DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the amendment filed on 01/02/2026.
Claims 1, 17, and 21 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/10/2025 regarding the prior art rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the Joao art does not teach the same back end system as claimed. Examiner respectfully disagrees, the Joao reference teaches the user device communicates with the central processing computer (backend system) which itself communicates with other systems. Furthermore, examiner asserts that the Corbo reference has been added to address the newly added claim elements.
For at least the reasons stated above applicant’s arguments regarding prior art rejection are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/10/2025 regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 10-11 that the claims are not drawn to certain method of organizing human activity. Specifically, applicant argues “the claims are directed to a specific technical solution to a specific technical problem: the technical challenge of providing a data processing and networking framework enabling a consistent, seamless online interface without redirection and front-end content rendering and data processing by an affiliate application that is enabled to offload back- end transactional data processing to a back-end transactional component of a sports betting operator.” (response at 10).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, the specific technical problem is not claimed, only receiving, displaying, generating and sending sport bet information. No claim limitation are related to “enabling a consistent, seamless online interface without redirection and front-end content rendering and data processing by an affiliate application that is enabled to offload back- end transactional data processing…” Therefore, applicant’s arguments regarding step 2a prong 1a are unpersuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 11-13 argues that the claims integrate the claim into a practical application. Specifically, applicant argues “the claims provide a technical solution to technical problems associated with using remote computing devices to perform data processing and content rendering” And “The claims enable an affiliate application to provide certain front-end content rendering and data processing functionality for a user of the affiliate application and to offload certain, transactional data processing operations to a back-end transactional component.” (response at 11).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, the argues improvement to technology appear to be sending and receiving data from the front end and back end devoices which amount to mere instruction to apply the exception toa computer environment “Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit)” (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)).
Applicant further argues that their case is similar to Ex parte Desjardins. Examiner notes that PTAB cases are not dispositive and are non-precedential. Furthermore, the fact patterns are not exactly the same as in the cited case therefore it cannot be used to prove eligibility of the instant application.
For at least the reasons stated above applicant’s 101 arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
In the instant case, claims 1, 17 and 20 are directed to a method, non-transitory computer-readable recording medium and system. For the purposes of this analysis, representative claim 1 is addressed
Claim 1 recites “a betting method” which is a grouped under “Certain methods of organizing human activity — fundamental economic practices” in prong one of step 2A (MPEP 2106.04(a)). Abstract ideas are in bold below, and represents a fundamental economic practice.
retrieving over a computer network via a web browser, by an affiliate application of an affiliate, an odds feed from a back-end transactional component of a sports betting operator;
displaying, by the affiliate application, an odds module in a graphical user interface (GUI) of the affiliate application displayed via the web browser;
receiving, by the affiliate application, input indicative of user interaction with the GUI of the affiliate application;
generating, by the affiliate application, a bet responsive to the user interaction with the GUI of the affiliate application; and
sending over the computer network via the web browser, by the affiliate application, the bet to the back-end transactional component to offload data processing of the bet to the back-end transactional component.
The additional elements of claim 1 such as “computer network via a web browser, by an affiliate application of an affiliate,… a back-end transactional component … and a graphical user interface (GUI) of the affiliate application displayed via the web browser”, “over the computer network via the web browser,” represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of using generic computer components. The claim elements when considered separately and in an ordered combination, do not add significantly more than implementing the abstract idea of a betting method, Hence, claims 1, 17, and 20 are not patent eligible.
Claim 2 and 18 recites the additional elements of “receiving, by the affiliate application, user data via the GUI of the affiliate application and sending over the computer network via the web browser, by the affiliate application, the user data to the back-end transactional component to offload data processing of the user data to the back-end transactional component;” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the user data comprises user consent data and credentials of a user.” However, this does no more than describe the abstract idea.
Claim 4 and 19 recites “generating, …, a user account according to user interaction with …”, “account data of the generated user account… However, this does no more than describe the abstract idea. The additional elements of “…by the affiliate application… the GUI of the affiliate application”, “sending over the computer network via the web browser, by the affiliate application”, “back-end transactional component to offload data processing of the account data to the back-end transactional component.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 5 recites “wherein generation of the bet is further responsive to user interaction with an … wallet.” However, this does no more than describe the abstract idea. The additional elements of “…electronic…” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 6 recites “receiving…, a bet update from the back-end transactional component; to include the bet update received ...” However, this does no more than describe the abstract idea. The additional elements of “…, by the affiliate application… the back-end transactional component and updating, by the affiliate application, the GUI of the affiliate application to… from the back-end transactional component” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 7 recites “requesting, by the affiliate application via an application programming interface (API) of the back-end transactional component, the bet update …” However, this does no more than describe the abstract idea. The additional elements of “, by the affiliate application via an application programming interface (API) of the back-end transactional component… from the back-end transactional component” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 8 recites the additional elements of “wherein a first computing device of the sports betting affiliate executes the affiliate application, and wherein a second computing device of the sports betting operator executes the back-end transactional component.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 9 recites the additional elements of “wherein the affiliate application comprises a web application that communicates with the back-end transactional component of the sports betting operator via at least one link.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 10 recites the additional elements of “wherein the affiliate application receives the odds feed from the back-end transactional component via the at least one link.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 11 recites the additional elements of “wherein the affiliate application sends the bet to the back-end transactional component via the at least one link.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 12 recites the additional elements of “wherein the affiliate application tracks the bet via the at least one link.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 13 recites the additional elements of “wherein the affiliate application comprises a native application that communicates with the back-end transactional component of the sports betting operator via at least one link of the native application.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 14 recites he additional elements of “wherein the affiliate application receives the odds feed from the back-end transactional component via the at least one link.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 15 recites the additional elements of “wherein the affiliate application sends the bet to the back-end transactional component via the at least one link.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 16 recites the additional elements of “wherein the affiliate application tracks the bet via the at least one webview link.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
The claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claims do not affect an improvement to another technology or technical field, the claims do not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer system itself, and the claims do not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, there are no meaningful limitations in the claims that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joao (US 2019/0051116 A1) in view of Corbo (US 2003/0008711 A1)
Regarding claims 1, 17 and 20
A method, comprising: retrieving over a computer network via a web browser, by an affiliate application of an affiliate, an odds feed from a back-end transactional component of a sports betting operator; (See at least Joao [0334], [0340], and [0344]: [0334] The apparatus 100 of the present invention can also be utilized by an individual or user to communicate with, and/or obtain information from, a sports governing body, governmental entity, gaming facility, or content provider, before, during, or after, a sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, obtain analytics information from a sports information and/or analytics provider regarding a sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, obtain betting odds information regarding a sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, and/or obtain data and/or information from wearable devices worn by players or athletes during sporting events, games, matches, activities, competitions, or tournaments. And [0340] The apparatus 100 can provide an electronic forum or chat room (not shown), or a webpage, which can provide an individual or user with a video screen via which he or she can watch and/or listen to a sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament. The apparatus 100, the electronic forum, the chat room, or the webpage can also provide the individual or user with sports betting and other data and/or information, which can be continuously updated, and allow the individual or user to place bets, communicate with others, and engage in a wide variety of activities described herein. [0344] At step 1302, central processing computer 10 can transmit the search results message to the user communication device 20. At step 1302, user communication device 20 can receive the search results message. At step 1302, the individual or user can review the information contained in the search results message and select the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, on or for which he or she desires to place a bet. In a preferred embodiment, the individual or user, at step 1302, can, but not need, access the information/analytics provider computer 70 in order to obtain any data and/or information, or analytics data and/or information, which he or she may want to obtain and review in advance of placing any bet.
generating, by the affiliate application, a bet responsive to user interaction with the GUI of the affiliate application; and (See at least Joao [0101] The individual or user or any other individuals or users watching or listening to the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, can also place any number of posts or comments in the electronic forum, chat room, or webpage of the website. The individual or user or any other individuals or users watching or listening to the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, can place any number of outcome bets or game event bets or match event bets. Each time a bet is placed by the individual or user or by any other individual or user, information regarding the same can be stored in his or her respective sports betting account, gaming account, or gambling account, and information regarding same can also be transmitted to, stored, and/or maintained, at the central processing computer, the financial institution computer, and/or the escrow agent computer.)
sending over the computer network via the web browser, by the affiliate application, the bet to the back-end transactional component to offload data processing of the bet to the back-end transactional component. (See at least Joao [0368] In a preferred embodiment, the individual or user can, at step 1304 or at any other time, place any bet while in, or via, the respective electronic forum, chat room, or webpage of the website, or via the central processing computer 10. In all instances when the individual or user places any bet, information regarding or pertaining to the bet can be transmitted from the user communication device 20 and can be received and processed by the central processing computer 10.
Displaying, by the affiliate application, an odds module in a graphical user interface (GUI) of the affiliate application displayed via the web browser;
receiving, by the affiliate application, input indicative of user interaction with the GUI of the affiliate application;
Joao does not specifically teach: Displaying, by the affiliate application, an odds module in a graphical user interface (GUI) of the affiliate application displayed via the web browser; receiving, by the affiliate application, input indicative of user interaction with the GUI of the affiliate application;
However, Carbo teaches:
Displaying, by the affiliate application, an odds module in a graphical user interface (GUI) of the affiliate application displayed via the web browser; (See at least Corbo [0027] The invention provides the user with a medium to gain the sports betting information, in real time. Along with the above described display options, the present invention also alerts the user when a predetermined occurrence takes place in connection with the odds. These alerts include one for a predetermined line becoming available and another for a "major line move" between the various sports books and casinos. These new features allow the user to gain information without having to search or constantly watch the odds as they change. For example, if the user wishes to place a bet at specific odds, he can set the line seeker alert, and that will notify him when any sports book offers those particular odds. The major line move alert can be set to notify the user if a predetermined amount of sports books change their lines, on a specific game, within a predetermined amount of time.)
receiving, by the affiliate application, input indicative of user interaction with the GUI of the affiliate application; [0042] Referring to FIG. 5, the Bet Tracker form is shown. The filled out portions of the form correspond to the game and sports book that was selected on the display screen, as shown in FIG. 2. The user, for whatever bet he has placed, can select the teams and line type. In this situation, the Lakers need to win by four or more points in order for the bet to be won, at the Stardust casino. Once this is selected, the bet amount must be entered in field 1. The system then calculates, unless unselected, the win amount for the given bet. This bet is then added to the list of bets listed in field 3, by clicking the "Add" button 4 on the top right portion of the form. This feature allows the user to keep a record of all the bets he has made, and their outcomes. This can prove to be a very useful tool for the serious bettor who makes many bets per week and does not keep accurate records on his own. This feature is accessible whenever the user is logged onto the system, and is updated each time the user chooses to grade the bets. Grading simply takes the results of the given game and applies them to the bet, giving the user either a win, loss, or push/tie.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sports betting apparatus and method of Joao in view of the method for providing real time sports betting information as taught by Corbo in order to display the odds from a plurality of sports books . (Corbo (abstract))
Regarding claim 6
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the affiliate application, a bet update from the back-end transactional component; (See at least Joao [0371] In a preferred embodiment, at step 1304, the central processing computer 10 can also provide, via the electronic forum, chat room, or webpage of the website, and during the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, information regarding available new bets, betting odds for same, and/or any new or updated betting odds for bets corresponding to the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, as well as the availability of bets and/or betting odds for same which can provide the individual or user with an opportunity to increase his or her winnings, minimize his or her losses, or obtain any hedge position to protect his or her interests regarding any bets he or she has already placed.
updating, by the affiliate application, the GUI of the affiliate application to include the bet update received from the back-end transactional component. (See at least Joao [0104] and [0105]: [0104]The central processing computer can also provide, via the electronic forum, chat room, or webpage of the website, and during the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, information regarding any new available bets and/or any new or updated betting odds for bets corresponding to the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, as well as the availability of bets and/or betting odds for bets which can allow the individual or user to protect his or her betting position and/or to increase his or her potential winnings or minimize his or her potential losses. And [0105] Any information regarding any bets placed by the individual or user can be displayed in an appropriate location or section of the electronic forum, chat room, or webpage of the website. Any information regarding any gaming insurance product(s) or gaming derivative product(s) can also be displayed in an appropriate location or section of the electronic forum, chat room, or webpage of the website.
Regarding claim 8
The method of claim 1, wherein a first computing device of the sports betting affiliate executes the affiliate application, and wherein a second computing device of the sports betting operator executes the back-end transactional component. (See at least Joao [0167] In the preferred embodiment, the user communication device 20 can communicate with, and/or can be linked with, the central processing computer(s) 10 and/or any other computers or communication devices described herein, via a wired communication network, a wireless communication network, or via any combination of wired and/or wireless communication networks.
Claims 2-5, 7, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joao (US 2019/005116 A1) in view of Corbo (US 2003/0008711 A1) and Purves et al. (US 2015/0154588 A1)
Regarding claims 2 and 18
Joao does not specifically teach: The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the affiliate application, user data via the GUI of the affiliate application; and sending over the computer network via the web browser, by the affiliate application, the user data to the back-end transactional component to offload data processing of the user data to the back-end transactional component;
However, Purves teaches at least at [0145] FIG. 21 is an example data and logic flow illustrating the enrollment of a consumer account in a virtual wallet service and the utilization of a pre-fill service to pre-populate information necessary for wallet enrollment…. The user may then indicate that they desire to add a new payment account to their virtual wallet 2103. The RUAG may then request that the user consent to the retrieval of their payment account information from the payment account issuer 2104. The user may be asked to provide the account number of the payment account that the user wishes to link to their virtual wallet account 2105. The RUAG may then use the user's account number or other credential such as a username/password combination or the like to initiate a request for retrieval of pre-provisioned data associated with the payment account 2106.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sports betting apparatus and method of Joao in view of the Reversed user account generation apparatuses as taught by Purves in order to initiate an account generation process with a one-click mechanism. (Purves (abstract))
Regarding claim 3
Joao does not specifically teach: The method of claim 2, wherein the user data comprises user consent data and credentials of a user.
However, Purves teaches at least at [0145] In some embodiments, the consumer is navigated to a wallet login page where they may log into a wallet or create a new wallet account 2101a. In other embodiments, the consumer may enroll in the virtual wallet through a link in their issuer's web site, credit card company, rewards online access account, and/or the like. In some embodiments, the user may then create a virtual wallet account 2102. In other embodiments, the user may log into their pre-existing virtual wallet account. The user may then activate the wallet account 2102a. The user may then indicate that they desire to add a new payment account to their virtual wallet 2103. The RUAG may then request that the user consent to the retrieval of their payment account information from the payment account issuer 2104.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sports betting apparatus and method of Joao in view of the Reversed user account generation apparatuses as taught by Purves in order to initiate an account generation process with a one-click mechanism. (Purves (abstract))
Regarding claims 4 and 19
Joao does not specifically teach: The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, by the affiliate application, a user account according to user interaction with the GUI of the affiliate application; and sending over the computer network via the web browser, by the affiliate application, account data of the generated user account to the back-end transactional component to offload data processing of the account data to the back-end transactional component.
However, Purves teaches at least at [0145] FIG. 21 is an example data and logic flow illustrating the enrollment of a consumer account in a virtual wallet service and the utilization of a pre-fill service to pre-populate information necessary for wallet enrollment. In some embodiments, the consumer is directed to the virtual wallet enrollment page by directly typing the enrollment URL in a web browser 2101. In some embodiments, the consumer is navigated to a wallet login page where they may log into a wallet or create a new wallet account 2101a. In other embodiments, the consumer may enroll in the virtual wallet through a link in their issuer's web site, credit card company, rewards online access account, and/or the like. In some embodiments, the user may then create a virtual wallet account 2102. In other embodiments, the user may log into their pre-existing virtual wallet account. The user may then activate the wallet account 2102a. The user may then indicate that they desire to add a new payment account to their virtual wallet 2103. The RUAG may then request that the user consent to the retrieval of their payment account information from the payment account issuer 2104. The user may be asked to provide the account number of the payment account that the user wishes to link to their virtual wallet account 2105. The RUAG may then use the user's account number or other credential such as a username/password combination or the like to initiate a request for retrieval of pre-provisioned data associated with the payment account 2106.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sports betting apparatus and method of Joao in view of the Reversed user account generation apparatuses as taught by Purves in order to initiate an account generation process with a one-click mechanism. (Purves (abstract))
Regarding claim 5
The method of claim 1, wherein generation of the bet is further responsive to user interaction with … (See at least Joao [0079] The individual or user can place a bet on the selected sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, and the individual or user can utilize a payment identifier, such as his or her sports betting account number, gaming account number, or gambling account number, in order to place and make payment for the bet. The individual or user can also provide a payment identifier such as, but not limited to, a credit account number, a credit card account number, a debit account number, a debit card account number, a charge account number, a charge card account number, a savings account number, a checking account number, or any other payment account number.
However Joao does not specifically teach: an electronic wallet.
However, Purves teaches at least at [0052] Various embodiments of the RUAG may be configured to facilitate the generation of merchant-based user accounts from a virtual wallet application, issuer website, and/or the like.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sports betting apparatus and method of Joao in view of the Reversed user account generation apparatuses as taught by Purves in order to initiate an account generation process with a one-click mechanism. (Purves (abstract))
Regarding claim 7
However Joao does not specifically teach: The method of claim 6, further comprising: requesting, by the affiliate application via an application programming interface (API) of the back-end transactional component, the bet update from the back-end transactional component.
However, Purves teaches at least at [0098] In one implementation, each callback may include the customer ID that is unique to the customer-merchant relationship. In a further implementation, API calls to the RUAG may include one or more API keys such as a public key and/or a shared secret key. An API key may be a string value that identifies the general API access configuration and settings for the site.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sports betting apparatus and method of Joao in view of the Reversed user account generation apparatuses as taught by Purves in order to initiate an account generation process with a one-click mechanism. (Purves (abstract))
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joao (US 2019/005116 A1) in view of Corbo (US 2003/0008711 A1) and Purves et al. (US 2015/0154588 A1) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0249872 A1)
Regarding claim 9
The method of claim 1, wherein the affiliate application comprises a web application that communicates with the back-end transactional component of the sports betting operator … (See at least Joao [0344] At step 1302, central processing computer 10 can transmit the search results message to the user communication device 20. At step 1302, user communication device 20 can receive the search results message. At step 1302, the individual or user can review the information contained in the search results message and select the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, on or for which he or she desires to place a bet. In a preferred embodiment, the individual or user, at step 1302, can, but not need, access the information/analytics provider computer 70 in order to obtain any data and/or information, or analytics data and/or information, which he or she may want to obtain and review in advance of placing any bet.
However Joao does not specifically teach …via at least one link.
However lee teaches at least at [0047] With the query response return 213c (e.g., in the form of a web page), the asset composite component 214 may generate a contextual activity payload 214. The payload may generate a new UI pane, and/or inset a composite response UI via an iframe inset
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sports betting apparatus and method of Joao and Purves in view of the Distributed unfolding embedded transaction method as taught by Lee in order to the trade/sell commerce options, a "Bet" option may be included allowing a user to place bets with an authorized betting account. (Lee (0079))
Regarding claim 10
The method of claim 9, wherein the affiliate application receives the odds feed from the back-end transactional component… (See at least Joao [0345] At step 1302, the individual or user can also request that the information/analytics provider computer 70 transmit updated data and/or information, including, but not limited to, analytics data and/or information, information regarding betting odds or betting odds changes, information regarding new betting opportunities, and/or any other data and/or information regarding the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, for which the individual or user wants to place a bet, or data and/or information regarding any teams and/or players or participants in or of same, to the user communication device 20,
However Joao does not specifically teach …via at least one link.
However lee teaches at least at [0047] With the query response return 213c (e.g., in the form of a web page), the asset composite component 214 may generate a contextual activity payload 214. The payload may generate a new UI pane, and/or inset a composite response UI via an iframe inset
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sports betting apparatus and method of Joao and Purves in view of the Distributed unfolding embedded transaction method as taught by Lee in order to the trade/sell commerce options, a "Bet" option may be included allowing a user to place bets with an authorized betting account. (Lee (0079))
Regarding claim 11
The method of claim 9, wherein the affiliate application sends the bet to the back-end transactional component… (See at least Joao [0368] In a preferred embodiment, the individual or user can, at step 1304 or at any other time, place any bet while in, or via, the respective electronic forum, chat room, or webpage of the website, or via the central processing computer 10. In all instances when the individual or user places any bet, information regarding or pertaining to the bet can be transmitted from the user communication device 20 and can be received and processed by the central processing computer 10.
However Joao does not specifically teach …via at least one link.
However lee teaches at least at [0047] With the query response return 213c (e.g., in the form of a web page), the asset composite component 214 may generate a contextual activity payload 214. The payload may generate a new UI pane, and/or inset a composite response UI via an iframe inset
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sports betting apparatus and method of Joao and Purves in view of the Distributed unfolding embedded transaction method as taught by Lee in order to the trade/sell commerce options, a "Bet" option may be included allowing a user to place bets with an authorized betting account. (Lee (0079))
Regarding claim 12
The method of claim 9, wherein the affiliate application tracks the bet … (See at least Joao [0216] For each individual, party, entity, or user, the database 10H can contain any and/or all data and/or information regarding the sports betting, or other betting, history and/or betting patterns. For each sports betting account, gaming account, or gambling account, serviced by the apparatus 100 of the present invention, the database 10H can contain data and/or information for each bet placed on the respective account, the data and time of the bet, the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, which was the subject of the bet, the position taken by the bet or the bet made, the amount of the bet, whether or not the bet was placed in escrow, whether suspected game fixing, match fixing, or cheating, activity was noted for the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, the outcome of the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, whether the bet was a winning bet or a losing bet, a link to a recording of the respective electronic forum, chat room, or webpage, activity for the respective electronic forum, chat room, or webpage, via which the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, was watched or listened to, and/or any other data and/or information pertaining to each bet placed on the respective sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament. A video and/or audio recording of the placement of, or the making of, the bet can also be stored in the database 10H for each bet for which such a recording was made.
However Joao does not specifically teach …via at least one link.
However lee teaches at least at [0047] With the query response return 213c (e.g., in the form of a web page), the asset composite component 214 may generate a contextual activity payload 214. The payload may generate a new UI pane, and/or inset a composite response UI via an iframe inset
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sports betting apparatus and method of Joao and Purves in view of the Distributed unfolding embedded transaction method as taught by Lee in order to the trade/sell commerce options, a "Bet" option may be included allowing a user to place bets with an authorized betting account. (Lee (0079))
Regarding claim 13
The method of claim 1, wherein the affiliate application comprises a web application that communicates with the back-end transactional component of the sports betting operator … (See at least Joao [0344] At step 1302, central processing computer 10 can transmit the search results message to the user communication device 20. At step 1302, user communication device 20 can receive the search results message. At step 1302, the individual or user can review the information contained in the search results message and select the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, on or for which he or she desires to place a bet. In a preferred embodiment, the individual or user, at step 1302, can, but not need, access the information/analytics provider computer 70 in order to obtain any data and/or information, or analytics data and/or information, which he or she may want to obtain and review in advance of placing any bet.
However Joao does not specifically teach … via at least one link of the native application.
However lee teaches at least at [0064] In one embodiment, the AC Browser may be developed using iOS and/or Apple Cocoa libraries that include a webview, and themselves may contain iframes with embed codes to house any digital asset type.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sports betting apparatus and method of Joao and Purves in view of the Distributed unfolding embedded transaction method as taught by Lee in order to the trade/sell commerce options, a "Bet" option may be included allowing a user to place bets with an authorized betting account. (Lee (0079))
Regarding claim 14
The method of claim 13, wherein the affiliate application receives the odds feed from the back-end transactional component… (See at least Joao [0345] At step 1302, the individual or user can also request that the information/analytics provider computer 70 transmit updated data and/or information, including, but not limited to, analytics data and/or information, information regarding betting odds or betting odds changes, information regarding new betting opportunities, and/or any other data and/or information regarding the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, for which the individual or user wants to place a bet, or data and/or information regarding any teams and/or players or participants in or of same, to the user communication device 20,
However Joao does not specifically teach … via at least one link of the native application.
However lee teaches at least at [0064] In one embodiment, the AC Browser may be developed using iOS and/or Apple Cocoa libraries that include a webview, and themselves may contain iframes with embed codes to house any digital asset type.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sports betting apparatus and method of Joao and Purves in view of the Distributed unfolding embedded transaction method as taught by Lee in order to the trade/sell commerce options, a "Bet" option may be included allowing a user to place bets with an authorized betting account. (Lee (0079))
Regarding claim 15
The method of claim 13, wherein the affiliate application sends the bet to the back-end transactional component… (See at least Joao [0368] In a preferred embodiment, the individual or user can, at step 1304 or at any other time, place any bet while in, or via, the respective electronic forum, chat room, or webpage of the website, or via the central processing computer 10. In all instances when the individual or user places any bet, information regarding or pertaining to the bet can be transmitted from the user communication device 20 and can be received and processed by the central processing computer 10.
However Joao does not specifically teach … via at least one link of the native application.
However lee teaches at least at [0064] In one embodiment, the AC Browser may be developed using iOS and/or Apple Cocoa libraries that include a webview, and themselves may contain iframes with embed codes to house any digital asset type.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sports betting apparatus and method of Joao and Purves in view of the Distributed unfolding embedded transaction method as taught by Lee in order to the trade/sell commerce options, a "Bet" option may be included allowing a user to place bets with an authorized betting account. (Lee (0079))
Regarding claim 16
The method of claim 13, wherein the affiliate application tracks the bet … (See at least Joao [0216] For each individual, party, entity, or user, the database 10H can contain any and/or all data and/or information regarding the sports betting, or other betting, history and/or betting patterns. For each sports betting account, gaming account, or gambling account, serviced by the apparatus 100 of the present invention, the database 10H can contain data and/or information for each bet placed on the respective account, the data and time of the bet, the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, which was the subject of the bet, the position taken by the bet or the bet made, the amount of the bet, whether or not the bet was placed in escrow, whether suspected game fixing, match fixing, or cheating, activity was noted for the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, the outcome of the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, whether the bet was a winning bet or a losing bet, a link to a recording of the respective electronic forum, chat room, or webpage, activity for the respective electronic forum, chat room, or webpage, via which the sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament, was watched or listened to, and/or any other data and/or information pertaining to each bet placed on the respective sporting event, game, match, activity, competition, or tournament. A video and/or audio recording of the placement of, or the making of, the bet can also be stored in the database 10H for each bet for which such a recording was made.
However Joao does not specifically teach … via at least one link of the native application.
However lee teaches at least at [0064] In one embodiment, the AC Browser may be developed using iOS and/or Apple Cocoa libraries that include a webview, and themselves may contain iframes with embed codes to house any digital asset type.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sports betting apparatus and method of Joao and Purves in view of the Distributed unfolding embedded transaction method as taught by Lee in order to the trade/sell commerce options, a "Bet" option may be included allowing a user to place bets with an authorized betting account. (Lee (0079))
Prior Art of Record Not Currently Relied Upon
Brooks et al. (US 2014/0106860 A1) Teaches: System for electronic sports book wagering with a wager sell back option.
Barclay et al. (US 2011/0269548 A1) Teaches: Presenting network wide events in network wagering venue.
Conclusion
/GREGORY M JAMES/Examiner, Art Unit 3692
/RYAN D DONLON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3692 March 27, 2026