DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communication filed on 06/26/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/29/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu et al. (US 20220322234 A1) (hereinafter “Niu”) in view of Da Silva-2 (WO2018174806A1, Published 2018-09-27) (hereinafter “Da Silva-2”).
Regarding claim 1, Niu discloses a measurement adjustment method, wherein the method comprises:
determining, by a terminal according to a preset rule, whether to perform at least one of radio link monitoring (RLM) measurement adjustment or beam failure detection (BFD) measurement adjustment (see para. [0025];[0140]-[0150];[0043] discloses the UE may perform signaling characteristic evaluation (SCE), such as radio link monitoring, (RLM) and beam failure detection (BFD) operation; discloses several examples of method for measurement operation and relaxation based on different conditions for RLM and BFD. The rule is determining low-mobility criterion based on one or more measurements and performing RLM or BFD operations using relaxed evaluation period or measurement interval based on the determination that the UE is in low mobility state), wherein the measurement adjustment comprises at least one of the following:
measurement relaxation, measurement enhancement, or normal measurement (see para. [0043] discloses the relaxation of the RLM parameters may be based on radio link metrics are favorable, this could be used to determining to relax RLM parameters),
Niu fails to disclose but Da Silva-2 discloses wherein the determining, by a terminal according to a preset rule, whether to perform at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment comprises:
determining, by the terminal based on at least one of in-sync (IS) for RLM or out- of-sync (OOS) for RLM, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment (see Fig. 14 (1404), lines (871-886) discloses the method includes a plurality of RLM measurement sources, configuring the device to perform measurement based on plurality of RLM measurement sources, where the measurement indicate a quality of a given cell or beam and the device perform one or more RLM actions based on occurrences of OOS and IS events)..
Niu and Da Silva-2 are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications including enhancement of power-saving techniques.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Niu to include the measurement adjustment as described by Da Silva-2.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving evaluation periods for beam failure.
Regarding claim 2, Niu discloses a method wherein the determining, by a terminal according to a preset rule, whether to perform at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment further comprises at least one of the following (see para. [0025];[0140]-[0150] discloses the UE may perform signaling characteristic evaluation (SCE), such as radio link monitoring, (RLM) and beam failure detection (BFD) operation; discloses several examples of method for measurement operation and relaxation based on different conditions for RLM and BFD):
determining, by the terminal based on an RLM related timer, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment (This element is optional);
determining, by the terminal based on a beam failure instance (BFI) of BFD, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment (This element is optional);
determining, by the terminal based on a BFD related timer, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment (This element is optional);
determining, by the terminal based on a condition for at least one of radio resource management (RRM) measurement relaxation or RRM measurement enhancement, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment (This element is optional);
determining, by the terminal based on whether an S-measure criteria is satisfied or whether intra-frequency neighboring cell/inter-frequency neighboring cell measurement is started, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment see [0050] discloses cellEdgeEvaluation field provide the cell edge criterion for example s-search ThresholdP and s-searchThresholdQ, for relaxed measurement, the UE may determine if its located in cell edge);
determining, by the terminal based on whether an indication of a network-side device has been received, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment (This element is optional);
determining, by the terminal based on a preset condition, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment (This element is optional);
determining, by the terminal based on a condition for at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or RLM measurement enhancement, whether to perform BFD measurement adjustment (This element is optional); or
determining, by the terminal based on a condition for at least one of BFD measurement relaxation or BFD measurement enhancement, whether to perform RLM measurement adjustment (This element is optional).
Regarding claim 5, Niu discloses a method wherein the determining, by the terminal based on a BFI of BFD (see para. [0025];[0140]-[0150] discloses the UE may perform signaling characteristic evaluation (SCE), such as radio link monitoring, (RLM) and beam failure detection (BFD) operation; discloses several examples of method for measurement operation and relaxation based on different conditions for RLM and BFD), whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment comprises at least one of the following (see para. [0140] determine low-mobility criterion based on one or more measurements and performing RLM or BFD operations using relaxed evaluation period or measurement interval based on the determination that the UE is in low mobility state):
in a case that the terminal detects one or N4 BFIs, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement (see para.[0025];[0088];[]139];[0140]-[0150];[0068] discloses the UE may perform signaling characteristic evaluation (SCE), such as radio link monitoring, (RLM) and beam failure detection (BFD) operation; BFD operation may include determining beam failure instances or evaluation of conditions for beam failure; Example 4. Includes RLM operation or Beam Failure Detection; Examples of method for measurement operation and relaxation based on different conditions for RLM and BFD; utilizing LCM of the DRX may provide efficient manner of relaxing the RLM operations in many scenarios, however, in some scenarios it may not relax the RLM operations (normal RLM)); or
in a case that the terminal detects no BFI or detects no more than M4 BFIs within a preset time, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement (This element is optional);
in a case that the terminal detects no BFI or detects no more than M5 BFIs within a preset time, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation (This element is optional); or
in a case that the terminal detects one or N5 BFIs, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement; or in a case that the terminal detects one or N6 BFIs, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement (This element is optional); or
in a case that the terminal detects no BFI or detects no more than M6 BFIs within a preset time, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation (This element is optional);
wherein M4, M5, M6, N4, N5, and N6 are integers greater than 1.
Regarding claim 8, Niu discloses a method wherein the determining, by the terminal, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment based on a condition for at least one of RRM measurement relaxation or RRM measurement enhancement comprises at least one of the following (see para. [0025]-[0028];[0084] discloses the UE may perform signaling characteristic evaluation (SCE), such as radio link monitoring, (RLM) and beam failure detection (BFD, evaluation of OOS; the relaxed evaluation period may include OOS (Out Of Sync) evaluation, where the UE has to determine the radio link quality):
in a case that the condition for RRM measurement relaxation is satisfied or the condition for RRM measurement enhancement is not satisfied, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation (This element is optional); or
in a case that the condition for RRM measurement relaxation is not satisfied, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement (see para. [0025]-[0028];[0084]; [0068] discloses the UE may perform signaling characteristic evaluation (SCE), such as radio link monitoring, (RLM) and beam failure detection (BFD, evaluation of OOS; the relaxed evaluation period may include OOS (Out Of Sync) evaluation, where the UE has to determine the radio link quality; utilizing LCM of the DRX may provide efficient manner of relaxing the RLM operations in many scenarios, however, in some scenarios it may not relax the RLM operations (normal RLM));
in a case that the condition for RRM measurement enhancement is satisfied or the condition for RRM measurement relaxation is not satisfied, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement (This element is optional); or
in a case that the condition for RRM measurement enhancement is not satisfied, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement (see para. [0025]-[0028];[0084] discloses the UE may perform signaling characteristic evaluation (SCE), such as radio link monitoring, (RLM) and beam failure detection (BFD, evaluation of OOS; the relaxed evaluation period may include OOS (Out Of Sync) evaluation, where the UE has to determine the radio link quality; or
in a case that the condition for RRM measurement relaxation is satisfied or the condition for RRM measurement enhancement is not satisfied, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation (This element is optional); or
in a case that the condition for RRM measurement enhancement is satisfied or the condition for RRM measurement relaxation is not satisfied, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement (This element is optional).
Regarding claim 9, Niu discloses a method wherein the determining, by the terminal based on whether an S-measure criteria is satisfied or whether intra-frequency neighboring cell/inter-frequency neighboring cell measurement is started, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment comprises at least one of the following (see para. [0072];[0076];[0152] discloses relaxing RLM operations may apply to other SCE operations, per example the relaxation factor may be configured and use for neighbor cell measurement relaxation; method of UE one or more elements for relaxation factor, determining a measurement period for interfrequency without measurement gaps and performing a neighbor cell measurement using the measurement period):
in a case that the S-measure criteria is satisfied or the intra-frequency neighboring cell/inter-frequency neighboring cell measurement is not started, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation (This element is optional); or
in a case that the S-measure criteria is not satisfied or the intra-frequency neighboring cell/inter-frequency neighboring cell measurement is started, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement (see para. [0072];[0076];[0152] discloses relaxing RLM operations may apply to other SCE operations, per example the relaxation factor may be configured and use for neighbor cell measurement relaxation ;method of UE one or more elements for relaxation factor, determining a measurement period for interfrequency without measurement gaps and performing a neighbor cell measurement using the measurement period);
in a case that the S-measure criteria is not satisfied or the intra-frequency neighboring cell/inter-frequency neighboring cell measurement is started, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement; or
in a case that the S-measure criteria is satisfied or the intra-frequency neighboring cell/inter-frequency neighboring cell measurement is not started, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement (This element is optional); or
in a case that the S-measure criteria is satisfied or the intra-frequency neighboring cell/inter-frequency neighboring cell measurement is not started, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation (This element is optional); or
in a case that the S- measure criteria is not satisfied or the intra-frequency neighboring cell/inter-frequency neighboring cell measurement is started, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement (This element is optional).
Regarding claim 10, (Currently Amended) Niu discloses a method wherein the preset condition comprises at least one of a first condition or a second condition, and the determining, by a terminal based on a preset condition, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment comprises at least one of the following (see para. [0025];[0140]-[0150] discloses the UE may perform signaling characteristic evaluation (SCE), such as radio link monitoring, (RLM) and beam failure detection (BFD) operation; discloses several examples of method for measurement operation and relaxation based on different conditions for RLM and BFD):
in a case that the first condition is satisfied, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation (This element is optional); or
in a case that the second condition is satisfied, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement (see para. [0043] discloses relaxation of the RLM parameters may be based on radio link metric favorable, per example if the receive power and quality are over preconfigured thresholds and UE is in low mobility mode, or the UE may be determined not to be located at cell edge, those conditions may be used for determining relaxed RLM parameters are appropriate);
in a case that the second condition is satisfied, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement (This element is optional); or
in a case that the first condition is satisfied, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement (This element is optional); or
in a case that the first condition is satisfied, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation (This element is optional); or
in a case that the second condition is satisfied, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement (This element is optional);
wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: a moving speed of the terminal being lower than a threshold, being located in cell center, having power saving requirements, being in a power saving mode, remaining power being lower than a threshold, or a DRX period being greater than a threshold (This element is optional); and
the second condition comprises at least one of the following: a moving speed of the terminal being greater than a threshold, being located at cell edge, having no power saving requirements, not being in a power saving mode, remaining power being greater than a threshold, or a DRX period being less than a threshold (This element is optional).
Regarding claim 11, Niu discloses a method wherein the moving speed of the terminal is determined based on at least one of the following: an absolute moving speed related indicator of the terminal, a number of cells/beams which the terminal camps on or moves to within a preset time, or an amount of variation of target measurement (see para. [0049];[0139] discloses low mobility evaluation based on the UE measuring reference signal power that does not change more than the given threshold in a given time, the UE meet the low-mobility criterion).
Regarding claim 12, Niu discloses a method wherein the determining, by the terminal based on a condition for at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or RLM measurement enhancement, whether to perform BFD measurement adjustment comprises at least one of the following (see para. [0025]-[0028];[0084] discloses the UE may perform signaling characteristic evaluation (SCE), such as radio link monitoring, (RLM) and beam failure detection (BFD, evaluation of OOS; the relaxed evaluation period may include OOS (Out Of Sync) evaluation, where the UE has to determine the radio link quality):
in a case that the condition for RLM measurement relaxation is satisfied or the condition for RLM measurement enhancement is not satisfied, switching to BFD measurement relaxation; or in a case that the condition for RLM measurement relaxation is not satisfied, returning to normal BFD measurement (see para. [0139];[0140] discloses example where the RLM operation or beam failure detection (BFD) operation and method determine low mobility or cell edge-conditions criterion of UE and performing RLM or BFD operation using the relaxed evaluation period or measurement interval based on determination that the UE is in the low-mobility state or not located in the cell edge region of the serving cell);
in a case that the condition for RLM measurement enhancement is satisfied or the condition for RLM measurement relaxation is not satisfied, switching to BFD measurement enhancement (This element is optional); or
in a case that the condition for RLM measurement enhancement is not satisfied, returning to normal BFD measurement (This element is optional); or
in a case that the condition for RLM measurement relaxation is satisfied or the condition for RLM measurement enhancement is not satisfied, switching to BFD measurement relaxation (This element is optional); or
in a case that the condition for RLM measurement enhancement is satisfied or the condition for RLM measurement relaxation is not satisfied, switching to BFD measurement enhancement (This element is optional).
Regarding claim 13, Niu discloses a method wherein the determining, by the terminal based on a condition for at least one of BFD measurement relaxation or BFD measurement enhancement, whether to perform RLM measurement adjustment comprises at least one of the following (see para. [0025]-[0028];[0084] discloses the UE may perform signaling characteristic evaluation (SCE), such as radio link monitoring, (RLM) and beam failure detection (BFD, evaluation of OOS; the relaxed evaluation period may include OOS (Out Of Sync) evaluation, where the UE has to determine the radio link quality):
in a case that the condition for BFD measurement relaxation is satisfied or the condition for BFD measurement enhancement is not satisfied, switching to RLM measurement relaxation; or
in a case that the condition for BFD measurement relaxation is not satisfied, returning to RLM normal measurement (see para. [0139];[0140] discloses example where the RLM operation or beam failure detection (BFD) operation and method determine low mobility or cell edge-conditions criterion of UE and performing RLM or BFD operation using the relaxed evaluation period or measurement interval based on determination that the UE is in the low-mobility state or not located in the cell edge region of the serving cell);
in a case that the condition for BFD measurement enhancement is satisfied or the condition for BFD measurement relaxation is not satisfied, switching to RLM measurement enhancement (This element is optional); or
in a case that the condition for BFD measurement enhancement is not satisfied, returning to RLM normal measurement (This element is optional); or
in a case that the condition for BFD measurement relaxation is satisfied or the condition for BFD measurement enhancement is not satisfied, switching to RLM measurement relaxation (This element is optional); or
in a case that the condition for BFD measurement enhancement is satisfied or the condition for BFD measurement relaxation is not satisfied, switching to RLM measurement enhancement (This element is optional).
Regarding claim 14, Niu discloses a method wherein before the determining, by a terminal according to a preset rule, whether to perform at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment, the method further comprises see para. [0025]-[0028];[0084] discloses the UE may perform signaling characteristic evaluation (SCE), such as radio link monitoring, (RLM) and beam failure detection (BFD, evaluation of OOS; the relaxed evaluation period may include OOS (Out Of Sync) evaluation, where the UE has to determine the radio link quality):
receiving, by the terminal, configuration information from a network-side device, wherein the configuration information is used for configuring a measurement adjustment related parameter (see para [0031] discloses a first value referred as L1 measurement interval may set an interval of two successive indication from layer 1 (for example OOS and IS). May be based on DRX configuration).
Regarding claim 15, Niu discloses a method wherein before the determining, by a terminal according to a preset rule, whether to perform at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment, the method further comprises (see para. [0025];[0140]-[0150] discloses the UE may perform signaling characteristic evaluation (SCE), such as radio link monitoring, (RLM) and beam failure detection (BFD) operation; discloses several examples of method for measurement operation and relaxation based on different conditions for RLM and BFD):
receiving, by the terminal, second indication information, wherein the second indication information is used to indicate a measurement adjustment related parameter and indicate that the terminal is to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment (see Fig. 6, [0106] discloses the operation generating a configuration message with an indication of a relaxation factor that could be an enumerated value).
Regarding claim 16, Niu discloses a method wherein the second indication information is comprised in at least one of a system information block (SIB) message or an advance indication message (see para. [0052];[0079] discloses relaxation factor Q, signaled in the System Information Block (SIB));
wherein the advance indication message comprises at least one of the following: a go-to- sleep (GTS) signal, a wake-up signal (WUS), or downlink control information (DCI) (see para. [0052];[0079] discloses relaxation factor Q, signaled in the System Information Block (SIB), the configuration element may be a DCP configuration event). (see para. [0052];[0079] discloses relaxation factor Q, signaled in the System Information Block (SIB), the configuration element may be a DCP configuration event).
Regarding claim 17, Niu discloses a method wherein the second indication information is comprised in a SIB message (see para. [0052];[0079] discloses relaxation factor Q, signaled in the System Information Block (SIB)), and the second indication information is used to indicate at least one of the following:
whether a serving cell supports at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment (see para. [0052];[0079] discloses relaxation factor Q, signaled in the System Information Block (SIB));
an RLM measurement adjustment related parameter for the serving cell (This part is optional);
a BFD measurement adjustment related parameter for the serving cell;
a type of the serving cell (This part is optional); or
permission for measurement adjustment of the terminal in the serving cell (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 18, Niu discloses a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor (see Fig. 7, para. [0115] discloses UE with processor, memory including instructions executed by the processor), a measurement adjustment method is implemented, the method comprising:
determining, by a terminal according to a preset rule, whether to perform at least one of radio link monitoring (RLM) measurement adjustment or beam failure detection (BFD) measurement adjustment (see para. [0025];[0140]-[0150] discloses the UE may perform signaling characteristic evaluation (SCE), such as radio link monitoring, (RLM) and beam failure detection (BFD) operation; discloses several examples of method for measurement operation and relaxation based on different conditions for RLM and BFD), wherein the measurement adjustment comprises at least one of the following:
measurement relaxation, measurement enhancement, or normal measurement (see para. [0043] discloses the relaxation of the RLM parameters may be based on radio link metrics are favorable, this could be used to determining to relax RLM parameters).,
Niu fails to disclose but Da Silva-2 discloses wherein the determining, by a terminal according to a preset rule, whether to perform at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment comprises:
determining, by the terminal based on at least one of in-sync (IS) for RLM or out-of-sync (OOS) for RLM, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment (see Fig. 14 (1404), lines (871-886) discloses the method includes a plurality of RLM measurement sources, configuring the device to perform measurement based on plurality of RLM measurement sources, where the measurement indicate a quality of a given cell or beam and the device perform one or more RLM actions based on occurrences of OOS and IS events).
Niu and Da Silva-2 are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications including enhancement of power-saving techniques.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Niu to include the measurement adjustment as described by Da Silva-2.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving evaluation periods for beam failure.
Regarding claim 19, Niu discloses a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, and when the program or instructions are executed by a processor, a measurement adjustment method is implemented (see para. [0115];[0166] discloses computer-readable media that includes instructions that may be executed by a processor to perform various operations described; computer program comprising instructions to cause the processing to carry out the method), the method comprising:
determining, by a terminal according to a preset rule, whether to perform at least one of radio link monitoring (RLM) measurement adjustment or beam failure detection (BFD) measurement adjustment (see para. [0025];[0140]-[0150] discloses the UE may perform signaling characteristic evaluation (SCE), such as radio link monitoring, (RLM) and beam failure detection (BFD) operation; discloses several examples of method for measurement operation and relaxation based on different conditions for RLM and BFD), wherein the measurement adjustment comprises at least one of the following:
measurement relaxation, measurement enhancement, or normal measurement (see para. [0043] discloses the relaxation of the RLM parameters may be based on radio link metrics are favorable, this could be used to determining to relax RLM parameters),
Niu fails to disclose but Da Silva-2 discloses wherein the determining, by a terminal according to a preset rule, whether to perform at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment comprises:
determining, by the terminal based on at least one of in-sync (IS) for RLM or out- of-sync (OOS) for RLM, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment (see Fig. 14 (1404), lines (871-886) discloses the method includes a plurality of RLM measurement sources, configuring the device to perform measurement based on plurality of RLM measurement sources, where the measurement indicate a quality of a given cell or beam and the device perform one or more RLM actions based on occurrences of OOS and IS events).
Niu and Da Silva-2 are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications including enhancement of power-saving techniques.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Niu to include the measurement adjustment as described by Da Silva-2.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving evaluation periods for beam failure.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu et al. (US 20220322234 A1) (hereinafter “Niu”) in view of Da Silva-2 (WO2018174806A1, Published 2018-09-27) (herein after “Da Silva -2”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Da Silva et al. (US 20200344019 A1) (hereinafter “Da Silva”).
Regarding claim 3, Niu discloses a method wherein the determining, by the terminal based on at least one of IS for RLM or OOS for RLM, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment (see para. [0025]-[0028];[0084] discloses the UE may perform signaling characteristic evaluation (SCE), such as radio link monitoring, (RLM) and beam failure detection (BFD, evaluation of OOS; the relaxed evaluation period may include OOS (Out Of Sync) evaluation, where the UE has to determine the radio link quality)
Niu fails to disclose comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the terminal detects one or M1 ISs, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation; or in a case that the terminal detects one or N1OOSs, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal measurement;
in a case that the terminal detects one or N2 OOSs, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement; or
in a case that the terminal detects one or M2 ISs, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement; or
in a case that the terminal detects one or N3 OOSs, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement; or in a case that the terminal detects one or M3 ISs, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation;
wherein M1, M2, M3, N1, N2, and N3 are integers greater than 1.
However, Da Silva
comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the terminal detects one or M1 ISs, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation; or in a case that the terminal detects one or N1OOSs, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal measurement (This element is optional);
in a case that the terminal detects one or N2 OOSs, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement (This element is optional); or
in a case that the terminal detects one or M2 ISs, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement (This element is optional); or
in a case that the terminal detects one or N3 OOSs, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement (see para. [0002];[003]-[0007];[008];[0170] describes RLM OOS and IS events; how the UE estimate radio link quality and compares with OOS and IS thresholds and report of OOS and IS by UE; performing RLM implies measurement to generate OOS and IS. The wireless device may perform specific actions related to measurements. These actions may relate to OOS and IS events and how to use counters (N310, N311, N31, N314 counters)) or BFD measurement enhancement; or in a case that the terminal detects one or M3 ISs, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation (This element is optional);
wherein M1, M2, M3, N1, N2, and N3 are integers greater than 1.
Niu and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications including enhancement of power-saving techniques.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Niu to include a method with N3 OSS as described by Da Silva.
The motivation to combine both references would come from facilitating the adjustment of DRX operational parameters in the systems.
Regarding claim 4, Niu discloses a method.
Niu fails to disclose a method according to claim 2, wherein the determining, by the terminal based on an RLM related timer, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the terminal starts a first timer, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement; or
in a case that the terminal does not start or stops the first timer or starts a second timer, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement;
in a case that the terminal does not start or stops a first timer or starts a second timer, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation; or
in a case that the terminal starts the first timer, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement; or
in a case that the terminal starts a first timer, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement; or
in a case that the terminal does not start or stops the first timer or starts a second timer, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation.
However, Da Silva discloses a method wherein the determining, by the terminal based on an RLM related timer (see para. [0013] discloses RLF timer (T310) until the its expiry, the IS evaluation period is shortened, which is the same as without DRX), whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the terminal starts a first timer, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement (This element is optional); or
in a case that the terminal does not start or stops the first timer or starts a second timer, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement (see para. [0013] discloses the evaluation periods extended due to DRX use, this is RLM is less frequent, to save power in the UE. The times of DRX depends on configuration cycle. When OOS happens, the UE start evaluation of In Sync (IS). The evaluation period changes (lower) once the RLF timer (T310) starts, which is the same as without DRX. So, the UE evaluates IS according to DRX);
in a case that the terminal does not start or stops a first timer or starts a second timer, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation (This element is optional); or
in a case that the terminal starts the first timer, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement (This element is optional); or
in a case that the terminal starts a first timer, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement (This element is optional); or
in a case that the terminal does not start or stops the first timer or starts a second timer, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation (This element is optional).
Niu and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications including enhancement of power-saving techniques.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Niu to include a method as described by Da Silva.
The motivation to combine both references would come from facilitating the adjustment of DRX operational parameters in the systems.
Regarding claim 6, Niu discloses a method wherein the method satisfies at least one of the following:
the detection of M1, M2, or M3 ISs comprises one of the following: M1, M2, or M3 consecutive ISs being detected, M1, M2, or M3 ISs being detected within a preset time, and M1, M2, or M3 consecutive ISs being detected within a preset time (This element is optional); or
the detection of N1, N2, or N3 OOS comprises one of the following: N1, N2, or N3 consecutive OOSs being detected, N1, N2, or N3 OOSs being detected within a preset time, and N1, N2, or N3 consecutive OOSs being detected within a preset time, detected within a preset time (see para. [0084] discloses the relaxed evaluation may include OOS evaluation period, where the UE needs to determine if radio link quality become worse that the OOS quality threshold).
Regarding claim 7, Niu discloses a method.
Niue does not clearly disclose a method wherein the determining, by the terminal based on a BFD related timer, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the terminal starts a first timer, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement; or in a case that the terminal does not start or stops the first timer or starts a second timer, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement;
in a case that the terminal does not start or stops a first timer or starts a second timer, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation; or
in a case that the terminal starts the first timer, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement; or
in a case that the terminal starts a first timer, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement; or
in a case that the terminal does not start or stops the first timer or starts a second timer, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation.
However, Da Silva teaches a method wherein the determining, by the terminal based on a BFD related timer, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the terminal starts a first timer, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement; or in a case that the terminal does not start or stops the first timer or starts a second timer, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement (see [0008];[0013] discloses a first Out of Sync (RLF) timer T310 and second timer T311);
in a case that the terminal does not start or stops a first timer or starts a second timer, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation (This element is optional); or
in a case that the terminal starts the first timer, returning to at least one of normal RLM measurement or normal BFD measurement (This element is optional); or
in a case that the terminal starts a first timer, switching to at least one of RLM measurement enhancement or BFD measurement enhancement (This element is optional); or
in a case that the terminal does not start or stops the first timer or starts a second timer, switching to at least one of RLM measurement relaxation or BFD measurement relaxation (This element is optional).
Niu and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications including enhancement of power-saving techniques.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Niu to include a method as described by Da Silva.
The motivation to combine both references would come from facilitating the adjustment of DRX operational parameters in the systems.
Regarding claim 20, Niu discloses a method.
Niue fails to disclose a method wherein the method satisfies at least one of the following:
the detection of N4, N5, or N6 BFIs comprises one of the following: N4, N5, or N6 consecutive BFIs being detected, N4, N5, or N6 BFIs being detected within a preset time, and N4, N5, or N6 consecutive BFIs being detected within a preset time; or
the detection of no more than M4, M5, or M6 BFIs comprises one of the following: no more than M4, M5, or M6 consecutive BFIs being detected, no more than M4, M5, or M6 BFIs being detected within a preset time, and no more than M4, M5, or M6 consecutive BFIs being detected within a preset time.
However, Da Silva discloses a method wherein the method satisfies at least one of the following:
the detection of N4, N5, or N6 BFIs comprises one of the following: N4, N5, or N6 consecutive BFIs being detected, N4, N5, or N6 BFIs being detected within a preset time, and N4, N5, or N6 consecutive BFIs being detected within a preset time (see para. [0006] discloses when When no DRX is configured, OOS occurs when the DL radio link quality estimated over the last 200 ms period becomes worse than the threshold Qout. Similarly, without DRX IS occurs when the DL radio link quality estimated over the last 100 ms period becomes better than the threshold Qin. Upon detection of OOS, the UE initiates the evaluation of IS); or
the detection of no more than M4, M5, or M6 BFIs comprises one of the following: no more than M4, M5, or M6 consecutive BFIs being detected, no more than M4, M5, or M6 BFIs being detected within a preset time, and no more than M4, M5, or M6 consecutive BFIs being detected within a preset time (This element is optional).
Niu and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because both are in the same field of wireless communications including enhancement of power-saving techniques.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Niu to include the BFI as described by Da Silva.
The motivation to combine both references would come from facilitating the adjustment of DRX operational parameters in the systems.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In pages 14-16, applicant argues the rejection under 35 USC § 103, of Niu in view of DaSilva2. Applicant argues that DaSilva2 cannot be regarded as RLM measurement adjustment present in independent claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner interprets the claim in light of the specification and during examination the claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI). The claim recites “wherein the determining, by a terminal according to a preset rule, whether to perform at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment comprises: determining, by the terminal based on at least one of in-sync (IS) for RLM or out-of-sync (OOS) for RLM, whether to perform the at least one of RLM measurement adjustment or BFD measurement adjustment” Applicant acknowledges that DaSilva2 discloses execution of RLM actions based on in-sync (IS) and out-of-sync (OOS) events (see Fig.6 (608-Perform one or more RLM actions based on determined occurrences of IS or OOS events, or both), lines 491-493 discloses processing configured to perform one or more RLM actions (inclusive of any beam-failure detection action) based on determined occurrences of IS and OOS events). Some examples of the RLM actions comprise some measurement adjustment such as starting a timer, notification to higher layer or declaring beam failure, but also any beam-failure detection action (see lines 491-493 discloses processing configured to perform one or more RLM actions (inclusive of any beam-failure detection action) based on determined occurrences of IS and OOS events).
In the 35 USC § 103 Niu provides the elements for the measurement relaxation, measurement enhancement, or normal measurement (see para. [0043] discloses the relaxation of the RLM parameters may be based on radio link metrics are favorable, this could be used to determining to relax RLM parameters). DaSilva2 provides the method determining whether to take an action based on in-sync (IS) or out-sync (OOS) for RLM, in other words DaSilva is able to determine based on IS or OOS if a rule is applied or not, and Niu provides the adjustment once the determination is made. Therefore, the combination of Niu and DaSilva2 reads on the claim.
The rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419