DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the plurality of first openings" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, examiner will read ‘the plurality of first openings’ as the --plurality of tissue anchor openings-- claimed in claim 1.
Claim 12, line 2 recites ‘the sewing skirt’ - it is unclear if the ‘sewing skirt’ is the one first claimed in claim 9 or if it is the sewing skirt of the apical cuff as claimed in claim 12. For the purpose of examination, examiner will read line 2’s ‘sewing skirt’ as the one associated with the apical cuff.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 3 - examiner suggests amending ‘the apical cuff axial compression assembly’ to --the axial compression assembly-- since this appears to be a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 1-2 - examiner suggests amending ‘the apical cuff axial compression assembly’ to --the axial compression assembly-- since this appears to be a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 15 & 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,684,770 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 to ‘770 discloses an axial compression assembly configured for affixation of an apical cuff to cardiac tissue, the apical cuff having a substantially annular frame, an upper portion of the substantially annular frame is configured to couple to a pump and a lower portion of the substantially annular frame is configured to couple to a sewing skirt, the sewing skirt is joined to the lower portion of the substantially annular frame and extends radially outward from an outer circumference of the central annular frame, the sewing skirt having an lower surface configured to abut the cardiac tissue and an upper surface opposing the lower, consisting essentially of: a substantially unitary ring member having a central opening, an upper surface, a lower surface, an outer circumference, and a plurality of tissue anchor openings passing axially through and positioned circumferentially about substantially an entire circumference of the substantially unitary ring member, the central opening configured to accommodate the central annular frame to pass there through such that the substantially unitary ring member abuts the upper surface of the sewing skirt, the plurality of tissue anchor openings are in axial alignment with a portion of the upper surface of the sewing skirt and an outer circumference of the sewing skirt projects beyond the outer circumference of the substantially unitary ring member; and a plurality of tissue anchors disposed in the plurality of tissue anchor openings and configured to pass through an upper surface of the sewing skirt and exert an axially compressive force about the substantially entire circumference of the substantially unitary ring member and the sewing skirt and onto the cardiac tissue. Since application claims 15 & 16 are anticipated by claim 1 to ‘770, the claims are not patentably distinct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andrus (US Pub. No. 2017/0173236 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Andrus discloses an apical cuff axial compression assembly for affixation of an apical cuff having a sewing skirt to cardiac tissue (it is noted that the preceding italicized language is being considered as an intended use statement, meaning, the ‘apical cuff having a sewing skirt’ is not positively recited as part of the assembly), comprising: at least one member 31 (Figs. 1-3) configured to define an annular ring (Figs. 1-3) having a central opening 33 (Figs. 1-3) and having a plurality of openings 34a,b (Figs. 1-3) positioned in a spaced apart relation about at least a substantial circumferential extent of the annular ring, the at least one member configured to bear against the sewing skirt (NOTE: the sewing skirt is not positively recited as pointed out above, therefore, it is considered that the structure of the at least one member being anticipated by the prior art would be capable of bearing against a sewing skirt as claimed); and a plurality of tissue anchors 61 (Figs. 1-3) configured to pass into and through the plurality of openings 34a,b (Figs. 1-3), the sewing skirt (see NOTES above regarding the positive recitation of the sewing skirt) and into cardiac tissue, and exert an axially compressive force onto the ring member, the sewing skirt, and the cardiac tissue as a primary securement of the apical cuff to the cardiac tissue (since the prior art meets the structural requirements of the claim, it is considered to also be capable of performing the above recited function).
Regarding claim 16, Andrus further discloses wherein the plurality of tissue anchor openings 34a,b are positioned radially inward from an outer perimeter of the sewing skirt (NOTE: this limitation is dependent on the size of sewing skirt that is chosen to be used with the assembly - since the sewing skirt is not positively recited as part of the claimed invention, it is considered that the openings would be capable of being positioned radially inward from an outer perimeter of the sewing skirt if the chosen size of the sewing skirt were to accommodate this arrangement).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14* are allowed. (NOTE: claims 2 and 12 have been rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for indefiniteness and claims 12 & 14 have been objected to for minor informalities - these rejections/objections need to be overcome before these claims can be allowed).
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the following is considered to be the closest prior art to the claimed invention: US Pub. No. 2015/0112120 A1; US Pub. No. 2016/0374674 A1; WO 2014/145811; & US Pat. No. 3,587,115. Regarding claim 1, the prior art fails to disclose teach or suggest the axial compression assembly to incorporate, in combination, a plurality of tissue anchors, a sewing skirt having an annular ring having absorptive and/or hemostatic properties; and at least one compression member defining a central opening and having a plurality of tissue anchor openings. Regarding claim 14, in addition to the elements in combination of claim 1, the prior art fails to further disclose, teach, or suggest a delivery tool with a housing that retains each of the plurality of tissue anchors in a corresponding delivery tool channel.
Claims 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 17, the prior art fails to further disclose, teach or suggest wherein the plurality of tissue anchors further comprises a tissue screw having a tissue screw head and a helical coil projecting from the tissue screw head.
Conclusion
ASHLEY LAUREN FISHBACK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/ASHLEY L FISHBACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771 December 3, 2025