DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2 and 4-21 are pending. Claim 3 is canceled. Claim 21 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6 of the remarks, in regards to claims 1,5 and 9, the applicant submits that the Yang and Kim fail to teach or suggest the limitation of “a hybrid network of a slotted time division multiple access (TDMA) and a carrier sense multiple access (CSMA)”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Kim discloses at least in paragraph [0020], slotted-CSMA/CA period and the slotted-TDMA period. Therefore, Kim discloses the above limitation.
On page 6 of the remarks, in regards to claims 1,5 and 9, the applicant submits that the Kim fails to teach or suggest the limitation of “a guaranteed latency sensor and a non-guaranteed latency sensor”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Yang discloses at least in paragraphs [0032]-[0037] and Figs. 5A-6, IoT device which includes sensor is connected to hybrid network where hybrid network serve as low-latency relay and zero-latency relay. Therefore, Yang discloses the above limitation.
On page 8 of the remarks, in regards to dependent claims, the applicant submits that dependent claims are allowable, due to the previously alleged deficiencies of the references as applied to independent claims 1, 5 and 9, as described above.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner kindly directs the applicant to the reasoning detailed above.
In response to applicant’s argument that “combination of Yang and Kim is improper”, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Yang discloses hybrid network to serve as a zero or low-latency relay for communications between a wireless network, respectively Kim discloses hybrid access control of slotted TDMA and CSMA, it would have been obvious to combine the teaching of Kim into the invention of Yang. Such combination would enhance performance of the hybrid network.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20220369383, Yang hereinafter) in view of Kim et al. (US 20180310175, Kim hereinafter).
As to claim 1: Yang discloses a sensor arrangement comprising:
one or more sensors, having a guaranteed latency, connected to the hybrid network (see at least paragraphs [0032]-[0037] and Figs. 5A-6, IoT device which includes sensor is connected to hybrid network where hybrid network serve as low-latency relay.); and
one or more sensors, having a non-guaranteed latency, connected to the hybrid network (see at least paragraphs [0032]-[0036] and Figs. 5A-6, IoT device which includes sensor is connected to hybrid network where hybrid network serve as zero-latency relay.); and
wherein: some of the one or more sensors are connected to one or more alarms, indicators, or user interfaces (see at least paragraphs [0032]-[0036] and Figs. 5A-6, sensors are connected to IoT devices);
the guaranteed latency indicates that the sensor provides a response within a predetermined amount of time to a corresponding alarm, indicator, or user interface (see at least paragraphs [0035] and [0043], each IoT device 105 may output traffic, which may include sensor readings and/or other types of information, at intervals indicated (at 610) by hybrid network device 103.); and
the one or more sensors are wireless devices (see at least paragraphs [0032]-[0036] and Figs. 5A-6, IoT devices which includes sensors).
Yang does not explicitly disclose a hybrid network of a slotted time division multiple access (TDMA) and a carrier sense multiple access (CSMA).
However Kim discloses a hybrid network of a slotted time division multiple access (TDMA) and a carrier sense multiple access (CSMA) (see at least paragraph [0020], slotted-CSMA/CA period and the slotted-TDMA period.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement slotted-CSMA/CA period and the slotted-TDMA period, as taught by Kim, into the invention of Yang in order to enhance performance of the hybrid network (see Kim, paragraphs [0267]).
As to claim 4: Yang and Kim disclose the arrangement of claim 1. Yang further discloses wherein the network can allocate a bandwidth for each sensor in a … based on an application, and allocate a … communication for slower low data rate sensors having a smaller latency requirement than that for each sensor in the …. (see at least paragraph [0025], hybrid network device 103-3 may forward, to hybrid network device 103-2, information indicating requested resources for IoT devices 105-6 and 105-7 (e.g., IoT devices 105 that are communicatively coupled to hybrid network device 103-3) based on identifying timing and/or throughput information associated with IoT devices 105-6 and 105-7. Where IoT devices are associated with low-latency and/or zero-latency.).
Yang does not explicitly disclose TDMA and CSMA.
However Kim discloses TDMA and CSMA (see at least paragraphs [0076]-0077], [0095]-[0111], [0120], 0189], T-slot and C-Slot.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement slotted-CSMA/CA period and the slotted-TDMA period, as taught by Kim, into the invention of Yang in order to enhance performance of the hybrid network (see Kim, paragraphs [0267]).
As to claim 5: Yang discloses a sensor apparatus comprising:
one or more guaranteed or non-guaranteed sensors situated at one or more buildings (see at least paragraphs [0032]-[0036] and Figs. 5A-6, IoT devices which includes sensors are connected to hybrid network where hybrid network serve as low-latency relay and/or zero-latency relay.); and
wherein: a guaranteed sensor provides an alarm delivery within a defined time-period between a detected signal at the guaranteed sensor and at the alarm delivery (see at least paragraphs [0035] and [0043], each IoT device 105 may output traffic, which may include sensor readings and/or other types of information, at intervals indicated (at 610) by hybrid network device 103.);
guaranteed sensors are connected with the … network; and non-guaranteed sensors are connected with the … network (see at least paragraphs [0032]-[0036] and Figs. 5A-6, IoT devices which includes sensors are connected to hybrid network where hybrid network serve as low-latency relay and/or zero-latency relay.).
Yang does not explicitly disclose a time division multiple access (TDMA) network and a time division multiple access (CSMA) network combined to form a hybrid network.
However Kim discloses a time division multiple access (TDMA) network and a time division multiple access (CSMA) network combined to form a hybrid network (see at least paragraph [0020], slotted-CSMA/CA period and the slotted-TDMA period.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement slotted-CSMA/CA period and the slotted-TDMA period, as taught by Kim, into the invention of Yang in order to enhance performance of the hybrid network (see Kim, paragraphs [0267]).
As to claim 6: Yang and Kim disclose the apparatus of claim 5. Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein: when sensors are assigned only to a CSMA mode of operation, the sensors should talk to routers within the CSMA mode of operation without time synchronization; and when sensors are configured to do a TDMA mode of operation, they can do the TDMA mode of operation in defined TDMA slots within the TDMA sub frame with maintained time synchronization.
However Kim discloses wherein: when sensors are assigned only to a CSMA mode of operation, the sensors should talk to routers within the CSMA mode of operation without time synchronization; and when sensors are configured to do a TDMA mode of operation, they can do the TDMA mode of operation in defined TDMA slots within the TDMA sub frame with maintained time synchronization (see at least paragraphs [0076]-0077], [0095]-[0111], [0120], 0189], T-slot and C-Slot.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement slotted-CSMA/CA period and the slotted-TDMA period, as taught by Kim, into the invention of Yang in order to enhance performance of the hybrid network (see Kim, paragraphs [0267]).
As to claim 9: Yang discloses a sensor system comprising:
a network manager module (see at least paragraphs [0032]-[0037] and Figs. 5A-6, hybrid network interpreted as network manager module.);
a plurality of sensors connected to the network manager module (see at least paragraphs [0032]-[0037] and Figs. 5A-6, IoT devices which includes sensors are connected to hybrid network where hybrid network.); and
wherein the plurality of sensors comprises a set of guaranteed sensors and a set of non-guaranteed sensors (see at least paragraphs [0032]-[0037] and Figs. 5A-6, IoT devices which includes sensors are connected to hybrid network where hybrid network serve as low-latency relay and/or zero-latency relay.).
Yang does not explicitly disclose a network formed into a hybrid mode of time division multiple access (TDMA) and carrier sense multiple access (CSMA) functionality in terms of time duration.
However Kim discloses a network formed into a hybrid mode of time division multiple access (TDMA) and carrier sense multiple access (CSMA) functionality in terms of time duration (see at least paragraph [0020], slotted-CSMA/CA period and the slotted-TDMA period.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement slotted-CSMA/CA period and the slotted-TDMA period, as taught by Kim, into the invention of Yang in order to enhance performance of the hybrid network (see Kim, paragraphs [0267]).
As to claim 10: Yang and Kim disclose the system of claim 9. Yang further discloses wherein the sensors are wireless devices (see at least paragraphs [0032]-[0036] and Figs. 5A-6, IoT devices which includes sensors).
As to claim 11: Yang and Kim disclose the system of claim 9. Yang further discloses wherein a distinction of time of the sensors is regarded as a latency (see at least paragraphs [0032]-[0036] and Figs. 5A-6, low-latency relay and/or zero-latency relay.).
As to claim 12: Yang and Kim disclose the system of claim 11. Yang further discloses wherein a latency of a response to a detection by a sensor is measured as a time period between a detection by the sensor and an available response relative to an output from the sensor (see at least paragraphs [0035] and [0043], each IoT device 105 may output traffic, which may include sensor readings and/or other types of information, at intervals indicated (at 610) by hybrid network device 103.).
As to claim 13: Yang and Kim disclose the system of claim 12. Kim further discloses wherein: the time period is less than X msec for guaranteed sensors; the time period is equal to or greater than X msec for non-guaranteed sensors; and X is a pre-determined whole positive number (see at least paragraphs [0032]-[0036] and Figs. 5A-6, low-latency relay and/or zero-latency relay.).
As to claim 14: Yang and Kim disclose the system of claim 10. Yang further discloses wherein the plurality of sensors includes at least one of each of time critical sensor and time non-critical sensor (see at least paragraphs [0032]-[0036] and Figs. 5A-6, low-latency relay and/or zero-latency relay.).
As to claim 15: Yang and Kim disclose the system of claim 14. Yang further discloses wherein: the time critical sensors are assigned … slots by the network manager module; and other sensors are non-critical in that they operate in non-guaranteed … slots within a pre-defined latency interval (see at least paragraphs [0032]-[0036] and Figs. 5A-6, IoT devices which includes sensors are connected to hybrid network where hybrid network serve as low-latency relay and/or zero-latency relay.).
Yang does not explicitly disclose TDMA and CSMA.
However Kim discloses TDMA and CSMA (see at least paragraphs [0076]-0077], [0095]-[0111], [0120], 0189], T-slot and C-Slot.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement slotted-CSMA/CA period and the slotted-TDMA period, as taught by Kim, into the invention of Yang in order to enhance performance of the hybrid network (see Kim, paragraphs [0267]).
As to claim 16: Yang and Kim disclose the system of claim 9. Yang does not explicitly disclose wherein: the network operates a communication time of an A msec TDMA network and a B msec CSMA network; and each of A and B are pre-determined whole positive numbers.
However Kim discloses wherein: the network operates a communication time of an A msec TDMA network and a B msec CSMA network; and each of A and B are pre-determined whole positive numbers (see at least paragraphs [0076]-0077], [0095]-[0111], [0120], 0189], T-slot and C-Slot.).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement slotted-CSMA/CA period and the slotted-TDMA period, as taught by Kim, into the invention of Yang in order to enhance performance of the hybrid network (see Kim, paragraphs [0267]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7-8 and 17-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464