1(s), consecutive 0(s), and consecutive 1(s) are arranged, a configuration in which consecutive 0(s) and consecutive 1(s) are arranged, or a configuration in which consecutive 1(s) and consecutive 0(s) are arranged in the order of increasing frequency at a given time); a starting resource block (RB) index of an additional GB having a frequency between the frequency location of the additional DL subband and the frequency location of the at least one UL subband, and at least one of an ending RB index or an allocation bandwidth of the additional GB or a frequency location of an additional UL subband of the at least one UL subband, wherein the explicit subband frequency configuration pattern further indicates a relationship of the frequency location of the additional UL subband to the frequency location of the at least one DL subband, a starting resource block (RB) index of an additional GB having a frequency between the frequency location of the additional UL subband and the frequency location of the at least one DL subband, and at least one of an ending RB index or an allocation bandwidth of the additional GB (paragraph 121-130: RB.sub.s.sup.end or GB.sub.s.sup.end may be expressed only by an RB index, or may be derived from a value obtained by adding the RB index and the number of RBs…Method 1-11: A set of symbols to which an RB set for DL reception is applied may be indicated to the terminal by separate RRC signaling, or a set of symbols to which an RB set for UL transmission is applied may be indicated to the terminal by the RRC signaling…when an RB set is indicated to the terminal, the terminal may derive an RB set for DL reception and an RB set for UL transmission from the indicated RB set). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Kim in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
For claim 13; Samsung discloses the subject matter in claim 9 as described above in the office action.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Kim from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the signaling further indicates: a starting resource block (RB) index of a first edge GB, wherein the starting RB includes a first edge frequency of a component carrier (CC) including the at least one DL subband and the at least one UL subband; at least one of an ending RB index or a bandwidth of the first edge GB; a starting resource block (RB) index of a second edge GB having a frequency higher than the frequency of the at least one DL subband and the frequency of the at least one UL subband; and at least one of an ending RB index or a bandwidth of the second edge GB, wherein the ending RB or the bandwidth of the second edge GB includes a second edge frequency of the CC (fig. 6,paragraph 121-123: The terminal may be indicated with an RB set interpreted as DL subcarriers in specific symbol(s). Similarly, the terminal may be indicated with an RB set interpreted as UL subcarriers in specific symbol(s)). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Kim in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
For claim 14; Samsung discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Kim from similar fields of endeavor teaches: at least one of: determine, based on a pre-defined rule, not to adapt an active UL bandwidth part (BWP) or an active DL BWP in response to the signaling; adapt at least one of an active UL bandwidth part or an active DL bandwidth part in response to the signaling; or receive a bandwidth part (BWP) switching signal, wherein the instructions being executable by the processor to cause the UE to perform the SBFD communications comprises the instructions being executable by the processor to cause the UE to wait until receiving the BWP switching signal before performing the SBFD communications, in one or more symbols or slots, based on the signaling (fig. 4, paragraph 90, 319: By RRC signaling, the terminal may know in which region (i.e., REs) DL reception is allowed or UL transmission is allowed in a DL BWP and UL BWP configured to the terminal) (paragraph 319: it may be assumed that a terminal performing an operation in which a duplex varies for each subband performs DL reception and UL transmission in one active BWP, or an activated DL BWP and an activated UL BWP coexist in the same symbol). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Kim in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
For claim 17 and 21; Samsung discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Kim from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the signaling indicates a first DL bandwidth part (BWP) configuration comprising the at least one DL subband and another DL subband, wherein the at least one DL subband and the other DL subband are in non-contiguous frequency bands (fig. 4, paragraph 90, 319: By RRC signaling, the terminal may know in which region (i.e., REs) DL reception is allowed or UL transmission is allowed in a DL BWP and UL BWP configured to the terminal…it may be assumed that a terminal performing an operation in which a duplex varies for each subband performs DL reception and UL transmission in one active BWP, or an activated DL BWP and an activated UL BWP coexist in the same symbol). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Kim in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
For claim 28; Samsung discloses the subject matter in claim 27 as described above in the office action.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Kim from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the signaling further indicates at least one of: an offset value indicating a start time when the signaling becomes effective; or a symbol and slot configuration pattern, comprising: a first indication of a set of slots during which the signaling is effective; and a second indication of a set of symbols in each slot of the set of slots during which the signaling is effective (paragraph 6: a subband duplex (SD) operation method of a terminal may comprise: receiving, from a base station, slot pattern information for a slot; receiving, from the base station, information on at least one subband; and performing uplink transmission and/or downlink reception with the base station in the at least one subband included in at least one SD symbol included in the slot). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Kim in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung in view of Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Awadin et al. (US 2023/0163937) (“Awadin”).
For claim 15; Samsung discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Awadin from similar fields of endeavor teaches: the signaling indicates a bandwidth part (BWP) switch to a first BWP (paragraph 31: If the switching occurs due to the reception of a PDCCH with a BWP switching command, the UE is not required to transmit/receive from the end of the 3.sup.rd symbol of a slot where the PDCCH is received to the beginning of the slot indicated by a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) field); and the frequency location of the at least one UL subband or the frequency location of the at least one DL subband are indicated in a BWP configuration for the first BWP (paragraph 263-268, 270, 275: explicit association is that the UL/DL subband with a particular ID configured through higher layer signaling, such as RRC parameter subband Id, is associated with UL/DL BWP or DL/UL BWP that has the same BWP Id. It is noted that for a non-initial UL/DL BWP, the BWP ID is provided by bwp-Id in BWP Downlink or BWP-Uplink IE…explicit association is that the configurations of the UL/DL subband, such as start and length, are provided as part of the configurations of the BWP with which the UL/DL subband is to be associated. As such, the gNB may not need to signal the subband ID, which may reduce the signaling overhead…When BWP switching occurs, the UL/DL subband may switch with the associated UL/DL BWP or DL/UL BWP). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Awadin in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung in view of Kim in view of Awadin as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Harada et al. (US 2024/0267902) (“Harada”).
For claim 16; Samsung discloses the subject matter in claim 15 as described above in the office action.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Awadin from similar fields of endeavor teaches: the first BWP comprises a first UL BWP that indicates the frequency location of the at least one UL subband (paragraph 263-268, 270, 275: explicit association is that the UL/DL subband with a particular ID configured through higher layer signaling, such as RRC parameter subband Id, is associated with UL/DL BWP or DL/UL BWP that has the same BWP Id. It is noted that for a non-initial UL/DL BWP, the BWP ID is provided by bwp-Id in BWP Downlink or BWP-Uplink IE…explicit association is that the configurations of the UL/DL subband, such as start and length, are provided as part of the configurations of the BWP with which the UL/DL subband is to be associated. As such, the gNB may not need to signal the subband ID, which may reduce the signaling overhead…When BWP switching occurs, the UL/DL subband may switch with the associated UL/DL BWP or DL/UL BWP). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Awadin in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Harada from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the instructions are executable by the processor to further cause the UE to: receive a configuration of a semi-static UL BWP switching pattern indicating the BWP configuration for the first UL BWP and a BWP configuration for at least one second UL BWP (paragraph 148: a semi-static configuration of a switching pattern for a UL BWP in the time domain may be supported); and switch from the at least one second UL BWP to the first UL BWP in response to the signaling and based on the semi-static UL BWP switching pattern (paragraph 149-152: According to the switching pattern, switching between a pure UL resource (all the frequencies in the UL resource correspond to UL resources/UL BWP available for UL) and UL resources in XDD (new UL BWP) can be performed without requiring dynamic BWP switch indication and a delay time necessary for existing switching… The UE may determine/judge a switching pattern for a DL BWP, based on an RRC information element related to a TDD configuration). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Harada in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
Claim(s) 18-20 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung in view of Kim as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of You et al. (US 2025/0167847) (“You”) in view of Oh et al. (US 2024/0236736) (“Oh”).
For claim 18 and 22; Samsung discloses the subject matter in claim 17 as described above in the office action.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but You from similar fields of endeavor teaches: receive a configuration of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) transmitted via a bandwidth of a component carrier (CC) including the at least one DL subband and the at least one UL subband (paragraph 336-346, fig. 18-19: the base station transmits a channel state information (CSI) configuration message to the UE (S191)), wherein the CSI-RS has a CSI-RS resource identifier (paragraph 213-214: the CSI may comprise at least one of the following. Channel Quality Information (CQI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), CSI-RS Resource Indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH Resource Block Indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI), Rank Indicator (RI), and/or L1-RSRP); and report a CSI metric in a CSI report for the at least one DL subband and the other DL subband based on CSI-RS within the at least one DL subband and the other DL subband that correspond to the CSI-RS (paragraph 336-346, fig. 18-19: the UE does not perform CSI-RS reception and measurement in the second frequency resource, but performs CSI-RS reception and measurement in the first frequency resource…The UE measures the CSI-RS (S194) and transmits the measurement result to the base station (S195), i.e., the base station receives the CSI-RS measurement result report transmitted by the UE. In this case, the CSI-RS measurement result report omits the boundary measurement result described above). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by You in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Oh from similar fields of endeavor teaches: receive a command to report channel state information for the at least one DL subband and the other DL subband, associated with the CSI-RS resource identifier; CSI-RS, within the CC, associated with the CSI-RS resource identifier (paragraph 299, Table 26: Upon reception of the value associated with a trigger state, the UE will perform measurement of CSI-RS, CSI-IM and/or SSB (reference signals) and aperiodic reporting on L1 according to all entries in the associatedReportConfigInfoList for that trigger state… For the CSI resource in the CSI trigger state triggered by the CSI request field, the UE may perform measurement, generating CSI (including at least one or more of above-described CQI, PMI, CRI, SSBRI, LI, RI, or L1-RSRP)). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Oh in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
For claim 19 and 23; Samsung discloses the subject matter in claim 18 as described above in the office action.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but You from similar fields of endeavor teaches: measure CSI-RS associated with the CSI-RS resource identifier within the at least one DL subband and the other DL subband, (paragraph 336-346, fig. 18-19: the UE does not perform CSI-RS reception and measurement in the second frequency resource, but performs CSI-RS reception and measurement in the first frequency resource…The UE measures the CSI-RS (S194) and transmits the measurement result to the base station (S195), i.e., the base station receives the CSI-RS measurement result report transmitted by the UE. In this case, the CSI-RS measurement result report omits the boundary measurement result described above). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by You in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Oh from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the CSI metric is calculated based on the CSI-RS associated with the CSI-RS resource identifier within the at least one DL subband and the other DL subband and not based on CSI-RS associated with the CSI-RS resource identifier outside of the at least one DL subband and the other DL subband (paragraph 299, Table 26: Upon reception of the value associated with a trigger state, the UE will perform measurement of CSI-RS, CSI-IM and/or SSB (reference signals) and aperiodic reporting on L1 according to all entries in the associatedReportConfigInfoList for that trigger state… For the CSI resource in the CSI trigger state triggered by the CSI request field, the UE may perform measurement, generating CSI (including at least one or more of above-described CQI, PMI, CRI, SSBRI, LI, RI, or L1-RSRP)). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Oh in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
For claim 20; Samsung discloses the subject matter in claim 19 as described above in the office action.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but You from similar fields of endeavor teaches: determine the CSI-RS to measure (paragraph 336-346, fig. 18-19: the UE does not perform CSI-RS reception and measurement in the second frequency resource, but performs CSI-RS reception and measurement in the first frequency resource…The UE measures the CSI-RS (S194) and transmits the measurement result to the base station (S195), i.e., the base station receives the CSI-RS measurement result report transmitted by the UE. In this case, the CSI-RS measurement result report omits the boundary measurement result described above). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by You in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Oh from similar fields of endeavor teaches: measure based on the first DL BWP configuration (paragraph 287, Table 21: This CSI-ReportConfig is associated with the DL BWP indicated by bwp-Id in that CSI-ResourceConfig). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Oh in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
For claim 24; Samsung discloses the subject matter in claim 27 as described above in the office action.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Kim from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein frequency locations of the UL BWP include the frequency locations of the at least one DL subband (paragraph 300-305: In the case of a periodic or semi-persistent SRS, the terminal may drop the SRS in a region indicated as DL (or FL in a specific case)); and transmit SRS in the at least one UL subband based on the configuration of the UL BWP while not transmitting SRS on frequency locations of the BWP that are not included in the UL subband (paragraph 300-305: When the terminal transmits an SRS or PRACH, if UL transmission is not allowed in some resources, the terminal may not transmit a part or all of the SRS or PRACH). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Kim in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
Samsung does not expressly disclose, but Oh from similar fields of endeavor teaches: receive a configuration of an UL bandwidth part (BWP) including a configuration of a sounding reference signal (SRS) to be transmitted by the UE via a bandwidth of the UL BWP (paragraph 411: the base station may transmit SRS configuration information or CLI configuration information including parameters and resources that may be used to measure the SRS or CLI to the UE), receive a command to transmit SRS (paragraph 300-306: The UE 1200 may transmit the SRS according to the transmission period and offset if the SRS is a periodic SRS or semi-persistent SRS or according to an SRS request of the base station (at a predetermined time after the SRS request)). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling/scheduling as described by Oh in the SBFD system as described by Samsung. The motivation is to improve resource usage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park et al. (US 2025/0150248); Park discloses some of the time resource configuration information of the UL subband, i.e., SBFD slot/symbol time resource configuration information where the UL subband is configured, may depend on the legacy slot configuration information. For example, the reference SCS, pattern and period configuration information for the time resource configuration of the UL subband may be derived from the reference SCS, pattern and period configuration information.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D BLANTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466