DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/309,501 filed on 4/28/2023 is presented for examination.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Authorization for Internet Communications
The examiner encourages Applicant to submit an authorization to communicate with the examiner via the Internet by making the following statement (from MPEP 502.03):
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Please note that the above statement can only be submitted via Central Fax, Regular postal mail, or EFS Web.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609, the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statement dated 9/20/2024 is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chan (US 2003/0217197).
As per claim 1, Chan discloses a program execution method, applied to a computer system, the method comprising:
receiving a call request of a first program for a small stub function (Paragraph 4 “supplying portions of program code or program data of a computer program as the portions are needed by the program. The portions are defined in accordance with the logic of the computer program. The portions are then removed from the computer program to produce an application skeleton. Rather than downloading and running the entire program on a computing system, the computing system runs the smaller program skeleton. The computing system generally downloads the portions of the computer program and inserts them into the skeleton, as they are needed.”), wherein the small stub function is a function in a small stub function set (Paragraph 6 “The program skeleton is missing a funclet of the program, but includes a placeholder in place of the funclet. The program skeleton additionally includes instructions in place of the funclet. The instructions are operative to request the funclet when the program skeleton encounters the instructions.”), and a first small image of the computer system comprises the small stub function set and a small real function set (Paragraph 24 “The binary preparation operation 12 receives the original application 10 and yields an application skeleton 20 and funclets 34, all corresponding to the original application 10. The application skeleton 20 is based on the original application 10, but is missing the funclets 34.”);
loading the small stub function based on the call request (Paragraph 24 “The computing system runs the application skeleton 20 and uses an LDRRT (loader run time) module to get the funclets 34 as they are needed by the application skeleton 20.”); and
determining, based on the small stub function, whether to load a complementary real function corresponding to the small stub function (Paragraph 28 “An entry operation 242 calls a query operation 244, such as an "IF" operation. The query operation 244 may call either a first post-query operation 246 or a second post-query operation 248. Upon completion, the active post-query operation 246, 248 calls a common return operation 250. As is shown, the query operation 244 and the first post-query operation 246 may be combined into a first funclet 260 because it is highly likely that entry into the query operation 244 will result in a call to the first post-query operation 246 based on the logic of the application 10.”), wherein the complementary real function is a function in a complementary real function set (Paragraph 28), a first complementary image comprises the complementary real function set and a complementary stub function set (Paragraph 28), the complementary stub function set corresponds to the small real function set (Paragraph 28) and the complementary real function set corresponds to the small stub function set (Paragraph 28).
As per claim 2, Chan further discloses wherein determining whether to load the complementary real function based on the small stub function comprises:
attempting to run the small stub function according to an instruction of the first program, and in response to an exception being detected, loading the complementary real function (Paragraph 30 “The optimize and define funclets operation 312 preferably determines an optimum configuration of the application for use in a software on demand system. Among other things, the optimize and define funclets operation 312 defines the funclets 34. The optimize and define funclets operation 312 will be described in more detail below.”).
As per claim 3, Chan further discloses wherein the small real function set is a set of functions that are run by using target code in a process of running a target case set, and the complementary real function set is a set of functions that are not run by using the target code in the process of running the target case set (Paragraph 36 “Thus, the highest priority block is the one most frequently encountered during the user scenarios that produced the profile data 310, and the lowest priority block is the one least frequently encountered during the user scenarios that produced the profile data 310. Thus, more frequently encountered blocks are preferably processed before less frequently encountered blocks.”).
As per claim 4, Chan further discloses wherein the method further comprises:
loading a target function, wherein the target function comprises a target character string, a data volume of the target character string is less than a data volume of a source character string, the target code comprises the target function, the target code is obtained based on source code, the source code comprises a source function, and the source function comprises the source character string (Paragraph 44 “By inserting such referenced blocks, the funclets can include several blocks and still have only one entry point into the funclet. It is desirable to have larger funclets because larger funclets can be more effectively compressed and downloaded.”).
As per claim 5, Chan further discloses wherein after the target function has been loaded, the method further comprises:
sending the target character string to a second device, wherein the target character string is used by the second device to obtain the source character string based on a target correspondence and the target character string (Paragraph 44).
As per claim 6, Chan further discloses wherein loading the complementary real function comprises:
loading the complementary real function from the second device based on the small stub function (Paragraph 28).
As per claim 7, Chan further discloses wherein the first complementary image and the first small image are stored in different storage media of a first device (Paragraph 27).
As per claim 8, Chan further discloses wherein the method further comprises:
determining, based on the small stub function, to load the complementary real function, and sending related information of the complementary real function to the second device, wherein the related information is used by the second device to obtain a second small image based on the related information, and the second small image comprises the small real function set and the complementary real function (Paragraph 28).
As per claims 9-16, they are apparatus claims having similar limitations as cited in claims 1-9 and are rejected under the same rationale.
As per claims 17-20, they are medium claims having similar limitations as cited in claims 1-9 and are rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schaefer (US 2005/0216902) discloses managing a software configuration update of a vehicle. A first software module is identified and vehicle configuration data representative of a first vehicle software configuration is retrieved. A determination is made whether the first software module is compatible with the first vehicle software configuration at a call center. A second vehicle software configuration is sent from the call center to a telematics unit via a wireless network based on the determination. A computer usable medium with suitable computer program code is employed for managing the software configuration update of the vehicle.
Isaacson (US 2015/0350295) discloses remote execution of computer applications. More specifically to a system and method of managing the transmission of assets needed for remote execution. The techniques described are particularly suited to graphical programs but have a wider domain of application.
/TIMOTHY A MUDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198 12/02/2025