DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 53 and 64 are amended.
Claims 53-74 are pending and examined herein.
The following Office Action is in response to Applicant's communication dated 06/03/2026. Rejection(s) and/or objection(s) not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. Specifically, the objection to the disclosure for minor informalities is withdrawn in light of Applicant's amended specification. The following rejections(s) and/or objection(s) are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Modified Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Necessitated by Amendment
Claims 53-74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. ((CSH Symp Quant Biol 2003, 68: 69-78; of record) in view of Paterlini-Brechot et al. (PGPub No: US2005/0049793; of record) and Dhallan et al. (PGPub No: US2004/0137470; cited in IDS of 4/5/24).
Regarding claims 53 and 64, Fan teaches a method comprising: hybridizing probes to single nucleotide polymorphism (SNP) sites (p. 70, col. 2); ligating the hybridized probes to each other to create an amplification template (Fig. 2; p. 70, col. 2); amplifying the amplification template to create amplification products (Fig. 2; p. 70, col. 2); hybridizing the amplification products to probes on a microarray (Fig. 2; p. 70, col. 2); and detecting signal intensities of the amplification products hybridized to probes on the microarray (p. 70, col. 2).
However, Fan does not disclose enriching a maternal blood sample for fetal genomic DNA (gDNA) or cells to produce an enriched sample. Fan also does not explicitly disclose the SNP sites being on two chromosomes and including a test region specifically selected from the group consisting of chromosomes 13, 18, 21, X, and Y and a control region of a second chromosome that is different from the first chromosome.
Paterlini-Brechot teaches enriching a maternal blood sample for fetal cells (p. 2, ¶ [0020]), which would thereby also enrich the sample for fetal gDNA. Additionally, Paterlini-Brechot teaches lysing the cells in the enriched sample to obtain gDNA (p. 5, ¶ [0067]) and that probes are hybridized to the Y chromosome (p. 8, ¶ [0122]).
Furthermore, Fan discloses that the “GoldenGate” assay method is preferable to those that utilize conventional PCR – as described in Paterlini-Brechot – because it requires “only three universal primers for PCR” and eliminates “primer sequence-related differences in amplification rates between SNPs” (Fan: p. 70, col. 2). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been aware that applying the assay method of Fan to the prenatal diagnostics of Paterlini-Brechot would result in a more efficient and larger scale screen for fetal genetic abnormalities.
In combining these methods, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because SNP genotyping by probe ligation had been previously used to diagnose fetal genetic abnormalities, as exemplified in Hochstenbach. This publication discloses the use of multiplex ligation-dependent probe amplification (MPLA) to detect fetal aneuploidy in chromosomes 13, 18, 21, X and Y (p. 1032, Introduction). The fact that this method was able to successfully detect relative amounts of SNPs present in fetal gDNA would have indicated that the similar method of Fan would have been successful at accomplishing prenatal diagnostics of Paterlini-Brechot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the invention to apply the method of Fan to the prenatal diagnostic method of Paterlini-Brechot based on the motivation in Fan with a reasonable expectation of success.
Additionally, Dhallan discloses detecting loci on two different chromosomes (p. 37, ¶[0384]), wherein the loci comprise SNP sites in a test region of chromosome 13, 18, or 21 (p. 37, ¶[0384]) and a control region of a second chromosome that is different from the first chromosome (p. 35, ¶[0368-70]; p. 37, ¶[0386]; p. 132, ¶[2387-2390]). Dhallan also teaches that detecting these loci can be accomplished by a variety of methods, including amplification (PCR), hybridization, and BeadArray Technology (p. 3, ¶[0042-3]), which are described in Fan.
One of ordinary skill in the art would also have motivation to apply the method of Dhallan to that of Fan and Paterlini-Brechot as Fan teaches that the GoldenGate method reduces costs and increases productivity of SNP genotyping studies (p. 69, col. 1, 2nd ¶). Additionally, there would have been a reasonable expectation of success as the disclosure of Fan indicates that “any SNPs of interest” can be assayed by the disclosed method (p. 70, col. 2), and the method of Dhallan is compatible with gDNA obtained from maternal blood samples (p. 17, ¶[0175]; p. 130, ¶[2346-8]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date to combine the loci disclosed by Dhallan with the method disclosed by Fan and Paterlini-Brechot based on the motivation in Fan with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 54 and 65, Paterlini-Brechot discloses that the maternal blood sample is from a pregnant woman within a first or second trimester (p. 3, ¶ [0035]).
Regarding claims 55-58 and 66-69, Fan teaches attaching the gDNA to a solid support (p. 70, col. 2) that comprises a paramagnetic particle and streptavidin (streptavidin-coated magnetic beads: p. 77, col. 1) and that the gDNA is biotin-labeled (p. 77, col. 1).
Regarding claims 59 and 70, Fan discloses that three oligonucleotide probes are provided for each locus (two allele-specific oligonucleotides and one locus-specific oligonucleotide: p. 70, col. 2).
Regarding claims 60-61 and 71-72, Fan discloses that the ligation occurs while the gDNA is attached to a particle (Fig. 2; p. 70, col. 2) and releasing the amplification template from the gDNA attached to the particle (Fig. 2; p. 77, col. 1: “heated… to release the ligated products”).
Regarding claims 62 and 73, Fan discloses that the amplification template comprises universal PCR primer sites (Fig. 2: P1/P2; p. 70, col. 2) and that the amplification comprises hybridization of universal primers to the universal PCR primer sites (Fig. 2: P1/P2; p. 77, col. 1).
Regarding claims 63 and 74, Fan further discloses that the microarray is a DNA microarray (p. 69, col. 1: “random arrays of DNA-coated beads”).
***
Response to Arguments
The 06/03/2026 remarks argue that not all limitations are taught and that one of ordinary skill would not combine the methods of Fan and Paterlini-Brechot. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, applicant argues that “one of skill in this field would not have combined Fan, a highly multiplexed genotyping assay for analyzing a very large number of cells at once, and Paterlini-Brechot, which is a single cell assay.” In support of this characterization, Applicant cites ¶s [0018] and [0022] of Paterlini-Brechot. However, Paterlini-Brechot also discloses this enrichment method can be used for bulk cell assays (p. 4, ¶[0044]), including those for detecting chromosomal abnormalities (p. 4, ¶[0051]). As such, Applicant’s argument is not considered persuasive.
It is believed that the remaining arguments have been sufficiently addressed by the modified rejections.
Double Patenting
US 10,704,090 B2
Claims 53-74 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10704090. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim identical subject matter with the exception of the ‘090 patent failing to disclose enriching a maternal blood sample for fetal cells (gDNA is disclosed) and that the plurality of loci comprise SNP sites. However, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the invention because of the disclosures previously discussed in Paterlini-Brechot and Fan, respectively, as well as the information contained within the disclosure of the ‘090 patent.
Additionally, the ‘090 patent does not specifically state that the first chromosome is selected from the group consisting of chromosomes 13, 18, 21, X, and Y. However, it does disclose “a first chromosome suspected of being aneuploid” (claim 1f). As the vast majority of human aneuploidies occur within chromosomes 13, 18, 21, X and Y (Hassold et al. Environ Mol Mutagen, 1996, 28(3): 167-75), the disclosure from the reference patent anticipates the list enumerated in the instant application.
US 11,674,176 B2
Claims 53-74 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11674176. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim identical subject matter with the exception of the ‘176 patent failing to disclose that the plurality of loci comprise SNP sites. This would have been obvious as per the discussion above. Similarly, the disclosure of “a first chromosome suspected of being aneuploid” anticipates the specific disclosure of chromosomes 13, 18, 21, X and Y as previously discussed.
Response to Arguments
The 06/03/2026 reply includes Applicant’s response to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection of record: “Applicant requests that the Office hold these rejections in abeyance until all other rejections of the present claims have been overcome.”
This request is not the filing of a terminal disclaimer, or filing of a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, as the required response in accordance with MPEP 804 I.B.1. Applicant’s request is expressly contrary to MPEP 804 I.B.1. (see also MPEP 714.03 and 37 C.F.R. 1.111).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRA OLSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1684
/JEREMY C FLINDERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684