DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract is objected to for being greater than 150 words in length. See MPEP 608.01(b). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “second spring means” in line 2. It is unclear from the claim how a second spring means can be present without a first spring means also being present. Claim 22 inherits this issue for depending upon claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,960,344 (Geisthoff).
Regarding claim 15, Geisthoff discloses a locking mechanism (see Figures 2-4, 8, and 9) for securing a coupling sleeve (5) on a shaft (4) comprising:
a coupling sleeve (5) with a receptacle (14) extending along a longitudinal axis (23) for receiving a shaft (4);
a plurality of locking elements (8) each of which is received in a radial aperture (7) of the coupling sleeve so as to be radially movable between a locking position (see Figure 2), in which the locking elements project radially inwardly from the apertures into the receptacle for engagement in a circumferential groove (15) of the shaft, and a releasing position (see Figure 3 or Figure 9); and
a locking ring (16) which is axially adjustable between a closed position (see Figure 2 or Figure 8) and an open position (see Figure 3 or Figure 9) relative to the coupling sleeve, wherein in the closed position a locking section of the locking ring engages around the locking elements radially on the outside and holds them in the locking position (see Figure 2 or Figure 8);
wherein the locking ring is adjustable in the open position between a centered position (see Figure 2 or Figure 8) on the longitudinal axis and an eccentric position (see Figures 3 and 4 or Figure 9) parallel to the longitudinal axis; and
wherein, in the eccentric position of the locking ring, at least one switching locking element (8) of the plurality of locking elements is located in the locking position and is supported radially outwards against an actuating section (radially inward facing surface of 16) of the locking ring, wherein by displacing the at least one switching locking element into the releasing position, the locking ring is transferrable into the centered position via the actuating section (see Figure 2 vs. Figure 3 or Figure 8 vs. Figure 9).
Regarding claim 16, Geisthoff discloses the locking ring (16) in the eccentric position (shown in Figures 3 and 4) is axially supported against a locking stop (19) of the coupling sleeve (5) in the direction towards the closed position (see Figure 3 or Figure 9).
Regarding claim 17, Geisthoff discloses the locking mechanism comprises a housing (28) in which the locking ring (16) is guided in a radially adjustable manner (see Figure 2 vs. Figure 3 or Figure 8 vs. Figure 9).
Regarding claim 18, Geisthoff discloses the locking mechanism comprises first spring means (12) that apply force to the locking ring (16) in the direction towards the closed position (see column 4, lines 39-49).
Regarding claim 19, Geisthoff discloses the first spring (12) means are a compression spring (see Figures 2, 3, 8, and 9).
Regarding claim 20, Geisthoff discloses the housing (28) has a receiving space (formed between 10 and 21) in which the locking ring (16) is received such that it is not displaceable axially and is displaceable radially (see Figures 2, 3, 8, and 9).
Regarding claim 21, Geisthoff discloses the locking mechanism comprises second spring means (22) that apply force to the locking ring (16) in the direction towards the eccentric position (see Figures 2-3, and column 4, line 65, through column 5, line 60).
Regarding claim 22, Geisthoff discloses the second spring means (22) are received in the receiving space (formed between 10 and 21) of the housing (28; see Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 23, Geisthoff discloses the locking mechanism (see embodiment of Figures 8 and 9) comprises a spring guide element (21) arranged on the coupling sleeve (5);
wherein the first spring means (12) are arranged on a sleeve section (axially extending portion of 31) of the spring guide element; and
wherein the first spring means are axially supported between a thrust support (radially extending portion of 31) of the spring guide element and the housing (see Figures 8 and 9).
Regarding claim 24, Geisthoff discloses the first spring means (12) are axially supported against a shoulder (13) of the coupling sleeve (5) via the thrust support (radially extending portion of 31; see Figures 8 and 9).
Regarding claim 25, Geisthoff discloses the housing (28) is axially supported against a securing stop (19; via its connection to member 10) in the closed position of the locking ring (16; see Figures 2, 3, 8, and 9).
Regarding claim 26, Geisthoff discloses the housing (28) completely covers the sleeve section (axially extending portion of 31) of the spring guide element (31) in the closed position of the locking ring and at least partially exposes it in the open position of the locking ring (see Figures 8 and 9).
Regarding claim 27, Geisthoff discloses the locking mechanism comprises a guiding element (outer circumferential surface of coupling sleeve 5) on which the housing (28) is axially displaceably guided (see Figure 2 vs. Figure 3 or Figure 8 vs. Figure 9).
Regarding claim 28, Geisthoff discloses the housing (28) has a sleeve-shaped support section (see, e.g., inner circumferential surface at 21 in Figure 2 or 29b in Figure 8) that is guided on a cylindrical guide surface (see, e.g. outer circumferential surface of 19 in Figure 3 or Figure 9) of the coupling sleeve (5) over at least part of a displacement path of the housing (see Figures 2, 3, 8, and 9).
Conclusion
The prior art set forth in the attached Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Josh Skroupa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
November 16, 2025