DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 10017291 B2; hereinafter Smith) in view of Geeraert et al. (US 9758286 B2; hereinafter Geeraert).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 8-15, and 20, Smith discloses a child resistant locking packaging wherein the container comprises a first part (12), wherein the first part comprises a first compartment, and wherein the first compartment is accessible through a first opening (24; see Fig. 4); and wherein the container comprises a second part (14), wherein the second part is positioned so that it prevents access through the first opening when the container is not in use (see Fig. 1), but is moveable to allow access to the first opening when the container is in use (see Fig. 2); wherein the container comprises a locking means wherein the locking means comprises a first locking component (18) on the first part and a second locking component (16/23) on the second part, wherein the first locking component engages the second locking component to prevent movement of the second part to allow access to the first opening until the first locking component and second locking component are disengaged from one another by a user (see Col 10 line 48- Col 11 line 29); and wherein the first part comprises an interior surface and an exterior surface, wherein the interior surface faces the first compartment; and wherein at least part of the interior surface of the first part is constructed from paper-based material (see Col 9 lines 26-40); wherein the first part is a box comprising at least a base and sidewalls (see Figures 3-4; Examiner notes that the first part is a six sided box), whereby the first opening is located in a specific sidewall (see Fig. 4); wherein the second part is a removable lid (14; Examiner considers element 14 to be a removable cover, or lid), wherein the second part, in a closed position, blocks access to the first opening and when in a closed position the first locking component is engaged with the second locking component, and when in an open position the first locking component and second locking component are disengaged and the second part is removable to allow access to the first opening. Smith lacks teaching that the child resistant packaging contains detergent pouches.
Geeraert teaches a container housing soluble unit dose detergent pouches (see Fig. 4; and Col 1 lines 36-60). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to use Smith’s child resistant packaging to safely house soluble unit dose detergent pouches, as taught by Geeraert, to prevent children from accessing, as taught by Smith.
Regarding claims 2-3, Smith, as modified above, teaches a child-resistant packaging wherein the box comprises at least about six sides, whereby at least about two specific sides of the at least about six sides are larger in surface area than any other sides, whereby the specific sidewall corresponds to one of the specific sides. Examiner notes that Smith’s dispensing opening of the inner box extends into three of the box’s six sidewalls; two sides of which having the largest surface areas. Examiner considers the base of Smith’s inner box to be located along flap 46.
Regarding claim 5, Smith, as modified above, teaches a child-resistant packaging wherein the first opening is located in a region of the specific sidewall adjacent to the base. Examiner considers the base of Smith’s inner box to be located along flap 48.
Regarding claim 6, Smith, as modified above, teaches a child-resistant packaging wherein the first opening is a reclosable opening. Examiner considers Smith’s dispensing opening 24 to be reclosable via the cover 14.
Regarding claim 7, Smith, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for the opening spanning an area of at least about 25 cm2. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have Smith’s dispensing opening span at least about 25 cm2 depending upon a size of contents to be dispensed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 16, Smith, as modified above, teaches a child-resistant packaging wherein the first locking component is a tab that protrudes from the exterior surface of the first part and wherein the second part comprises an abutment with which the first locking tab is able to releasably engage (Smith; 16/18; see Figures 7-8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 5-7, filed 02/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6, 8-16, and 20 under USC 102(a)(2)—in view of Ng Pak Leung have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of USC 103(a)—Smith in view of Geeraert.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734