DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCoy et al. (US 2012/0182021), herein after McCoy and Kim et al. (US 2020/0036198), herein after Kim.
Regarding claim 1, McCoy discloses An electronic device (fig. 3), comprising:
a first battery (302, fig. 3);
a second battery (301, fig. 3);
a first sensing integrated circuit (IC) (303A, fig. 3) configured to identify a measurement value of a total charging current for the first battery and the second battery through a first sensing resistor electrically connected to the first battery and the second battery (Current measuring device 303A gives I.sub.total, paragraph [0033]); and
a second sensing IC configured to identify a second charging current value for the second battery through a second sensing resistor electrically connected to the second battery (current measuring device 303B gives I.sub.1, paragraph [0033]), McCoy further discloses monitor the total charging current for both the batteries (A third approach includes a current measuring device to measure I.sub.1 (or I.sub.2), with the value of I.sub.total being acquired from other sources, such as a battery management unit, paragraph [0032]) wherein the first charging current value is identified based on the measurement value of the total charging current and the second charging current value (calculating of I.sub.2 (or I.sub.1) from the measured values, paragraph [0032] and Current measuring device 303A gives I.sub.total, and current measuring device 303B gives I.sub.1; I.sub.2 is equal to the difference between I.sub.total and I.sub.1, allowing calculation of the differential current between batteries 301 and 302, paragraph [0033];the differential current technique is used to find the first charging current value).
However, McCoy does not explicitly disclose at least one processor; wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
set the total charging current for charging the first battery and the second battery to a first value, set the total charging current to a second value less than the first value, based on identifying a first charging current value greater than a first reference value or the second charging current value greater than a second reference value.
Kim discloses and electronic device and manage power between the batteries. Kim discloses at least one processor (470 with the integrated circuit 440, fig. 4);
wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
set the total charging current for charging the first battery and the second battery to a first value (the power management integrated circuit 440 may output charging related information during the charging of the first and second batteries 410 and 420. The charging related information may include, for example, at least one of the total charge current, paragraph [0042]shows that the processor set the total charging current for the batteries),
set the total charging current to a second value less than the first value, based on identifying a first charging current value greater than a first reference value or the second charging current value greater than a second reference value When the total voltage is higher than the third reference voltage, the power management integrated circuit 440 may, based on the voltages of the first and second batteries 410 and 420, control the charging current to be reduced in a stepwise manner, paragraph [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify McCoy to include a processor with the connected integrated circuit to control the charging and discharging of the batteries in a specific manner as taught by Kim, in order to optimize power conversion and enhance the charging efficiency as compared with the conventional discrete control circuit.
Regarding claim 2, McCoy in view of Kim disclose the electronic device of claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to set the total charging current to a third value greater than the first value, based on the first charging current value being less than a third reference value or the second charging current value being less than a fourth reference value (When the total voltage is higher than the third reference voltage, the power management integrated circuit 440 may, based on the voltages of the first and second batteries 410 and 420, control the charging current to be reduced in a stepwise manner, paragraph [0079]). And the same process work in opposite side. If the total voltage is less than the reference voltage the applied current increases).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify McCoy to include a processor with the connected integrated circuit to control the charging and discharging of the batteries in a specific manner as taught by Kim, in order to optimize power conversion and enhance the charging efficiency as compared with the conventional discrete control circuit.
Regarding claim 3, McCoy in view of Kim disclose the electronic device of claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein the first sensing IC includes an interface power management integrated circuit (IF PMIC) configured to charge the first battery and the second battery (The power management integrated circuit governs charging of the batteries based on an overall state of the batteries, paragraph [0009]), and wherein the second sensing IC includes a direct current integrated circuit (DC IC) (board 430 which provide direct power to the batteries, fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify McCoy to include a processor with the connected integrated circuit to control the charging and discharging of the batteries in a specific manner as taught by Kim, in order to optimize power conversion and enhance the charging efficiency as compared with the conventional discrete control circuit.
Regarding claim 4, McCoy in view of Kim disclose the electronic device of claim 1. Kim further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to display on a display a notification indicating an abnormal state of a power path for the first battery or a power path for the second battery based on the second value, and wherein a difference between the second value and the first value is greater than a threshold value (paragraph [0100]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify McCoy to include a display to notify the abnormality of the battery on the screen as taught by Kim, in order to . This prevents damage, improves safety, and extends battery life.
Regarding claim 5, McCoy further discloses the first sensing circuit (303A, fig. 3) measure the first charging current (paragraph [0032]-[0033]).
However, McCoy is silent about wherein the at least one processor is further configured to obtain a signal notifying that the charging current value is greater than the first reference value.
Kim discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to obtain, from the first sensing IC, a signal notifying that the first charging current value is greater than the first reference value (the first battery 410 is being charged by the power from the external charger supplied through the first path, the first charging control circuit 450 may perform a charging current limiting function based on a command of the processor 470, paragraph [0084] where the first IC 450 already gives the signal to processor that the charging current is higher than the reference voltage).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify McCoy to include a processor with the connected integrated circuit to control the charging and discharging of the batteries in a specific manner as taught by Kim, in order to optimize power conversion and enhance the charging efficiency as compared with the conventional discrete control circuit.
Regarding claim 6, McCoy further discloses the second sensing IC (303B, fig. 3) measure the second charging current value.
However, McCoy does not explicitly disclose that wherein the at least one processor is further configured to obtain, from the second sensing IC, a signal indicating identification of the second charging current value being greater than the second reference value.
Kim discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to obtain, from the second sensing IC, a signal indicating identification of the second charging current value being greater than the second reference value (the second charging control circuit 460 may perform the charging current limiting function based on the command of the processor 470. For example, the second charging control circuit 460 may limit the current (charging current) input to the second battery 420 to a third specified range by performing the charging current limiting function, paragraph [0089] where the first IC 460 already gives the signal to processor that the charging current is higher than the reference voltage).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify McCoy to include a processor with the connected integrated circuit to control the charging and discharging of the batteries in a specific manner as taught by Kim, in order to optimize power conversion and enhance the charging efficiency as compared with the conventional discrete control circuit.
Regrading claim 7, McCoy discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify a third charging current value measured through a third sensing resistor connected to a third battery (an active differential current monitoring system 600 for a battery pack configured with two blocks of parallel batteries, 601A-D and 602A-D, that are connected in series. The battery pack provides power to a device via terminals 607 and 608. The parallel connection of each battery to its neighboring parallel battery(s) is made via a respective differential current measurement module that includes one of switches 603A-D/604A-C, and a respective associated current measuring device 605A-C/606A-C).
However, McCoy does not explicitly disclose that set the total charging current to the second value based on a third charging current value, the second value being less than the first value, and wherein the third charging current value is greater than a fifth reference value.
Kim discloses that the current flowing to charge the plurality of the batteries are controlled to protect the batteries from overcharging current damage. Kim discloses
set the total charging current to the second value based on a third charging current value, the second value being less than the first value, and wherein the third charging current value is greater than a fifth reference value (the power management integrated circuit 440 may, based on the voltages of the batteries, control the charging current to be reduced in a stepwise manner, paragraph [0079]; claims 6-10).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify McCoy to include a processor with the connected integrated circuit to control the charging and discharging of the batteries in a specific manner as taught by Kim, in order to optimize power conversion and enhance the charging efficiency as compared with the conventional discrete control circuit.
Regarding claim 8, McCoy discloses wherein the first sensing resistor includes a passive device disposed between the first battery and the first sensing IC, without an integrated circuit (IC) configured to limit current, and wherein the second sensing resistor includes a passive device disposed between the second battery and the second sensing IC, without an IC configured to limit current (battery 302 is connected to 303A and battery 301 is connected to 303B, fig. 3 where 303 is a current sense resistor with amplification includes a current sense resistor and amplification hardware so that the voltage drop across the current sense resistor may be kept relatively small (i.e., so that the insertion loss resulting from the sense resistor is relatively small), paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 9, McCoy discloses a method performed by an electronic device, the method comprising:
identifying a measurement value of the total charging current through a first sensing resistor electrically connected to the first battery and the second battery(Current measuring device 303A gives I.sub.total, paragraph [0033]);
identifying a second charging current value for the second battery through the second sensing resistor electrically connected the second battery(current measuring device 303B gives I.sub.1, paragraph [0033]), McCoy further discloses monitor the total charging current for both the batteries (A third approach includes a current measuring device to measure I.sub.1 (or I.sub.2), with the value of I.sub.total being acquired from other sources, such as a battery management unit, paragraph [0032]) wherein the first charging current value is identified based on the measurement value of the total charging current and the second charging current value (calculating of I.sub.2 (or I.sub.1) from the measured values, paragraph [0032] and Current measuring device 303A gives I.sub.total, and current measuring device 303B gives I.sub.1; I.sub.2 is equal to the difference between I.sub.total and I.sub.1, allowing calculation of the differential current between batteries 301 and 302, paragraph [0033];the differential current technique is used to find the first charging current value.);
However, McCoy is silent about setting a total charging current for charging a first battery and a second battery to a first value and setting the total charging current to a second value less than the first value, based on identifying a first charging current value being greater than a first reference value or the second charging current value being greater than a second reference value, wherein the first charging current value is identified based on the measurement value of the total charging current and the second charging current value.
Kim discloses the method of controlling the charging and discharging of plurality of the batteries with the connected processor and IC circuit (figs. 4-5). Kim further discloses setting a total charging current for charging a first battery and a second battery to a first value(the power management integrated circuit 440 may output charging related information during the charging of the first and second batteries 410 and 420. The charging related information may include, for example, at least one of the total charge current, paragraph [0042]shows that the processor set the total charging current for the batteries);
and setting the total charging current to a second value less than the first value, based on identifying a first charging current value being greater than a first reference value or the second charging current value being greater than a second reference value, wherein the first charging current value is identified based on the measurement value of the total charging current and the second charging current value (When the total voltage is higher than the third reference voltage, the power management integrated circuit 440 may, based on the voltages of the first and second batteries 410 and 420, control the charging current to be reduced in a stepwise manner, paragraph [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify McCoy to include a processor with the connected integrated circuit to control the charging and discharging of the batteries in a specific manner as taught by Kim, in order to optimize power conversion and enhance the charging efficiency as compared with the conventional discrete control circuit.
Regarding claim 10, McCoy in view of Kim discloses a method of claim 9. Kim further discloses the method further comprising setting the total charging current to a third value greater than the first value based on the first charging current value or the second charging current value, wherein the first charging current value is less than a third reference value, and wherein the second charging current value is less than a fourth reference value(When the total voltage is higher than the third reference voltage, the power management integrated circuit 440 may, based on the voltages of the first and second batteries 410 and 420, control the charging current to be reduced in a stepwise manner, paragraph [0079]). And the same process work in opposite side. If the total voltage is less than the reference voltage the applied current increases).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify McCoy to include a processor with the connected integrated circuit to control the charging and discharging of the batteries in a specific manner as taught by Kim, in order to optimize power conversion and enhance the charging efficiency as compared with the conventional discrete control circuit.
Regarding claim 11, McCoy in view of Kim discloses a method of claim 9. Kim further discloses wherein the measurement value of the total charging current is identified through an interface power management integrated circuit (IF PMIC) (The power management integrated circuit governs charging of the batteries based on an overall state of the batteries, paragraph [0009]); and wherein the second charging current value is identified through a direct current integrated circuit (DC IC) (board 430 which provide direct power to the batteries, fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify McCoy to include a processor with the connected integrated circuit to control the charging and discharging of the batteries in a specific manner as taught by Kim, in order to optimize power conversion and enhance the charging efficiency as compared with the conventional discrete control circuit.
Regarding claim 12, McCoy in view of Kim discloses a method of claim 9. Kim further discloses the method further comprising displaying on a display a notification for indicating an abnormal state of a power path for the first battery or a power path for the second battery based on the second value, wherein a difference between the second value and the first value is greater than a threshold value (paragraph [0100]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify McCoy to include a display to notify the abnormality of the battery on the screen as taught by Kim, in order to . This prevents damage, improves safety, and extends battery life.
Regarding claim 13, McCoy further discloses the first sensing circuit (303A, fig. 3) measure the first charging current (paragraph [0032]-[0033]), however, McCoy is silent about obtaining, from a first sensing integrated circuit (IC) connected to the first sensing resistor, a signal notifying that the first charging current value is greater than the first reference value.
Kim discloses obtaining, from a first sensing integrated circuit (IC) connected to the first sensing resistor, a signal notifying that the first charging current value is greater than the first reference value (the first battery 410 is being charged by the power from the external charger supplied through the first path, the first charging control circuit 450 may perform a charging current limiting function based on a command of the processor 470, paragraph [0084] where the first IC 450 already gives the signal to processor that the charging current is higher than the reference voltage).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify McCoy to include a processor with the connected integrated circuit to control the charging and discharging of the batteries in a specific manner as taught by Kim, in order to optimize power conversion and enhance the charging efficiency as compared with the conventional discrete control circuit.
Regarding claim 14, McCoy further discloses the second sensing IC (303B, fig. 3) measure the second charging current value. However, McCoy does not explicitly disclose that obtaining, from a second sensing integrated circuit (IC) connected to the second sensing resistor, a signal indicating the identification of the second charging current value greater than the second reference value.
Kim discloses obtaining, from a second sensing integrated circuit (IC) connected to the second sensing resistor, a signal indicating the identification of the second charging current value greater than the second reference value(the second charging control circuit 460 may perform the charging current limiting function based on the command of the processor 470. For example, the second charging control circuit 460 may limit the current (charging current) input to the second battery 420 to a third specified range by performing the charging current limiting function, paragraph [0089] where the first IC 460 already gives the signal to processor that the charging current is higher than the reference voltage).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify McCoy to include a processor with the connected integrated circuit to control the charging and discharging of the batteries in a specific manner as taught by Kim, in order to optimize power conversion and enhance the charging efficiency as compared with the conventional discrete control circuit.
Regarding claim 15, McCoy in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 9. McCoy further discloses the method further comprising: identifying a third charging current value measured via a third sensing resistor connected to a third battery(an active differential current monitoring system 600 for a battery pack configured with two blocks of parallel batteries, 601A-D and 602A-D, that are connected in series. The battery pack provides power to a device via terminals 607 and 608. The parallel connection of each battery to its neighboring parallel battery(s) is made via a respective differential current measurement module that includes one of switches 603A-D/604A-C, and a respective associated current measuring device 605A-C/606A-C).
However, McCoy does not explicitly disclose that setting the total charging current to a second value based on the third charging current value, the second value being less than the first value, and wherein the third charging current value is greater than a fifth reference value.
Kim discloses that the current flowing to charge the plurality of the batteries are controlled to protect the batteries from overcharging current damage. Kim discloses setting the total charging current to a second value based on the third charging current value, the second value being less than the first value, and wherein the third charging current value is greater than a fifth reference value(the power management integrated circuit 440 may, based on the voltages of the batteries, control the charging current to be reduced in a stepwise manner, paragraph [0079]; claims 6-10).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify McCoy to include a processor with the connected integrated circuit to control the charging and discharging of the batteries in a specific manner as taught by Kim, in order to optimize power conversion and enhance the charging efficiency as compared with the conventional discrete control circuit.
Regarding claim 16, McCoy in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 9. McCoy further discloses wherein the first sensing resistor includes a passive device disposed between the first battery and a first sensing integrated circuit (IC), without an IC configured to limit current, and wherein the second sensing resistor includes a passive device disposed between the second battery and a second sensing IC, without an IC configured to limit current (battery 302 is connected to 303A and battery 301 is connected to 303B, fig. 3 where 303 is a current sense resistor with amplification includes a current sense resistor and amplification hardware so that the voltage drop across the current sense resistor may be kept relatively small (i.e., so that the insertion loss resulting from the sense resistor is relatively small), paragraph [0031]) .
Regarding claim 17, McCoy discloses An electronic device (fig. 3) comprising: a first battery (302, fig. 1); a second battery (302, fig. 3);
a first sensing resistor (303A, fig. 3) connected to the IF PMIC; a second sensing resistor (303B) connected to the DC IC; and wherein the second sensing resistor is disposed between the first sensing resistor and the second battery (303B is connected between 301 and 303A, fig. 3).
However, McCoy does not explicitly disclose an interface power management integrated circuit (IF PMIC) configured to charge the first battery and the second battery; a direct current integrated circuit (DC IC).
Kim discloses an interface power management integrated circuit (IF PMIC) (440, fig. 4) configured to charge the first battery and the second battery (the power management integrated circuit 440 may use at least some of the power supplied from the external charger to control charging of the first battery 410 and the second battery 420, paragraph [0079]); a direct current integrated circuit (DC IC) (board 430, fig. 4), at least one processor configured to control the IF PMIC and the DC IC (processor 470 connected to PMIC and DC IC and control them, fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McCoy to include PMIC with the first sensing resistor, DC IC with the second sensing resistor, and a processor to control them as taught by Kim, in order to optimize power conversion and enhance the charging efficiency as compared with the conventional discrete control circuit.
Regarding claim 18, McCoy in view of Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 17. Kim further discloses wherein the IF PMIC and the DC IC are connected through an inter integrated circuit (I2C) (a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) extending from the first housing structure to the second housing structure and crossing the hinge axis, a power management integrated circuit (PMIC) disposed in the first housing structure and electrically connected to the processor and the FPCB, paragraph [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify McCoy to include a processor with the connected integrated circuit to control the charging and discharging of the batteries in a specific manner as taught by Kim, in order to optimize power conversion and enhance the charging efficiency as compared with the conventional discrete control circuit.
Regarding claim 19, McCoy in view of Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 17. McCoy further discloses the electronic device further comprising: a third battery; and a third sensing resistor disposed between the first sensing resistor and the third battery (fig. 6 shows three batteries with their respective sensing resistors).
Regarding claim 20, McCoy in view of Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 17. Kim further discloses wherein the first battery is connected to the first sensing resistor through a first flexible printed circuit board (FPCB), wherein the second battery is connected to the second sensing resistor through a second FPCB (paragraph [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify McCoy to include a processor with the connected integrated circuit to control the charging and discharging of the batteries in a specific manner as taught by Kim, in order to optimize power conversion and enhance the charging efficiency as compared with the conventional discrete control circuit.
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859