DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed 08/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, and 21 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Solon (US 2021/0226581), and Williams (US 6,081,205).
The applicant arguments are persuasive; thus, THIS ACTION IS MADE NON-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lars (WO 2010/114454), with the publication date: 2010/10/07; attached is the human translation and Solon (US 2021/0226581).
Regarding claim 1, Lars discloses a system to charge electric vehicles (fig. 1, abstract) comprising:
a power platform (1, 7, 8, fig. 1; A transformer station includes, in addition to a transformer, a low-voltage switchgear and a high-voltage switchgear, page 4, lines 8-19) configured to receive input power and to generate output power from the input power (page 9, lines 16-22; Note: the input power is provided from the source 2 and 1, 7, 8 provided output power to the charging device 13, fig. 1);
a cable management system (CMS) (The power supply system comprises in one embodiment branches of cable protection devices. The cable protection devices are secured to the parking surface and enclose the cables. In one embodiment, the cable protection devices constitute the framework or the base to the posts, page 6, lines 29-33; 30, fig, 3) extending from the power platform (the low-voltage switchgear (8, part of the power platform, fig. 1) with a power cable (11) arranged directly on ground and protected by a cable protection device (30), claim 7); a lead assemblies disposed in CMS (the cable protection device 30 has the cable 11, fig. 4),
at least a lead assemblies each including a feeder cable electrically coupled to the power platform and a drop line electrically coupled to the feeder cable, the lead assemblies disposed in the CMS(annotated fig. I: feeder cable the main power supply line; drop line directly provide power to the charging device the drop line is also connected to the feeder line);
Annotated fig. I
a charger platform (12, fig. 4) configured to interface with the CMS and support a charging device (wherein at least one power outlet (12) comprises a connection module (36) supported by a post (35), and connected to the low-voltage switchgear with a power cable (11) arranged directly on ground and protected by a cable protection device (30), claim 7), the charging device electrically coupled to the drop line and including an electric vehicle (EV) charger configured to deliver the output power to an electric vehicle (The power outlets 12 are designed with one or several outlet fittings and a device for controlling the charging current as well as any supplementary heating in the car, page 12, lines 27-30),
wherein the power platform is configured to electrically protect the lead assemblies and the charger platform (page 5, lines 13-18).
Although Lars discloses a system to charge the vehicle and the system to protect the cables by managing the power flow in it. However, Lars is silent about the system has two or more lead assembles each including a feeder cable and drop line.
Solon discloses the plurality of the lead assemblies each including a feeder cable and drop line to transport power at the output from the input power source (fig. 10 shows that the plurality of the feeder cable 14 combine with the drop line 12).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date claimed invention to modify Lars’s vehicle charging system to include two or lead assemblies as taught by Solon, in order to facilitate distribution of electrical power to multiple charging devices, thereby increasing the number of electric vehicles that can be served and improving the flexibility and scalability of the charging system.
Regarding claim 2, Lars further discloses wherein the power platform further comprises: a transformer (7, fig. 1) configured to transform the input power to the output power (the transformer has the inherent to transform input power to the output power); a distribution board electrically coupled between the transformer and the lead assembly (a low-voltage switchgear connected to the power outlets, a transformer connected to the low-voltage switchgear, page 7, lines 10-11); and an input circuit electrically coupled between a utility wire and the transformer (high voltage switchgear connected to the transformer for connection to a cable-fed power grid, page 7, lines 11-13), the utility wire configured to carry the input power from a power source to the transformer (a radially feeding cable 5, which is intended for 10-36 kV, extends to a transformer facility 6, page 9, lines 24-25).
Although, lars discloses a system to charge the vehicle and the system to protect the cables by managing the power flow in it. However, Lars is silent about the system has two or more lead assembles each including a feeder cable and drop line.
Solon discloses the plurality of the lead assemblies each including a feeder cable and drop line to transport power at the output from the input power source (fig. 10 shows that the plurality of the feeder cable 14 combine with the drop line 12).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date claimed invention to modify Lars’s vehicle charging system to include two or lead assemblies as taught by Solon, in order to facilitate distribution of electrical power to multiple charging devices, thereby increasing the number of electric vehicles that can be served and improving the flexibility and scalability of the charging system.
Regarding claim 3, Lars further discloses wherein the transformer, the distribution board, and the input circuit are electrically coupled together via one or more electrical lines (A transformer station includes, in addition to a transformer (7), a low-voltage switchgear (8) and a high-voltage switchgear (1), page 4, lines 8-19, 1, 7, and 8 are electrically connected through electrical lines 5, 27, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Lars further discloses wherein the one or more electrical lines electrically couple the transformer, the distribution board, and the input circuit to the feeder cable (1,7, 8, are connected to main power supply line in the middle, see the annotated fig. I).
Regarding claim 5, Lars further discloses wherein the transformer, the distribution board, and the input circuit are each interlocking, plug-and-play components and together (transformer 7 is in an independent module, page 11, lines 11; low voltage gear switch is an independent module, page 12, lines 21; high voltage gear module fig. 2; they are electrically connected together with standardized interface , fig. 1), integrally form the power platform (A transformer station includes, in addition to a transformer, a low-voltage switchgear and a high-voltage switchgear, page 4, lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 6, Lars further discloses wherein the distribution board includes an electrical switch having an open configuration and a closed configuration, wherein in the open configuration, the lead assembly are electrically decoupled from the power platform, and in the closed configuration, the lead assembly are electrically coupled to the power platform (distribution of electricity to a plurality of temporarily parked electrically powered vehicles comprising a plurality of power outlets, a low-voltage switchgear connected to the power outlets, a transformer connected to the low-voltage switchgear, page 7, lines 7-11; where the distribution board is a switch gear has the operational properties open and close configuration, where the "open" button disconnects power flow (contacts apart), while "close" reconnects them).
Solon discloses the plurality of the lead assemblies each including a feeder cable and drop line to transport power at the output from the input power source (fig. 10 shows that the plurality of the feeder cable 14 combine with the drop line 12).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date claimed invention to modify Lars’s vehicle charging system to include two or lead assemblies as taught by Solon, in order to facilitate distribution of electrical power to multiple charging devices, thereby increasing the number of electric vehicles that can be served and improving the flexibility and scalability of the charging system.
Regarding claim 7, Lars further discloses wherein the input circuit includes an electrical switch having an open configuration and a closed configuration, wherein in the open configuration, the transformer is electrically decoupled from the utility wire, and in the closed configuration, the transformer is electrically coupled to the utility wire (a high voltage switchgear connected to the transformer for connection to a cable-fed power grid, page 7, lines 11-13; wherein the input circuit is equating with high- voltage switch gear, where the "open" button disconnects power flow (contacts apart), while "close" reconnects them).
Regarding claim 10, Lars further discloses wherein the CMS includes one or more raceways each made up of a base with a cover portion coupled to the base that forms one or more channels to receive the lead assembly (The cable protection device may consist of several modules 41 which are built together by joints 31 and secured to the ground by outer fastening devices 32, page 11, lines 25-27; 41 is the form of raceways having the base and cover; fig. 4).
Solon discloses the plurality of the lead assemblies each including a feeder cable and drop line to transport power at the output from the input power source (fig. 10 shows that the plurality of the feeder cable 14 combine with the drop line 12).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date claimed invention to modify Lars’s vehicle charging system to include two or lead assemblies as taught by Solon, in order to facilitate distribution of electrical power to multiple charging devices, thereby increasing the number of electric vehicles that can be served and improving the flexibility and scalability of the charging system.
Regarding claim 11, Lars further discloses wherein the CMS extends across a surface on which the power platform is installed (A cable protection device 30 is extending across the surface of the power platform, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Lars in view of Solon discloses the system of claim 1. However, Lars is silent about the drop line includes a drop line connector disposed on a distal end thereof, the drop line connector configured to electrically interface with the charging device.
Solon discloses the lead assemblies where a drop line (12. Fig. 5) connector disposed on a distal end thereof, the drop line connector configured to electrically interface with the charging device (Drop line 12 provide the interface to the external device (can be charging device), paragraph [0008]).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lars’s system to harness the drop line separately as taught by Solon, in order to ensures maximum safety, faster charging speeds, and improved reliability by preventing circuit overloads.
Regarding claim 13, Lars in view of Solon discloses the system of claim 1. However, Lars is silent about a fuse disposed in line with the drop line.
Solon discloses a lead assembly has a fuse disposed in line with the drop line (fig. 9 shows a fuse disposed with the drop line 12).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lars’s system to harness the drop line with a fuse separately as taught by Solon, in order to ensures maximum safety, faster charging speeds, and improved reliability by preventing circuit overloads.
Regarding claim 14, Lars in view of Solon discloses the system of claim 1. However, Lars is silent about wherein the drop line is electrically coupled to the feeder cable at an electrical nexus, the lead assemblies further comprising a second drop line electrically coupled to the feeder cable at the electrical nexus.
Solon discloses the lead assembly with the drop line is electrically coupled to the feeder cable at an electrical nexus (FIG. 37, drop line 12 and feeder cable 14 electrically couple at nexus 19 of joint 17, paragraph [0049]), the lead assemblies further comprising a second drop line electrically coupled to the feeder cable at the electrical nexus (2 drop lines are shown in fig. 29).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lars’s system to harness the drop line separately as taught by Solon, in order to ensures maximum safety, faster charging speeds, and improved reliability by preventing circuit overloads.
Regarding claim 15, Lars in view of Solon discloses the system of claim 14. Solon further discloses wherein the electrical nexus is positioned within a nexus housing (the electrical nexus 19 is under the nexus housing 24, fig. 29, 37), the nexus housing including at least a first aperture having a first diameter configured to receive the feeder cable and a second aperture having a second diameter configured to receive the drop line (a first aperture extending completely through the undermold and having a first diameter, wherein the feeder cable extends through the first aperture along a first longitudinal axis; and a second aperture extending partially through the undermold and having a second diameter different than the first diameter, wherein the drop line extends from the second aperture along a second longitudinal axis, claim 1), wherein the second diameter is smaller than the first diameter (claim 9).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lars’s system to harness the drop line separately as taught by Solon, in order to ensures maximum safety, faster charging speeds, and improved reliability by preventing circuit overloads.
Regarding claim 16, Lars further discloses wherein the charger platform comprises a base defining (41, fig. 4) a passageway to encase a portion of the CMS (page: 11; lines 25-29).
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lars (WO 2010/114454) and Solon (US 2021/0226581) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yukizane (US 2012/0206092).
Regarding claim 8, Lars in view of Solon discloses the system of claim 1. However, they are silent about the output power is a direct current (DC) power.
Yukizane discloses the charger having AC/DC converter to output DC power (fig. 4, paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lars’s system in view of Solon to have the DC power output as taught by Yukizane, in order to offers higher power directly to the battery, enabling long-distance travel, reduced downtime, and improved energy efficiency, making it ideal for public infrastructure and commercial fleets.
Regarding claim 9, Lars in view of Solon discloses the system of claim 1. However, Lars is silent about the output power is an alternating current (AC) power.
Yukizane discloses the charger having DC/AC converter to output AC power (fig. 7, paragraph [0050]).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lars’s system in view of Solon to have the AC power output as taught by Yukizane, in order to have a cost-effective, widely available, and gentle method to maintain battery health.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lars (WO 2010/114454) and Solon (US 2021/0226581) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2013/0320934), herein after Kobayashi.
Regarding claim 17, Lars in view of Solon discloses the system of claim 1. However, they are silent about a charging device circuit breaker electrically coupled between the drop line and the EV charger.
Kobayashi discloses the vehicle electric charger have the circuit breaker connected between the charger line and EV charger (SB1,..SBn, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lars’s system in view of Solon to have the circuit breaker between the power supply sources to EV’s charger as taught by Kobayashi, in order to prevent electrical fires and equipment damage, protect the charging equipment against overloads, short circuits, and ground faults.
Regarding claim 18, Lars in view of Solon and Kobayashi discloses the system of claim 17. Kobayashi further discloses the charging device circuit breaker includes an open configuration and a closed configuration, wherein in the open configuration, the EV charger is electrically decoupled from the drop line, and in the closed configuration, the EV charger is electrically coupled to the drop line (paragraph [0002] where when the circuit breaker trip the it decouple the load form the power source and when the it is connected it couple the power source with the EV).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lars’s system to have the circuit breaker between the power supply sources to EV’s charger as taught by Kobayashi, in order to prevent electrical fires and equipment damage, protect the charging equipment against overloads, short circuits, and ground faults.
Regarding claim 19, Lars in view of Solon discloses the system of claim 1. However, Lars is silent about a plurality of charging device circuit breakers electrically coupled between a plurality of drop lines and a plurality of EV chargers, the plurality of drop lines each electrically coupled to the feeder cable.
Kobayashi discloses a plurality of charging device circuit breakers electrically coupled between a plurality of drop lines and a plurality of EV chargers, the plurality of drop lines each electrically coupled to the feeder cable (SB1,..SBn, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lars’s system in view of Solon to have the circuit breaker between the power supply sources to EV’s charger as taught by Kobayashi, in order to prevent electrical fires and equipment damage, protect the charging equipment against overloads, short circuits, and ground faults.
Regarding claim 20, Lars in view of Solon and Kobayashi discloses the system of claim 19. Kobayashi further discloses a first charging device circuit breaker of the plurality of charging device circuit breakers includes an open configuration and a closed configuration, wherein in the open configuration, a first EV charger of the plurality of EV chargers is electrically decoupled from a first drop line of the plurality of drop lines, and in the closed configuration, the first EV charger is electrically coupled to the first drop line (paragraph [0002], each circuit breaker has the open and close configuration; when the circuit breaker trip the it decouple the load form the power source and when the it is connected it couple the power source with the EV).
It would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lars’s system to have the circuit breaker between the power supply sources to EV’s charger as taught by Kobayashi, in order to prevent electrical fires and equipment damage, protect the charging equipment against overloads, short circuits, and ground faults.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lars (WO 2010/114454) and Solon (US 2021/0226581) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of William (US 6,081205).
Regarding claim 21, Lars in view of Solon discloses the system of claim 1. Lars further discloses the CMS, lead assembly and charger platform are above the ground (Claim 7, the connector post in fig. 4). However, they do not explicitly disclose the power platform is on the ground level.
William discloses the power platform is on the ground level (the power meter 10 is above the ground fig. 1 also include the power source and power transformer, fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Lar’s system in view of Solon to have the power platform above the ground as taught by William, in order to have easier maintenance, lower installation cost, and better visibility for monitoring.
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/SADIA KOUSAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859