dDETAILED ACTION
Applicant's amendments and remarks, filed 1/20/26, are fully acknowledged by the Examiner. Currently, claims 1 and 93-115 are pending with claims 74-92 canceled, claims 93-115 added, and claim 1 amended. The following is a complete response to the 1/20/26 communication.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Claim 93, 97 and Claim 110 recite.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 95-96 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischell (US 2015/0119875) in view of Toth (US 2016/0082180), in further view of Levin (US 2018/0110561).
Regarding claim 1, Fischell teaches a method of treating for preventing heart failure or a symptom of heart failure in a subject in need thereof comprising:
inserting a catheter into a vascular lumen defined by a vascular tissue of the subject (catheter 140);
guiding the catheter through the vascular lumen to a location proximate to a target nerve (par. [0048]),
stimulating the target nerve from within the vascular lumen and measuring a resultant signal in response to stimulating to determine a position of the target nerve (par. [0148]);
piercing, after determining the position of the target nerve (par. [0210]), the vascular tissue of the subject with a needle assembly extending outwards from the catheter towards the target nerve to produce an aperture in the vascular tissue (par. [0125] needle pokes hole to reach target tissue), wherein the telescopic needle assembly includes an electrode assembly (par. [0153]); and
delivering, from outside the vascular lumen, a stimulation energy to the target nerve with the electrode assembly (par. [0118] energy for ablating nerves from a generator outside the lumen), thereby fully or partially ablating the target nerve and treating or preventing heart failure or a symptom of heart failure in the subject (par. [0118]).
Fischell is silent regarding wherein the target nerve comprises the greater splanchnic nerve.
However, Toth teaches target nerves varying depending on the desired treatment, such as a splanchnic nerve (par. [0201]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fischell with treating splanchnic nerves as in Toth, depending on the target area desired to be treated.Fischell is silent regarding the vascular lumen being an intercostal vein or an azygous vein.However, Levin teaches reaching the splanchnic nerves through intercostal veins or azygos vein (par. [0034]).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the lumen to be accessed is the intercostal or azygous vein, as in Levin, allowing for treatment of the greater splanchnic nerve.
Regarding claim 95, Fischell teaches extending an unsheathed needle of the needle assembly outwards from an exit port of the catheter, the unsheathed needle including the electrode assembly thereon (Fig. 2 with needle with electrodes extending out of an exit port of the catheter).
Regarding claim 96, Fischell teaches after ablating a nerve, stimulating the nerve and measuring a physiological response to determine if the ablating was successful (at least par. [0090]-[0091] measurement after nerve activity to see if ablation is successful).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the remarks, filed 1/20/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The references do not teach the claims as amended. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Levin as a secondary reference.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BO OUYANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3794 /JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794