DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 8, 10-14, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cortopassi (US 4684023 A) in view of Ng Pak Leung et al. (US 2021/0047072 A1; hereinafter Ng Pak Leung).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 10-14, and 17, Cortopassi discloses a content-identifying carton structure comprising a box (see Figures 2-3; base portion), a cover (i.e. lid) for the box, and a lock (48/50; Examiner notes that the 48/50 locks are on each side of the container) to reversibly maintain the cover in a closed position (Col 4 lines 17-27), the box comprising a base (16), sidewalls (14/18/28) and an opening (see Fig. 2; Examiner considers the opening to be the access to contents), the cover comprising a top (12) and flanks (26/44), the cover covering the opening and the cover covering at least a specific portion of a specific sidewall of the box when the cover is in the closed position, whereby at least one of the flanks and sidewalls comprises an alignment mark coinciding with the cover being in the closed position (see Figures 2-3; Examiner notes that the marks are exposed coinciding with when the lid is properly closed); whereby the alignment mark comprises both a flank alignment mark and a sidewall alignment mark (40/42; Examiner considers cuts to be “marks” as well), whereby the flank alignment mark and the sidewall alignment mark are aligned when the cover is in the closed position, whereby the lock is engaged by displacing the cover through rotation (i.e. hinged lid along fold 20). Examiner considers the locking mechanism to comprise an actuator since a pressing action is required to operate said locking mechanism. Cortopassi lacks teaching that detergent is placed within the container.
Ng Pak Leung teaches a consumer product container comprising detergent product (300). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Cortopassi’s container to be used to hold detergent product (Ng Pak Leung; see Par. 0007). Examiner considers Cortopassi’s container capable of containing detergent products.
Regarding claims 17-18, Cortopassi, as modified above, discloses a container comprising locking the container by displacing the cover until the alignment mark
coincides with the cover being in the closed position (Cortopassi; see Figures 1-3). Examiner considers sliding the cover in a telescoping manner over the box to be a translation.
Regarding claim 20, Cortopassi, as modified above, discloses a container comprising the lock emitting a clicking sound upon locking. Examiner considers the friction involved in locking/unlocking Cortopassi’s container to create a noise.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 5-6, filed 10/20/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-18, and 20 under USC 103(a)—in view of Fox and Ng Pak Leung have been fully considered and are persuasive. Fox fails to disclose a cover that engages through rotation (e.g. hinged lid). Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of USC 103(a)—Cortopassi in view of Ng Pak Leung.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734