DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 8, filed 12/23/2025, with respect to the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claims 2-5, 16, and 18-19 have been fully considered and are partially persuasive.
The Examiner is in agreement with Applicant’s argument that the amendments to the claims correct the previously-raised indefiniteness concerns, with the exception of claims 4-5. Regarding claims 4-5, antecedent basis issues remain with respect to “the control-parameter indicative of the location of the aircraft” and “the location”, as claim 1, upon which claims 4-5 depend, has been amended to remove the limitation “a control parameter indicative of a location of the aircraft”.
Accordingly, the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claims 2-3, 16, and 18-19 has been withdrawn, and the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claims 4-5 has been maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pgs. 8-10, filed 12/23/2025, with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 1 and its respective dependent claims have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The Examiner is in agreement that Jomain and Aghili fail to teach or suggest each of the features of amended independent claim 1. In particular, the Examiner is in agreement that neither Jomain nor Aghili teach or suggest that “wherein the one or more control-parameters local to the aircraft and outside the fuel tank comprise: a control-parameter indicative of an environmental condition, wherein the environmental condition is an air composition, or a control-parameter indicative of whether fuel vapour emissions from the fuel system have exceeded or will exceed a threshold.” While Aghili does teach (see at least [0079]) assessing whether the volume of fuel vapour emissions from the fuel system has exceeded the threshold or will exceed a threshold, Aghili makes this assessment based on an amount of fuel vapors and/or a pressure in the fuel tank and therefore cannot be considered to be a control-parameter local to the aircraft and outside the fuel tank.
Accordingly, the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 1 and its respective dependent claims has been withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Jomain in view of Dudar.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pgs. 8-10, filed 12/23/2025, with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 15 and its respective dependent claims have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Jomain and Aghili fail to teach or suggest the feature “local to the aircraft and outside the fuel tank” for similar reasons as discussed above with respect to claim 1. However, the Examiner respectfully notes that amended claim 15 recites: “wherein assessing a suitability for release of fuel vapour comprises: assessing a suitability of an environmental condition local to the aircraft and outside the fuel tank for release of fuel vapour, wherein the environmental condition is an air composition, or assessing a suitability of a location of the aircraft for release of fuel vapour compared with a geographical database of: population density, air quality, or local regulations, or assessing whether a volume of fuel vapour emissions from the fuel system has exceeded a threshold or will exceed a threshold, or assessing future route planning of the aircraft.” As indicated above in bold, the limitation “local to the aircraft and outside the fuel tank” applies only to “assessing a suitability of an environmental condition local to the aircraft and outside the fuel tank for release of fuel vapour, wherein the environmental condition is an air composition”. That is, the assessing a suitability for release of fuel vapor can alternatively comprise the other listed alternative assessments which are not required to be “local to the aircraft and outside the fuel tank”. The Examiner maintains that Aghili teaches (see at least [0079]) assessing whether a volume of fuel vapour emissions from the fuel system has exceeded a threshold or will exceed a threshold.
Accordingly, the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 15 and its respective dependent claims has been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “the one or more control-parameters comprise the control-parameter indicative of the environmental condition local to the fuel tank.” However, claim 1, upon which claim 2 depends, recites “and wherein the one or more control-parameters local to the aircraft and outside the fuel tank comprise: a control-parameter indicative of an environmental condition…” Therefore, claim 2 is rendered indefinite, as there is a lack of antecedent basis in the claims for “the control-parameter indicative of the environmental condition local to the fuel tank”, as claim 1 fails to establish that this control-parameter is local to the fuel tank. For the purposes of this examination, the above-recited control-parameter of claim 2 is being interpreted as “a control parameter indicative of an environmental condition local to the fuel tank”.
Claim 3 is dependent upon claim 2 and therefore inherits the above-described deficiencies. Accordingly, claim 3 is rejected under similar reasoning as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “the one or more control-parameters comprise the control-parameter indicative of the location of the aircraft.” However, there is a lack of antecedent basis in the claims for “the control parameter indicative of the location of the aircraft”, as the corresponding feature in independent claim 1 has been removed.
Claim 5 is dependent upon claim 4 and therefore inherits the above-described deficiencies. Accordingly, claim 5 is rejected under similar reasoning as claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “the location is a global position or altitude.” However, there is a lack of antecedent basis in the claims for “the location”, as the corresponding feature in independent claim 1 has been removed.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “the one or more control-parameters comprise the control-parameter indicative of future route planning of the aircraft.” .” However, there is a lack of antecedent basis in the claims for “the control-parameter indicative of future route planning of the aircraft”, as the corresponding feature in independent claim 1 has been removed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jomain et al. (US 2022/0081123 A1), hereinafter Jomain.
Regarding claim 21, Jomain discloses a fuel system for an aircraft, the fuel system comprising:
a fuel tank;
Jomain discloses ([0049]): "FIG. 2 shows a generalised example fuel storage system 2 according to the invention. The fuel storage system 2 comprises a fuel tank 21, a controllable pressure source 22, a controllable pressure release valve 23, and a controller 24."
a valve;
Jomain discloses ([0049]): "FIG. 2 shows a generalised example fuel storage system 2 according to the invention. The fuel storage system 2 comprises a fuel tank 21, a controllable pressure source 22, a controllable pressure release valve 23, and a controller 24."
a valve actuator with a control input, wherein the valve actuator is configured to open the valve in response to command signals on the control input,
Jomain discloses ([0057]): "The valve 23 may be an actuatable valve." Jomain further discloses ([0059]): "The valve 23 is communicatively connected to the controller 24 by a communications link 25b, which may be wired or wireless and may use any suitable communications technology. The communications link 25b is configured such that the valve 23 is able to receive control signals from the controller 24." Jomain even further discloses ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure. "
and the valve is configured so that opening of the valve ventilates the fuel tank causing fuel vapour to be released from the fuel tank via the valve;
Jomain discloses ([0056]): "The valve 23 may be any type of valve which is controllable to selectively permit or prevent the release of pressurised air from inside the fuel tank 21. Depending on the location of the fuel tank 21, the air may be released to the external environment of the fuel tank 21 or to some other location external to the fuel tank 21. For example, if the fuel tank 21 is located in a pressurised region of an aircraft, the air from inside the fuel tank 21 may be released into a sealed container or to the outside of the aircraft, to avoid contaminating the pressurised region of the aircraft with fuel vapour." Jomain further discloses ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure. "
a control system coupled to the control input, wherein the control system is configured to generate command signals and apply the command signals to the control input;
Jomain discloses ([0059]): "The valve 23 is communicatively connected to the controller 24 by a communications link 25b, which may be wired or wireless and may use any suitable communications technology. The communications link 25b is configured such that the valve 23 is able to receive control signals from the controller 24." Jomain further discloses ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure. "
and a control-parameter system configured to obtain one or more control-parameters,
Jomain discloses ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure." Jomain further discloses ([0066]): "The fuel tank pressure sensor 27 is communicatively connected to the controller 24 by a communications link 25d, which may be wired or wireless and may use any suitable communications technology. The communications link 25d is configured such that the fuel tank pressure sensor 27 is able to send signals containing measured pressure values to the controller 24."
wherein the control system comprises an automated control system which is coupled to the control-parameter system,
Jomain discloses ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure." Jomain further discloses ([0066]): "The fuel tank pressure sensor 27 is communicatively connected to the controller 24 by a communications link 25d, which may be wired or wireless and may use any suitable communications technology. The communications link 25d is configured such that the fuel tank pressure sensor 27 is able to send signals containing measured pressure values to the controller 24."
and the automated control system is configured to automatically generate the command signals on a basis of the one or more control-parameters,
Jomain discloses ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure."
and wherein the one or more control-parameters comprise: a control-parameter indicative of a global position of the aircraft, or a control-parameter indicative of future route planning of the aircraft.
Jomain discloses ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure." Jomain further discloses ([0077]): "In order to determine the target pressure for the fuel tank 21 at a future given time, the controller 24 requires information relating to a temperature of the fuel 212 inside the fuel tank 21 at the future given time. The controller may be configured to calculate, for example, a predicted fuel temperature for the future given time based on current fuel temperature information and a current rate of change of the fuel temperature (which may, for example, be calculated using historical fuel temperature information)." Jomain even further discloses ([0087]): "In examples in which the controller 24 generates a predicted value based on a measured temperature of the fuel 212 at an earlier time, the controller 24 may perform the generation using information relating to how the temperature of the fuel 212 is expected to change over time and/or in response to changing external factors (hereinafter referred to as fuel temperature evolution information). Such information may be in the form of a model of fuel temperature behaviour. The controller 24 may be pre-programmed with the fuel temperature evolution information." Jomain still further discloses ([0088]): "In examples in which the fuel storage system 2 is installed on an aircraft, the fuel temperature evolution information may comprise information about how the temperature of the fuel 212 is expected to change over the course of a flight cycle of the aircraft... For example, the fuel temperature evolution information may be based on or take account of aircraft specific details such as the location of the fuel tank 21, and/or which aircraft systems surround and/or are immersed in the fuel tank 21, since these details may affect fuel temperature during flight... The fuel temperature evolution information may be specific to the particular route being flown by the aircraft. In some examples the fuel temperature evolution information may comprise known relationships between fuel temperature in the fuel tank 21 and one or more external parameters. In such examples the controller 24 is configured to receive current values of the one or more external parameters during the course of operation of the fuel storage system 2.” Jomain yet further discloses ([0089]): "Such external parameters may include any one or more of: a current location of an aircraft on which the fuel storage system 2 is installed..."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jomain in view of Dudar et al. (US 2017/0370306 A1), hereinafter Dudar.
Regarding claim 1, Jomain teaches a fuel system for an aircraft, the fuel system comprising:
a fuel tank;
Jomain teaches ([0049]): "FIG. 2 shows a generalised example fuel storage system 2 according to the invention. The fuel storage system 2 comprises a fuel tank 21, a controllable pressure source 22, a controllable pressure release valve 23, and a controller 24."
a valve;
Jomain teaches ([0049]): "FIG. 2 shows a generalised example fuel storage system 2 according to the invention. The fuel storage system 2 comprises a fuel tank 21, a controllable pressure source 22, a controllable pressure release valve 23, and a controller 24."
a valve actuator with a control input, wherein the valve actuator is configured to open the valve in response to command signals on the control input,
Jomain teaches ([0057]): "The valve 23 may be an actuatable valve." Jomain further teaches ([0059]): "The valve 23 is communicatively connected to the controller 24 by a communications link 25b, which may be wired or wireless and may use any suitable communications technology. The communications link 25b is configured such that the valve 23 is able to receive control signals from the controller 24." Jomain even further teaches ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure. "
and the valve is configured so that opening of the valve ventilates the fuel tank causing fuel vapour to be released from the fuel tank via the valve;
Jomain teaches ([0056]): "The valve 23 may be any type of valve which is controllable to selectively permit or prevent the release of pressurised air from inside the fuel tank 21. Depending on the location of the fuel tank 21, the air may be released to the external environment of the fuel tank 21 or to some other location external to the fuel tank 21. For example, if the fuel tank 21 is located in a pressurised region of an aircraft, the air from inside the fuel tank 21 may be released into a sealed container or to the outside of the aircraft, to avoid contaminating the pressurised region of the aircraft with fuel vapour." Jomain further teaches ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure. "
a control system coupled to the control input, wherein the control system is configured to generate command signals and apply the command signals to the control input;
Jomain teaches ([0059]): "The valve 23 is communicatively connected to the controller 24 by a communications link 25b, which may be wired or wireless and may use any suitable communications technology. The communications link 25b is configured such that the valve 23 is able to receive control signals from the controller 24." Jomain further teaches ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure. "
and a control-parameter system configured to obtain one or more control-parameters,
Jomain teaches ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure." Jomain further teaches ([0066]): "The fuel tank pressure sensor 27 is communicatively connected to the controller 24 by a communications link 25d, which may be wired or wireless and may use any suitable communications technology. The communications link 25d is configured such that the fuel tank pressure sensor 27 is able to send signals containing measured pressure values to the controller 24."
wherein the control system comprises an automated control system which is coupled to the control-parameter system,
Jomain teaches ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure." Jomain further teaches ([0066]): "The fuel tank pressure sensor 27 is communicatively connected to the controller 24 by a communications link 25d, which may be wired or wireless and may use any suitable communications technology. The communications link 25d is configured such that the fuel tank pressure sensor 27 is able to send signals containing measured pressure values to the controller 24."
and the automated control system is configured to automatically generate the command signals on a basis of the one or more control-parameters,
Jomain teaches ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure."
However, while Jomain does teach a control parameter indicative of pressure local to the fuel tank (see at least [0075]), Jomain does not outright teach that the one or more control-parameters local to the aircraft and outside the fuel tank comprise a control-parameter indicative of whether fuel vapour emissions from the fuel system have exceeded or will exceed a threshold. Dudar teaches purge valve opening based on flow of vapor from a vehicle fuel canister, comprising:
and wherein the one or more control-parameters local to the aircraft and outside the fuel tank comprise: a control-parameter indicative of an environmental condition, wherein the environmental condition is an air composition, or a control-parameter indicative of whether fuel vapour emissions from the fuel system have exceeded or will exceed a threshold.
Dudar teaches ([0074]): "Additionally, at 519 the routine adjusts the purge valve opening amount based on operating conditions... Alternatively, as mentioned above, opening of the purge valve may be decreased if the flow of vapors from the fuel canister is above a threshold." The Examiner has interpreted the flow of vapors from the fuel canister as a control-parameter local to the vehicle and outside the fuel tank. FIG. 1, included below, demonstrates that the flow of vapors from the fuel canister is located outside the fuel tank 120.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jomain to incorporate the teachings of Dudar to provide that the one or more control-parameters local to the aircraft and outside the fuel tank comprise a control-parameter indicative of whether fuel vapour emissions from the fuel system have exceeded or will exceed a threshold. Jomain and Dudar are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle fuel tank systems, in particular venting of air from fuel tanks. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Dudar, as doing so provides the benefit of allowing opening of the valve to maintain a stoichiometric fuel-air ratio based on the flow of vapors from the fuel tank, as recognized by Dudar (see at least [0074]).
Regarding claim 2, Jomain and Dudar teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Jomain further teaches:
the one or more control-parameters comprise the control-parameter indicative of the environmental condition local to the fuel tank.
Jomain teaches ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure." Jomain further teaches ([0066]): "The fuel tank pressure sensor 27 is communicatively connected to the controller 24 by a communications link 25d, which may be wired or wireless and may use any suitable communications technology. The communications link 25d is configured such that the fuel tank pressure sensor 27 is able to send signals containing measured pressure values to the controller 24." Here, the one or more control-parameter comprises a control-parameter indicative of an environmental condition local to the fuel tank (i.e., fuel tank pressure).
Regarding claim 4, Jomain and Dudar teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Jomain further teaches:
the one or more control-parameters comprise the control-parameter indicative of the location of the aircraft.
Jomain teaches ([0077]): "In order to determine the target pressure for the fuel tank 21 at a future given time, the controller 24 requires information relating to a temperature of the fuel 212 inside the fuel tank 21 at the future given time. The controller may be configured to calculate, for example, a predicted fuel temperature for the future given time based on current fuel temperature information and a current rate of change of the fuel temperature (which may, for example, be calculated using historical fuel temperature information)." Jomain further teaches ([0087]): "In examples in which the controller 24 generates a predicted value based on a measured temperature of the fuel 212 at an earlier time, the controller 24 may perform the generation using information relating to how the temperature of the fuel 212 is expected to change over time and/or in response to changing external factors (hereinafter referred to as fuel temperature evolution information). Such information may be in the form of a model of fuel temperature behaviour. The controller 24 may be pre-programmed with the fuel temperature evolution information." Jomain even further teaches ([0088]): "In examples in which the fuel storage system 2 is installed on an aircraft, the fuel temperature evolution information may comprise information about how the temperature of the fuel 212 is expected to change over the course of a flight cycle of the aircraft... For example, the fuel temperature evolution information may be based on or take account of aircraft specific details such as the location of the fuel tank 21, and/or which aircraft systems surround and/or are immersed in the fuel tank 21, since these details may affect fuel temperature during flight... In some examples the fuel temperature evolution information may comprise known relationships between fuel temperature in the fuel tank 21 and one or more external parameters. In such examples the controller 24 is configured to receive current values of the one or more external parameters during the course of operation of the fuel storage system 2.” Jomain still further teaches ([0089]): "Such external parameters may include any one or more of: an altitude of an aircraft on which the fuel storage system 2 is installed; a flight phase of an aircraft on which the fuel storage system 2 is installed; a current location of an aircraft on which the fuel storage system 2 is installed; "
Regarding claim 5, Jomain and Dudar teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 4. Jomain further teaches:
the location is a global position or altitude.
Jomain teaches ([0088]): "In examples in which the fuel storage system 2 is installed on an aircraft, the fuel temperature evolution information may comprise information about how the temperature of the fuel 212 is expected to change over the course of a flight cycle of the aircraft... For example, the fuel temperature evolution information may be based on or take account of aircraft specific details such as the location of the fuel tank 21, and/or which aircraft systems surround and/or are immersed in the fuel tank 21, since these details may affect fuel temperature during flight... In some examples the fuel temperature evolution information may comprise known relationships between fuel temperature in the fuel tank 21 and one or more external parameters. In such examples the controller 24 is configured to receive current values of the one or more external parameters during the course of operation of the fuel storage system 2.” Jomain further teaches ([0089]): "Such external parameters may include any one or more of: an altitude of an aircraft on which the fuel storage system 2 is installed; a flight phase of an aircraft on which the fuel storage system 2 is installed; a current location of an aircraft on which the fuel storage system 2 is installed; "
Regarding claim 6, Jomain and Dudar teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Jomain further teaches:
the one or more control-parameters comprise the control-parameter indicative of future route planning of the aircraft.
Jomain teaches ([0077]): "In order to determine the target pressure for the fuel tank 21 at a future given time, the controller 24 requires information relating to a temperature of the fuel 212 inside the fuel tank 21 at the future given time. The controller may be configured to calculate, for example, a predicted fuel temperature for the future given time based on current fuel temperature information and a current rate of change of the fuel temperature (which may, for example, be calculated using historical fuel temperature information)." Jomain further teaches ([0087]): "In examples in which the controller 24 generates a predicted value based on a measured temperature of the fuel 212 at an earlier time, the controller 24 may perform the generation using information relating to how the temperature of the fuel 212 is expected to change over time and/or in response to changing external factors (hereinafter referred to as fuel temperature evolution information). Such information may be in the form of a model of fuel temperature behaviour. The controller 24 may be pre-programmed with the fuel temperature evolution information." Jomain even further teaches ([0088]): "In examples in which the fuel storage system 2 is installed on an aircraft, the fuel temperature evolution information may comprise information about how the temperature of the fuel 212 is expected to change over the course of a flight cycle of the aircraft... For example, the fuel temperature evolution information may be based on or take account of aircraft specific details such as the location of the fuel tank 21, and/or which aircraft systems surround and/or are immersed in the fuel tank 21, since these details may affect fuel temperature during flight... The fuel temperature evolution information may be specific to the particular route being flown by the aircraft. In some examples the fuel temperature evolution information may comprise known relationships between fuel temperature in the fuel tank 21 and one or more external parameters. In such examples the controller 24 is configured to receive current values of the one or more external parameters during the course of operation of the fuel storage system 2.” Jomain still further teaches ([0089]): "Such external parameters may include any one or more of: ... information about the route being flown by an aircraft on which the fuel storage system 2 is installed;”
Regarding claim 10, Jomain and Dudar teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Jomain further teaches:
a vent tank in fluid communication with atmosphere,
Jomain teaches ([0056]): "The valve 23 may be any type of valve which is controllable to selectively permit or prevent the release of pressurised air from inside the fuel tank 21. Depending on the location of the fuel tank 21, the air may be released to the external environment of the fuel tank 21 or to some other location external to the fuel tank 21. For example, if the fuel tank 21 is located in a pressurised region of an aircraft, the air from inside the fuel tank 21 may be released into a sealed container or to the outside of the aircraft, to avoid contaminating the pressurised region of the aircraft with fuel vapour." Jomain further teaches ([0051]): "The pressure source 22 is configured to alter the pressure in the ullage space of the fuel tank. The pressure source is configured to deliver air into the ullage space 211 via an inlet 222..." Jomain even further teaches ([0053]): "In some examples the controllable pressure source comprises a controllable valve disposed between the ullage space 211 and a high-pressure environment in which air pressure is higher than the air pressure in the ullage space 211 for at least some time periods during normal operation of the fuel storage system 2. Such a high-pressure environment may be, for example, a bleed air system of an aircraft or a pressurised region of an aircraft such as the cabin or a cargo bay." The Examiner has interpreted a pressurized region of an aircraft as an atmosphere of the aircraft. Therefore, air is taken into the fuel tank 21 from the atmosphere by the pressure source 22. Following this, if the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 becomes too high, the air is released to a sealed container. Therefore, the Examiner considers the sealed container to be in fluid communication with the atmosphere.
wherein the valve is configured so that opening of the valve causes the fuel vapour to be released from the fuel tank into the vent tank via the valve.
Jomain teaches ([0056]): "The valve 23 may be any type of valve which is controllable to selectively permit or prevent the release of pressurised air from inside the fuel tank 21. Depending on the location of the fuel tank 21, the air may be released to the external environment of the fuel tank 21 or to some other location external to the fuel tank 21. For example, if the fuel tank 21 is located in a pressurised region of an aircraft, the air from inside the fuel tank 21 may be released into a sealed container or to the outside of the aircraft, to avoid contaminating the pressurised region of the aircraft with fuel vapour."
Regarding claim 11, Jomain and Dudar teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Jomain further teaches:
the valve is configured so that the fuel vapour released from the fuel tank via the valve is released, directly or indirectly, into the atmosphere.
Jomain teaches ([0056]): "The valve 23 may be any type of valve which is controllable to selectively permit or prevent the release of pressurised air from inside the fuel tank 21. Depending on the location of the fuel tank 21, the air may be released to the external environment of the fuel tank 21 or to some other location external to the fuel tank 21. For example, if the fuel tank 21 is located in a pressurised region of an aircraft, the air from inside the fuel tank 21 may be released into a sealed container or to the outside of the aircraft, to avoid contaminating the pressurised region of the aircraft with fuel vapour."
Regarding claim 12, Jomain and Dudar teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Jomain further teaches:
an overpressure protector,
Jomain teaches ([0061]): "In some examples the fuel storage system 2 comprises a further pressure release valve (not shown), which need not be controllable. The further pressure release valve is configured to allow air to flow out of the ullage space 211 of the fuel tank 21 in the event that the pressure of the ullage space 211 exceeds a predetermined threshold."
wherein the overpressure protector is configured to open or burst to equalise pressure of the fuel tank in response to a pressure difference across the overpressure detector crossing a limit.
Jomain teaches ([0061]): "In some examples the fuel storage system 2 comprises a further pressure release valve (not shown), which need not be controllable. The further pressure release valve is configured to allow air to flow out of the ullage space 211 of the fuel tank 21 in the event that the pressure of the ullage space 211 exceeds a predetermined threshold. The further pressure release valve may be configured to cease allowing air to flow out of the ullage space 211 when the pressure of the ullage space equals the predetermined threshold. The predetermined threshold may be set based on the structural properties of the fuel tank 21. In some examples the further pressure release valve may be a burst disk." One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the above burst disk as being configured to burst to equalize pressure of the fuel tank in response to a pressure difference across the overpressure detector crossing a limit.
Regarding claim 13, Jomain and Dudar teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. Jomain further teaches:
the control system is configured to generate the command signals and apply the command signals to the control input during flight of the aircraft.
Jomain teaches ([0059]): "The valve 23 is communicatively connected to the controller 24 by a communications link 25b, which may be wired or wireless and may use any suitable communications technology. The communications link 25b is configured such that the valve 23 is able to receive control signals from the controller 24." Jomain further teaches ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure. " Jomain even further teaches ([0047]): "The example fuel storage systems according to the invention are able to regulate the pressure within the fuel tank in real-time... On an aircraft, the temperature of stored fuel tends to vary over a flight cycle, meaning that the amount of pressure required inside a fuel tank to ensure low flammability also varies. By taking fuel temperature into account, the example fuel storage systems according to the invention are advantageously able to ensure that the pressure in the fuel tank is always high enough to achieve a sufficiently low flammability, whilst simultaneously ensuring that it is not excessively high and that any periods in which the pressure inside the fuel tank is above the pressure of the surrounding environment are as short as possible. The risk of fuel or fuel vapour leaking out of the tank is consequently minimized.”
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jomain and Dudar in view of Hudak et al. (US 2010/0095937 A1), hereinafter Hudak.
Regarding claim 3, Jomain and Dudar teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 2. However, Jomain does not outright teach that the air composition comprises air quality, nitrogen oxide level, carbon dioxide level, or ozone level. Hudak teaches a system and method for venting fuel vapors, comprising:
the air composition comprises air quality, nitrogen oxide level, carbon dioxide level, or ozone level.
Hudak teaches ([0005]): "Such venting of fuel vapors although not desired, is generally essential to avoid damage to the fuel tank and various other components associated with the fuel tank (e.g., the fuel tank system) and additionally to provide a supply of fuel to the engine. However, the venting of the fuel vapors can contribute to ozone and urban smog and otherwise negatively impact the environment. In fact, certain federal or state regulations, such as the California Air Resource Board regulations, prohibit venting of fuel vapors directly into the atmosphere. Thus, increasingly it is desired that these evaporative emissions from fuel tanks be entirely eliminated or at least substantially reduced." Jomain is modified to incorporate the teachings of Hudak such that the decision to vent air from the fuel tank considers air quality and contributions to ozone and urban smog in order to comply with federal or state regulations.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jomain and Dudar to incorporate the teachings of Hudak to provide that the air composition comprises air quality, nitrogen oxide level, carbon dioxide level, or ozone level. Jomain, Dudar, and Hudak are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle fuel tank systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to include the environmental condition of air quality (i.e., "ozone and urban smog and otherwise negatively impact[ing] the environment.") of Hudak, as venting of fuel vapors can negatively impact the environment ([0005]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefit of prohibiting venting of fuel vapors in order to comply with federal or state regulations and reducing contributions to ozone and urban smog, as recognized by Hudak ([0005]).
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jomain and Dudar in view of Behbahani-Pour (US 2017/0283083 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Jomain and Dudar teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, the first embodiment of Jomain (i.e., the embodiment of fuel storage system 2) alone does not outright teach a pressure sensing system configured to determine a pressure difference between inside the fuel tank and outside the fuel tank. Combined embodiments of Jomain teach:
a pressure sensing system configured to determine a pressure difference between inside the fuel tank and outside the fuel tank,
Jomain teaches ([0067]): "Optionally the fuel storage system 2 comprises an environment pressure sensor 28. The environment pressure sensor 28 is located in the external environment surrounding the fuel tank 21." Jomain further teaches ([0128]): "In this example, as part of controlling the pressure source 22 (and the valve 23, if present) to achieve the target pressure inside the fuel tank (block 309 of the process 300), the controller 54 is configured to receive a value for the current pressure of the external environment of the fuel tank 21 (either by receiving a measured value from the environment pressure sensor 28, if present, or by generating a predicted value) and to compare the current pressure of the external environment to the target pressure in the manner described above in relation to FIG. 2." Jomain even further teaches ([0131]): "In block 602, the controller 54 determines whether the target pressure… is greater than the current external environment pressure..." The Examiner has interpreted the target pressure as a pressure inside the fuel tank, and the current external environment pressure as a pressure outside the fuel tank.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined teachings of embodiments of Jomain to provide a pressure sensing system configured to determine a pressure difference between inside the fuel tank and outside the fuel tank. It would have been particularly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the fuel storage system 2 with fuel storage system 5 (i.e., the fuel storage system comprising controller 54), as Jomain teaches that the controller 54 of the fuel storage system 5 comprises all of the same functionality as the controller 24, as well as additional functionality (see at least [0128]). The additional temperature/pressure control functionality provided by fuel storage system 5 advantageously allows for storing the fuel at temperatures and pressures at which the fuel tank is not flammable, as recognized by Jomain (see at least [0133]-[0137]).
However, while Jomain does use a determined pressure difference between inside the fuel tank and outside the fuel tank (see at least [0067] and [0128]-[0133]), the "target pressure" of Jomain is a calculated value and cannot reasonably be considered a pressure determined by a pressure sensing system. Behbahani-Pour teaches a system, apparatus, and method of preventing fuel tank explosion, comprising:
wherein the control system is configured to generate an equalisation command signal to open the valve in response to the pressure difference crossing a threshold.
Behbahani-Pour teaches ([0032]): "In another exemplary embodiment, the engine bleed air losses may be minimized by installing a fuel vent valve connected to a fuel tank that may open if the maximum differential pressure between the inside and the outside of the fuel tank is reached. A value of the differential pressure may be obtained by measuring the fuel tank 120 ullage pressure and compare it with the ambient atmospheric pressure." Behbahani-Pour is modified such that the controller 24 of Jomain generates an equalisation command signal for controlling the opening of the fuel vent valve based on the determination of whether differential pressure crosses the maximum differential pressure threshold.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jomain and Dudar to incorporate the teachings of Behbahani-Pour to provide that the control system is configured to generate an equalisation command signal to open the valve in response to the pressure difference crossing a threshold. Jomain, Dudar, and Behbahani-Pour are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle fuel tank systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the fuel vent valve safety features of Behbahani-Pour, as enabling venting based on differential pressure between inside the fuel tank and outside the fuel tank beneficially allows for automatic operation to prevent excess pressure buildup by venting the excess fuel tank pressure, as recognized by Behbahani-Pour (see at least [0032]).
Regarding claim 8, Jomain, Dudar, and Behbahani-Pour teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 7. However, Jomain does not outright teach that the control system is configured to generate an equalisation command signal to open the valve in response to the pressure difference increasing above a positive pressure threshold. Behbahani-Pour further teaches:
the control system is configured to generate an equalisation command signal to open the valve in response to the pressure difference increasing above a positive pressure threshold.
Behbahani-Pour teaches ([0032]): "In another exemplary embodiment, the engine bleed air losses may be minimized by installing a fuel vent valve connected to a fuel tank that may open if the maximum differential pressure between the inside and the outside of the fuel tank is reached. A value of the differential pressure may be obtained by measuring the fuel tank 120 ullage pressure and compare it with the ambient atmospheric pressure." Behbahani-Pour further teaches ([0043]): "In an exemplary embodiment illustrated in FIG. 4, if the fuel vent port fails to open, then the safety valves may operate in order to prevent a negative or positive differential pressure... In case of a positive differential pressure (the pressure inside the fuel tank 120 being greater than the atmospheric pressure by a predetermined value), the valve may move down and may allow the fuel tank 120 to vent to atmosphere."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jomain, Dudar, and Behbahani-Pour to further incorporate the teachings of Behbahani-Pour to provide that the control system is configured to generate an equalisation command signal to open the valve in response to the pressure difference increasing above a positive pressure threshold. Jomain, Dudar, and Behbahani-Pour are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle fuel tank systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the fuel vent valve safety features of Behbahani-Pour, as enabling venting based on differential pressure between inside the fuel tank and outside the fuel tank beneficially allows for automatic operation to prevent excess pressure buildup by venting the excess fuel tank pressure, as recognized by Behbahani-Pour (see at least [0032]).
Regarding claim 9, Jomain, Dudar, and Behbahani-Pour teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 7. However, Jomain does not outright teach that the control system is configured to generate an equalisation command signal to open the valve in response to the pressure difference decreasing below a negative pressure threshold. Behbahani-Pour further teaches:
the control system is configured to generate an equalisation command signal to open the valve in response to the pressure difference decreasing below a negative pressure threshold.
Behbahani-Pour teaches ([0032]): "In another exemplary embodiment, the engine bleed air losses may be minimized by installing a fuel vent valve connected to a fuel tank that may open if the maximum differential pressure between the inside and the outside of the fuel tank is reached. A value of the differential pressure may be obtained by measuring the fuel tank 120 ullage pressure and compare it with the ambient atmospheric pressure." Behbahani-Pour further teaches ([0043]): "In an exemplary embodiment illustrated in FIG. 4, if the fuel vent port fails to open, then the safety valves may operate in order to prevent a negative or positive differential pressure... In case of a negative differential pressure (atmospheric pressure greater than the fuel tank pressure), the safety valve may move upward and may allow air to enter the fuel tank 120."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jomain, Dudar, and Behbahani-Pour to further incorporate the teachings of Behbahani-Pour to provide that the control system is configured to generate an equalisation command signal to open the valve in response to the pressure difference decreasing below a negative pressure threshold. Jomain, Dudar, and Behbahani-Pour are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle fuel tank systems. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the fuel vent valve safety features of Behbahani-Pour, as enabling venting based on differential pressure between inside the fuel tank and outside the fuel tank beneficially allows for automatic operation to prevent a negative pressure differential by opening the valve, as recognized by Behbahani-Pour (see at least [0043]).
Claim(s) 15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jomain in view of Aghili et al. (US 2018/0017430 A1), hereinafter Aghili.
Regarding claim 15, Jomain teaches a method of ventilating a fuel system of an aircraft, the fuel system comprising:
a fuel tank
Jomain teaches ([0049]): "FIG. 2 shows a generalised example fuel storage system 2 according to the invention. The fuel storage system 2 comprises a fuel tank 21, a controllable pressure source 22, a controllable pressure release valve 23, and a controller 24."
and a valve,
Jomain teaches ([0049]): "FIG. 2 shows a generalised example fuel storage system 2 according to the invention. The fuel storage system 2 comprises a fuel tank 21, a controllable pressure source 22, a controllable pressure release valve 23, and a controller 24."
the method comprising: assessing a suitability for release of fuel vapour;
Jomain teaches ([0057]): "The valve 23 may be an actuatable valve." Jomain further teaches ([0059]): "The valve 23 is communicatively connected to the controller 24 by a communications link 25b, which may be wired or wireless and may use any suitable communications technology. The communications link 25b is configured such that the valve 23 is able to receive control signals from the controller 24." Jomain even further teaches ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure. "
and opening the valve on a basis of the assessment,
Jomain teaches ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure. "
wherein the opening of the valve causes fuel vapour to be released from the fuel tank via the valve,
Jomain teaches ([0056]): "The valve 23 may be any type of valve which is controllable to selectively permit or prevent the release of pressurised air from inside the fuel tank 21. Depending on the location of the fuel tank 21, the air may be released to the external environment of the fuel tank 21 or to some other location external to the fuel tank 21. For example, if the fuel tank 21 is located in a pressurised region of an aircraft, the air from inside the fuel tank 21 may be released into a sealed container or to the outside of the aircraft, to avoid contaminating the pressurised region of the aircraft with fuel vapour." Jomain further teaches ([0075]): "In examples in which the pressure release valve 23 is present in the fuel storage system 2, if the controller 24 determines that the pressure in the fuel tank 21 needs to decrease, it sends a control signal to the valve 23 configured to cause the valve 23 to release air from the fuel tank 21. The control signal may be configured to cause the valve 23 to release a particular amount of air from the fuel tank 21, such amount being determined by the controller 24 to be appropriate for decreasing the pressure inside the fuel tank 21 to the target pressure. "
However, while Jomain does teach a control parameter indicative of pressure local to the fuel tank (see at least [0075]), Jomain does not outright teach assessing a suitability for release of fuel vapour comprises assessing whether a volume of fuel vapour emissions from the fuel system has exceeded a threshold or will exceed a threshold. Aghili teaches systems and methods for fuel level estimation, comprising:
wherein assessing a suitability for release of fuel vapour comprises: assessing a suitability of an environmental condition local to the aircraft and outside the fuel tank for release of fuel vapour, wherein the environmental condition is an air composition, or assessing a suitability of a location of the aircraft for release of fuel vapour compared with a geographical database of: population density, air quality, or local regulations, or assessing whether a volume of fuel vapour emissions from the fuel system has exceeded a threshold or will exceed a threshold, or assessing future route planning of the aircraft.
Aghili teaches ([0079]): "FTIV 252 may be positioned between the fuel tank and the fuel vapor canister within conduit 278. FTIV 252 may be a normally closed valve, that when opened, allows for the venting of fuel vapors from fuel tank 22 to canister 222. Fuel vapors may then be vented to atmosphere, or purged to engine intake system 123 via canister purge valve 261. An amount of fuel vapors in the fuel tank 22 may be estimated based on a pressure in the fuel tank 22. The fuel tank pressure may be estimated based on outputs from a fuel tank pressure transducer (FTPT) 291. Thus, the FTPT or pressure sensor 291 may provide an indication of the pressure in the fuel tank 22. The FTIV may be opened when the amount of fuel vapors and/or a pressure in the fuel tank 22 increases above a threshold."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jomain to incorporate the teachings of Aghili to provide that assessing a suitability for release of fuel vapour comprises assessing whether a volume of fuel vapour emissions from the fuel system has exceeded a threshold or will exceed a threshold. Jomain and Aghili are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle fuel tank systems, in particular venting of air from fuel tanks. Jomain already provides determining, based on a fuel tank pressure, whether air should be released from a fuel tank (see at least [0075]). Aghili teaches estimation of the amount of fuel vapor within the fuel tank based on the measured pressure of the fuel tank (see at least [0079]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Aghili, as doing so beneficially allows for venting of excess fuel vapor when the amount of fuel vapor and/or pressure in the fuel tank increases above a threshold, as recognized by Aghili ([0079]).
Regarding claim 18, Jomain and Aghili teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 15. Jomain further teaches:
assessing the suitability for release of fuel vapour comprises assessing the suitability of the location of the aircraft for release of fuel vapour.
Jomain teaches ([0077]): "In order to determine the target pressure for the fuel tank 21 at a future given time, the controller 24 requires information relating to a temperature of the fuel 212 inside the fuel tank 21 at the future given time. The controller may be configured to calculate, for example, a predicted fuel temperature for the future given time based on current fuel temperature information and a current rate of change of the fuel temperature (which may, for example, be calculated using historical fuel temperature information)." Jomain further teaches ([0087]): "In examples in which the controller 24 generates a predicted value based on a measured temperature of the fuel 212 at an earlier time, the controller 24 may perform the generation using information relating to how the temperature of the fuel 212 is expected to change over time and/or in response to changing external factors (hereinafter referred to as fuel temperature evolution information). Such information may be in the form of a model of fuel temperature behaviour. The controller 24 may be pre-programmed with the fuel temperature evolution information." Jomain even further teaches ([0088]): "In examples in which the fuel storage system 2 is installed on an aircraft, the fuel temperature evolution information may comprise information about how the temperature of the fuel 212 is expected to change over the course of a flight cycle of the aircraft... For example, the fuel temperature evolution information may be based on or take account of aircraft specific details such as the location of the fuel tank 21, and/or which aircraft systems surround and/or are immersed in the fuel tank 21, since these details may affect fuel temperature during flight... In some examples the fuel temperature evolution information may comprise known relationships between fuel temperature in the fuel tank 21 and one or more external parameters. In such examples the controller 24 is configured to receive current values of the one or more external parameters during the course of operation of the fuel storage system 2.” Jomain still further teaches ([0089]): "Such external parameters may include any one or more of: an altitude of an aircraft on which the fuel storage system 2 is installed; a flight phase of an aircraft on which the fuel storage system 2 is installed; a current location of an aircraft on which the fuel storage system 2 is installed; "
Regarding claim 19, Jomain and Aghili teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 15. However, Jomain does not outright teach that assessing the suitability for release of fuel vapour comprises assessing whether the volume of fuel vapour emissions from the fuel system has exceeded the threshold or will exceed the threshold. Aghili further teaches:
assessing the suitability for release of fuel vapour comprises assessing whether the volume of fuel vapour emissions from the fuel system has exceeded the threshold or will exceed a threshold.
Aghili teaches ([0079]): "FTIV 252 may be positioned between the fuel tank and the fuel vapor canister within conduit 278. FTIV 252 may be a normally closed valve, that when opened, allows for the venting of fuel vapors from fuel tank 22 to canister 222. Fuel vapors may then be vented to atmosphere, or purged to engine intake system 123 via canister purge valve 261. An amount of fuel vapors in the fuel tank 22 may be estimated based on a pressure in the fuel tank 22. The fuel tank pressure may be estimated based on outputs from a fuel tank pressure transducer (FTPT) 291. Thus, the FTPT or pressure sensor 291 may provide an indication of the pressure in the fuel tank 22. The FTIV may be opened when the amount of fuel vapors and/or a pressure in the fuel tank 22 increases above a threshold."
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jomain and Aghili to further incorporate the teachings of Aghili to provide that assessing the suitability for release of fuel vapour comprises assessing whether the volume of fuel vapour emissions from the fuel system has exceeded the threshold or will exceed the threshold. Jomain and Aghili are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle fuel tank systems, in particular venting of air from fuel tanks. Jomain already provides determining, based on a fuel tank pressure, whether air should be released from a fuel tank (see at least [0075]). Aghili teaches estimation of the amount of fuel vapor within the fuel tank based on the measured pressure of the fuel tank (see at least [0079]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Aghili, as doing so beneficially allows for venting of excess fuel vapor when the amount of fuel vapor and/or pressure in the fuel tank increases above a threshold, as recognized by Aghili ([0079]).
Regarding claim 20, Jomain and Aghili teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 15. Jomain further teaches:
assessing the suitability for release of fuel vapour comprises assessing future route planning of the aircraft.
Jomain teaches ([0077]): "In order to determine the target pressure for the fuel tank 21 at a future given time, the controller 24 requires information relating to a temperature of the fuel 212 inside the fuel tank 21 at the future given time. The controller may be configured to calculate, for example, a predicted fuel temperature for the future given time based on current fuel temperature information and a current rate of change of the fuel temperature (which may, for example, be calculated using historical fuel temperature information)." Jomain further teaches ([0087]): "In examples in which the controller 24 generates a predicted value based on a measured temperature of the fuel 212 at an earlier time, the controller 24 may perform the generation using information relating to how the temperature of the fuel 212 is expected to change over time and/or in response to changing external factors (hereinafter referred to as fuel temperature evolution information). Such information may be in the form of a model of fuel temperature behaviour. The controller 24 may be pre-programmed with the fuel temperature evolution information." Jomain even further teaches ([0088]): "In examples in which the fuel storage system 2 is installed on an aircraft, the fuel temperature evolution information may comprise information about how the temperature of the fuel 212 is expected to change over the course of a flight cycle of the aircraft... For example, the fuel temperature evolution information may be based on or take account of aircraft specific details such as the location of the fuel tank 21, and/or which aircraft systems surround and/or are immersed in the fuel tank 21, since these details may affect fuel temperature during flight... The fuel temperature evolution information may be specific to the particular route being flown by the aircraft. In some examples the fuel temperature evolution information may comprise known relationships between fuel temperature in the fuel tank 21 and one or more external parameters. In such examples the controller 24 is configured to receive current values of the one or more external parameters during the course of operation of the fuel storage system 2.” Jomain still further teaches ([0089]): "Such external parameters may include any one or more of: ... information about the route being flown by an aircraft on which the fuel storage system 2 is installed; "
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jomain and Aghili in view of Dudar.
Regarding claim 16, Jomain and Aghili teach the aforementioned limitations of claim 1. However, neither Jomain nor Aghili outright teach that assessing the suitability for release of fuel vapour comprises assessing the suitability of the environmental condition local to the aircraft for release of fuel vapour, wherein the environmental condition is local to the aircraft and outside the fuel tank. Dudar teaches purge valve opening based on flow of vapor from a vehicle fuel canister, comprising:
assessing the suitability for release of fuel vapour comprises assessing the suitability of the environmental condition local to the aircraft for release of fuel vapour.
Dudar teaches ([0074]): " Additionally, at 519 the routine adjusts the purge valve opening amount based on operating conditions... Alternatively, as mentioned above, opening of the purge valve may be decreased if the flow of vapors from the fuel canister is above a threshold." The Examiner has interpreted the flow of vapors from the fuel canister as a control-parameter local to the vehicle and outside the fuel tank. FIG. 1, included above, demonstrates that the flow of vapors from the fuel canister is located outside the fuel tank 120.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jomain and Aghili to incorporate the teachings of Dudar to provide that assessing the suitability for release of fuel vapour comprises assessing the suitability of the environmental condition local to the aircraft for release of fuel vapour, wherein the environmental condition is local to the aircraft and outside the fuel tank. Jomain, Aghili, and Dudar are each directed towards similar pursuits in the field of vehicle fuel tank systems, in particular venting of air from fuel tanks. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to incorporate the teachings of Dudar, as doing so provides the benefit of allowing opening of the valve to maintain a stoichiometric fuel-air ratio based on the flow of vapors from the fuel tank, as recognized by Dudar (see at least [0074]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takagi et al. (US 6,145,306 A) teaches exhaust gas purification using vapor fuel generated in a fuel tank, including compensating for increased fuel quantity by purging vapor fuel (see at least Abstract and Col. 11 lines 20-27). Wood (US 2018/0370649 A1) teaches an aircraft fuel system, including the use of pressure valves to enable a fuel tank to increase or decrease pressure within the tank (see at least [0009]).
/F.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/DALE W HILGENDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662