DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 15 and claims depending therefrom have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 4 – 6 and 8 - 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holcom (US Pub. 2005/0062026) in view of Antonsson et al. (US Pat. 4222382).
Claims 1 and 13, Holcom discloses a device [abstract, Figs. 1 – 5 and Fig.5 above], comprising:
an elongated body [defined by at least a body portion of 10] comprising a handle portion [at least a gripping portion of 13] and a screw engaging portion [at least a portion by 12], the screw engaging portion being configured to engage a screw [at least a portion by 12 capable of engaging a fastener, i.e. 65, Figs. 5. Note: the screw is not part of the claimed device, and the device of Holcom exhibits substantially identical structure to that claimed and is intended to be used with a fastener, and therefore inherently capable of being used with a surgical screw], the handle portion being disposed at an angle to the screw engaging portion, the angle being greater than 90 degrees [Fig.5 above, defining an obtuse angle],
wherein the handle portion is substantially flat [Fig.4],
wherein the screw engaging portion comprises a bifurcated protrusion that comprises a first part and a second part, the first and second parts defining a generally V-shaped groove [at least two parts defining V-groove 71, Fig. 5 above], and wherein the device is made of stainless steel [col.2/II. 26 – 55].
Holcom does not disclose wherein the bifurcated protrusion has an exterior surface that is biocompatible being stainless steel.
Antonsson teaches an analogous device [abstract, Figs. 1 – 4] formed at least in part of biocompatible material being stainless steel [¶19], and configured to engage surgical fastener [Fig.1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to combine the teachings of Holcom and Antonsson, and construct the device of Holcom from biocompatible grade stainless steel in view of Antonsson. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a device made of a biocompatible material that can be used with an anatomy without causing irritation.
The combination of Holcom and Antonsson discloses the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further, Holcom discloses:
Claim 2, wherein the handle portion has a first longitudinal axis and the screw engaging portion has a second longitudinal axis, wherein the first longitudinal axis is not coincident with the second longitudinal axis [Fig.5 above].
Claim 4, though Holcom does not explicitly disclose wherein the angle is about 120 degrees.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to construct the device with an obtuse angle being about 120 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 5, wherein the first part has a first edge that faces the second part and the second part has a second edge that faces the first part, wherein the first edge or the second edge comprises a bevel that forms a cutting surface [Fig.4, bevel edges of 68 forming the V-shape, which is capable of cutting object].
Claim 6, wherein both the first edge and the second edge comprise a bevel that forms a cutting surface [Fig.4, bevel edges of 68 forming the V-shape, which is capable of cutting object].
Claim 8, wherein the screw engaging portion defines a plane, and the first part or the second part is coextensive of the plane [Fig.5 above, defined by an imaginary plane relative to the parts, in such a way at least one of the parts is not or is coextensive].
Claim 9, The device of claim 8, wherein the first or the second part is not coextensive of the plane [Fig.5 above, defined by an imaginary plane relative to the parts, in such a way at least one of the parts is not or is coextensive].
Claim 10, wherein either the first part or the second part tapers to a point [Fig.4, above, due to bevel 42 or due to the V-shaped groove].
Claim 11, wherein the first part and second part taper to spaced-apart points [Fig.4, due to bevel 42 or due to the V-shaped groove].
Claim 12, Holcom discloses wherein a distance between the spaced apart points is shown [Fig.2b].
Although, the combination of Holcom and Antonsson does not explicitly disclose wherein a distance between the spaced-apart points is about 3 mm to about 13 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to construct the device having a distance between the spaced-apart points is about 3 mm to about 13 mm for the sake of providing a device having a desired configuration and dimension for the intended use, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 14, wherein the handle portion has a first length, wherein the screw engaging portion has a second length, wherein the first length is greater than the second length [Fig.5 above].
Claims 15 and 16, Holcom discloses a device [abstract, Figs. 1 – 5 and Fig.5 above], comprising:
an elongated body [defined by at least a body portion of 10] comprising a handle portion [at least a gripping portion of 13] and a screw engaging portion [at least a portion by 12], the screw engaging portion being configured to engage a screw [at least a portion by 12 capable of engaging a fastener, i.e. 65, Figs. 5. Note: the screw is not part of the claimed device, and the device of Holcom exhibits substantially identical structure to that claimed and is intended to be used with a fastener, and therefore inherently capable of being used with a surgical screw], the handle portion being disposed at an angle to the screw engaging portion, the angle being greater than 90 degrees [Fig.5 above, defining an obtuse angle],
wherein the handle portion is substantially flat [Fig.4],
wherein the screw engaging portion comprises a bifurcated protrusion that comprises a first part and a second part, the first and second parts defining a generally V-shaped groove [at least two parts defining V-groove 71, Fig. 5 above] and wherein the screw engaging portion defines a plane, wherein one of the first or the second part is coextensive of the plane [Fig.5 above, defined by an imaginary plane relative to the parts, in such a way the parts not to be or to be coextensive].
Holcom does not disclose wherein the bifurcated protrusion has an exterior surface that is biocompatible being stainless steel.
Antonsson teaches an analogous device [abstract, Figs. 1 – 4] formed at least in part of biocompatible material being stainless steel [¶19], and configured to engage surgical fastener [Fig.1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to combine the teachings of Holcom and Antonsson, and construct the device of Holcom from biocompatible grade stainless steel in view of Antonsson. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a device made of a biocompatible material that can be used with an anatomy without causing irritation.
The combination of Holcom and Antonsson discloses the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further, Holcom discloses:
Claim 17, an impact-receiving element disposed on a distal end of said handle portion configured to receive forcible contact from an impact apparatus [at least a portion by 15, defines an impact-receiving element].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL S HANNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775