DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites that “the humidifier does not include a substantial compression and retention system.” The term “substantial” is a relative and subjective modifier that lacks an objective standard for determining the scope of the claimed exclusion. The claim does not define what level of compression or retention would be considered “substantial”, nor does it provide criteria by which a given humidifier includes or excludes such a system. This phrase is subjective and lacks an objective standard for determining what constitutes “substantial,” hence failing to inform those skilled in the art of the scope of the claim with reasonable certainty. Additionally, the phrase “compression and retention system” is recited in functional terms without corresponding structural boundary, rendering it unclear what structures are excluded by the claim, particularly in view of the disclosed plates, seals, fasteners and assembly features that necessarily apply compressive force to retain the membrane. MPEP 2173.05(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vanderwees et al. U.S. Pub. No. 20150180059 A1, June 25, 2015 (hereinafter “Vanderwees”).
Regarding claim 1, Vanderwees discloses a humidifier 10 for humidifying a fuel cell system (figs. 1-8, paragraphs 0001-0007). The humidifier plate (wet plate 14 or dry plate 16) having a top 22 plate surface (paragraph 0069 and 0079, figs. 2A-3B). Vanderwees also discloses a water-permeable humidifier membrane 18 disposed between adjacent plates, wherein the membrane is sealed to the planar top sealing surface of the plate (paragraph 0065-0069, 0080).
Regarding claim 2, Vanderwees discloses the humidifier includes a second humidifier plate (the adjacent wet 14 or dry 16 plate, figs. 2A-3B) having a bottom plate surface 24 which is sealed to the opposite surface of the humidifier membrane (paragraphs 0065, 0079-0080, 0089, fig. 6). Vanderwees expressly teaches that the membrane is sealed between each pair of adjacent plate, such that the membrane is bonded to both opposing plate surfaces.
Regarding claim 3, Vanderwees discloses that each humidifier plate (wet 14 or dry 16 plate, figs. 2A-3B) includes a planar sealing surface extending continuously around the perimeter of the flow field (paragraphs 0079-0080). The sealing grooves 68 and sealing material 70 are provided between adjacent plates to form a seal between the first humidifier plate and the second humidifier plate (paragraphs 0087-0089). The seal is defined as bonding the humidifier membrane, with the membrane extending across and being sealed along the perimeter defined by the sealing surfaces (paragraphs 0088 and 0164).
Regarding claim 4, Vanderwees discloses that each humidifier plate (wet 14 or dry 16 plate, figs. 2A-3B) includes a plate main body having inlet and outlet openings functioning as header apertures (paragraphs 0076-0078, fig. 2A-3B). Vanderwees further discloses a flow field defined in a central portion of the plate that is circumscribed by the planar sealing surfaces (top sealing surface 34 (fig. 11), bottom sealing surface 44(fig. 12)) which function as a peripheral lip surrounding the flow field (paragraphs 0024, and 0079). The flow field 32 includes a plurality of apertures defined between support ribs, with connecting webs joining the ribs and separating adjacent openings, thereby forming a lattice-like structure of apertures separated by connecting bridges (paragraphs 0027, 0071-0075, and 0094-0095, figs. 4, 6, and 8)
Regarding claim 5, Vanderwees discloses that each humidifier plate (wet 14 or dry 16 plate, figs. 2A-3B) includes a plate main body having a plurality of grooves 71 formed therein. In particular, Vanderwees teaches sealing grooves 71 (paragraph 0062) provided in the planar sealing surfaces of the plate (figs. 2A-3B, paragraph 0093). These grooves are disposed adjacent to the inlet and outlet openings which function as header apertures, and extend adjacent to and around the flow field (paragraph 0093). The grooves receive sealing material and are positioned between the header apertures and the flow field to form a continuous peripheral seal bounding the flow field and the membrane (paragraph 0117).
Regarding claim 6, Vanderwees discloses that the flow field of each humidifier plate (wet 14 or dry 16 plate, figs. 2A-3B) includes a plurality of support ribs 28 and connecting webs 58 disposed between adjacent ribs 28 (paragraphs 0071-0075, 0094-0095, figs 4-6). The ribs and webs form structural features disposed on the connecting portions of the lattice-like flow field, and are expressly described as being configured to support and receive the humidifier membrane 18 and optional gas diffusion layers, thereby maintaining membrane spacing and preventing sagging (paragraphs 0071, and 0082). Hence, Vanderwees teaches connecting bridges (webs) having a plurality of spacers (ribs and web portions) disposed thereon, wherein each spacer is configured to receive and support the humidifier membrane.
Regarding claim 7, Vanderwees discloses a fuel-cell humidifier comprising stacked plates and membranes assembled using light compressive forces sufficient to seal the plates and retain the membrane, without requiring heavy external compression hardware (fig.7, paragraphs 0061 and 0088). The plates are sealed using integrated sealing grooves and sealing material, and that the stack is assembled using minimal compression sufficient to achieve sealing and spacing, rather than a large or dedicated compression and retention system (paragraphs 0088 and 0099).
Regarding claim 8, Vanderwees discloses that the humidifier plates (wet 14 or dry 16 plate, figs. 2A-3B) are constructed from polymeric materials selected for compatibility with moist air and fuel cel operating conditions (paragraph 0064). The humidifier is used in proton exchange membrane (PEM) fuel cell systems operating at approximately 80oC (paragraph 0004) and that the plates maintain their structural integrity during operation while defining flow fields, sealing surfaces, and support structures (paragraphs 0064 and 0071). Thus, since the disclosed polymeric plates are expressly described as being suitable for and used under normal fuel cell operating temperatures without melting or loss of structure.
Regarding claim 9, Vanderwees discloses a humidifier in which a polymeric material is used to construct the plates. In order to achieve the precise thicknesses and features required, the plates may be manufactured by a molding process, such as compression molding, compression/injection molding, injection molding, sheet molding or thermos-forming (paragraph 0061). Vanderwees also discloses that sealing material 70 may be applied by various methods, for example by silk screening, printing, liquid injection molding or high consistency molding (paragraph 0087). Figure 8 shows during assembly of the core 12, adjacent plates 14, 16 are pressed together, thereby compressing the sealing material 70 to an extent such it spreads into groove 68 and such that the portions of sealing surfaces 34, 44 on either side of groove 68 come into contact with one another, thus providing a "hard stop", and limiting compression of the plates (paragraph 0088).
Regarding claim 10, Vanderwees discloses a fuel cell system comprising a fuel cell stack that produces an exhaust gas stream containing water vapor (i.e., a wet gas stream) and an incoming reactant gas stream having a lower humidity (i.e., a dry gas stream) (paragraphs 0058-0059). Vanderwees further discloses a humidifier positioned between the fuel cell stack and a reactant gas source, the humidifier comprising stacked plates and water-permeable membranes configured to receive the wet gas stream and the dry gas stream (paragraphs 0005, 0056, 00671). Additionally, the humidifier is configured to transfer water vapor from the wet gas stream to the dry gas stream, thereby forming a humidifier gas stream that is subsequently supplied to the fuel stack (paragraphs 0128-0130). Thus, Vanderwees discloses a fuel cell system including a humidifier that receives a wet fluid stream and a dry fluid stream and humidifies the dry fluid stream with the wet fluid stream to provide a humidified fluid stream to the fuel stack.
Conclusion
/M.N.E./
Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776