Detailed Action
Claims 1 -20 are pending and ready for examination.
Applicant’s previous arguments are moot based on a new prior art rejection comprising Yamagishi (US 202102887) as Yamagishi teaches a proxy (i.e. manager) illustrated in Fig. 4 which accepts and fulfills requests for content as required by the newly amended claims. The Examiner also notes that Lahr (US 2002002316) expressly discloses the benefits of utilizing UDP. Hence one of ordinary skill in the art is readily able to make a rational decision without guessing, gambling, or luck when to utilize UDP versus other protocols.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Yamagishi (US 2021028873) in view of Lahr (US 2002002316)
Regarding claim 1, Yamagishi discloses a client device to modify requests for media, the client device comprising:
programmable circuitry (Yamagishi; see e.g. [0339] “... the programs may be processed in one computer (processor), or may be distributed and processed in a plurality of computers” );
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed or instantiated by the programmable circuitry, facilitate performance of operations, comprising (Yamagishi; the CPU 1001 loads and executes the programs recorded in the ROM 1002 or the recording part 1008 into the RAM 1003 via the I/O interface 1005 and the bus 1004 so that the series of processings are performed”):
forming a data structure representing a request to a content provider for a media stream (Yamagishi; Yamagishi teaches forming a data structure representing a request to a content provider for a media stream by forming a DASH segment request including a URL identifying the requested media content at the content provider;
[0277] That is, the browser 212 functions as a DASH player for reproducing a DASH segment of content, and all the requests (such as an HTTP request for DASH segment file with the segment URL “http(s)://a.com/a.mp4”) from the browser 212 (DASH plyer) in the normal client apparatus 20 (NC) are routed via the local proxy 113.);
modifying the data structure to represent a request to a manager device for the media stream, wherein the modified request data structure includes an address corresponding to the manager device, wherein the programmable circuitry and the manager device are implemented within a same environment (Yamagishi; Yamagishi teaches modifying the request data structure to represent a request to local proxy 113 (i.e. manager device) by configuring the client browser, based on the URL/host of the HTTP request, to use the proxy address 192.168.1.1:34567. The proxy-autoconfiguration information therefore supplies an address corresponding to the local proxy 113 for the request, causing the DASH-segment HTTP request from the client apparatus to be directed and received by local proxy 113
see e.g. [0269], [0272], [0274], [0276] – [0277]
see e.g. Fig. 18
[0301] “... the browser 212 in the client apparatus 20 requests the DASH segment to the local proxy 113 operating in the gateway apparatus 10 via the network 30 (S251)”
Accordingly. Yamagishi teaches a client device obtains a proxy address (i.e. manager device), and installs that address into the request – routing mechanism, and that mechanism applies it to the HTTP request so the request goes to the manager/proxy);
transmitting the request to the manager device as a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) request, the request based on the modified data structure (Yamagishi; As detailed above, Yamagishi teaches that the client apparatus transmits the modified DASH segment request, including the proxy address information to local proxy 113 (manger device) as an HTTP Request); and
after the manager device retrieves a portion of the media stream from the content provider, receiving from the manager the portion of the media stream, the stream transmitted by the manager as a response to the request (Yamagishi; Yamagishi teaches that, after local proxy 113 retrieves the DASH segment file from the communications server, local proxy 113 transfers the received DASH segment file to client apparatus 20 in response to the request;
see e.g. [0310] – [0312] )
Yamagishi does not address every single transport scenario of steaming content to client device (“The description need only describe in detail that which is new or not conventional. See Hybritech v. Monoclonal Antibodies, 802 F.2d at 1384, 231 USPQ at 94. This is equally true whether the claimed invention is directed to a product or a process”) and does not expressly disclose:
receiving a user datagram protocol (UDP) stream from the manger device,the UDP stream including the portion of the media stream, the UDP stream transmitted by the manager device as a response to the request
Lahr disclose:
UDP stream (Lahr; Lahr teaches the benefits of utilizing UDP for streaming services;
[0006] While a streaming media server can use HTTP/TCP, they also use such protocols as user datagram protocol (UDP) to improve the streaming experience. UDP reduces the bandwidth needed due to it being only a unidirectional protocol. Unlike TCP, UDP does not use ACK's and NAC's. Unlike TCP, UDP and similar protocols are faster protocols without retransmission or data-rate management functionality. UDP and similar protocols are therefore advantageous for transmitting real-time audio and video data, which can tolerate some lost packets. These protocols allow higher bandwidth to be delivered to the client than TCP since bandwidth is not used to re-transmit lost packets or keep track of packet order. UDP traffic also receives higher priority than TCP traffic on the Internet)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lahr’s utilization of streaming via UDP. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of transmitting data. Moreover, Lahr demonstrates that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been readily able to select an appropriate transport protocol based on the design criteria of the particular application or service. Such selection constitutes a matter of design choice and optimization based on known design criteria, consistent with the flexible predictable results analysis of KSR.
Yamagishi in view of Lahr discloses:
After the manager device retrieves a portion of the media stream from the content provider, receiving a user datagram protocol (UDP) stream from the manger device, the UDP stream including the portion of the media stream, the UDP stream transmitted by the manager device as a response to the request (The combined solution per Lahr provides for Yamagishi to transmit a UDP stream from the local proxy to the client device)
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 1 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 1 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 1 – 3, 5-10, 12-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 2023/02759) in view of Yamagishi (US 20210288735) and in further view of Stevens (US 2011/0274109)
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses a client device to modify requests for media, the client device comprising:
programmable circuitry (Kwon; see e.g. [0426]) “
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed or instantiated by the programmable circuitry, facilitate performance of operations, comprising (Kwon;
see e.g. [0426]):
forming a data structure representing a request to a content provider for a media stream
see e.g. [0047] “Original (Ori)L A host name (FQDN) of an original target host ...”
The examiner notes the URL is equivalent to a data structure and where the FQDN references a content provider which facilitates delivering a media stream; The Application generated and held a request which include a host-targeted data structure URL;
See e.g. Fig. 26 [0040]:
See e.g. [0264] “An application controls the content playback function. For example the application may be a built in control application (EPG application) of a TV or an STB ... The application may interact with the service management subfunction of the multicast gateway ... “
);
modifying the data structure to represent a request to a manager device for the media stream, wherein the modified request data structure includes an address corresponding to the manager device, wherein the programmable circuitry and the manager device are implemented within a same environment (Kwon;
see e.g. [0347] “Original (Ori): A host name (FQDN) of an original target host. The application may substitute the original target host name (FQDN) with a local multicast rendezvous service host name or address ...”
see e.g. Fig. 33 [0045] comprising table consisting of URL element, Use, Data type, and Description;
transmitting a request to the manager device as a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) request, the request based on the modified data structure (Kwon;
);
See e.g. [0259] “... the multicast rendezvous service determines whether there is a proper active multicast gateway ...” see e.g. [0258]
See e.g. [0319], [0320], [0321])and
Kwon does not expressly disclose:
after the manager device retrieves a portion of the media stream from the content provider, receiving a user datagram protocol (UDP) stream from the manger device, the UDP stream including the portion of the media stream, the UDP stream transmitted by the manager device as a response to the request
Yamagishi discloses:
after the manager device retrieves a portion of the media stream from the content provider, receiving from the manager the portion of the media stream, the stream transmitted by the manager as a response to the request (Yamagishi; Yamagishi teaches that, after local proxy 113 retrieves the DASH segment file from the communications server, local proxy 113 transfers the received DASH segment file to client apparatus 20 in response to the request;
see e.g. [0310] – [0312] )
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Yamagishi’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for incorporating a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of providing services to client devices.
Qwon in view of Yamagishi disclose:
After the manager device retrieves a portion of the media stream from the content provider, receiving a user datagram protocol (UDP) stream from the manger device, the UDP stream including the portion of the media stream, the UDP stream transmitted by the manager device as a response to the request (The combined solution per Qwon as Qwon teaches the utilization of UDP [0285])
As evidence of the above rationale Stevens discloses:
receiving a response from the manager device as a user datagram protocol (UDP) stream (Stevens; Stevens teaches
see e.g. [0002] “... The most common low-level protocol to use multicast addressing is User Datagram Protocol UDP ...”)
see e.g. [0005] “In the event when multicast is further distributed in a home network, such above mentioned multicast proxy module usually controls a multicast stream via a home gateway towards different devices in a home network”)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Stevens’ multicast UDP streaming. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in optimal networking performance.
Regarding claim 2, Kwon in view of Yamagishi and in further view of Stevens disclose The system client device of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise providing, based on the response, video data to a playback device (Kwon; see e.g. Fig. 5 [0020], Fig. 6 [0021] illustrating content playback device).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Stevens’ multicast UDP streaming. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in optimal networking performance.
Regarding claim 3, Kwon in view of Yamagishi and in further view of Stevens disclose The system client device of claim 2, wherein the video data includes the portion of the media stream, and the portion of the m edia stream is generated by the content provider (Kwon; see e.g. Fig. 6( [0021], [0094], Fig. 11, Fig. 12)illustrating a portion of the media stream being generated).
Regarding claim 5, Kwon in view of Stevens disclose the system client device of claim 1, wherein:
the media stream is a first media stream (The combined solution per Kwon provides for any number of media streams (i.e. 1st, 2nd, 3rd, etc.); see e.g. Fig. 2);
the content provider is a first content provider (The combined solution per Kwon provides for any number of content providers (i.e., a 1st content provider, a 2nd content provider); see e.g., Fig. 2);
the request data structure is a first request data structure (The combined solution per Kwon may provide for an initial request or first request data structure);
the operations further comprise:
forming a second request data structure for a second media stream, the second request data structure directed to a second content provider (The combined solution per Kwon provides for continuous use of the methodology resulting in forming multiple request data structures associated with multiple providers (i.e., second content provider); and
modifying the second request data structure using the address, the modified second request data structure directed to the manager device provider (The combined solution per Kwon provides for continuous use of the methodology resulting in modifying several requests (e.g. second request data structure).
The examiner notes multiple elements are supported by MPEP 2144.04 VI:B: Duplication of Parts in tandem with MPEP 2144.04 V:E Making Continuous
Regarding claim 6, Kwon in view of Yamagishi and in further view of Stevens discloses the system client device of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
transmitting, using the address, an application programming interface (API) call to the manager device (The combined solution per Kwon provides for making a service discovery API call;
see e.g. Fig. 9, Fig. 12, Fig. 24;
see e.g. [0154]); and
receiving, in response to transmitting the API call, a description of the media stream accessible by the manager device (The combined solution per Kwon provides for receiving a medial description subsequent to the service discovery API call;
see e.g. Fig. 9, Fig. 12, Fig. 24;
see e.g. [0122] – [0124];
see e.g. [0154]).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon in view of Yamagishi and in further view of Stevens discloses the system client device of claim 1, wherein the programmable circuitry includes one or more of:
at least one of a central processor unit, a graphics processor unit, or a digital signal processor, the at least one of the central processor unit, the graphics processor unit, or the digital signal processor having control circuitry to control data movement within the programmable circuitry, arithmetic and logic circuitry to perform one or more first operations corresponding to machine-readable data, and one or more registers to store a result of the one or more first operations, the machine-readable data in the memory (The combined solution per Kwon provides for a conventional processing unit (i.e. central processor unit)
see e.g. [0426] “... one or more processors capable of executing the one or more programs. The one or more programs may perform any one or more of the operations/methods according to embodiments or include instructions for performing the same, Executable instructions for performing the methods/operations ... stored in a non-transitory CRM .. a memory ... RAM ... non volatile memories, flash memories ...”
The examiner notes in order to perform the operations above arithmetic and logic circuitry as wells are registers are inherently present);
a Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA), the FPGA including logic gate circuitry, a plurality of configurable interconnections, and storage circuitry, the logic gate circuitry and the plurality of the configurable interconnections to perform one or more second operations, the storage circuitry to store a result of the one or more second operations; or
Application Specific Integrated Circuitry (ASIC) including logic gate circuitry to perform one or more third operations.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim1 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 2 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 10 claim 10 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 3 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 5 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 6 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim1 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 2 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 3 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18 claim 18 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 5 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 6 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 7 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 4, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Yamagishi and in further view of Stevens and in further view of Pezeshki (US 2023/0034793)
Regarding claim 4, Kwon in view of Yamagishi and in further view of Stevens disclose the system client device of claim 2, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving the response as a UDP stream (The combined solution per Independent claim 1);
Kwon in view of Stevens does not expressly disclose:
decapsulating the UDP stream into a HTTP stream; and
providing the video data to the playback device as part of the HTTP stream.
However in analogous art Pezeshki discloses:
decapsulating the UDP stream into a HTTP stream (Pezeshki;
see e.g. [0025] “Further, each of the media processors, 214a, 216a, 218a decapsulates, or otherwise converts the multicast stream to a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) stream prior to presenting the media content on the respective display 214b, 216b, 218b”
see e.g. [0023] “... A media processor can include, but not limited to, a set-top box, media processing dongle, mobile phone, smartphone, mobile device, tablet computer, or any other media processor. In some embodiments, the premises 210 can be a hotel 208 and each of group of media processors 214a, 216a, 218a can be associated with a hotel room 214, 216, 218. In other embodiments, the premises 210 can be a residence and each of the group of media processors can be a room within the residence, or the premises 210 can be an office and each of the group of media processors can be a room within office ...”); and
providing the video data to the playback device as part of the HTTP stream (Pezeshki;
see e.g. [0025} see e.g. [0025] “Further, each of the media processors, 214a, 216a, 218a decapsulates, or otherwise converts the multicast stream to a hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) stream prior to presenting the media content on the respective display 214b, 216b, 218b”
see e.g. [0023] “... A media processor can include, but not limited to, a set-top box, media processing dongle, mobile phone, smartphone, mobile device, tablet computer, or any other media processor. In some embodiments, the premises 210 can be a hotel 208 and each of group of media processors 214a, 216a, 218a can be associated with a hotel room 214, 216, 218. In other embodiments, the premises 210 can be a residence and each of the group of media processors can be a room within the residence, or the premises 210 can be an office and each of the group of media processors can be a room within office ...”)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the decapsulation scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for the implementation of a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of delivering streaming services to client devices.
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Stevens’ multicast UDP streaming. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in optimal networking performance.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 4 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 4 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor Vivek Srivastava can be reached on (571) 272 7304.
/TODD L BARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449