DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 were rejected in the Office Action from 02/23/2026.
Applicant filed a response, amended claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 10-11, and cancelled claim 6.
Claims 1-5 and 7-17 are currently pending in the application, of claims 12-17 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
In response to the amendments in the claims, the previous claim objections and the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections for the claims are withdrawn from the record.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) have been fully considered. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jung.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0081570) and further in view of Jung et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0372335).
Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches an electrode (i.e., electrode plate) (paragraph [0032]) (see figures 7A and 7B) comprising a coated portion (212) that is coated with an active material (paragraph [0078);
an uncoated portion (213a; 213b) that is not coated with the active material (paragraph [0010]) (see figure 7A below); and
at least one selected from the group consisting of a first straight section formed by cutting out a part of the boundary region between the coated portion and the uncoated portion (see figure 7A below) and a second straight section (216a) formed by cutting out an edge of the coated portion (paragraph [0086]).
Jang does not explicitly articulate the specifics of wherein a length of a side where the coated portion and the uncoated portion come into contact is longer than a length of a side opposing the same.
Jung, directed to an electrode assembly (abstract), teaches an electrode assembly with electrode tabs (110 and 120) protruding from the electrode where a length of a side where the coated portion and the uncoated portion come into contact is longer than a length of a side opposing the same (i.e., tab may have a trapezoidal shape) (paragraph [0037) (see figure 3). Jung teaches such configuration improve durability and prevent cracks from occurring (paragraph [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date if the claimed invention to modify Jang tab wherein a length of a side where the coated portion and the uncoated portion come into contact is longer than a length of a side opposing the same, as suggested by Jung, in order to improve durability of the tab and prevents cracks from occurring.
Regarding claim 2, Jang teaches the first straight section comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a 1-1 straight section having a predetermined length in a direction from one end of the coated portion to the center of the coated portion that is set to be perpendicular to the boundary region (see figure 7a below).
Regarding claim 4, Jang teaches the coated portion comprises a first edge portion adjacent to the boundary region with the uncoated portion (see figure 7a below); and a second edge portion spaced apart from the boundary region with the uncoated portion (see figure 7a below), and the second straight section comprises at least one selected from the group consisting a 2-1 straight section and a 2-2 straight section formed by cutting out the first edge portion (see figure 7a below).
Regarding claims 7-8, Jang teaches an electrode assembly comprising an electrode including a cathode or an anode and a separator interposed between the cathode and the anode (paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 9, Jang teaches the electrode assembly may be one in which the cathode and the anode are alternately stacked (i.e., stacked structure) (paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claims 10-11, Jang teaches the electrode assembly include a plurality of positive electrodes, a plurality of negative electrodes, and a plurality of separators in a stacked structure (paragraph [0037]) therefore, the first and second straight sections on the cathode or anode would be align in the stacking direction.
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0081570) and Jung et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0372335) as applied to claims 1-2 and 4 above, and further in view of Byun et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0177982).
Regarding claims 3 and 5, Jang teaches the electrode as described above in claim 1 including the first straight section and the second straight section.
Jang fails to disclose or suggest the particular dimensions of the straight sections as described in the instant claims.
Byun, also directed to an electrode assembly (paragraph [0007]), teaches an electrode assembly with a coated and uncoated portion (paragraph [0007]) with a boundary region (paragraph [0008]). Further, Byun teaches the dimension of the boundary regions are selected to reduce heat generated during current flow (paragraph [0008]). Thus, it is interpreted that Byun recognizes that the boundary geometry/dimension and length affect electrical resistance, and heat dissipation may be optimized accordingly.
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art seeking to improve thermal performance of the electrode of Jang would be motivated to modify the dimensions of the straight sections of the boundaries in view of Byun teaching that such dimension directly affects heat generation. It would have been obvious to optimize the lengths of the straight sections and boundary interfaces in Jang to achieve a reduce heat generation, as taught by Byun. Adjusting a dimension (such as a length ≥ 2mm or making one side longer than the opposite side) to achieve a known performance (i.e., heat reduction) is generally considered an instance of routine optimization of a result-effective variable.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kanda et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0266845). Kanda teaches an electrode tab with a trapezoidal shape (paragraph [0023]-[0024]) (see figure 2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723