DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action is response to communications received on 11/20/2023. Claims 26-46 are currently pending and addressed below.
Double Patenting
Claims 26-32 & 34-42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 & 9-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,672,671. The elements of the instant application are to be found in the Patent and therefore are anticipated. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
Regarding Claims 26 & 31, patent claim 1 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claims 27-30, patent claims 2-5 respectively recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 32, patent claim 9 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claims 34-42, patent claims 10-18 respectively recite the same limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-28, 30, 31, 37, 38 & 40-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernero (US 8,252,058) in view of Istephanous et al. (US 2006/0190079).
Regarding Claims 26 & 37, Bernero discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Bernero teaches a joint prosthesis (10) comprising:
a first component (16) configured to be attached to a first vertebrae (12), the first component comprising:
a first body portion comprising a first surface (28) and a convex articulating surface (20) extending from the first surface, the first body portion further comprising a first bone facing surface (26) opposite the first surface, the first body portion sized to be positioned on a first articular facet of the first vertebrae without extending into a disc space (intended use limitations must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The Bernero device is fully capable of being positioned in the claimed manner.);
a second component (18) configured to be attached to a second vertebrae (14) adjacent the first vertebrae, the second component comprising:
a second body portion comprising a second surface (30) and a concave articulating surface (22) recessed from the second surface, the second body portion further comprising a second bone facing surface (26) opposite the second surface, the second body portion sized to be positioned on a second articular facet of the second vertebrae without extending into the disc space (intended use limitations must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The Bernero device is fully capable of being positioned in the claimed manner.);
wherein each of the concave articulating surface (22) and the convex articulating surface (20) is non-spherical with a major dimension (A or AA in Fig 2) and a minor dimension (B or BB in Fig 4), wherein the major dimension (AA) of the concave articulating surface is greater than the major dimension (A) of the convex articulating surface (Col 4: lines 53-57), and wherein the minor dimension (BB) of the concave articulating surface is greater than the minor dimension (B) of the convex articulating surface.
However, Bernero does not disclose a first flange extending from the first body portion and configured to be secured to a posterior facing side of the first vertebrae, the first flange comprising a first aperture; and a second flange extending from the second body portion and configured to be secured to a posterior facing side of the second vertebrae, the second flange comprising a second aperture.
Istephanous teaches an artificial disc implant in the same field of endeavor. Said implant comprising a first flange (34) extending from the first body portion (22) and configured to be secured to a first vertebrae (26), the first flange comprising a first aperture (36); and a second flange (56) extending from the second body portion (24) and configured to be secured to a second vertebrae (27), the second flange comprising a second aperture (58). Said flanges are configured to anchor of the prosthesis within the disc space post-operatively [0045].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the first and second flanges, as taught by Istephanous, to the device of Bernero in order to further anchor the implant within the disc space post-operatively.
Regarding Claim 27, the combination teaches wherein the second flange is shaped differently from the first flange (Fig 3 illustrates both a different angle and different overall shape of flanges 34 & 56).
Regarding Claims 28 & 38, the combination teaches wherein the first component (16) comprises a first anchoring element (24) on the first bone facing surface, and wherein the second component (18) comprises a second anchoring element (24) on the second bone facing surface.
Regarding Claims 30, 40 & 44, the combination teaches wherein a depth of the concave articulating surface is less than a thickness of the convex articulating surface (Figs 3 & 5 illustrate the upper-most convex surface proud of the upper-most concave surface).
Regarding Claim 31, the combination teaches wherein each of the first flange and the second flange are configured to receive an anchor (37 in Fig 4).
Regarding Claims 41 & 45, the combination teaches wherein each of the concave articulating surface and the convex articulating surface is non-spherical with a major dimension and a minor dimension (Col 4: lines 53-57).
Regarding Claims 42 & 46, the combination teaches wherein the major dimension (AA) of the concave articulating surface (22) is greater than the major dimension (A) of the convex articulating surface (20), and wherein the minor dimension (BB) of the concave articulating surface (22) is greater than the minor dimension (B) of the convex articulating surface (20) (Col 4: lines 53-57).
Regarding Claim 43, the combination as set forth in the rejection of claim 26 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Further, Bernero teaches wherein the convex articulating surface (20) and the concave articulating surface (22) are sized and shaped to allow the first component to translate relative to the second component in an anterior-posterior direction (as shown by the oversized concave articular surface in Fig 3) and medial-lateral direction when implanted (as shown by the oversized concave articular area surface in Fig 5); wherein the convex articulating surface and the concave articulating surface are sized and shaped to allow the first component to tilt relative to the second component in the anterior-posterior direction (Fig 3) and the medial-lateral direction (Fig 5) when implanted; and wherein the convex articulating surface and the concave articulating surface are sized and shaped to allow the first component to be rotated relative to the second component (again due to the oversized concave articular surface in both the A-P and M-L planes).
Claim(s) 29, 32, 34-36 & 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernero (US 8,252,058) in view of Istephanous et al. (US 2006/0190079) and in further view of Reichen et al. (US 9,168,148).
Regarding Claims 29 & 39, as set forth supra, the combination discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, the combination does not disclose wherein each of the first anchoring element and the second anchoring element comprises a keel extending in the anterior-posterior direction.
Reichen teaches an articulating disc implant (100) in the same field of endeavor. Said Implant comprises superior and inferior keels (17, 27) extending in an anterior-posterior direction (Fig 3) to aid in securing the implant to the vertebra (Col 8: lines 10-12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the A-P oriented keels, as taught by Reichen, to the first and second components of the combination in order to further aid in securing the implant post-operatively.
Regarding Claim 32, the combination as set forth in the rejection of claim 26 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Further, Bernero teaches wherein the first and second body portions comprise a generally flat surface around a perimeter their perimeters. And wherein the convex articulating surface (20) and the concave articulating surface (22) are sized and shaped to allow the first component to translate relative to the second component in an anterior-posterior direction (as shown by the oversized concave articular surface in Fig 3) and medial-lateral direction when implanted (as shown by the oversized concave articular area surface in Fig 5); wherein the convex articulating surface and the concave articulating surface are sized and shaped to allow the first component to tilt relative to the second component in the anterior-posterior direction (Fig 3) and the medial-lateral direction (Fig 5) when implanted; and wherein the convex articulating surface and the concave articulating surface are sized and shaped to allow the first component to be rotated relative to the second component (again due to the oversized concave articular surface in both the A-P and M-L planes).
Regarding Claim 34, the combination teaches wherein a depth of the concave articulating surface is less than a thickness of the convex articulating surface (Figs 3 & 5 illustrate the upper-most convex surface proud of the upper-most concave surface).
Regarding Claim 35, the combination teaches wherein each of the concave articulating surface and the convex articulating surface is non-spherical with a major dimension and a minor dimension (Col 4: lines 53-57).
Regarding Claim 36, the combination teaches wherein the major dimension (AA) of the concave articulating surface (22) is greater than the major dimension (A) of the convex articulating surface (20), and wherein the minor dimension (BB) of the concave articulating surface (22) is greater than the minor dimension (B) of the convex articulating surface (20) (Col 4: lines 53-57).
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernero (US 8,252,058) in view of Istephanous et al. (US 2006/0190079) in view of Reichen et al. (US 9,168,148) and in further view of Muhlbauer (US 10,603,184).
Regarding Claim 33, as set forth supra, the combination discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, the combination does not specifically disclose wherein the first body portion and the second body portion each comprises a length in the anterior posterior direction of less than 25 mm and a width in the medial-lateral direction of less than 15 mm.
Muhlbauer teaches an intervertebral disc implant in the same field of endeavor. Said implant comprising first and second body portions (i.e., endplates) with an A-P length (sagittal plane) of 12-18 millimeters and a M-L length (frontal plane) of 13-21 millimeters (Col 11: lines 15-25) in order to fit properly within the intervertebral disc space.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the device of the combination with the dimensions, as taught by Muhlbauer, in order to properly fit the device within the intervertebral space.
Conclusion
/BRIAN A DUKERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774