DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the present application, with claims 1, 13, and 14 being independent. Claims 1, 13, and 14 have been amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01 August 2023, 19 April 2024, 12 November 2024, 26 November 20e.25 have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8 and 9, filed 26 November 2025, with respect to double patenting rejection, along with accompanying amendments received on the same date, have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. The examiner acknowledges applicant’s desire to avoid prematurely submitting a terminal disclaimer until such time that the claims are in condition for allowance or are patentably distinct from US Patent 11,677,688. The double patenting rejection of claims 1-20 has been maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 26 November 2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph rejection of claims 1-20, along with accompanying amendments received on the same date, have been fully considered, and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20, filed 26 November 2025, along with accompanying amendments received on the same date, have been fully considered, and are persuasive. German in view of Park in further view of Chen further in view of Grover do not appear to teach the specific metrics in the amended claims. Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest at least “displaying…a user selectable performance icon on the display of the mobile device; receiving a user selection of the performance icon; and displaying performance information associated with the given port based on the user selection of the performance icon,” as recited in claims 1, 13, and 14. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitation in light of the corresponding disclosure would include displaying an overlay/icon that the user can select, which allows visualization of one or more performance characteristics (e.g., connectivity information) associated with the given port. If applicant wishes a more narrow interpretation of the amended claim subject matter, paragraphs 84 and 85 provide additional details which would could be incorporated into the claims.
It is noted that claim 1 does not contain the requirement of displaying a user selectable performance icon on the display of the mobile device.
German teaches a software generated overlay image can be generated and superimposed over the user’s view of the real world, see paragraph 143. The overlay can include various features, such as features that identify or provide information about a rack, equipment in a rack, or that identify or provide information about a work order and features by which a user can select or provide an input related to the rack, equipment, or work order, see paragraph 143. The overlay includes emphasis features that emphasize one or more end points (ports and the panels or other equipment that include the ports) of a connection that is to be made or an existing connection, see paragraph 228. The overlay includes another emphasis feature that highlights or otherwise emphasizes a port of the patching equipment, see paragraphs 183-184. The patch cord information is dynamically updated as a patch cord is inserted and removed from a respective connector port, see paragraph 64. Connectivity information associated with each of the connector points can be displayed, see paragraph 67. Connectivity information includes end points of the communication link associated with a particular connectivity port, see paragraph 67. The application retrieves information about the connection associated with the identified port and emphasizes that connection in the AR view screen, see paragraph 243. The system may automatically determine which patch cords are connected where, see paragraph 132). The application is also configured to display a details icon as part of the AR view screen displayed for a traced connection, such that if the user taps on the details icon, it displays a trace screen that includes details about the traced connection, see for instance, paragraph 248. The overlay can include interactive elements that a user can select to enable the user to selectively display information associated with the port, see for instance, paragraph 278
Park teaches that a navigational cue is overlayed on an indicia, see for instance, paragraphs 62 and 90. Visual objects are overlayed on a display to provide augmented reality pertaining to the devices, see for instance, paragraph 67. Mappings indicate that indicia is attached to a device, which results in a confirmation that device is located. Accordingly, visual object is overlayed on indicia such that augmented reality is provided to the user confirming that device is located, see for instance, paragraph 68. The device and features are identified and one or more of visual object is displayed in relation to feature, visual object is displayed (e.g., overlayed) in relation to feature 261-2, and visual object 412-n is displayed in relation to feature 261-n, see for instance, paragraph 73. In one embodiment, a cable is seated within a feature (e.g., a port), see for instance, paragraph 75. Augmented reality is provided by overlaying an associated visual object that identifies the other device where the cable is terminated, see for instance, paragraph 75.
Chen teaches that an AR system overlays computer-generated graphics, such as an icon 122 for the foot well window that is registered to foot well window 110, and icons 124 and 126 for the flat washer and gasket that are positioned on the left side and bottom of the display, respectively, see paragraph 34. Icon 122 shows the label FOOTWELL WINDOW connected to the foot well via an indicator/line in fig 3.
Grover teaches that a vehicle communication system can determine if a device becomes disconnected from the system, see for instance, paragraph 47. If the device has become disconnected from the system, the application icon associated with the device may change the appearance/color of the icon (such as graying it out) or removed it from the display, see for instance, paragraphs 47 and 54.
That is the combination of German, Park, Chen, and Grover teach the broadest reasonable interpretation of the newly amended claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.11,677,688.
Current Application (18/309,757)
US Patent 11,677,688
1. A method of displaying a network device with augmented reality using a mobile device, the method comprising:
retrieving information associated with a connectivity state of at least one of a plurality of ports of a network device based on an identification provided to the mobile device by the network device, wherein the retrieved information includes a connectivity status for the at least one of the plurality of ports;
determining, based on the retrieved information, the connectivity status for a given port;
determining a spatial relationship of the mobile device with respect to the one or more ports; and
displaying the connectivity status for the given port on a display of the mobile device, wherein the display includes an image of the network device captured by a camera of the mobile device and the connectivity status is displayed as an overlay comprising: a virtual port overlaying the given port; an icon of a device coupled to the given port, wherein an appearance of the icon is different for each connectivity state associated with the given port; and an indicia, separate from the virtual port and the icon, depicting a connection between the device and the given port; displaying a user selectable performance icon on the display of the mobile device;
receiving a user selection of the performance icon;
displaying up-time metrics, internet traffic usage metrics, power usage metrics, or a combination thereof associated with the given port on the user selection of the performance icon.
1. A method of displaying a network device with augmented reality using a mobile device, the method comprising:
receiving an identifying code from the network device by the mobile device;
displaying captured camera images of the network device on a display of the mobile device, the images including a plurality of ports of the network device;
retrieving information associated with a connectivity state of each of the plurality of ports using the identifying code, wherein the retrieved information includes a database of identities of devices coupled to each of the plurality of ports and a library of virtual objects corresponding to the coupled devices;
determining, based on the retrieved database, identities of the devices coupled to each of the plurality of ports;
determining a spatial relationship of the mobile device with respect to the one or more ports using the identifying code;
overlaying one or more virtual ports over the network device on the images, wherein the virtual ports include information about the connectivity state of the network device in the one or more virtual ports; and
displaying icons of the coupled devices adjacent to the virtual ports, wherein the icons are displayed based on the determined identities of the devices coupled to each of the plurality of ports.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent claim 1 in the current application (18/309757) is an obvious variant of the claim 1 in US Patent 11,677,688. The other minor differences between the claim 1 in the US Patent and claim 1 in the current application do not appear to change the scope of the claimed invention.
Similar mapping can be performed between the remaining claims of the allowed US Patent and the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10-16, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over German et al. (US PG Publication 2019/0041637) in view of Park et al. (US PG Publication 2015/0109334) in further view of Chen et al. (US PG Publication 2012/0075343) further in view of Salgueiro et al. (US PG Publication 2013/0103739) in further view of Grover et al. (US PG Publication 2015/0193093).
Regarding claim 1, German teaches a method of displaying a network device with augmented reality using a mobile device (Embodiments are directed to methods and systems for using augmented reality (AR) technology with a system for tracking connections at rack-mounted patching or other equipment, see for instance abstract. The AR application can be ran on a mobile device, such as head mounted displays and smartphones, see for instance, fig. 37-38 and 47 and figs. 12 and 18), the method comprising:
retrieving information associated with a connectivity state of at least one of a plurality of ports of a network device based on an identification provided to the mobile device by the network device, wherein the retrieved information includes a connectivity status for the at least one of the plurality of ports (Detailed connectivity information about each of the connector ports can be displayed, see paragraph 67. Such information may include the end points of the communications link associated with a particular connector port, see paragraph 67. The barcode may have data embedded therein such as equipment identification information and information on the type of equipment, see paragraph 131. The system may simply scan a piece of equipment and automatically determine which patch cords are connected where, see paragraph 132. The application retrieves information about the connection associated with the identified port and emphasizes that connection in the AR view screen, see paragraph 243. The system may automatically determine which patch cords are connected where, see paragraph 132.);
determining, based on the retrieved information, the connectivity status for a given port (Detailed connectivity information about each of the connector ports can be displayed, see paragraph 67. Such information may include the end points of the communications link associated with a particular connector port, see paragraph 67. The barcode may have data embedded therein such as equipment identification information and information on the type of equipment, see paragraph 131. The system may simply scan a piece of equipment and automatically determine which patch cords are connected where, see paragraph 132. The application retrieves information about the connection associated with the identified port and emphasizes that connection in the AR view screen, see paragraph 243. The system may automatically determine which patch cords are connected where, see paragraph 132);
determining a spatial relationship of the mobile device with respect to the one or more ports (The AR device associates location information with the captured information and images, see paragraph 257. The captured information and images and associated location information can then be used to associated non-visible and visible equipment near the marker using conventional AR techniques, see paragraph 257. In the examples described in connection with Figs. 13, 14A-C, and 15, the identity of the standard rack is determined by detecting and decoding an identifier associated with the standard rack in an image captured by the AR device, see paragraph 213. A software generated overlay image can be generated and superimposed over the user’s view of the real world, see paragraph 143. While not explicitly stated in German, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on the effective filing date of the invention that a spatial relationship of the mobile device with respect to the one or more ports would be found in order to generate an overlay and superimpose the overlay over the user’s field of view); and
displaying the connectivity status for the given port on a display of the mobile device, wherein the display includes an image of the network device captured by a camera of the mobile device and the connectivity status is displayed as an overlay comprising: a virtual port overlaying the given port; an icon of a device coupled to the given port, wherein an appearance of the icon is different for each connectivity state associated with the given port; and an indicia, separate from the virtual port and the icon, depicting a connection between the device and the given port; (A software generated overlay image can be generated and superimposed over the user’s view of the real world, see paragraph 143. The overlay can include various features, such as features that identify or provide information about a rack, equipment in a rack, or that identify or provide information about a work order and features by which a user can select or provide an input related to the rack, equipment, or work order, see paragraph 143. The overlay includes emphasis features that emphasize one or more end points (ports and the panels or other equipment that include the ports) of a connection that is to be made or an existing connection, see paragraph 228. The overlay includes another emphasis feature that highlights or otherwise emphasizes a port of the patching equipment, see paragraphs 183-184. The patch cord information is dynamically updated as a patch cord is inserted and removed from a respective connector port, see paragraph 64. Connectivity information associated with each of the connector points can be displayed, see paragraph 67. Connectivity information includes end points of the communication link associated with a particular connectivity port, see paragraph 67. The application retrieves information about the connection associated with the identified port and emphasizes that connection in the AR view screen, see paragraph 243. The system may automatically determine which patch cords are connected where, see paragraph 132);
displaying a user selectable performance icon on the display of the mobile device (A software generated overlay image can be generated and superimposed over the user’s view of the real world, see paragraph 143. The overlay can include various features, such as features that identify or provide information about a rack, equipment in a rack, or that identify or provide information about a work order and features by which a user can select or provide an input related to the rack, equipment, or work order, see paragraph 143. The overlay includes emphasis features that emphasize one or more end points (ports and the panels or other equipment that include the ports) of a connection that is to be made or an existing connection, see paragraph 228. The overlay includes another emphasis feature that highlights or otherwise emphasizes a port of the patching equipment, see paragraphs 183-184. Connectivity information associated with each of the connector points can be displayed, see paragraph 67. Connectivity information includes end points of the communication link associated with a particular connectivity port, see paragraph 67. The application retrieves information about the connection associated with the identified port and emphasizes that connection in the AR view screen, see paragraph 243. The application is also configured to display a details icon as part of the AR view screen displayed for a traced connection, such that if the user taps on the details icon, it displays a trace screen that includes details about the traced connection, see for instance, paragraph 248. The overlay can include interactive elements that a user can select to enable the user to selectively display information associated with the port, see for instance, paragraph 278);
receiving a user selection of the performance icon (The user can select a button to initiate an action, see for instance, paragraphs 161, 194, 195, 197, 248, 266, 267. The application is also configured to display a details icon as part of the AR view screen displayed for a trace connection, the application is configured so that if a user taps on the details icon, it displays a trace screen that includes details about the traced connection, see for instance, paragraph 248); and
displaying up-time metrics, internet traffic usage metrics, power usage metrics, or a combination thereof associated with the given port based on the user selection of the performance icon (A software generated overlay image can be generated and superimposed over the user’s view of the real world, see paragraph 143. The overlay can include various features, such as features that identify or provide information about a rack, equipment in a rack, or that identify or provide information about a work order and features by which a user can select or provide an input related to the rack, equipment, or work order, see paragraph 143. The overlay includes emphasis features that emphasize one or more end points (ports and the panels or other equipment that include the ports) of a connection that is to be made or an existing connection, see paragraph 228. The overlay includes another emphasis feature that highlights or otherwise emphasizes a port of the patching equipment, see paragraphs 183-184. Connectivity information associated with each of the connector points can be displayed, see paragraph 67. Connectivity information includes end points of the communication link associated with a particular connectivity port, see paragraph 67. The application retrieves information about the connection associated with the identified port and emphasizes that connection in the AR view screen, see paragraph 243. The application is also configured to display a details icon as part of the AR view screen displayed for a traced connection, such that if the user taps on the details icon, it displays a trace screen that includes details about the traced connection, see for instance, paragraph 248. The overlay can include interactive elements that a user can select to enable the user to selectively display information associated with the port, see for instance, paragraph 278. The general information can also include such data as the current cooling level, the current power level, the current average data throughput, and the number or percent of connector ports available or in use, see for instance, paragraph 81).
German does not teach appear to teach that the icon of a device coupled to the given port is displayed as an overlay and overlaying an indicia, separate from the virtual port and the icon, depicting a connection between the device and the given port, or that the specific information displayed is up-time metrics, internet traffic usage metrics, power usage metrics, or a combination thereof associated with the given port.
In the same art of augmented reality, Park teaches that a navigational cue is overlayed on an indicia, see for instance, paragraphs 62 and 90. Visual objects are overlayed on a display to provide augmented reality pertaining to the devices, see for instance, paragraph 67. Mappings indicate that indicia is attached to a device, which results in a confirmation that device is located. Accordingly, visual object is overlayed on indicia such that augmented reality is provided to the user confirming that device is located, see for instance, paragraph 68. The device and features are identified and one or more of visual object is displayed in relation to feature, visual object is displayed (e.g., overlayed) in relation to feature 261-2, and visual object 412-n is displayed in relation to feature 261-n, see for instance, paragraph 73. In one embodiment, a cable is seated within a feature (e.g., a port), see for instance, paragraph 75. Augmented reality is provided by overlaying an associated visual object that identifies the other device where the cable is terminated, see for instance, paragraph 75. Visual object depicts information associated with the device, such as the name of the server, device details, resource allocation/usage for virtual machines, see for instance, paragraph 78.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of German and Park in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate augmented reality aided navigation as taught by Park into German’s augmented reality system, as overlaying information associated with connectivity, such as described by Park was well known at the time of the effective filing date invention and would have yielded predictable results in combination with German.
The modification of German with Park would have explicitly allowed the icon of a device to a given port to be displayed as overlay.
The motivation for combining German with Park would have been to improve the user experience, enhance functionality and to reduce errors and potential mishaps associated with the service of a given device, see Park, paragraph 3.
German in view of Park further teach an overlay that highlights or otherwise emphasizes a port of the patching equipment that is highlighted by the first emphasis feature (e.g., 1406 pointing to 1404 separate from the work order box 1414 in fig. 14). However, German in view of Park do not appear to explicitly teach the indicia depicting a connection between the device and the given port is separate from the virtual port and the icon. Furthermore, while German in view of Park teach displaying data throughput generally and information on a per port basis, they do not specifically teach the information displayed is up-time metrics, internet traffic usage metrics, power usage metrics, or a combination thereof associated with the given port.
In the same art of augmented reality, Chen teaches that an AR system overlays computer-generated graphics, such as an icon 122 for the foot well window that is registered to foot well window 110, and icons 124 and 126 for the flat washer and gasket that are positioned on the left side and bottom of the display, respectively, see paragraph 34. Icon 122 shows the label FOOTWELL WINDOW connected to the foot well via an indicator/line in fig 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of German, Park, and Chen in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate augmented reality labeling as taught by Chen into German’s modified augmented reality system, as overlaying information associated with a part and having indicia connecting the part to the label, such as described by Chen was well known at the time of the effective filing date invention and would have yielded predictable results in combination with German and Park.
The modification of German and Park with Chen would have explicitly allowed the indicia depicting a connection between the device and the given port is separate from the virtual port and the icon.
The motivation for combining German and Park with Chen would have been to improve the user experience, enhance functionality and using a known display technique to connect two items, see for instance, Chen, paragraphs 3, 5, and 8.
While German in view of Park teach displaying data throughput generally and information on a per port basis, they do not specifically teach the information displayed is up-time metrics, internet traffic usage metrics, power usage metrics, or a combination thereof associated with the given port.
In the same art of networks, Salgueiro teaches the source node can initiate a collection of a number of different types of information rom any node in the network, including additional layered information relating to current operational conditions of the network (e.g., performance information, health of network elements, computing device, etc. at any node, requests for nodes to enable dynamic tracing or monitoring of data packets being routed through the network etc), see for instance, paragraph 30. Some examples of different types of information that can be overlayed upon a graphical image of the current network topology are depicted in Figs. 4 and 5. Referring to fig. 4, the current CPU usage for a computing device is listed at each node, see for instance, paragraph 44. In addition, the amount of bandwidth being used during transfer of data packets at or between nodes can be presented by providing graphical images of communication lines between such nodes that are different, for example, having a different color, different line width, and/or different types of line designations, see for instance, paragraph 44. As shown in Fig. 4, the communication lines depicted in the graphical image between different nodes have varying degrees of thickness, which can be used to designate differences in amount of bandwidth (e.g., data transfer rate, such as bit rate) currently being used or that is currently available along such communication lines, see for instance, paragraph 44. The router 112 includes a network interface 114 that includes any selected number of data connection ports that facilitate a connection of node with any selected number of other nodes which facilitates a transfer of data between the connected nodes along their communication lines, see for instance, paragraph 19. The information provided by the graphical images of Figs. 1 and 6-8 can be presented, e.g., as a sequential visual presentation to the network engineer via a display device connected with the network monitoring device, see for instance, paragraph 50. The obtaining of additional information that enriches an understanding of the network operation can further be selectively enabled and disabled according to any selected time schedule, see for instance, paragraph 51.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of German, Park, Chen, and Salgueiro in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate metrics display as taught by Salgueiro into German’s modified augmented reality system, as displaying performance information, such as bandwidth information associated with a given port/node connection , such as described by Salgueiro was well known at the time of the effective filing date invention and would have yielded predictable results in combination with German, Park, and Chen.
The modification of German, Park, and Chen with Salgueiro would have explicitly allowed information displayed to be up-time metrics, internet traffic usage metrics, power usage metrics, or a combination thereof associated with the given port.
The motivation for combining German, Park, and Chen with Salgueiro would have been to improve the user experience, enhance functionality by allowing the user to gain incremental knowledge about the network, see for instance, Salgueiro, paragraphs 2-4.
While German, Park, Chen, and Salgueiro teach the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations, Grover is being incorporated into the rejection to teach that displayed icons can be displayed in such a way to appear different for each connectivity state.
In the same art of graphical display, Grover teaches that a vehicle communication system can determine if a device becomes disconnected from the system, see for instance, paragraph 47. If the device has become disconnected from the system, the application icon associated with the device may change the appearance/color of the icon (such as graying it out) or removed it from the display, see for instance, paragraphs 47 and 54.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate icon display as taught by Grover into German’s modified augmented reality system, as changing the icon depiction to correspond to a connectivity state, such as described by Grover was well known at the time of the effective filing date invention and would have yielded predictable results in combination with German, Park, Chen, and Salgueiro.
The modification of German, Park, Chen, and Salgueiro with Grover would have explicitly allowed the appearance of the icon to be different for each connectivity state associated with the given port.
The motivation for combining German, Park, Chen, and Salgueiro with Grover would have been to improve the user experience, enhance functionality by notifying the user of the connectivity state of a given device, see for instance, Grover, paragraphs 47-54.
Regarding claim 2, German in view of Park in further view of Chen further in view of Salgueiro in further view of Grover teach the method of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the connectivity status includes accessing a remote database of identities of devices coupled to the at least one of the plurality of ports of the network device (Connectivity information includes the end points of the communications link associated with a particular connector port, see for instance paragraph 67. Detailed connectivity information may represent a full communications link (i.e., endpoints beyond the patch cord connection information), see paragraph 68. For example, as illustrated in fig. 4, the connectivity information may represent an identifier for a building, floor, room, rack, patch panel, connector port, or the like, see for instance, paragraph 68. The connectivity database may be internal or external, see for instance, paragraphs 58-59 and 103-107). The motivation to combine German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover is the same as that which was set forth in claim 1. Unless otherwise stated reference citations are to German.
Regarding claim 3, German in view of Park in further view of Chen further in view of Salgueiro in further view of Grover teach the method of claim 1 and further teaches wherein retrieving information associated with the connectivity state includes retrieving a database of information regarding devices coupled to the at least one of the plurality of ports of the network device (Connectivity information includes the end points of the communications link associated with a particular connector port, see for instance paragraph 67. Detailed connectivity information may represent a full communications link (i.e., endpoints beyond the patch cord connection information), see paragraph 68. For example, as illustrated in fig. 4, the connectivity information may represent an identifier for a building, floor, room, rack, patch panel, connector port, or the like, see for instance, paragraph 68. Database may comprise a software database that is dedicated to monitor and log patch cord interconnections with the connector ports…and user-friendly connectivity information and connectivity logs, see paragraph 59). The motivation to combine German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover is the same as that which was set forth in claim 1. Unless otherwise stated reference citations are to German.
Regarding claim 5, German in view of Park in further view of Chen further in view of Salgueiro in further view of Grover teach the method of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the connectivity status includes information of a device coupled to the at least one of the plurality of ports (The display 160 can display more detailed connectivity information about each of the connector ports, such as end points of the communications link associated with a particular connector port (e.g., switch and wall outlet points), see paragraph 67. Detailed connector information may represent the full communications link (i.e., inclusive of endpoints beyond the patch cord connection information, see paragraph 68. The patch cord connection information is dynamically updated by the controller as a patch cord is inserted and removed from a respective connector port, see paragraph 64). The motivation to combine German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover is the same as that which was set forth in claim 1. Unless otherwise stated reference citations are to German.
Regarding claim 6, German in view of Park in further view of Chen further in view of Salgueiro in further view of Grover teach the method of claim 1 and further teaches wherein displaying the connectivity status includes displaying a virtual label including text indicating one or more characteristics of a device connected to the at least one of the ports (The patch cord information is dynamically updated as a patch cord is inserted and removed from a respective connector port, see paragraph 64. Connectivity information associated with each of the connector points can be displayed, see paragraph 67. Connectivity information includes end points of the communication link associated with a particular connectivity port, see paragraph 67. The application retrieves information about the connection associated with the identified port and emphasizes that connection in the AR view screen, see paragraph 243. The system may automatically determine which patch cords are connected where, see paragraph 132). The motivation to combine German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover is the same as that which was set forth in claim 1. Unless otherwise stated reference citations are to German.
Regarding claim 7, German in view of Park in further view of Chen further in view of Salgueiro in further view of Grover teach the method of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the overlay of the virtual port has a size and shape that substantially matches that of the image captured by the camera (The application retrieves information about the connection associated with the identified port and emphasizes that connection in the AR view screen, see paragraph 243. The emphasis feature can take a wide variety of forms including, an outline of the corresponding real-world object, a transparent or non-transparent virtual object that has the same general shape as the corresponding real-world object that is positioned over the real-world object, a pointer or arrow object that points to the corresponding real-world object, etc, see for instance, paragraph 182. The region can have a shape that comprises the precise perimeter of that port or other part or have a simplified shape, see paragraph 173). The motivation to combine German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover is the same as that which was set forth in claim 1. Unless otherwise stated reference citations are to German.
Regarding claim 10, German in view of Park in further view of Chen further in view of Salgueiro in further view of Grover teach the method of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the connectivity state includes whether the at least one of the plurality of ports is connected to another device (The patch cord information is dynamically updated as a patch cord is inserted and removed from a respective connector port, see paragraph 64. Connectivity information associated with each of the connector points can be displayed, see paragraph 67. Connectivity information includes end points of the communication link associated with a particular connectivity port, see paragraph 67. The application retrieves information about the connection associated with the identified port and emphasizes that connection in the AR view screen, see paragraph 243. The system may automatically determine which patch cords are connected where, see paragraph 132). The motivation to combine German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover is the same as that which was set forth in claim 1. Unless otherwise stated reference citations are to German.
Regarding claim 11, German in view of Park in further view of Chen further in view of Salgueiro in further view of Grover teach the method of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the connectivity state includes an operating status of a computer that was connected to the at least one of the plurality of ports (The display 160 can display more detailed connectivity information about each of the connector ports, such as end points of the communications link associated with a particular connector port (e.g., switch and wall outlet points), see paragraph 67. The detailed connectivity information for each connector port may take up multiple lines on the display, see paragraph 67. Detailed connector information may represent the full communications link (i.e., inclusive of endpoints beyond the patch cord connection information, see paragraph 68. The display can display general information in addition to the connectivity information, general information can include environmental data, current cooling level, power level, average data throughput, and the number or percent of connector ports available and/or in use, see paragraph 81. Status information for the ports can be displayed, see for instance, paragraphs 133 and 278). The motivation to combine German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover is the same as that which was set forth in claim 1. Unless otherwise stated reference citations are to German.
Regarding claim 12, German in view of Park in further view of Chen further in view of Salgueiro in further view of Grover teach the method of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the mobile device is a mobile phone, tablet computer, laptop computer or headset (see for instance, paragraphs 117, 131, and 152). The motivation to combine German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover is the same as that which was set forth in claim 1. Unless otherwise stated reference citations are to German.
Regarding claim 13, German teaches a method of displaying a network device with augmented reality using a mobile device (Embodiments are directed to methods and systems for using augmented reality (AR) technology with a system for tracking connections at rack-mounted patching or other equipment, see for instance abstract. The AR application can be ran on a mobile device, such as head mounted displays and smartphones, see for instance, fig. 37-38 and 47 and figs. 12 and 18), the method comprising:
retrieving information associated with a connectivity state of at least one of a plurality of ports of a network device based on an identification provided to the mobile device by the network device, wherein the retrieved information includes a connectivity status for at least one of the plurality of ports (Detailed connectivity information about each of the connector ports can be displayed, see paragraph 67. Such information may include the end points of the communications link associated with a particular connector port, see paragraph 67. The barcode may have data embedded therein such as equipment identification information and information on the type of equipment, see paragraph 131. The system may simply scan a piece of equipment and automatically determine which patch cords are connected where, see paragraph 132. The application retrieves information about the connection associated with the identified port and emphasizes that connection in the AR view screen, see paragraph 243. The system may automatically determine which patch cords are connected where, see paragraph 132);
determining, based on the retrieved information, the connectivity status for a given port (Detailed connectivity information about each of the connector ports can be displayed, see paragraph 67. Such information may include the end points of the communications link associated with a particular connector port, see paragraph 67. The barcode may have data embedded therein such as equipment identification information and information on the type of equipment, see paragraph 131. The system may simply scan a piece of equipment and automatically determine which patch cords are connected where, see paragraph 132. The application retrieves information about the connection associated with the identified port and emphasizes that connection in the AR view screen, see paragraph 243. The system may automatically determine which patch cords are connected where, see paragraph 132);
determining a spatial relationship of the mobile device with respect to the one or more ports (The AR device associates location information with the captured information and images, see paragraph 257. The captured information and images and associated location information can then be used to associated non-visible and visible equipment near the marker using conventional AR techniques, see paragraph 257. In the examples described in connection with Figs. 13, 14A-C, and 15, the identity of the standard rack is determined by detecting and decoding an identifier associated with the standard rack in an image captured by the AR device, see paragraph 213. A software generated overlay image can be generated and superimposed over the user’s view of the real world, see paragraph 143. While not explicitly stated in German, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on the effective filing date of the invention that a spatial relationship of the mobile device with respect to the one or more ports would be found in order to generate an overlay and superimpose the overlay over the user’s field of view);
displaying the connectivity status for the given port on a display of the mobile device, wherein the display includes an image captured by a camera of the mobile device and the connectivity status is displayed as an overlay of a virtual port in the image and an icon of a device coupled to the at least one of the plurality of ports displayed adjacent to the at least one of the plurality of ports, wherein an appearance of the icon is different for each connectivity state associated with the given port and an indicia, separate from the virtual port and the icon, depicting a connection between the device and the given port (A software generated overlay image can be generated and superimposed over the user’s view of the real world, see paragraph 143. The overlay can include various features, such as features that identify or provide information about a rack, equipment in a rack, or that identify or provide information about a work order and features by which a user can select or provide an input related to the rack, equipment, or work order, see paragraph 143. The overlay includes emphasis features that emphasize one or more end points (ports and the panels or other equipment that include the ports) of a connection that is to be made or an existing connection, see paragraph 228. The overlay includes another emphasis feature that highlights or otherwise emphasizes a port of the patching equipment, see paragraphs 183-184. The patch cord information is dynamically updated as a patch cord is inserted and removed from a respective connector port, see paragraph 64. Connectivity information associated with each of the connector points can be displayed, see paragraph 67. Connectivity information includes end points of the communication link associated with a particular connectivity port, see paragraph 67. The application retrieves information about the connection associated with the identified port and emphasizes that connection in the AR view screen, see paragraph 243. The system may automatically determine which patch cords are connected where, see paragraph 132),
displaying a user selectable performance icon on the display of the mobile device (A software generated overlay image can be generated and superimposed over the user’s view of the real world, see paragraph 143. The overlay can include various features, such as features that identify or provide information about a rack, equipment in a rack, or that identify or provide information about a work order and features by which a user can select or provide an input related to the rack, equipment, or work order, see paragraph 143. The overlay includes emphasis features that emphasize one or more end points (ports and the panels or other equipment that include the ports) of a connection that is to be made or an existing connection, see paragraph 228. The overlay includes another emphasis feature that highlights or otherwise emphasizes a port of the patching equipment, see paragraphs 183-184. Connectivity information associated with each of the connector points can be displayed, see paragraph 67. Connectivity information includes end points of the communication link associated with a particular connectivity port, see paragraph 67. The application retrieves information about the connection associated with the identified port and emphasizes that connection in the AR view screen, see paragraph 243. The application is also configured to display a details icon as part of the AR view screen displayed for a traced connection, such that if the user taps on the details icon, it displays a trace screen that includes details about the traced connection, see for instance, paragraph 248. The overlay can include interactive elements that a user can select to enable the user to selectively display information associated with the port, see for instance, paragraph 278);
receiving a user selection of the performance icon (The user can select a button to initiate an action, see for instance, paragraphs 161, 194, 195, 197, 248, 266, 267. The application is also configured to display a details icon as part of the AR view screen displayed for a trace connection, the application is configured so that if a user taps on the details icon, it displays a trace screen that includes details about the traced connection, see for instance, paragraph 248); and
displaying up-time metrics, internet traffic usage metrics, power usage metrics, or a combination thereof associated with the given port based on the user selection of the performance icon (A software generated overlay image can be generated and superimposed over the user’s view of the real world, see paragraph 143. The overlay can include various features, such as features that identify or provide information about a rack, equipment in a rack, or that identify or provide information about a work order and features by which a user can select or provide an input related to the rack, equipment, or work order, see paragraph 143. The overlay includes emphasis features that emphasize one or more end points (ports and the panels or other equipment that include the ports) of a connection that is to be made or an existing connection, see paragraph 228. The overlay includes another emphasis feature that highlights or otherwise emphasizes a port of the patching equipment, see paragraphs 183-184. Connectivity information associated with each of the connector points can be displayed, see paragraph 67. Connectivity information includes end points of the communication link associated with a particular connectivity port, see paragraph 67. The application retrieves information about the connection associated with the identified port and emphasizes that connection in the AR view screen, see paragraph 243. The application is also configured to display a details icon as part of the AR view screen displayed for a traced connection, such that if the user taps on the details icon, it displays a trace screen that includes details about the traced connection, see for instance, paragraph 248. The overlay can include interactive elements that a user can select to enable the user to selectively display information associated with the port, see for instance, paragraph 278. The general information can also include such data as the current cooling level, the current power level, the current average data throughput, and the number or percent of connector ports available or in use, see for instance, paragraph 81).
German does not appear to teach displaying the connectivity status for the given port on a display of the mobile device, wherein the display includes an image captured by a camera of the mobile device and the connectivity status is displayed as an overlay of a virtual port overlaying the given port in the image and an icon of a device coupled to the at least one of the plurality of ports displayed adjacent to the at least one of the plurality of ports, and an indicia, separate from the virtual port and the icon, depicting a connection between the device and the given port or that the specific information displayed is up-time metrics, internet traffic usage metrics, power usage metrics, or a combination thereof associated with the given port.
In the same art of augmented reality, Park teaches that a navigational cue is overlayed on an indicia, see for instance, paragraphs 62 and 90. Visual objects are overlayed on a display to provide augmented reality pertaining to the devices, see for instance, paragraph 67. Mappings indicate that indicia is attached to a device, which results in a confirmation that device is located. Accordingly, visual object is overlayed on indicia such that augmented reality is provided to the user confirming that device is located, see for instance, paragraph 68. The device and features are identified and one or more of visual object is displayed in relation to feature, visual object is displayed (e.g., overlayed) in relation to feature 261-2, and visual object 412-n is displayed in relation to feature 261-n, see for instance, paragraph 73. In one embodiment, a cable is seated within a feature (e.g., a port), see for instance, paragraph 75. Augmented reality is provided by overlaying an associated visual object that identifies the other device where the cable is terminated, see for instance, paragraph 75. Visual object depicts information associated with the device, such as the name of the server, device details, resource allocation/usage for virtual machines, see for instance, paragraph 78.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of German and Park in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate augmented reality aided navigation as taught by Park into German’s augmented reality system, as overlaying information associated with connectivity, such as described by Park was well known at the time of the effective filing date invention and would have yielded predictable results in combination with German.
The modification of German with Park would have explicitly allowed the icon of a device to a given port to be displayed as overlay.
The motivation for combining German with Park would have been to improve the user experience, enhance functionality and to reduce errors and potential mishaps associated with the service of a given device, see Park, paragraph 3.
German in view of Park further teach an overlay that highlights or otherwise emphasizes a port of the patching equipment that is highlighted by the first emphasis feature (e.g., 1406 pointing to 1404 separate from the work order box 1414 in fig. 14). However, German in view of Park do not appear to explicitly teach the indicia depicting a connection between the device and the given port is separate from the virtual port and the icon. Furthermore, while German in view of Park teach displaying data throughput generally and information on a per port basis, they do not specifically teach the information displayed is up-time metrics, internet traffic usage metrics, power usage metrics, or a combination thereof associated with the given port.
In the same art of augmented reality, Chen teaches that an AR system overlays computer-generated graphics, such as an icon 122 for the foot well window that is registered to foot well window 110, and icons 124 and 126 for the flat washer and gasket that are positioned on the left side and bottom of the display, respectively, see paragraph 34. Icon 122 shows the label FOOTWELL WINDOW connected to the foot well via an indicator/line in fig 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of German, Park, and Chen in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate augmented reality labeling as taught by Chen into German’s modified augmented reality system, as overlaying information associated with a part and having indicia connecting the part to the label, such as described by Chen was well known at the time of the effective filing date invention and would have yielded predictable results in combination with German and Park.
The modification of German and Park with Chen would have explicitly allowed the indicia depicting a connection between the device and the given port is separate from the virtual port and the icon.
The motivation for combining German and Park with Chen would have been to improve the user experience, enhance functionality and using a known display technique to connect two items, see for instance, Chen, paragraphs 3, 5, and 8.
While German in view of Park teach displaying data throughput generally and information on a per port basis, they do not specifically teach the information displayed is up-time metrics, internet traffic usage metrics, power usage metrics, or a combination thereof associated with the given port.
In the same art of networks, Salgueiro teaches the source node can initiate a collection of a number of different types of information rom any node in the network, including additional layered information relating to current operational conditions of the network (e.g., performance information, health of network elements, computing device, etc. at any node, requests for nodes to enable dynamic tracing or monitoring of data packets being routed through the network etc), see for instance, paragraph 30. Some examples of different types of information that can be overlayed upon a graphical image of the current network topology are depicted in Figs. 4 and 5. Referring to fig. 4, the current CPU usage for a computing device is listed at each node, see for instance, paragraph 44. In addition, the amount of bandwidth being used during transfer of data packets at or between nodes can be presented by providing graphical images of communication lines between such nodes that are different, for example, having a different color, different line width, and/or different types of line designations, see for instance, paragraph 44. As shown in Fig. 4, the communication lines depicted in the graphical image between different nodes have varying degrees of thickness, which can be used to designate differences in amount of bandwidth (e.g., data transfer rate, such as bit rate) currently being used or that is currently available along such communication lines, see for instance, paragraph 44. The router 112 includes a network interface 114 that includes any selected number of data connection ports that facilitate a connection of node with any selected number of other nodes which facilitates a transfer of data between the connected nodes along their communication lines, see for instance, paragraph 19. The information provided by the graphical images of Figs. 1 and 6-8 can be presented, e.g., as a sequential visual presentation to the network engineer via a display device connected with the network monitoring device, see for instance, paragraph 50. The obtaining of additional information that enriches an understanding of the network operation can further be selectively enabled and disabled according to any selected time schedule, see for instance, paragraph 51.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of German, Park, Chen, and Salgueiro in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate metrics display as taught by Salgueiro into German’s modified augmented reality system, as displaying performance information, such as bandwidth information associated with a given port/node connection , such as described by Salgueiro was well known at the time of the effective filing date invention and would have yielded predictable results in combination with German, Park, and Chen.
The modification of German, Park, and Chen with Salgueiro would have explicitly allowed information displayed to be up-time metrics, internet traffic usage metrics, power usage metrics, or a combination thereof associated with the given port.
The motivation for combining German, Park, and Chen with Salgueiro would have been to improve the user experience, enhance functionality by allowing the user to gain incremental knowledge about the network, see for instance, Salgueiro, paragraphs 2-4.
While German, Park, Chen, and Salgueiro teach the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations, Grover is being incorporated into the rejection to teach that displayed icons can be displayed in such a way to appear different for each connectivity state.
In the same art of graphical display, Grover teaches that a vehicle communication system can determine if a device becomes disconnected from the system, see for instance, paragraph 47. If the device has become disconnected from the system, the application icon associated with the device may change the appearance/color of the icon (such as graying it out) or removed it from the display, see for instance, paragraphs 47 and 54.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate icon display as taught by Grover into German’s modified augmented reality system, as changing the icon depiction to correspond to a connectivity state, such as described by Grover was well known at the time of the effective filing date invention and would have yielded predictable results in combination with German, Park, Chen, and Salgueiro.
The modification of German, Park, Chen, and Salgueiro with Grover would have explicitly allowed the appearance of the icon to be different for each connectivity state associated with the given port.
The motivation for combining German, Park, Chen, and Salgueiro with Grover would have been to improve the user experience, enhance functionality by notifying the user of the connectivity state of a given device, see for instance, Grover, paragraphs 47-54.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is the system claim of the method claim 1 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which was set forth with respect to claim 1. In addition, German in view of Park in further view of Chen further in view of Salgueiro in further view of Grover teach a system for displaying a network device with augmented reality using a mobile device (Embodiments are directed to methods and systems for using augmented reality (AR) technology with a system for tracking connections at rack-mounted patching or other equipment, see for instance abstract. The AR application can be ran on a mobile device, such as head mounted displays and smartphones, see for instance, fig. 37-38 and 47 and figs. 12 and 18), the system comprising: one or more processors; memory coupled to the one or more processors, the memory configured to store computer-program instructions, that, when executed by the one or more processors, perform a computer-implemented method (see for instance, paragraphs 155, 174, and 262 and fig. 16); and a user selectable performance icon on the display of the mobile device (see for instance, paragraphs 143, 183-184, 228, 243, 248, and 278). Unless otherwise stated reference citations are to German.
Regarding claim 15, German in view of Park in further view of Chen in further view of Salgueiro in further view of Grover teach the system of claim 14 and further teach wherein the connectivity status includes identities of devices coupled to the at least one of the plurality of ports of the network device (Connectivity information includes the end points of the communications link associated with a particular connector port, see for instance paragraph 67. Detailed connectivity information may represent a full communications link (i.e., endpoints beyond the patch cord connection information), see paragraph 68. For example, as illustrated in fig. 4, the connectivity information may represent an identifier for a building, floor, room, rack, patch panel, connector port, or the like, see for instance, paragraph 68. The connectivity database may be internal or external, see for instance, paragraphs 58-59 and 103-107). The motivation to combine German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover is the same as that which was set forth in claim 14. Unless otherwise stated reference citations are to German.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is the system claim of the method claim 3 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which was set forth with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is the system claim of the method claim 5 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which was set forth with respect to claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is the system claim of the method claim 7 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which was set forth with respect to claim 7.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over German et al. (US PG Publication 2019/0041637) in view of Park et al. (US PG Publication 2015/0109334) in further view of Chen et al. (US PG Publication 2012/0075343) further in view of Salgueiro et al. (US PG Publication 2013/0103739) in further view of Grover et al. (US PG Publication 2015/0193093), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Jackson et al. (US PG Publication 2016/0029148).
Regarding claim 4, German in view of Park in further view of Chen further in view of Salgueiro in further view of Grover teach the method of claim 1, but do not appear to explicitly teach wherein displaying the connectivity status further includes removal of the icon from the display after being disconnected from the given port for at least a predetermined time period.
In the same art of icon display, Jackson teaches that if a device is not detected for a predetermined period of time, then the icon associated with the device may be removed from the display or may be indicated as not having been detected for a predetermined length of time, e.g., by being shown as a faded icon, see paragraphs 46 and 172.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, Grover, and Jackson in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate icon display as taught by Siddiqi into German’s modified augmented reality system, as removing an icon or changing the appearance of the icon to reflect the device associated with the icon being disconnected for a given period of time, such as described by Jackson was well known at the time of the effective filing date invention and would have yielded predictable results in combination with German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover.
The modification of German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover with Jackson would have allowed removing the icon from the display after being disconnected from the given port for at least a predetermined time period.
The motivation for combining German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover with Jackson would have been to improve the user experience, enhance functionality and one way to implement the process set forth in Grover for changing the appearance of the icon.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over German et al. (US PG Publication 2019/0041637) in view of Park et al. (US PG Publication 2015/0109334) in further view of Chen et al. (US PG Publication 2012/0075343) further in view of Salgueiro et al. (US PG Publication 2013/0103739) in further view of Grover et al. (US PG Publication 2015/0193093), as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, in further view of Siddiqi et al. (US PG Publication 2018/0083848).
Regarding claim 8, German in view of Park in further view of Chen further in view of Salgueiro in further view of Grover teach the method of claim 1, but do not appear to explicitly teach wherein retrieving the information includes accessing a library of virtual objects corresponding to the devices coupled to the at least one of the plurality of ports of the network device.
In the same art of augmented reality, Siddiqi teaches endpoint device indicator may include one or more icons that provide additional information regarding the endpoint device, see paragraph 56. For instance, an icon that visually depicts that the type of endpoint device associated with endpoint device indicator is a tablet device, see paragraph 56. Different icons can be used to identify the type of endpoint device associated with the endpoint device indicator, such as a tablet, smartphone, desktop, computer, laptop, printer, IoT device, wearable device, UAV, or any other type of computing device, see paragraph 56. In Fig. 5 the icons for endpoint device indicators 502 and 506 indicate the associated endpoint devices are smartphones, while the icons for endpoint device indicators 504 and 508 indicate the associated endpoint devices are laptops, see paragraph 57 and fig. 5. Endpoint device indicator 506 includes a second icon to indicate that it is a rogue device, which can be any unidentified device that is accessing a particular network, see paragraph 57 and fig. 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, Grover, and Siddiqi in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate endpoint device connectivity icons as taught by Siddiqi into German’s modified augmented reality system, as having different icons represent the type of device connected, such as described by Siddiqi was well known at the time of the effective filing date invention and would have yielded predictable results in combination with German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover.
The modification of German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover with Siddiqi would have explicitly allowed retrieving the information includes accessing a library of virtual objects corresponding to the devices coupled to the at least one of the plurality of ports of the network device.
The motivation for combining German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover with Siddiqi would have been to improve the user experience, enhance functionality and to quickly identify any rogue devices connected to the network, see Siddiqi, paragraph 57.
Regarding claim 9, German in view of Park in further view of Chen further in view of Salgueiro in further view of Grover in further view of Siddiqi teach the method of claim 8 and further teach wherein the identification provided to the mobile device includes a radio-frequency (RF) code, an optical code, a barcode, an ARTag code, an alphanumeric code, a number code, or a combination thereof (see for instance, German, paragraphs 131 and 254). The motivation to combine German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, Grover, and Siddiqi is the same as that which was set forth with respect to claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, German in view of Park in further view of Chen further in view of Salgueiro in further view of Grover teach the system of claim 14, but do not appear to explicitly teach wherein displaying the connectivity status includes displaying icons of devices coupled to the at least one of the plurality of ports.
In the same art of augmented reality, Siddiqi teaches endpoint device indicator may include one or more icons that provide additional information regarding the endpoint device, see paragraph 56. For instance, an icon that visually depicts that the type of endpoint device associated with endpoint device indicator is a tablet device, see paragraph 56. Different icons can be used to identify the type of endpoint device associated with the endpoint device indicator, such as a tablet, smartphone, desktop, computer, laptop, printer, IoT device, wearable device, UAV, or any other type of computing device, see paragraph 56. In Fig. 5 the icons for endpoint device indicators 502 and 506 indicate the associated endpoint devices are smartphones, while the icons for endpoint device indicators 504 and 508 indicate the associated endpoint devices are laptops, see paragraph 57 and fig. 5. Endpoint device indicator 506 includes a second icon to indicate that it is a rogue device, which can be any unidentified device that is accessing a particular network, see paragraph 57 and fig. 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, Grover, and Siddiqi in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate endpoint device connectivity icons as taught by Siddiqi into German’s modified augmented reality system, as having different icons represent the type of device connected, such as described by Siddiqi was well known at the time of the effective filing date invention and would have yielded predictable results in combination with German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover.
The modification of German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover with Siddiqi would have allowed displaying the connectivity status to include displaying icons of devices coupled to the at least one of the plurality of ports.
The motivation for combining German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover with Siddiqi would have been to improve the user experience, enhance functionality and to quickly identify any rogue devices connected to the network, see Siddiqi, paragraph 57.
Regarding claim 20, German in view of Park in further view of Chen further in view of Salgueiro in further view of Grover teach the system of claim 14, but do not appear to explicitly teach wherein the retrieved information includes a library of virtual objects based on the identification provided to the mobile device.
In the same art of augmented reality, Siddiqi teaches endpoint device indicator may include one or more icons that provide additional information regarding the endpoint device, see paragraph 56. For instance, an icon that visually depicts that the type of endpoint device associated with endpoint device indicator is a tablet device, see paragraph 56. Different icons can be used to identify the type of endpoint device associated with the endpoint device indicator, such as a tablet, smartphone, desktop, computer, laptop, printer, IoT device, wearable device, UAV, or any other type of computing device, see paragraph 56. In Fig. 5 the icons for endpoint device indicators 502 and 506 indicate the associated endpoint devices are smartphones, while the icons for endpoint device indicators 504 and 508 indicate the associated endpoint devices are laptops, see paragraph 57 and fig. 5. Endpoint device indicator 506 includes a second icon to indicate that it is a rogue device, which can be any unidentified device that is accessing a particular network, see paragraph 57 and fig. 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, Grover, and Siddiqi in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate endpoint device connectivity icons as taught by Siddiqi into German’s modified augmented reality system, as having different icons represent the type of device connected, such as described by Siddiqi was well known at the time of the effective filing date invention and would have yielded predictable results in combination with German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover.
The modification of German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover with Siddiqi would have explicitly allowed the retrieved information to include a library of virtual objects based on the identification provided to the mobile device.
The motivation for combining German, Park, Chen, Salgueiro, and Grover with Siddiqi would have been to improve the user experience, enhance functionality and to quickly identify any rogue devices connected to the network, see Siddiqi, paragraph 57.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PG Publication 2020/0309557 to Efland teaches that a navigation arrow, separate from other objects can be shown on the display screen. Fig. 5A shows a navigation arrow linking ENTER HERE to the doors of a train.
US PG Publication 2019/0288916 to Ricci teaches that “the application in the application tray may appear differently from other icons that are not installed and displayed. In other words, if the icons are displayed in color to illustrate one or more states, they may appear in black and white, or grayscale, to indicate one or more other states. Therefore, given the previous example, available applications may have full color application icons, whereas installed and displayed icons may have grayscale icons”, see for instance, paragraph 81.
US PG Publication 2019/0132316 to Gramza teaches that the appearance of an icon changes to indicate that a previously associated system device is no longer associated, see for instance, paragraph 91.
US PG Publication 2018/0132088 to Lee teaches that “as shown in Fig. 27, icons 312, 314, 316, 318, and 319 of the devices displayed in the indicator area 200 may be displayed to distinguish according to a connected/unconnected state. For example, an icon in an unconnected state may be displayed with dark colors 314 and 318, and mark ‘x’ notifying an unconnected state may be additionally displayed. Accordingly, the user may determine whether each device is connected with only determination of icons of the device displayed in the indicator area 200.”, see for instance, paragraph 190 and fig. 27.
US PG Publication 2016/0253069 to Zapletal teaches that a vendor identifier is used to determine a color and shape associated with connections at a server, see for instance, paragraphs 28, 37 and figs. 2 and 3.
US PG Publication 2015/0264091 to Lin et al. teaches “FIG. 2E shows a list of contacts that are currently associated with the user account "Red207". The list of contacts includes other human users (e.g., "Annie", "Mom", and "Reddog") with whom the user has previously established a mutual social networking relationship. FIG. 2E also shows that the list of contacts also includes the social network identity 208 of the peripheral device (e.g., "Q-Band"). In some embodiments, the list of contacts also includes a public social network identity 210 of a support service provider 2 (e.g., "Q-Support") for the newly added peripheral device 200. At this point, the icon for the peripheral device is shaded in a way to indicate that the peripheral device 200 corresponding to the social network identity "Q-Band" is not currently connected to the user device 202. After the peripheral device 200 is connected to the user device 202, the communication server is notified of the connection, and the appearance of the icon for the peripheral device will change to indicate that the active online status of the peripheral device 200 is now connected.”, see for instance, paragraph 91.
US PG Publication 2014/0085335 to Chen et al. teaches displaying various connectivity metrics, such as routing statistics, data latency, link performance, bandwidth usage, etc, see for instance, paragraph 23.
US PG Publication 2006/0291473 to Chase et al. teaches monitoring network performance by using metrics, see for instance, paragraph 87.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J COBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615