DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of: Invention I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 04/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Accordingly, Invention II, claims 15-20, have been withdrawn for consideration
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/03/2023 and 09/16/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
If the language of the claim is such that a person of ordinary skill in the art could not interpret the metes and bounds of the claim so as to understand how to avoid infringement, a rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, is appropriate. See Morton Int’l, Inc. v. Cardinal Chem. Co., 5 F.3d 1464, 1470, 28 USPQ2d 1190, 1195 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Regarding claim 11, the limitation “the detection and control system comprises a detection system comprising a position sensitive device (PSD), an infrared camera, and a four-quadrant photoelectric detector or a photodiode” renders the claim indefinite because it unclear whether the detection system is required to include a position sensitive device, and infrared camera, and one of a four-quadrant photoelectric detector or photodiode, or whether the listed detection devices are intended to be alternatives as the specification appears to describe these detectors types as selectable examples/alternatives. This creates ambiguity in the claims.
The indefinite 112 rejected claims above are interpreted as best understood, in light of the specification, unless otherwise stated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Liang et al. (CN 109146919, Examiner has provided a machine translation).
Regarding claim 13, Liang discloses a laser emitting method implemented by a laser emitting apparatus, wherein the laser emitting method comprises
sequentially adjusting a beam deflection system of the laser emitting apparatus to a plurality of preset emission angles ([0103] discloses: performs a patrol along a preset line, when the target object is determined to have entered the field of view, the position information of the target object is obtained, the tracking and aiming pan-tilt unit is adjusted so that the target object is in the center area of the field of view, the laser beam is then guided into the target area to complete coarse tracking; [0028] discloses: first preset value; [0091] discloses: second preset value, and up to a fourth preset value; considered a plurality of preset emission angles);
detecting light intensities of fluorescence or laser light at the preset emission angles and a light spot position of the laser light on a detection and control system of the laser emitting apparatus ([0008] discloses: photodetector; [0098] discloses: obtain the coordinates of the center point of the photodetector and the coordinates of the reflected beam of the beacon light reflected by the object: Examiner notes that the reflected beam on the photodetector is a light spot position on the detection control system); and
adjusting, when a first preset light intensity of the light intensities is greater than a first threshold at a first preset emission angle of the preset emission angles (Examiner notes that Liang detects a reflected beam using a photodetector and obtains coordinated of the reflected beam, the photodetector functions by receiving reflected optical energy sufficient to identify the reflected beam on the detector, thus the detected reflected beam corresponds to a light intensity exceeding a detected threshold under the broadest reasonable interpretation), the first preset emission angle based on the light spot position to aim the laser light at a laser receiving apparatus ([0099] discloses: calculate the deviation between the coordinates of the center point of the photodetector and the coordinates of the reflected beam; [0100] discloses: the angle of the laser emitter is adjusted according to the deviation between the coordinates of the center point of the photodetector and the coordinates of the reflected beam until the deviation is less than a fourth preset value; [0101] discloses: firing the main beam toward the target object; [0102] discloses: the laser beam is shaped and sent to the photovoltaic cell of the laser receiving device).
Regarding claim 14, Liang discloses the laser emitting method of claim 13, wherein adjusting the first preset emission angle comprises further adjusting, in a direction in which a deviation between the light spot position and a center of a detection system of the detection and control system is reduced, the first preset emission angle until an absolute value of the deviation is less than or equal to a second threshold ([0099] teaches: calculate the deviation between the coordinates of the center point of the photodetector and the coordinates of the reflected beam; [0099] teaches: the angle of the laser emitter is adjusted according to the deviation between the coordinates of the center point of the photodetector and the coordinates of the reflected beam until the deviation is less than a fourth preset value; Examiner notes that the center point of the photodetector is considered the center of the detection system, the coordinates of the reflected beam are considered the light spot position and the fourth preset value is considered the second threshold).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (CN 102307062, of record, Examiner has provided a machine translation) in view of Alpert et al. (US 2017/0373543, of record) in view of Meijer et al. (US 2022/0307997) in view of Liang et al. (CN 109146919, of record) in view of Pearson et al. (US 5,329,539).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng discloses a laser emitting apparatus comprising:
a first reflecting mirror group ([0027] discloses: M1, reflection mirror, M2, reflector array and M3, reflection mirror);
a gain medium ([0027] discloses: LC, gain medium) configured to:
emit light ([0029] discloses: LC, gain medium provides the gain required for the resonant laser beam); and
stimulate by resonance, between the first reflecting mirror group and a laser receiving apparatus ([0017] discloses: laser resonate cavity), of the fluorescence to emit a laser light ([0029] discloses: M3, reflection mirror and M2, corner reflector reflects laser back to provide positive feedback of laser oscillator; [0017] discloses: laser resonate cavity for power amplification);
a beam deflection system ([0027] discloses: EX, beam expander; [0033] discloses: EX, beam expander, can be a reflective optical system, therefore consider a beam deflection system) configured to:
emit the fluorescence or the laser light emitted by the gain medium ([0029] discloses: M1, reflecting mirror, LC, gain medium, EX, beam expander and M2, reflector array form a laser oscillator; Examiner notes that the resonant path is: M1→LC→M3/EX→M2→Back through EX/M3→LC→M1 and repeated; the beam expander is considered to emit the laser light emitted by the gain medium based on this process); and
emit the fluorescence or the laser light reflected by the laser receiving apparatus into the gain medium ([0029] discloses: M1, reflecting mirror and M2, reflector array constitute the resonant cavity and M1, reflecting mirror, LC, gain medium, EX, beam expander and M2, reflector array form a laser oscillator; Examiner notes that the resonant path is: M1→LC→M3/EX→M2→Back through EX/M3→LC→M1 and repeated; the beam expander is considered to emit the laser light reflected by the laser receiving apparatus into the gain medium based on this process); and
wherein the first reflecting mirror group, the gain medium, and the beam deflection system are disposed on an optical path (Examiner notes that the resonant path is: M1→LC→M3/EX→M2→Back through EX/M3→LC→M1 and repeated; therefore the first reflecting mirror group, the gain medium and the beam deflection system are disposed on the resonant optical path).
Zheng fails to disclose an apparatus comprising: a pump source; and pump by the pump source to emit fluorescence; a detection and control system configured to: sequentially adjust the beam deflection system to a plurality of preset emission angles; detect light intensities of the fluorescence or the laser light at the preset emission angles and a first light spot position of the laser light on the detection and control system; and adjust, when a first light intensity of the light intensities is greater than a first threshold at a first preset emission angle of the preset emission angles, the first preset emission angle based on the first light spot position to aim the laser light emitted by the beam deflection system at the laser receiving apparatus and wherein the detection and control system, the pump source, are disposed on an optical path. Zheng and Alpert are related because both disclose laser emitting apparatus.
Alpert teaches an apparatus comprising:
a pump source ([0066] teaches: pumped with laser diode; the laser diode is the pump source). Zheng and Meijer are related because both disclose modulated radiation emittance.
Meijer teaches an apparatus comprising:
pump by the pump source to emit fluorescence ([0056] teaches: modulated pump radiation and continue to emit modulated fluorescence radiation; Examiner notes that this is a pump source to emit fluorescence). Zheng and Liang are related because both disclose optical systems.
Liang teaches an apparatus with
a detection and control system ([0008] teaches: image processing module, laser guidance module, laser emitter and photodetector) configured to:
sequentially adjust the beam deflection system to a plurality of preset emission angles ([0103] teaches: first performs a patrol along a preset line, and after the target object is determined to have entered the field of view, the tracking and aiming tilt unit is adjusted so that the target object is in the center area of the field of view, and the laser beam is then guided into the target area to complete coarse tracking);
detect light intensities of the fluorescence or the laser light at the preset emission angles and a first light spot position of the laser light on the detection and control system ([0008] teaches: photodetector; [0098] teaches: obtain the coordinates of the center point of the photodetector and the coordinates of the reflected beam of the beacon light reflected by the object; Examiner notes that the reflected beam on the photodetector is a light spot position on the detection and control system); and
adjust, when a first light intensity of the light intensities is greater than a first threshold at a first preset emission angle of the preset emission angles (Examiner notes that Liang detects a reflected beam using a photodetector and obtains coordinated of the reflected beam, the photodetector functions by receiving reflected optical energy sufficient to identify the reflected beam on the detector, thus the detected reflected beam corresponds to a light intensity exceeding a detected threshold), the first preset emission angle based on the first light spot position to aim the laser light emitted by the beam deflection system at the laser receiving apparatus ([0099] teaches: calculate the deviation between the coordinates of the center point of the photodetector and the coordinates of the reflected beam; [0100] teaches: the angle of the laser emitter is adjusted according to the deviation between the coordinates of the center point of the photodetector and the coordinates of the reflected beam until the deviation is less than a fourth preset value; [0101] teaches: emit the main bean towards the target object; [0102] teaches: the laser beam is shaped and sent to the photovoltaic cell of the laser receiving device). Zheng and Pearson are related because both disclose a laser emitting apparatus.
Pearson teaches the detection and control system, the pump source, are disposed on an optical path (Figure 1 depicts: laser diode pump source along with the beam forming optics and beam splitter, optical isolator and output optics disposed on an optical path).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zheng in view of Alpert and Meijer and Liang and Pearson and provide an apparatus comprising: a pump source; and pump by the pump source to emit fluorescence; a detection and control system configured to: sequentially adjust the beam deflection system to a plurality of preset emission angles; detect light intensities of the fluorescence or the laser light at the preset emission angles and a first light spot position of the laser light on the detection and control system; and adjust, when a first light intensity of the light intensities is greater than a first threshold at a first preset emission angle of the preset emission angles, the first preset emission angle based on the first light spot position to aim the laser light emitted by the beam deflection system at the laser receiving apparatus and wherein the detection and control system, the pump source, are disposed on an optical path. Doing so would allow for improved control of the laser output and alignment of the optical components, thereby increasing transmission efficiency, reducing signal loss, and improving reliability of the laser wireless power transmission system.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Zheng discloses the laser emitting apparatus of claim 1, wherein the detection and control system comprises:
a detection system (Liang: [0008] teaches: photodetector); and
a control system ([0008] teaches: image processing module and laser guidance module; [0098] teaches: obtain the coordinates of the center point of the photodetector and the coordinates of the reflected beam of the beacon light reflected by the target object) configured to adjust, in a direction in which a deviation between the first light spot position and a center of the detection system is reduced, the first preset emission angle until an absolute value of the deviation is less than or equal to a second threshold (Liang: [0099] teaches: calculate the deviation between the coordinates of the center point of the photodetector and the coordinates of the reflected beam; [0099] teaches: the angle of the laser emitter is adjusted according to the deviation between the coordinates of the center point of the photodetector and the coordinates of the reflected beam until the deviation is less than a fourth preset value; Examiner notes that adjusting the angle according to the deviation until the deviation is less than a fourth preset value teaches adjusting in a direction in which the deviation is reduced until the absolute value of the deviation is less than or equal to a threshold; Examiner notes that the same motivation to combine applied to an earlier claim, 1, also applies here, and no further analysis is required, consistent with MPEP § 2143, which permits reliance on previously articulated rationale where the combination and reasonings remain unchanged).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Zheng discloses the laser emitting apparatus of claim 1, wherein the pump source and the gain medium are disposed together as an electric pump semiconductor gain chip (Alpert: [0072] teaches: VECSEL, semiconductor gain chip used instead of laser crystals; optically or electrically pumped semiconductor lasers without a reflective coating on at least one surface of VECSEL; Examiner notes that the same motivation to combine applied to an earlier claim, 1, also applies here, and no further analysis is required, consistent with MPEP § 2143, which permits reliance on previously articulated rationale where the combination and reasonings remain unchanged).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Zheng discloses the laser emitting apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first reflecting mirror group is a corner reflector (Alpert: [0010] teaches: the transmitter contains a retroreflector with an amplifying laser medium, and this together with a retroreflector in the receiver, forms a laser resonator; Examiner notes that the same motivation to combine applied to an earlier claim, 1, also applies here, and no further analysis is required, consistent with MPEP § 2143, which permits reliance on previously articulated rationale where the combination and reasonings remain unchanged), a first mirror group comprising a convex lens and a planar mirror, a second mirror group comprising the convex lens and a concave mirror, or a near-spherical retroreflector comprising a refractive index greater than or equal to 1.9 and less than or equal to 2.1 (Examiner notes that the claim is written in the alternative, and the teaching of a corner retroreflector satisfies one of the claimed alternatives).
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (CN 102307062) in view of Alpert et al. (US 2017/0373543) in view of Meijer et al. (US 2022/0307997) in view of Liang et al. (CN 109146919) in view of Pearson et al. (US 5,329,539), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Murakami et al. (US 2018/0272474).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Zheng discloses the laser emitting apparatus of claim 1, wherein the detection and control system comprises a control system.
Zheng fails to disclose an apparatus wherein the beam deflection system comprises: a first galvanometer scanner; and a second galvanometer scanner, wherein the first galvanometer scanner and the second galvanometer scanner are configured to sequentially reflect the fluorescence or the laser light from the gain medium and emit, wherein the second galvanometer scanner and the first galvanometer scanner are further configured to sequentially reflect the fluorescence or the laser light emitted from the laser emitting apparatus and transmit back to the gain medium, and wherein the control system is configured to adjust the first preset emission angle by controlling rotation angles of the first galvanometer scanner and the second galvanometer scanner. Zheng and Murakami are related because both disclose optical systems.
Murakami teaches disclose an apparatus wherein the beam deflection system comprises:
a first galvanometer scanner ([0025] teaches: 50, galvanometer scanner, 51, first mirror and 53, rotary motor for rotating first mirror; Examiner notes that this system is considered the first galvanometer scanner); and
a second galvanometer scanner ([0025] teaches: 50, galvanometer scanner, 52, second mirror and 54, rotary motor for rotating second mirror; Examiner notes that this system is considered the second galvanometer scanner),
wherein the first galvanometer scanner and the second galvanometer scanner are configured to sequentially reflect the fluorescence or the laser light from the gain medium and emit ([0025] teaches: mirrors and galvanometer scanner reflect off mirrors and emit L, laser beam; [0024] teaches: laser source can include a laser medium; Examiner notes that this is considered sequentially reflecting the light from each path, and in combination with the modified Zheng would reflect the light from the gain medium),
wherein the second galvanometer scanner and the first galvanometer scanner are further configured to sequentially reflect the fluorescence or the laser light emitted from the laser emitting apparatus and transmit back to the gain medium (Zheng teaches the resonant path: M1→LC→M3/EX→M2→Back through EX/M3→LC→M1 and repeated; Examiner notes that replacing the beam deflection system of Zheng with the first and second galvanometer scanners of Murakami would cause the returned laser light to be reflected back through the same optical path in reverse order), and
wherein the control system ([0027] teaches: 57, control unit, 58, conversion unit, 59, control filter unit; 57, control unit, controls 53 and 54 rotary motors) is configured to adjust the first preset emission angle by controlling rotation angles of the first galvanometer scanner and the second galvanometer scanner ([0030] teaches: θ.sub.x, θ.sub.y, z corresponding to the angular positions of the first and second mirror; [0030] teaches: commands for matching position; [0032] teaches: predetermined values for mirror movement; therefore considered preset emission angles).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zheng in view of Murakami and provide an apparatus wherein the beam deflection system comprises: a first galvanometer scanner; and a second galvanometer scanner, wherein the first galvanometer scanner and the second galvanometer scanner are configured to sequentially reflect the fluorescence or the laser light from the gain medium and emit, wherein the second galvanometer scanner and the first galvanometer scanner are further configured to sequentially reflect the fluorescence or the laser light emitted from the laser emitting apparatus and transmit back to the gain medium, and wherein the control system is configured to adjust the first preset emission angle by controlling rotation angles of the first galvanometer scanner and the second galvanometer scanner. Doing so would allow for more accurate and controllable adjustment of the laser emission direction, thereby improving alignment of the laser light along the desired optical path and improving reliability of the laser light along the desired optical path and improving reliability of the laser wireless power transmission.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Zheng discloses the laser emitting apparatus of claim 1.
Zheng fails to disclose an apparatus further comprising a lens group disposed on the optical path and between the gain medium and the beam deflection system and configured to adjust a working distance of a stability zone of the laser light and a field of view of the stability zone. Zheng and Murakami are related because both disclose optical systems.
Murakami teaches an apparatus further comprising a lens group disposed on the optical path (Figure 2 depicts: 55, lens) and between the gain medium (Figure 2 depicts: 4, laser source) and the beam deflection system (Figure 2 depicts: X1 and X2 axis of the galvanometer; considered the beam deflection system and 55, lens between 4, laser source and the beam deflection system) and configured to adjust a working distance of a stability zone of the laser light and a field of view of the stability zone (in at least abstract teaches: galvanometer for matching a position on a target by moving rotary motors; Examiner notes that this is considered analogous to adjusting a working distance of a stability zone of the laser light an field of view of the stability zone and this is done using 55, movable lens, see [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zheng in view of Murakami and provide an apparatus further comprising a lens group disposed on the optical path and between the gain medium and the beam deflection system and configured to adjust a working distance of a stability zone of the laser light and a field of view of the stability zone. Doing so would allow for the beam to related and conditioned before being deflected by the beam deflection system, thereby improving optical alignment, usable scanning range, and control of the laser beam along the desired optical path.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (CN 102307062) in view of Alpert et al. (US 2017/0373543) in view of Meijer et al. (US 2022/0307997) in view of Liang et al. (CN 109146919) in view of Pearson et al. (US 5,329,539), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Wright (US 5,002,371).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Zheng discloses the laser emitting apparatus of claim 1.
Zheng fails to disclose an apparatus further comprising a proportional beam splitter disposed on the optical path, wherein the detection and control system comprises a detection system, wherein the proportional beam splitter is configured to transmit a first part of the fluorescence or a second part of the laser light to the detection system, and wherein the detection system is configured to detect a second light intensity of the first part or the second part and a second light spot position of the first part or the second part. Zheng and Wright are related because both disclose beam splitters.
Wright teaches an apparatus further comprising a proportional beam splitter disposed on the optical path (Col. 2 lines 33-35 teach: apparatus for monitoring a characteristic, such as power or position, of a beam of radiation propagating along a primary optical path), wherein the detection and control system comprises a detection system (Col. 2 lines 40-45 teach: a detector is mounted in the path of the sample beam and responsive to the sample beam for generating a signal indicating a characteristic of the beam of radiation), wherein the proportional beam splitter is configured to transmit a first part of the fluorescence or a second part of the laser light to the detection system (Col. 2 lines 33-46 teach: splitting a sample beam from the beam, sent to detector mounted in path of sample beam), and wherein the detection system is configured to detect a second light intensity of the first part or the second part and a second light spot position of the first part or the second part (Col. 2 lines 28-31 teach: standard photodetector and/or quad cell ca be placed in the sample path for monitoring the power and/or position of the beam; Examiner notes that monitoring power is intensity and monitoring position is light spot position).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zheng in view of Wright and provide an apparatus further comprising a proportional beam splitter disposed on the optical path, wherein the detection and control system comprises a detection system, wherein the proportional beam splitter is configured to transmit a first part of the fluorescence or a second part of the laser light to the detection system, and wherein the detection system is configured to detect a second light intensity of the first part or the second part and a second light spot position of the first part or the second part. Doing so would allow for a portion of the optical beam to be monitored without substantially interrupting the main optical path, thereby allowing the detection system to determine beam intensity and beam position for improved feedback control and alignment accuracy.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Zheng discloses the laser emitting apparatus of claim 4, wherein the proportional beam splitter is disposed on the optical path and between the gain medium and the beam deflection system (Pearson: Col. 2 lines 27-40 teach: 13, pump light source, delivers light to 23, gain medium to produce 27, output light beam; 27, output light beam received by 29, beam steering module that splits off 31, small portion and directs it toward 33, photodetector module; Examiner notes that the light beam is produced by the gain medium and received by the beam steering module, such that a portion of the light beam is split from the optical path between the gain medium and beam deflection system; Examiner notes that the same motivation to combine applied to an earlier claim, 1, also applies here, and no further analysis is required, consistent with MPEP § 2143, which permits reliance on previously articulated rationale where the combination and reasonings remain unchanged).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Zheng discloses the laser emitting apparatus of claim 4.
Zheng fails to disclose an apparatus wherein the proportional beam splitter is disposed on the optical path and between the first reflecting mirror group and the gain medium (Zheng teaches the first reflecting mirror group and the gain medium are disposed on the resonant optical path; Wright teaches a beam splitter mounted in the optical path for splitting sample beam from the beam). The modified Zheng fails to explicitly disclose the proportional beam splitter disposed between the first reflecting mirror group and the gain medium as claimed. However, Wright discloses a beam splitter mounted in the optical path for splitting the sample beam from the beam, thereby teaching the use of a beam splitter disposed on the optical path. Choosing a specific placement or orientation of optical components is a matter of design choice within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975), (holding that selecting a particular placement of component from known alternatives is an obvious matter of design choice where the function is unaffected) and In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) (holding that rearranging parts where the operation remains the same does not render the claimed invention obvious). This setup would allow the beam propagation between the first reflecting mirror group and the gain medium to be sampled for monitoring beam intensity and/or beam position.
Accordingly, it would been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to position the proportional beam splitter between the first reflecting mirror group and the gain medium, since the claimed placement represents a selection among a finite number known locations on the optical path that are functionally equivalent with respect to the operation of the beam splitter. The proportional beam splitter performs the same function of sampling a portion of the optical beam for detection regardless of whether it is disposed between the gain medium and beam deflection system or between the first reflecting mirror group and the gain medium, and the particular placement would have been determined based on routine design considerations such as packaging restraints, spatial layout and system integration within the optical device. Therefore, the claimed placement of the proportional beam splitter represents a routine variation within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Zheng discloses the laser emitting apparatus of claim 1.
Zheng fails to disclose an apparatus wherein the detection and control system comprises a detection system, wherein the first reflecting mirror group is configured to transmit a first part of the fluorescence or a second part of the laser light to the detection system, and wherein the detection system is configured to detect a second light intensity of the fluorescence or the laser light and a second light spot position of the fluorescence or the laser light. Zheng and Wright are related because both disclose beam splitters.
Wright teaches an apparatus wherein the detection and control system comprises a detection system (Col. 2 line 43 teaches: a detector), wherein the first reflecting mirror group is configured to transmit a first part of the fluorescence or a second part of the laser light to the detection system (Col. 2 lines 43-45 teach: a beam splitter mounted in the optical path for splitting a sample beam from the beam; Examiner notes that the beam splitter is considered a reflecting mirror configured to transmit a portion of the beam to the detection system), and wherein the detection system is configured to detect a second light intensity of the fluorescence or the laser light and a second light spot position of the fluorescence or the laser light (Col. 2 lines 28-31 teach: standard photodetector and/or quad cell ca be placed in the sample path for monitoring the power and/or position of the beam; Examiner notes that monitoring power is intensity and monitoring position is light spot position).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zheng in view of Wright and provide an apparatus wherein the detection and control system comprises a detection system, wherein the first reflecting mirror group is configured to transmit a first part of the fluorescence or a second part of the laser light to the detection system, and wherein the detection system is configured to detect a second light intensity of the fluorescence or the laser light and a second light spot position of the fluorescence or the laser light. Doing so would allow for a portion of the optical beam to be monitored without substantially interrupting the main optical path, thereby allowing the detection system to determine beam intensity and beam position for improved feedback control and alignment accuracy.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (CN 102307062) in view of Alpert et al. (US 2017/0373543) in view of Meijer et al. (US 2022/0307997) in view of Liang et al. (CN 109146919) in view of Pearson et al. (US 5,329,539), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Taylor et al. (US 2013/0170228).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Zheng discloses the laser emitting apparatus of claim 1.
Zheng fails to disclose an apparatus further comprising a partial reflecting mirror disposed on the optical path and between the gain medium and the beam deflection system and configured to partially reflect the fluorescence or the laser light to the gain medium. Zheng and Taylor are related because both disclose laser systems.
Taylor teaches an apparatus further comprising a partial reflecting mirror disposed on the optical path and between the gain medium ([0022] teaches: 20, optical cavity, comprises 30, gamin medium, 32, reflector and 34, out coupler; 34, out coupler may comprise a partially reflective mirror; configured to reflect a portion of the light from 30, gain medium back through 20, optical cavity; the path is: gain medium/optical cavity→ output coupler/partially reflective mirror→ output laser beam →beam processor/beam walk set/steering optics) and the beam deflection system and configured to partially reflect the fluorescence or the laser light to the gain medium ([0022] teaches: 34, out coupler may comprise a partially reflective mirror; configured to reflect a portion of the light from 30, gain medium back through 20, optical cavity and transmit another portion to 30, gain medium as 40, output laser beam).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zheng in view of Taylor and provide an apparatus further comprising a partial reflecting mirror disposed on the optical path and between the gain medium and the beam deflection system and configured to partially reflect the fluorescence or the laser light to the gain medium. Doing so would allow for better alignment of the optical output beam, thereby providing optical feedback for laser operation and improving performance and quality.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (CN 102307062) in view of Alpert et al. (US 2017/0373543) in view of Meijer et al. (US 2022/0307997) in view of Liang et al. (CN 109146919) in view of Pearson et al. (US 5,329,539), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Yap et al. (US 2015/0177381).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, the modified Zheng discloses the laser emitting apparatus of claim 1.
Zheng fails to disclose an apparatus wherein the detection and control system comprises a detection system comprising a position sensitive device (PSD), an infrared camera, and a four-quadrant photoelectric detector or a photodiode. Zheng and Yap are related because both disclose detection and control systems.
Yap teaches an apparatus wherein the detection and control system comprises a detection system comprising a position sensitive device (PSD) ([0030] teaches: LEPSD, lateral-effect position sensing detector), an infrared camera ([0066] teaches: infrared imaging detector), and a four-quadrant photoelectric detector or a photodiode ([0057] teaches: 4-quadrant detector; Examiner notes that this is an AOA sensor and considered a photoelectric detector as it detects the optical angle of arrival).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zheng in view of Yap and provide an apparatus wherein the detection and control system comprises a detection system comprising a position sensitive device (PSD), an infrared camera, and a four-quadrant photoelectric detector or a photodiode. Doing so would allow the detection system to determine light spot position and/or intensity using know optical detector structures, thereby improving position detection accuracy field of view coverage and feedback control of the laser emitting apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Smithwich et al. (US 6,845,190) discloses control of an optical fiber including gain mediums but fails to disclose laser control and reflectors, Minott (5,357,371) discloses a laser retroreflector array but fails to disclose a gain medium tied to a reflector setup.
John Sipes
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/J.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872