CTNF 18/309,853 CTNF 100419 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-36 The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “audio capture sensors” of claims 7 and 14 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 6 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: line 5 recites “one or more one or more” a typographical error . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The claims recite “updating the priority assigned to each device and the charging beamform pattern using a cognitive neural network and machine learning techniques”. For computer implemented functions the specification must disclose the precise step by step logic or underlying algorithm used to perform the recited functions. The description treats the cognitive neural network and machine learning techniques as generic “black boxes”. Because of this a person skilled in the art would require undue experimentation to implement the claimed system. See In re Allen et al. 2020-005211. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim 1-4, 8-11, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Bell et al. US 20180375340 . With regards to claim 1 Bell discloses, a processor-implemented method [¶14 “In one embodiment, a power system comprises…a processing apparatus”] , the method comprising: detecting a plurality of devices within a predefined space [fig 1 shows a plurality of devices 105] ; identifying a battery charge level [¶83 “Communications component 324 may then be used to transfer information, such as…battery level information”] , a wireless charging capability [fig 14 step 1418 establish communication with receiver and 1420 validate receivers’ identification] , a class or type [fig 12 client type 1220 and ¶10 “A wireless power transmission system may need to be configured at installation time based on the different requirements such as specific installations, types of users, types of client devices”] , and one or more characteristics of each detected device [¶54 “The control signals may contain status information about the client device 105, the receiver 103, or the power transmission signals. Status information may include, for example, present location information of the device 105, amount of charge received, amount of charged used, and user account information, among other types of information”] ; generating a floor plan of the predefined space [fig 9a-b and ¶130 “When scanning the service area, the room in FIG. 9A and 9B, the transmitter 902A, 902B may employ different methods” which reasonably reads on the generation of a floor plan] ; assigning a priority to each detected device based on the battery charge level, the wireless charging capability, the class or type, and the one or more characteristics of each detected device [¶153 “Functions controlled by the wireless power manager 1132 may include, scheduling power transmission for individual devices, priorities between different client devices”] ; and generating a charging beamform pattern in the predefined space based on the assigned priority and the generated floor plan [fig 3 discloses the architecture for wireless power transmission (claimed “beamforming”, ¶153 above disclosing priority, and fig 9a-b and ¶130 above disclosing the mapping] . With regards to claims 2, 9, and 16 Bell discloses, the method of claim 1, further comprising: monitoring a relative position of each device to each other device in the plurality of devices with wireless charging capabilities within the generated floor plan [¶129 “A micro controller in the transmitter adjusts the transmitted signal from each antenna based on the signal received from the receiver. Adjustment may include forming conjugates of the signal phases received from the receivers and further adjustment of transmit antenna phases taking into account the built-in phase of antenna elements. The antenna element may be controlled simultaneously to steer energy in a given direction”] . Claims 9 and 16 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 2 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity. With regards to claims 3, 10, and 17 Bell discloses, the method of claim 1, wherein each wireless charging device is detected through one or more of a wireless network connection, a wireless network connection attempt, image recognition, and electromagnetic emissions [Fig 2 step 201 RX and TX establish a connection and ¶65 “transmitters and receivers may communicate control data over using a wireless communication protocol capable of transmitting information between two processors of electrical devices (e.g., Bluetooth®, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Wi-Fi, NFC, ZigBee®)”] . Claims 10 and 17 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 3 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity. With regards to claims 4, 11, and 18 Bell discloses, the method of claim 1, further comprising: capturing user characteristic data for each user associated with each detected device based on user interactions with a graphical user interface and/or image recognition from a captured image feed [¶171 “Configuration information that the operator/user may specify through the configuration web pages GUI may include, but is not limited to, a list of the wireless power receivers which may receive power from one or more wireless power transmitters within the wireless power transmission system, charging schedules, charging priorities, the selection of situations in which one or more wireless power transmitters may not transmit power to one or more wireless power receivers, user names, user contact information, or any other user information, employee number, customer number, billing information, password level, physical wireless power transmission areas of service, contact information of users which may be automatically contacted when a significant system event may occur, account setups, password control, and friendly device names for electronic devices, wireless power receivers, and wireless power transmitters, among other types of configuration information”] . Claims 11 and 18 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 4 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity. With regards to claims 8 and 15 Bell discloses, a computer system, the computer system comprising: one or more processors [fig 4 microcontroller 410 and ¶90 “one or more microcontrollers 410”] , one or more computer-readable memories [¶153 “Wireless power manager 1132 may be a software module hosted in memory and executed by a processor inside a computing device 1134”] , one or more computer-readable tangible storage medium [¶243 “A non-transitory computer-readable or processor-readable media includes both computer storage media and tangible storage media”] , and program instructions [fig 11 wireless power manager 1132 software] stored on at least one of the one or more tangible storage medium for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories [¶153 “Wireless power manager 1132 may be a software module hosted in memory and executed by a processor inside a computing device 1134”] , wherein the computer system is capable of performing a method comprising: detecting a plurality of devices within a predefined space [fig 1 shows a plurality of devices 105] ; identifying a battery charge level [¶83 “Communications component 324 may then be used to transfer information, such as…battery level information”] , a wireless charging capability [fig 14 step 1418 establish communication with receiver and 1420 validate receivers’ identification] , a class or type [fig 12 client type 1220 and ¶10 “A wireless power transmission system may need to be configured at installation time based on the different requirements such as specific installations, types of users, types of client devices”] , and one or more characteristics of each detected device [¶54 “The control signals may contain status information about the client device 105, the receiver 103, or the power transmission signals. Status information may include, for example, present location information of the device 105, amount of charge received, amount of charged used, and user account information, among other types of information”] ; generating a floor plan of the predefined space [fig 9a-b and ¶130 “When scanning the service area, the room in FIG. 9A and 9B, the transmitter 902A, 902B may employ different methods” which reasonably reads on the generation of a floor plan] ; assigning a priority to each detected device based on the battery charge level, the wireless charging capability, the class or type, and the one or more characteristics of each detected device [¶153 “Functions controlled by the wireless power manager 1132 may include, scheduling power transmission for individual devices, priorities between different client devices”] ; and generating a charging beamform pattern in the predefined space based on the assigned priority and the generated floor plan [fig 3 discloses the architecture for wireless power transmission (claimed “beamforming”, ¶153 above disclosing priority, and fig 9a-b and ¶130 above disclosing the mapping] . Claim 15 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 8 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell et al. US 20180375340 . With regards to claims 6, 13, and 20 Bell fails to disclose, the method of claim 1, further comprising: updating the priority assigned to each device and the charging beamform pattern using a cognitive neural network and machine learning techniques based on one or more newly detected devices within the predefined space, one or more devices within the plurality of detected devices exiting the predefined space, and a change in the battery charge level of one or more one or more devices within the plurality of detected devices. However, at the time of invention it was well known in the art to utilize cognitive neural networks and machine learning techniques to update charging priorities of devices and power transfer characteristics (charging beamform patterns). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of Bell by implementing a cognitive neural network and machine learning techniques to adapt to dynamic conditions in order to improve accuracy of priority charging assignments. Claims 13 and 20 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 6 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell et al. US 20180375340 in view of Wekell et al. US 20140054374 . With regards to claims 5, 12, and 19 Bell discloses, the method of claim 4, further comprising: retrieving a digital credential associated with each user based on one or more user characteristics, wherein the one or more user characteristics are selected from a group consisting of a user employment classification [¶224 “Operator may also able to configure other details about users, such as contact info, employee number, customer number, billing information, and password level, among others”] . Bell fails to disclose, a user medical condition. Wekell discloses, a user medical condition [¶1 “This invention relates to the field of health care devices for gathering, displaying and transmitting health care data concerning the vital signs of a patient, particularly to portable nursing devices for gathering such data, and still more particularly to portable devices that provide for assimilating a plurality of different types of health care data, including patient identity”] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the charging system of Bell with the electronic device of Wekell (since both are related to assimilation of user information) to integrate the medical condition/information of a user in order to improve the system functionality and user convenience/safety. Claims 12 and 19 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 5 above, a detailed discussion is avoided for brevity. Allowable Subject Matter Claims 7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art alone or in combination fails to disclose “capturing audio data emitted within the predefined space using one or more audio capture sensors; identifying a power level alert notification emitted by a device within the plurality of detected devices and a location of the device; and updating the priority assigned to each device and the charging beamform pattern based on the identified power level alert notification”. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Nathaniel Instone whose telephone number is (571)272-1563. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-4 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julian Huffman can be reached at 571-272-2147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NATHAN J INSTONE/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 /JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/309,853 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/309,853 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/309,853 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/309,853 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/309,853 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/309,853 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/309,853 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/309,853 Page 9 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/309,853 Page 10 Art Unit: 2859