DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 12/12/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-9 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paune Fabre (US 2020/0133024, of record) in view of Miyamura (US 2002/01015363, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Paune Fabre discloses an orthokeratological contact lens having an inner profile to be placed on a corneal surface of an eye and modify a thicknesses of the eye’s epithelium to correct refractive defects (see Fig 2; Para [0013]), said inner profile comprising: a disc shaped central curve designed to centrally correct a refractive defect of the eye when placed concentrically with respect to the eye’s pupil (see Fig 2; Para [0098]; a central area 10 placed centrally to correct shape of cornea by exerting pressure on epithelium); and an annular reverse curve connected annularly to the central curve, at least a portion of the annular reverse curve having a smaller radius than a radius of the central curve (see Fig 2; Para [0101-0106]; a second segment 3 is connected annularly to central area 10 and has a smaller radius than central area as seen in Fig 2), wherein the contact lens comprises an annular outgoing curve tangentially connected to the annular reverse curve at a circumferential connection line (see Fig 2; Para [0109-0111]; annular outgoing curve connects tangentially to reverse curve at a point which touches the eye), so defining a circumferential reshaping area comprising portions of the annular reverse curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line and portions of the annular outgoing curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line (see Fig 2; Para [0106, 0109]; segments 3 and 4 extend circumferentially around the center of the lens defining a teardrop), the circumferential reshaping area being configured for contacting the corneal surface and applying a determined annular pressure on a periphery of the eye’s cornea for reshaping the epithelium (see Fig 2; Para [0102]; the teardrop shape created by segments creates negative hydrodynamic pressure to conform cornea of patient).
Paune Fabre does not disclose wherein the circumferential reshaping area has a rounded protruding cross-section defined by a radii of curvature of said portions of the annular reverse curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line and of said portions of the annular outgoing curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line. Paune Fabre and Miyamura are related because both disclose contact lenses with orthokeratology treatment contact lenses.
Miyamura discloses a orthokeratological contact lens (see Fig 4; Para [0066]) wherein the circumferential reshaping area has a rounded protruding cross-section defined by a radii of curvature of said portions of the annular reverse curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line and of said portions of the annular outgoing curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line (see Fig 4; Para [0050-0052]; the convex portion 32 has a rounded protruding cross-section which is composed of a concave portion 30 and another outwardly curved surface 36 each with a specific radii of curvature)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Paune Fabre with wherein the circumferential reshaping area has a rounded protruding cross-section defined by a radii of curvature of said portions of the annular reverse curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line and of said portions of the annular outgoing curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line of Miyamura for the purpose of improving a wearer’s comfort while wearing the optical contact lens (Para [0013]).
Regarding claim 8, Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura discloses the orthokeratological contact lens according to claim 1 (see Fig 2). Paune Fabre further discloses wherein the contact lens comprises: at least one further annular reverse curve connected annularly to the annular outgoing curve (see Annotated Fig 2 below; Para [0110-0111]; a further annular segment 5 connects to annular curve at border line LL2 where it meets segment 4) and at least one further annular outgoing curve connected annularly to the at least one further annular reverse curve at a second circumferential connection line (see Annotated Fig 2 below; Para [0117]; a segment 6 acts as a second outgoing curve connected to segment 5 at a point tangent to cornea), so defining at least one further circumferential reshaping area comprising each portion of said at least one further annular reverse curve adjacent to the second circumferential connection line and portions of the at least one further annular outgoing curve adjacent to the second circumferential connection line (see Fig 2; Para [0114]; a second teardrop shape is formed through the shape formed by segments 5 and 6), the at least one further circumferential reshaping area being configured for contacting the corneal surface and applying the determined annular pressure on the periphery of the cornea for reshaping the epithelium (see Fig 2; Para [0114]; the area formed by 5 and 6 are used in applying pressure to the epithelium of the cornea).
Paune Fabre does not disclose wherein the at least one further circumferential reshaping area has a rounded protruding cross-section defined by a radii of curvature of said portions of the at least one further annular curve adjacent to the second circumferential connection line and said portions of the at least one further annular outgoing curve adjacent to the second circumferential connection line.
Miyamura discloses a orthokeratological contact lens (see Fig 4; Para [0066]) wherein the at least one further circumferential reshaping area has a rounded protruding cross-section defined by a radii of curvature of said portions of the at least one further annular curve adjacent to the second circumferential connection line and said portions of the at least one further annular outgoing curve adjacent to the second circumferential connection line (see Fig 4; Para [0050-0052]; a second convex portion has a rounded protruding cross-section which is composed of a concave portion 22-1 and another outwardly curved surface 22-2 each with a specific radii of curvature)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Paune Fabre with wherein the at least one further circumferential reshaping area has a rounded protruding cross-section defined by a radii of curvature of said portions of the at least one further annular curve adjacent to the second circumferential connection line and said portions of the at least one further annular outgoing curve adjacent to the second circumferential connection line of Miyamura for the purpose of improving a wearer’s comfort while wearing the optical contact lens (Para [0013]).
Regarding claim 9, Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura discloses the orthokeratological contact lens according to claim 1 (see Fig 4). Paune Fabre does not disclose wherein each portion of said annular reverse curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line and each portion of said annular outgoing curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line is defined by a single progressive radius of curvature.
Miyamura further discloses wherein each portion of said annular reverse curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line and each portion of said annular outgoing curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line is defined by a single progressive radius of curvature (see Fig 4; Para [0050-0052]; each portion of the concave curve 30 and the outgoing curve 36 is defined by a specific radius of curvature as seen in Fig 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Paune Fabre with wherein each portion of said annular reverse curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line and each portion of said annular outgoing curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line is defined by a single progressive radius of curvature of Miyamura for the purpose of improving a wearer’s comfort while wearing the optical contact lens (Para [0013]).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paune Fabre (US 2020/0133024, of record) in view of Miyamura (US 2002/01015363, of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of El Hage (US 5,695,509, of record).
Regarding claim 2, Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura discloses the orthokeratological contact lens according to claim 1 (see Fig 2), Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura does not disclose wherein said portions of the annular reverse curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line and said portions of the annular outgoing curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line comprise a radius of curvature between 0.1 mm and 5 mm. Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura and El Hage are related because both disclose orthokeratological contact lenses.
El Hage discloses an orthokeratological contact lens (see Fig 5A) wherein said portions of the annular reverse curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line and said portions of the annular outgoing curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line comprise a radius of curvature between 0.1 mm and 5 mm (see Fig 5B; Col 7, lines 56-67; a reverse curve and an outgoing curve form anchor 14 whose curve is equivalent to relief zone 12 that is generally 0.5-1.0mm)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura with wherein said portions of the annular reverse curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line and said portions of the annular outgoing curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line comprise a radius of curvature between 0.1 mm and 5 mm of El Hage for the purpose of providing sufficient area to accept displaced corneal tissue (Col 7, lines 56-67)
Regarding claim 3, Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura and El Hage discloses orthokeratological contact lens according to claim 2 (see Fig 2). Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura does not disclose wherein the radius of curvature is between 1 mm and 3 mm. Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura and El Hage are related because both disclose orthokeratological contact lenses.
El Hage discloses an orthokeratological contact lens (see Fig 5A) wherein the radius of curvature is between 1 mm and 3 mm (see Fig 5B; Col 7, lines 56-67; a reverse curve and an outgoing curve form anchor 14 whose curve is equivalent to relief zone 12 that is generally 0.5-1.0mm)
As El Hage’s angle range overlaps the claimed range (i.e., 1-3mm to that of
the prior art encompasses 0.5-1.0mm), a prima facia case of obviousness exists (see
MPEP 2144.05. OVERLAPPING, APPROACHING, AND SIMILAR RANGES,
AMOUNTS, AND PROPORTIONS In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or
lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re
Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575,
16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura with wherein the radius of curvature is between 1 mm and 3 mm of El Hage for the purpose of providing sufficient area to accept displaced corneal tissue (Col 7, lines 56-67)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paune Fabre (US 2020/0133024, of record) in view of Miyamura (US 2002/01015363, of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nguyen (US 10,725,321, of record).
Regarding claim 4, Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura discloses orthokeratological contact lens according to claim 1. Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura does not disclose wherein said portions of the annular reverse curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line and said portions of the annular outgoing curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line comprise a different radius of curvature. Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura and Nguyen are related because both disclose orthokeratological contact lenses.
Nguyen discloses an orthokeratological contact lens (see Fig 3A) wherein said portions of the annular reverse curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line and said portions of the annular outgoing curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line comprise a different radius of curvature (see Fig 3A; Col 4, line 50- Col 5, line 37; the reverse portion 116 and alignment portion 114 have different curvatures specifically 8.5-10.5mm for the alignment portion and 6.0-9.0mm for reverse curve).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura with wherein said portions of the annular reverse curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line and said portions of the annular outgoing curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line comprise a different radius of curvature of Nguyen for the purpose of treating ocular disorders while providing corneal pressure (Col 4, line 50- Col 5, line 37)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paune Fabre (US 2020/0133024, of record) in view of Miyamura (US 2002/01015363, of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gifford (US 2020/0041816, of record).
Regarding claim 5, Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura discloses orthokeratological contact lens according to claim 1 (see Fig 2) Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura does not disclose wherein a radius of curvature of said portions of the annular reverse curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line or a radius of curvature of said portions of the annular outgoing curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line varies progressively according to a determined sphericity factor defined according to said determined annular pressure on the periphery of the cornea. Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura and Gifford are related because both disclose orthokeratological contact lenses.
Gifford discloses an orthokeratological contact lens (see Fig 2) wherein a radius of curvature of said portions of the annular reverse curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line or a radius of curvature of said portions of the annular outgoing curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line varies progressively according to a determined sphericity factor defined according to said determined annular pressure on the periphery of the cornea (see Fig 2; Para [0223, 0227-0230]; the radius of curvature progressively changes as asphericity changes in a first peripheral zone 1, lens is constructed based on requirement of a given eye).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura with wherein a radius of curvature of said portions of the annular reverse curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line or a radius of curvature of said portions of the annular outgoing curve adjacent to the circumferential connection line varies progressively according to a determined sphericity factor defined according to said determined annular pressure on the periphery of the cornea of Gifford for the purpose of providing a smooth transition between optical zones while maintaining compressive contact (Para [0232])
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paune Fabre (US 2020/0133024, of record) in view of Miyamura (US 2002/01015363, of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mitsui (US 2016/0299356, of record).
Regarding claim 6, Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura discloses orthokeratological contact lens according to claim 1 (see Fig 2). Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura does not disclose wherein a central portion of said annular reverse curve has an inclination angle α with respect to a tangent plane of the corneal surface between 5° and 85°. Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura and Mitsui are related because both disclose orthokeratological contact lenses.
Mitsui discloses an orthokeratological contact lens (see Fig 3) wherein a central portion of said annular reverse curve has an inclination angle α with respect to a tangent plane of the corneal surface between 5° and 85° (see annotated Fig 3 below; Para [0049-0052]; annular reverse curve or the inner curve has an angle between 5 and 85 degrees as seen in annotated figure below showing inclined angle between a 5 and 85 degree incline).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura with wherein a central portion of said annular reverse curve has an inclination angle α with respect to a tangent plane of the corneal surface between 5° and 85° of Mitsui for the purpose of recovering aimed eye vision while fixing lens on a given eye (Para [0027-0028])
Regarding claim 7, Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura discloses orthokeratological contact lens according to claim 1 (see Fig 2). Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura does not disclose wherein a central portion of said annular outgoing curve has an inclination angle β with respect a tangent plane of the corneal surface between 5° and 60°. Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura and Mitsui are related because both disclose orthokeratological contact lenses.
Mitsui discloses an orthokeratological contact lens (see Fig 3) wherein a central portion of said annular outgoing curve has an inclination angle β with respect a tangent plane of the corneal surface between 5° and 60° (see annotated Fig 3 below; Para [0049-0052]; annular outgoing curve or the outer curve has an angle between 5 and 60 degrees as seen in annotated figure below showing inclined angle between a 5- and 60-degree incline).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Paune Fabre in view of Miyamura with wherein a central portion of said annular outgoing curve has an inclination angle β with respect a tangent plane of the corneal surface between 5° and 60° of Mitsui for the purpose of recovering aimed eye vision while fixing lens on a given eye (Para [0027-0028])
Annotated Fig 3 of Mitsui showing inclined angles of reverse curve and outgoing curve which are within the ranges disclosed in the application as denoted by labeled angles.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872