DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Applicants’ response filed on 4/23/2026 has been fully considered. Claims 1-12 and 18-20 are cancelled, claims 21-35 are new and claims 13-17 and 21-35 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites the limitation “the layers” in line 3 of claim 26. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13, 15-17, 21-23, 26 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okochi et al (JP 2020-095952 A).
A machine translation is being used as the English translation for Okochi et al (JP 2020-095952 A).
Regarding claim 13, Okochi discloses an electrochemical assembly (all-solid state battery; pg. 5 of Okochi translation) comprising a frame supporting a first endplate at a first end and a second end plate at a second end such that the first and second endplates (compression plates on the outside of the conductive substrates #6 and #7 in Fig. 1; pg. 6 of Okochi translation) sandwich a first compact anode powder layer (negative electrode material powder layer; pg. 6 of Okochi translation), a first compact separator powder layer (solid electrolyte material powder layer; pg. 6 of Okochi translation), and a first compact cathode powder layer (positive electrode material powder layer; pg. 6 of translation) and the compact first separator powder layer being disposed between the first anode powder layer and the first cathode powder layer (solid electrolyte material powder layer arranged between negative electrode material powder layer and positive electrode material powder layer; pg. 6 of Okochi translation) where the first and second endplates are disposed within the frame (conductive substrates #6 and #7 in Fig. 1 are within the compression plates; pg. 6 of Okochi translation).
The compression plates in Fig. 1 are sandwich the negative electrode material powder layer, the solid electrolyte material powder layer and the positive electrode material powder layer.
Regarding claim 15, Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly of claim 13 as noted above and Okochi discloses an electrochemical assembly comprising the layers are substantially free of an inactive binder material (negative electrode material powder layer contains only negative electrode material, solid electrolyte material powder layer contains only solid electrolyte and positive electrode material powder layer only contains the positive electrode material layer; pgs. 8-9 of Okochi translation).
The insulating member would also provide a hermetic seal for the powder layers in the structure due to the conductive layers being disposed as outermost layers for the powder layers.
Regarding claim 16, Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly of claim 13 as noted above and Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly comprising an adjustment member disposed along the first and/or second endplate to accommodate expansion and contraction of the first compact anode powder layer, the first compact separator powder layer and/or the first compact cathode powder layer within the frame while maintaining a hermetic seal (insulating member #5 in Fig. 1 on outer periphery in stacking direction of structure preventing expansion and contraction of powder layers; pg. 5 of Okochi translation).
Regarding claim 17, Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly of claim 13 as noted above and Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly comprising the assembly is free of solvent (negative electrode material powder layer contains only negative electrode material, solid electrolyte material powder layer contains only solid electrolyte and positive electrode material powder layer only contains the positive electrode material layer; pgs. 8-9 of Okochi translation).
Regarding claim 21, Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly of claim 13 as noted above and Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly comprising a top surface of the endplate flush with a top surface of the frame (conductive substrate #7 has top surface flush with top compression plate; pg. 6 of Okochi translation).
Regarding claim 22, Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly of claim 13 as noted above and Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly comprising a length of the first endplate smaller than a length of the frame (conductive substrate #7 has length less than a length of the top compression plate; pg. 6 of Okochi translation).
Regarding claim 23, Okochi discloses an electrochemical assembly (all-solid state battery; pg. 5 of Okochi translation) comprising a frame defining a cavity (compression plates on the outside of the conductive substrates #6 and #7 in Fig. 1; pg. 6 of Okochi translation), a first endplate and a second endplate each of which are disposed within the frame on opposing ends of the cavity (conductive substrates #6 and #7 in Fig. 1; pg. 6 of Okochi translation), a first anode solid layer (negative electrode material powder layer; pg. 6 of Okochi translation), a first separator solid layer (solid electrolyte material powder layer; pg. 6 of Okochi translation), and a first cathode solid layer (positive electrode material powder layer; pg. 6 of translation) disposed within the cavity between the first and second endplates (compression plates on the outside of the powder layers in Fig. 1; pg. 6 of Okochi translation) and the first separator solid layer being disposed between the first anode solid layer and the first cathode solid layer (solid electrolyte material powder layer arranged between negative electrode material powder layer and positive electrode material powder layer; pg. 6 of Okochi translation) such that first and second endplates compress the first anode solid layer, the first separator solid layer and the first cathode solid layer within the frame (compression plates on the outside of the powder layers in Fig. 1; pg. 6 of Okochi translation).
The compression plates in Fig. 1 are sandwich the negative electrode material powder layer, the solid electrolyte material powder layer and the positive electrode material powder layer.
Regarding claim 26, Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly of claim 23 as noted above and Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly comprising an adjustment member disposed parallel to the first and/or second endplate to accommodate expansion and contraction of the first anode solid layer, the first separator solid layer and/or the first cathode solid layer within the frame while maintaining a hermetic seal (insulating member #5 in Fig. 1 on outer periphery in stacking direction of structure preventing expansion and contraction of powder layers; pg. 5 of Okochi translation).
Regarding claim 28, Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly of claim 23 as noted above and Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly comprising the frame enclosing the first endplate on four sides (conductive substrate #7 has sides surrounded by top compression plate; pg. 6 of Okochi translation).
Regarding claim 29, Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly of claim 23 as noted above and Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly comprising the first anode solid layer (negative electrode material powder layer; pg. 6 of translation), the first separator solid layer (solid electrolyte material powder layer; pg. 6 of Okochi translation) and the first cathode solid layer each including a compacted powder (positive electrode material powder layer; pg. 6 of translation).
Regarding claim 30, Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly of claim 23 as noted above and Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly comprising the assembly is free of solvent and an inactive binder material (negative electrode material powder layer contains only negative electrode material, solid electrolyte material powder layer contains only solid electrolyte and positive electrode material powder layer only contains the positive electrode material layer; pgs. 8-9 of Okochi translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okochi et al (JP 2020-095952).
Regarding claim 24, Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly of claim 23 as noted above.
Okochi does not disclose the the electrochemical assembly comprising the frame including dovetail locks.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the shape of the compression plates in Okochi such that they have dovetail locks because doing so would provide the desired compression for the powder layers.
Claims 14, 25 and 31-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okochi et al (JP 2020-095952) in view of Yoon et al (US 2010/0136411 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly of claim 13 as noted above.
Okochi does not disclose the electrochemical assembly comprising a second compact anode layer, a second compact separator and a second compact cathode layer being disposed in the frame.
However, Yoon discloses electrochemical assembly comprising a second compact anode layer, a second compact separator and a second compact cathode layer being disposed in the frame (multiple anode electrode layers and multiple cathode layers separated by separator sheet; paragraphs [0032] and [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrochemical assembly of Okochi to include the additional cathode electrode layer, separator layer and anode electrode layer between the compression plates of Okochi because having additional anode electrode layers, additional separator layers and additional cathode electrode layers provides a prismatic cell with higher space efficiency and capacity (paragraph [0032] of Yoon).
Regarding claim 25, Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly of claim 23 as noted above.
Okochi does not disclose the electrochemical assembly comprising a second anode solid layer, a second compact separator solid layer and a second cathode solid layer being disposed within the cavity.
However, Yoon discloses electrochemical assembly comprising a second anode solid layer, a second compact separator solid layer and a second cathode solid layer being disposed within the cavity (multiple anode electrode layers and multiple cathode layers separated by separator sheet; paragraphs [0032] and [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrochemical assembly of Okochi to include the additional cathode electrode layer, separator layer and anode electrode layer between the compression plates of Okochi because having additional anode electrode layers, additional separator layers and additional cathode electrode layers provides a prismatic cell with higher space efficiency and capacity (paragraph [0032] of Yoon).
Regarding claim 31, Okochi discloses an electrochemical assembly comprising: a frame defining an internal volume (compression plates on the outside of the conductive substrates #6 and #7 in Fig. 1; pg. 6 of Okochi translation); a first endplate and a second endplate each of which being contained within the frame at opposing ends of the internal volume (conductive substrates #6 and #7 in Fig. 1; pg. 6 of Okochi translation).
Okochi does not disclose the electrochemical assembly comprising a plurality of electrochemical compacted powder layers disposed within the frame; and an elastically deformable layer, parallel to the first and second endplates, disposed within the frame.
However, Yoon discloses electrochemical assembly comprising a plurality of electrochemical compacted powder layers disposed within the frame; and an elastically deformable layer, parallel to the first and second endplates, disposed within the frame (multiple anode electrode layers and multiple cathode layers separated by separator sheet; paragraphs [0032] and [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrochemical assembly of Okochi to include the additional cathode electrode layer, separator layer and anode electrode layer between the compression plates of Okochi because having additional anode electrode layers, additional separator layers and additional cathode electrode layers provides a prismatic cell with higher space efficiency and capacity (paragraph [0032] of Yoon).
Regarding claim 32, Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly of claim 31 as noted above and Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly comprising the frame laterally surrounding the first endplate (conductive substrate #7 has sides surrounded by top compression plate; pg. 6 of Okochi translation).
Regarding claim 33, Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly of claim 31 as noted above.
Okochi does not disclose the electrochemical assembly comprising the plurality of electrochemical powder layers comprising alternating cathode, separator and anode layers.
However, Yoon discloses electrochemical assembly comprising the plurality of electrochemical powder layers comprising alternating cathode, separator and anode layers (multiple anode electrode layers and multiple cathode layers separated by separator sheet; paragraphs [0032] and [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrochemical assembly of Okochi to include the additional cathode electrode layer, separator layer and anode electrode layer between the compression plates of Okochi because having additional anode electrode layers, additional separator layers and additional cathode electrode layers provides a prismatic cell with higher space efficiency and capacity (paragraph [0032] of Yoon).
Regarding claim 34, Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly of claim 31 as noted above and Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly comprising alternating cathode, separator and anode layers having the same length (powder layers in Fig. 1 all have the same length; pg. 6 of Okochi translation).
Regarding claim 35, Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly of claim 31 as noted above and Okochi discloses the electrochemical assembly comprising a top surface of the endplate flush with a top surface of the frame (conductive substrate #7 has top surface flush with top compression plate; pg. 6 of Okochi translation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art Okochi and Yoon do not disclose the electrochemical assembly comprising a spring disposed between the first endplate and the first anode solid layer or the first cathode layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 4/23/2026, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 4/23/2026, with respect to the 112(b) rejection has been fully considered and are persuasive.
The 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that Okochi does not disclose a frame nor first and second endplates disposed within a frame.
This argument is not persuasive as the compression plates of Okochi act as a frame. A frame by definition is a rigid structure that surrounds or encloses an object. This is the broadest reasonable interpretation used by the Examiner for the term “frame”. The compression plates are enclosing conductive substrates #6 and #7. Therefore, Okochi discloses first and second endplates disposed within a frame.
Applicants argue that Yoon does not disclose a second compact anode layer, a second compact separator and a second compact cathode layer and that Yoon cannot be combined with Okochi.
This argument is not persuasive as Yoon discloses multiple anode electrode layers and multiple cathode layers separated by separator sheet (see paragraphs [0032] and [0033] of Yoon).
Also, both Okochi and Yoon are electrode assemblies and one would combine Yoon with Okochi for the teaching of providing multiple cathode and anode layers to provide multiple electrode assemblies.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SATHAVARAM I REDDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1785