DETAILED ACTION
Amendments filed on 2/23/2026 have been entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 in line 14 and claim 11 in line 16 recites “peak cooling”; it must be recited as “a peak cooling”. Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 8 and 18 cannot be allowable at this time, because they are depending from claims 1 and 11 which are rejected under 112(b) rejections.
Claim 20 is allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, 11, 15 and depending claims 2-4, 6-10, 12-14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites in line 9 “in states”. The bolded phrase makes the claimed limitations indefinite, because it is unclear the bolded limitation refers to which states.
Claim 1 recites in line 12 “in open states”. The bolded phrase makes the claimed limitations indefinite, because it is unclear the bolded limitation refers to which states to be opened.
Claim 1 recites in line 19 “a heating state”. It is unclear if the bolded limitation refers to the claimed limitation in line 15 of claim 1. Not only does the phrase in claim 1 lacks a definite article (e.g. they or said) but the limitation is inconsistently recited. Further, it is unclear whether a heating state recited in line 15 is the same heating state of the battery system recited in line 19. More clarification is required.
Claim 1 recites in line 19 “a discharge state”. It is unclear the bolded limitation refers to which state of the discharge. The bolded phrase makes the claimed limitations indefinite, because the specification does not define any state of discharge. More clarification is required.
Claim 5 recites “charge mode” and “peek cooling”. It is unclear if the bolded limitations refer to the claimed limitations recited in claim 1. Not only do the phrases in claim 5 lack a definite article (e.g. they or said) but the limitation is inconsistently recited.
Claim 11 recites in last paragraph “a discharge state”. It is unclear the bolded limitation refers to which state of the discharge. The bolded phrase makes the claimed limitations indefinite, because the specification does not define any state of discharge. More clarification is required.
Claim 15 recites “peek cooling”. It is unclear if the bolded limitation refers to the claimed limitation recited in claim 11. Not only do the phrases in claim 15 lack a definite article (e.g. they or said) but the limitation is inconsistently recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hariharan (US 2022/0266720 A1), in view of Mihara (US 2020/0406776 A1), and in view of Miller (US 2019/0249639 A1).
Claim 1: Hariharan discloses a system (FIG.1) comprising:
an electric drive unit (electric machine 126 used as electric drive unit; paragraph [15]: electric vehicle propulsion system with electric machine) and a power conversion system (power distribution module 138);
an energy storage unit (132) containing at least one phase change material (paragraph [39]: phase change material operate to maintain temperature when load on the energy storage device) and configured to manage thermal energy (functional language); and
a fluid system (paragraph [29]: conduits shown as solid lines used as fluid system) extending through at least one of the electric drive unit (126), and the power conversion system (138), and the fluid system extending through the energy storage unit (132), the fluid system (conduits) containing a fluid and including valves (262) that are positionable:
in states in which the fluid system (paragraph [29]: conduits shown as solid lines used as fluid system) collects heat from at least one of the electric drive unit (126), and the power conversion system (138) and delivers the heat to the energy storage unit (132);
in open state to collect the heat simultaneously from all three of the electric drive unit (electric machine 126 used as electric drive unit; paragraph [15]: electric vehicle propulsion system with electric machine), and the power conversion system (138) and deliver the heat to the at least one phase change material (paragraph [39]: phase change material operate to maintain temperature when load on the energy storage device);
in a heating state (paragraph [35]: heating mode) with peak cooling (paragraph [29]: cooling mode; to clarify, cooling mode of cooling system capable of reaching peak cool) in which the fluid system (paragraph [29]: conduits shown as solid lines used as fluid system) selectively stores the heat in the energy storage unit (132) in the at least one phase change material (paragraph [39]: phase change material operate to maintain temperature when load on the energy storage device) to cool at least one of the electric drive unit (126), the battery system and the power conversion system;
in a heating state (paragraph [35]: heating mode) of the at least one phase change material (paragraph [39]: phase change material operate to maintain temperature when load on the energy storage device) in which the fluid system (paragraph [29]: conduits shown as solid lines used as fluid system) selectively supplies heat from the energy storage unit (132).
Hariharan discloses the claimed limitations in claim 1, but fails to disclose an electric drive unit coupled with a battery system, and selectively supply heat from the energy storage unit to the battery system, a charge mode; in a heating state of the battery system and a discharge state supplies heat from the energy storage unit to the battery system without circulating the fluid through the electric drive unit and the power conversion system.
However, Mihara teaches an electric drive unit (electric devices 5 on vehicle driven by electric power) coupled with a battery system (12), and selectively supply heat from the energy storage unit (paragraph [88]: energy storge unit 61/62 outputs amount of heat) to the battery system (paragraph [54]: thermal energy heats the medium flowing through circulation paths between energy storge units and battery 12) for the purpose of using electric energy effectively therefore improving consumption efficiency of the electric power in the energy management system (paragraph [111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Hariharan to include an electric drive unit coupled with a battery system, and selectively supply heat from the energy storage unit to the battery system as taught by Mihara in order to use electric energy effectively therefore improving consumption efficiency of the electric power in the energy management system.
Further, Miller teaches a charge mode (paragraph [39]: state of charge of the battery); in a heating state of the battery system (paragraph [39]: heating responsive to state of charge of battery) and a discharge state (paragraph [57]: in discharge as function of power delivered to wheels) supplies heat from the energy storage unit (150) to the battery system (214) without circulating the fluid (as shown in FIG.1 heat supplies from storage 150 to battery in system 160 without going through alternator 125 and motor drive 120) through the electric drive unit (120) and the power conversion system (125) for the purpose of improving vehicle performance and extending vehicle’s range while keeping emissions minimal (paragraph [2]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Hariharan to include a charge mode; in a heating state of the battery system and a discharge state supplies heat from the energy storage unit to the battery system without circulating the fluid through the electric drive unit and the power conversion system as taught by Miller in order to improve vehicle performance and extending vehicle’s range while keeping emissions minimal.
Claim 2: Hariharan as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, comprising a controller (14) configured to: determine, by a sensor system (various sensors 16), whether a temperature is above a threshold (paragraph [64]: maintain within threshold temperature); and operate, when the temperature is above the threshold (paragraph [64]: maintain within threshold temperature), the fluid system to selectively collect the heat in the energy storage unit (132).
Claim 3: Hariharan as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, comprising a controller (14) configured to: determine, by a sensor system (various sensors 16), whether a temperature is below a threshold (paragraph [64]: maintain within threshold temperature); and operate, when the temperature is below the threshold (paragraph [64]: maintain within threshold temperature), the fluid system to selectively supply the heat from the energy storage unit (132) to the battery system (Mihara 12).
Claim 4: Hariharan as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one phase change material includes a first phase change material (paragraph [39]: coolant loop 235 includes phase change material PCM – paraffins) with a phase change temperature selected for cooling the electric drive unit (126) and a second phase change material (paragraph [39]: PCM – paraffins) selected for heating the battery system (Mihara 12).
Claim 5: Hariharan as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the fluid system includes a cooling unit (cooling system 24) and a cooling circuit (see FIG.2) extending through the electric drive unit (126), the battery system (Mihara 12), the power conversion system (138), and the cooling unit (24), the cooling circuit (see FIG.2) configured to cool the electric drive unit (126), the battery system (Mihara 12), and the power conversion system (138), wherein in the heating state (paragraph [35]: heating mode) and charge mode (Miller, paragraph [39]: state of charge of the battery) with peak cooling (paragraph [29]: cooling mode; to clarify, cooling mode of cooling system capable of reaching peak cool), the fluid system (paragraph [29]: conduits shown as solid lines used as fluid system) circulates the fluid through the cooling unit in addition to the storing the heat in the energy storage unit (132).
Claim 6: Hariharan as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the fluid system includes a heat collection circuit (heat pump subsystem 32 circulates refrigerant through heat collection circuit as shown in FIG.2) extending through the electric drive unit (126), the battery system (Mihara 12), the power conversion system (138), and the energy storage unit (132), the heat collection circuit (heat pump subsystem 32 circulates refrigerant through heat collection circuit as shown in FIG.2) configured to cool the electric drive unit (126), the battery system (Mihara 12), and the power conversion system (138).
Claim 7: Hariharan as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the fluid system includes a heating circuit (heat pump subsystem 32 circulates refrigerant through heat collection circuit as shown in FIG.2) extending through the battery system (Mihara 12) and the energy storage unit (132), the heating circuit (heat pump subsystem 32 circulates refrigerant through heat collection circuit as shown in FIG.2) configured to heat the battery system (Mihara 12).
Claim 9: Hariharan as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, comprising a cooling unit (cooling system 24) in the fluid system (conduits shown as solid lines used as fluid system), the valves (opening/closing valves 222/262 control the flow through the components in the system) configured to control fluid flow between the electric drive unit (126), the cooling unit (24) and the energy storage unit (132).
Claim 10: Hariharan as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, comprising a cooling unit (cooling system 24) in the fluid system (conduits shown as solid lines used as fluid system), the valves (opening/closing valves 222/262 control the flow through the components in the system) configured to control flow between the energy storage unit (132), the battery system (Mihara 12) and the cooling unit (24).
Claim 11: Hariharan discloses a method comprising:
coupling an electric drive unit (electric machine 126 used as electric drive unit; paragraph [15]: electric vehicle propulsion system with electric machine) and a power conversion system (power distribution module 138); containing at least one phase change material (paragraph [39]: phase change material operate to maintain temperature when load on the energy storage device) in an energy storage unit (132) configured to manage thermal energy (functional language);
extending a fluid system (paragraph [29]: conduits shown as solid lines used as fluid system) through the electric drive unit (126), the power conversion system (138); and the energy storage unit (132), and containing a fluid in the fluid system (paragraph [29]: conduits shown as solid lines used as fluid system), and including valves (262) in the fluid system;
collecting, by the fluid system (conduits shown as solid lines used as fluid system) and by positioning the valves (262) in states, heat from the electric drive unit (126), and the power conversion system (138), and delivering the heat to the energy storage unit (132);
positioning the valves (262) in open states, and collecting the heat simultaneously from all three of the electric drive unit (electric machine 126 used as electric drive unit; paragraph [15]: electric vehicle propulsion system with electric machine), and the power conversion system (138), and delivering the heat to the at least one phase change material (paragraph [39]: phase change material operate to maintain temperature when load on the energy storage device);
cooling (cooling system 24) at least one of the electric drive unit (electric machine 126 used as electric drive unit; paragraph [15]: electric vehicle propulsion system with electric machine), and the power conversion system (power distribution module 138) by the fluid system (paragraph [29]: conduits shown as solid lines used as fluid system) selectively storing the heat in the energy storage unit (132) in the at least one phase change material (paragraph [39]: phase change material);
in a heating state (paragraph [35]: heating mode) with peak cooling (paragraph [29]: cooling mode; to clarify, cooling mode of cooling system capable of reaching peak cool); and
selectively in a heating state (paragraph [35]: heating mode) of the at least one phase change material (paragraph [39]: phase change material operate to maintain temperature when load on the energy storage device) in which the fluid system (paragraph [29]: conduits shown as solid lines used as fluid system).
Hariharan discloses the claimed limitations in claim 11, but fails to disclose coupling an electric drive unit with a battery system, and selectively supplying heat from the energy storage unit to the battery system; a charge mode; supplying heat from the energy storage unit to the battery system without circulating the fluid through the electric drive unit and the power conversion system, in a heating state of the battery system and a discharge state.
However, Mihara teaches coupling an electric drive unit (electric devices 5 on vehicle driven by electric power) with a battery system (12), and selectively supplying heat from the energy storage unit (paragraph [88]: energy storge unit 61/62 outputs amount of heat) to the battery system (paragraph [54]: thermal energy heats the medium flowing through circulation paths between energy storge units and battery 12) for the purpose of using electric energy effectively therefore improving consumption efficiency of the electric power in the energy management system (paragraph [111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Hariharan to include coupling an electric drive unit with a battery system, and selectively supplying heat from the energy storage unit to the battery system as taught by Mihara in order to use electric energy effectively therefore improving consumption efficiency of the electric power in the energy management system.
Further, Miller teaches a charge mode (paragraph [39]: state of charge of the battery); supplying heat from the energy storage unit (150) to the battery system (214) without circulating the fluid through the electric drive unit and the power conversion system (as shown in FIG.1 heat supplies from storage 150 to battery in system 160 without going through alternator 125 and motor drive 120), in a heating state (paragraph [39]: heating responsive to state of charge of battery) of the battery system (214) and a discharge state (paragraph [57]: in discharge as function of power delivered to wheels) for the purpose of improving vehicle performance and extending vehicle’s range while keeping emissions minimal (paragraph [2]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Hariharan to include a charge mode; supplying heat from the energy storage unit to the battery system without circulating the fluid through the electric drive unit and the power conversion system, in a heating state of the battery system and a discharge state as taught by Miller in order to improve vehicle performance and extending vehicle’s range while keeping emissions minimal.
Claim 12: Hariharan as modified discloses the method as claimed in claim 11, comprising: determining, by a controller (14) and a sensor system (various sensors 16), whether a temperature is above a threshold (paragraph [64]: maintain within threshold temperature); and operating, by the controller (14) and when the temperature is above the threshold (paragraph [64]: maintain within threshold temperature), the fluid system (conduits) to selectively collect the heat in the energy storage unit (132).
Claim 13: Hariharan as modified discloses the method as claimed in claim 11, comprising: determining, by a controller (14) and a sensor system (various sensors 16), whether a temperature is below a threshold (paragraph [64]: maintain within threshold temperature); and operating, by the controller (14) and when the temperature is below the threshold (paragraph [64]: maintain within threshold temperature), the fluid system (conduits) to selectively supply the heat from the energy storage unit (132) to the battery system (Mihara 12).
Claim 14: Hariharan as modified discloses the method as claimed in claim 11, comprising: selecting the at least one phase change material (paragraph [39]: coolant loop 235 includes phase change material PCM – paraffins) to include a first phase change material with a phase change temperature selected for cooling (cooling system 24) the electric drive unit (126); and selecting the at least one phase change material to include a second phase change material (phase change material PCM – paraffins) selected for heating (paragraph [33]: heating mode) the battery system (Mihara 12).
Claim 15: Hariharan as modified discloses the method as claimed in claim 11, comprising:
including, in the fluid system (conduits), a cooling unit (cooling system 24) and a cooling circuit (see FIG.2) extending through the electric drive unit (126), the battery system (Mihara 12), the power conversion system (138), and the cooling unit (24);
cooling, by the cooling circuit (see FIG.2), the electric drive unit (126), the battery system (Mihara 12), and the power conversion system (138);
circulating, by the fluid system (paragraph [29]: conduits shown as solid lines used as fluid system), the fluid through the cooling unit (cooling system 24) in addition to the storing the heat in the energy storage unit (132) in the heating state (paragraph [35]: heating mode) and charge mode (Miller, state of charge of the battery) with peak cooling (paragraph [29]: cooling mode; to clarify, cooling mode of cooling system capable of reaching peak cool).
Claim 16: Hariharan as modified discloses the method as claimed in claim 11, comprising: including, in the fluid system (conduits), a heat collection circuit (heat pump subsystem 32 circulates refrigerant through heat collection circuit as shown in FIG.2) extending through the electric drive unit (126), the battery system (Mihara 12), the power conversion system (138), and the energy storage unit (132); and cooling, by the heat collection circuit (heat pump subsystem 32 circulates refrigerant through heat collection circuit as shown in FIG.2), the electric drive unit (126), the battery system (Mihara 12), and the power conversion system (138).
Claim 17: Hariharan as modified discloses the method as claimed in claim 11, comprising: including, in the fluid system (conduits), a heating circuit (heat pump subsystem 32 circulates refrigerant through heat collection circuit as shown in FIG.2) extending through the battery system (Mihara 12) and the energy storage unit (132); and heating, by the heating circuit (heat pump subsystem 32 circulates refrigerant through heat collection circuit as shown in FIG.2), the battery system (Mihara 12).
Claim 19: Hariharan as modified discloses the method as claimed in claim 11, comprising: charging, when the electric drive unit (126) is included in an aircraft and by ground based equipment that is temporarily coupled to the aircraft (intended use), the energy storage unit (132) with the at least one phase change material (phase change material) selected for cooling the electric drive unit (126) when the aircraft is at ground level (intended use).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763