DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 are pending, of which claims 3, 4, 6, 7 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8-15 are under current examination.
Amendment necessitated new claim rejection as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Szigethy (US 9847497 B2).
Szigethy discloses organic electroluminescent compound comprising ligand LA, LB, LC genus and Metal M such as MLALBLC; IrLALBLC, Ir(LA)3 etc:
Wherein genus for LA, LB and LC disclosed by the cited prior art is encompassed by the genus of the instant claims for LA, LB and LC (LB of the cited prior art is used as LA of the instant claims and LA of the cited prior art as LB of the instant claims) (entire patent, especially col 3, 4, 9-16, 25, 26, 29-33 and claims). The cited prior art discloses several examples of species of LA (i.e. LB of the instant claims) such as:
The cited prior art discloses compounds comprising ligand LB, which matches with ligand LA of the instant claims
, which reads on compounds with respect to LA of the instant claims 1-2 and 5, when at least one of X1-X5=N, for example X4=N or X3=X5=N and rest of X are C (satisfy proviso if X1=N, then X5=C; in this case X1=C therefore no restriction on X5); K=direct bond; Z=C; ring B=5-membered heterocyclic ring; and satisfy condition (1) two RB joined to form fused 6-membered carbocyclic ring. Above compounds matches definition of LB, when LB:
The cited prior art further discloses compounds M(LA)x(LB)y(LC)z.
The cited prior art discloses examples of LC (all of which reads on the instant claims):
Since the cited prior art reads on all the limitations of the instant claims 1-2, 5 and 11-14, these claims are anticipated.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5 and 11-14 in the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 9847497 B2; and claims 1, 2, 5, 8-15 in the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12077550 B2, since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude" already granted in the patent.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
The claims 1-2, 5 and 11-14, of instant application and claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 9847497 B2 are drawn to compounds with overlapping scope; and claims 1, 2, 5, 8-15 in the instant application and claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12077550 B2 are drawn to compounds with overlapping scope.
The difference, however, does not constitute a patentable distinction, because the claims in the present invention simply fall within the scope of claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 9847497 B2 and claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12077550 B2. For the foregoing reasons, the instantly claimed compound is made obvious.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See also MPEP § 804.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks and amendment, filed on 02/02/2026, have been fully considered but not found persuasive.
Applicant argued over ODP rejection over U.S. Patent No. 9847497 B2.
This is not found persuasive as the patent provides:
LA, LB, LC genus and Metal M such as MLALBLC; IrLALBLC, Ir(LA)3 etc:
Wherein genus for LA, LB and LC disclosed by the patent is encompassed by the genus of the instant claims for LA, LB and LC (LB of the cited prior art is used as LA of the instant claims and LA of the cited prior art as LB of the instant claims). The patent discloses several examples of species of LA (i.e. LB of the instant claims) such as:
The patent discloses compounds comprising ligand LB, which matches with ligand LA of the instant claims
, which reads on compounds with respect to LA of the instant claims 1-2 and 5, when at least one of X1-X5=N, for example X4=N or X3=X5=N and rest of X are C (satisfy proviso if X1=N, then X5=C; in this case X1=C therefore no restriction on X5); K=direct bond; Z=C; ring B=5-membered heterocyclic ring; and satisfy condition (1) two RB joined to form fused 6-membered carbocyclic ring. Above compounds matches definition of LB, when LB:
The patent further discloses compounds M(LA)x(LB)y(LC)z.
Applicant didn’t argue over ODP rejection over U.S. Patent No. 12077550 B2 and therefore the rejection is maintained.
Rest of applicant’s argument is moot in view of new rejection as set forth above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623