DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on March 9, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-2 and 4 are currently amended and remain pending in the application. Claim 3 is canceled.
The previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment. New rejections follow.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a fuel gas supply device configured to supply the fuel gas to the fuel cell (paragraph 0023, injector 23),
an oxidant gas supply device configured to supply the oxidant gas to the fuel cell (paragraph 0037, air compressor 32);
a refrigerant supply device configured to supply refrigerant to the fuel cell (paragraph 0053, fan 42);
a control unit (paragraph 0055, computer system),
in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (US 2005/0053809 A1, hereinafter “Hayashi”) in view of Wells et al. (US 2003/0022045 A1, hereinafter “Wells”) and Tanaka et al. (US 2012/0003557 A1, cited by Applicant in IDS filed April 28, 2023, and hereinafter “Tanaka”).
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi discloses a fuel cell system ([0037] and Fig. 3, fuel cell system 10) comprising:
a fuel cell configured to generate electric power when supplied with fuel gas and oxidant gas ([0038]-[0039], fuel cells 14, hydrogen-containing gas, and oxygen-containing gas);
a fuel gas supply device configured to supply the fuel gas to the fuel cell ([0041]-[0042] and Fig. 3, fuel gas supply system 28 including an ejector 40);
an oxidant gas supply device configured to supply the oxidant gas to the fuel cell ([0044]-[0045] and Fig. 3, oxygen-containing gas supply system including compressor 52);
a fuel cell temperature measurement device configured to measure a temperature of the fuel cell ([0047]-[0048] and Fig. 3, thermometer 56); and
a control unit ([0047], CPU 60),
wherein the control unit is configured to, when the temperature of the fuel cell is lower than a target temperature, perform a warm-up operation to increase the temperature of the fuel cell to the target temperature ([0047], freezing temperature starting up operation control map when the environmental temperature is 0°C or less) by generating the electric power with the fuel cell while cooling the fuel cell with the oxidant gas by controlling an amount of the oxidant gas supplied ([0056], oxygen-containing gas supplied to the fuel cell stack 12 is regulated at a higher pressure and flow rate in the freezing environment compared to the normal starting up operating condition), and
the control unit is configured to control the oxidant gas supply device such that the amount of the oxidant gas supplied during the warm-up operation is greater than the amount of the oxidant gas supplied during normal operation ([0056], oxygen-containing gas supplied to the fuel cell stack 12 is regulated at a higher pressure and flow rate in the freezing environment compared to the normal starting up operating condition).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Hayashi further discloses a refrigerant supply device configured to supply refrigerant to the fuel cell ([0041], coolant supply system); but does not disclose that the refrigerant supply device is a fan, and wherein the control unit is configured to, when the temperature of the fuel cell is lower than a target temperature, perform a warm-up operation to increase the temperature of the fuel cell to the target temperature by generating the electric power with the fuel cell while cooling the fuel cell with the oxidant gas by stopping supply of the refrigerant.
Wells discloses a cooling fan 54 that provides coolant air to fuel cell stack 12 ([0054] and Fig. 6).
Hayashi and Wells are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fuel cell systems. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fuel cell system of Hayashi with the teachings of Wells according to known methods to yield the predictable result of an air-cooled fuel cell system, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so (see MPEP § 2143(I)(A)).
Modified Hayashi does not disclose wherein the control unit is configured to, when the temperature of the fuel cell is lower than a target temperature, perform a warm-up operation to increase the temperature of the fuel cell to the target temperature by generating the electric power with the fuel cell while cooling the fuel cell with the oxidant gas by stopping supply of the refrigerant.
Tanaka discloses a rapid warm-up operation without circulating cooling water at a startup temperature below freezing ([0010]).
Tanaka is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of fuel cell systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fuel cell system of modified Hayashi with the teachings of Tanaka, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would minimize the fuel cell system start-up time in extremely cold weather, reducing user anxiety (Tanaka [0064]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Hayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1. Modified Hayashi further discloses wherein the refrigerant is a coolant gas (Wells [0051], coolant air).
Regarding claim 4, modified Hayashi discloses the limitations of claim 1. Hayashi further discloses wherein the control unit is configured to control the fuel gas supply device such that an amount of the fuel gas supplied during the warm-up operation is greater than the amount of the fuel gas supplied during normal operation ([0055], hydrogen gas supplied to the fuel cell stack 12 is regulated at a higher pressure and flow rate in the freezing environment compared to the normal starting up operating condition). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hoshi (US 2016/0240872 A1) discloses controlling cathode gas pressure during a warm-up operation to optimize stack temperature.
/J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 22 May 2026