DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 11/19/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/19/2025.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 are currently pending in the application, of claims 12-17 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-11 are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 1, it is suggested to amend “the length” to - -the predetermined length- - to conform to prior recitation.
In claim 7, it is suggested to amend “An electrode assembly comprising an electrode and a separator according to claim 1.” to - -An electrode assembly comprising the electrode according to claim 1, and a separator.- -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the boundary region" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the center of the coated portion” and “the other end of the coated portion”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the length” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the length” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the length of a side”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 10 recites the limitation “a first straight section”. It is not clear if such limitation is the same or different from the limitation “a first straight section” recited in claim 1. For purposes of examination, it will be interpreted as the same.
Claims 11 recites the limitation “a second straight section”. It is not clear if such limitation is the same or different from the limitation “a second straight section” recited in claim 1. For purposes of examination, it will be interpreted as the same.
Regarding dependent claims 4 and 7-9, these claims do not remedy the deficiencies of parent claim 1 noted above, and are rejected for the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0081570).
Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches an electrode (i.e., electrode plate) (paragraph [0032]) (see figures 7A and 7B) comprising a coated portion (212) that is coated with an active material (paragraph [0078);
an uncoated portion (213a; 213b) that is not coated with the active material (paragraph [0010]) (see figure 7A below); and
at least one selected from the group consisting of a first straight section formed by cutting out a part of the boundary region between the coated portion and the uncoated portion (see figure 7A below) and a second straight section (216a) formed by cutting out an edge of the coated portion (paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claim 2, Jang the first straight section comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a 1-1 straight section having a predetermined length in a direction from one end of the coated portion to the center of the coated portion that is set to be perpendicular to the boundary region (see figure 7a below).
Regarding claim 4, Jang teaches the coated portion comprises a first edge portion adjacent to the boundary region with the uncoated portion (see figure 7a below); and a second edge portion spaced apart from the boundary region with the uncoated portion (see figure 7a below), and the second straight section comprises at least one selected from the group consisting a 2-1 straight section and a 2-2 straight section formed by cutting out the first edge portion (see figure 7a below).
Regarding claims 7-8, Jang teaches an electrode assembly comprising an electrode including a cathode or an anode and a separator interposed between the cathode and the anode (paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 9, Jang the electrode assembly may be one in which the cathode and the anode are alternately stacked (i.e., stacked structure) (paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claims 10-11, Jang teaches the electrode assembly include a plurality of positive electrodes, a plurality of negative electrodes, and a plurality of separators in a stacked structure (paragraph [0037]) therefore, the first and second straight sections on the cathode or anode would be align in the stacking direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0081570) as applied to claims 1-2 and 4 above, and further in view of Byun et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0177982).
Regarding claims 3 and 5-6, Jang teaches the electrode as described above in claim 1 including the first straight section and the second straight section.
Jang fails to disclose or suggest the particular dimensions of the straight sections as described in the instant claims.
Byun, also directed to an electrode assembly (paragraph [0007]), teaches an electrode assembly with a coated and uncoated portion (paragraph [0007]) with a boundary region (paragraph [0008]). Further, Byun teaches the dimension of the boundary regions are selected to reduce heat generated during current flow (paragraph [0008]). Thus, it is interpreted that Byun recognizes that the boundary geometry/dimension and length affect electrical resistance, and heat dissipation may be optimized accordingly.
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art seeking to improve thermal performance of the electrode of Jang would be motivated to modify the dimensions of the straight sections of the boundaries in view of Byun teaching that such dimension directly affects heat generation. It would have been obvious to optimize the lengths of the straight sections and boundary interfaces in Jang to achieve a reduce heat generation, as taught by Byun. Adjusting a dimension (such as a length ≥ 2mm or making one side longer than the opposite side) to achieve a know performance (i.e., heat reduction) is generally considered an instance of routine optimization of a result-effective variable.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shin (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0143466). Shin teaches an electrode assembly with coated and uncoated portions and a boundary region where a first straight section and a second straight section is formed (paragraph [0038]) (see figure 3).
Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0013524). Kim teaches an electrode assembly (10) with an uncoated (12,13) and a coated portion (11) and a boundary region (region between the uncoated and coated portion) (paragraph 0027]) (see figures 1a and 1b).
Correspondence
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723