Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds the 150 word limit and merely consists of a single run-on sentence without regard for proper form. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the intermediate transfer member" in lines 5, 15 and 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adachi et al. (US Pub.2009/0016772).
Regarding claim 1, Adachi et al. (US Pub.2009/0016772) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.1) comprising: a plurality of image forming units configured to form respective toner images in different colors (fig.1, each of four identical sets of #1-#7); an endless-shaped intermediate transfer member that is to move in a peripheral direction of the intermediate transfer member (fig.1, #15) and to which the toner images are to be sequentially transferred from the plurality of image forming units (para.0068); a plurality of first-transfer units provided across from the respective image forming units (fig.1, the plurality of #5) and configured to transfer the toner images formed by the image forming units to the intermediate transfer member (para.0073); a second-transfer unit provided on a downstream side relative to the plurality of first-transfer units in a direction of movement of the intermediate transfer member (fig.1, #21/#25) and configured to transfer the toner images on the intermediate transfer member to a medium (para.0083-0084); and a holding unit (fig.8&4-7, #500/#50 acting on #15 against #20; para.0098) provided, in the direction of movement of the intermediate transfer member, between a downstreammost one of the first-transfer units and the second-transfer unit (fig.1, #20 is between #5 and #21/#25), the holding unit being configured to hold the intermediate transfer member from both sides of the intermediate transfer member (see for example fig.24&25, #51 on both ends of #20; para.0097-0098).
Regarding claim 2, Adachi et al. (US Pub.2009/0016772) teach an image forming apparatus wherein the holding unit includes a first rotatable member configured to rotate while being in contact with an outer peripheral surface of the intermediate transfer member (fig.6, #50B contacting outer surface of #15; para.0092), the outer peripheral surface receiving the toner images to be transferred from the image forming units; and a second rotatable member (fig.1&6, #20) pressed against the first rotatable member with the intermediate transfer member in between (fig.6, #20 sandwiches #15 with #50B), the second rotatable member being configured to rotate while being in contact with an inner peripheral surface of the intermediate transfer member (para.0090).
Regarding claim 5, Adachi et al. (US Pub.2009/0016772) teach an image forming apparatus wherein the first rotatable member cooperates with the second rotatable member in such a manner as to hold a no-image area of the intermediate transfer member, the no-image area being an area where none of the toner images are to be transferred (fig.6, #50B contacts in non-image area).
Regarding claim 6, Adachi et al. (US Pub.2009/0016772) teach an image forming apparatus wherein the no-image area is defined on each of two sides of the intermediate transfer member in a width direction of the intermediate transfer member (para.0097-0098 can be both sides and as shown in fig.6), wherein the first rotatable member includes end portions that are in contact with the respective no-image areas (fig.6); and a connecting portion that connects the end portions to each other (fig.8¶.0097: both side plates as part of the frame connects one end to the other), and wherein the second rotatable member includes a cylindrical portion that holds the inner peripheral surface of the intermediate transfer member over an entirety in the width direction of the intermediate transfer member (fig.1&8, #20).
Regarding claim 11, Adachi et al. (US Pub.2009/0016772) teach an image forming apparatus (fig.1) comprising: a plurality of image forming means for forming respective toner images in different colors (fig.1, each of four identical sets of #1-#7); endless-shaped intermediate transfer means that is to move in a peripheral direction of the intermediate transfer member (fig.1, #15) and for receiving the toner images that are to be sequentially transferred from the plurality of image forming means (para.0068); a plurality of first-transfer means provided across from the respective image forming means (fig.1, the plurality of #5) and for transferring the toner images formed by the image forming means to the intermediate transfer means (para.0073); second-transfer means provided on a downstream side relative to the plurality of first-transfer means in a direction of movement of the intermediate transfer means (fig.1, #21/#25) and for transferring the toner images on the intermediate transfer means to a medium (para.0083-0084); and holding means (fig.8&4-7, #500/#50 acting on #15 against #20; para.0098) provided, in the direction of movement of the intermediate transfer means, between a downstreammost one of the first-transfer means and the second-transfer means, the holding unit being provided for holding the intermediate transfer member from both sides of the intermediate transfer member (see for example fig.24&25, #51 on both ends of #20; para.0097-0098).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4 and 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “a speed of rotation of the first rotatable member at a point of contact with the intermediate transfer member and a speed of rotation of the second rotatable member at a point of contact with the intermediate transfer member are different from each other” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claims 3 and 4.
Prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “an outside diameter of the first rotatable member is substantially equal to an outside diameter of each of the image carriers, and wherein an outside diameter of the second rotatable member is substantially equal to an outside diameter of each of the transfer rotating members” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 7.
Prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “wherein a surface frictional force of the first rotatable member is greater than a surface frictional force of each of the image carriers, and wherein a surface frictional force of the second rotatable member is greater than a surface frictional force of each of the transfer rotating members” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 8.
Prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “a moment of inertia of the first rotatable member is greater than a moment of inertia of each of the image carriers, and wherein a moment of inertia of the second rotatable member is greater than a moment of inertia of each of the transfer rotating members” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 9.
Prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “a load to be applied to a nip between the first rotatable member and the second rotatable member is greater than a load to be applied to a nip between each of the image carriers and a corresponding one of the transfer rotating members” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakamoto et al. (US Pub.2021/0063919) disclose a belt pressure edge roller acting against the edges against an inner roller wherein the two edge rollers are connected by a shaft across the belt width.
Shiobara (US Pub.2012/0070201) teach a pair of belt regulation rollers nipping an intermediate transfer belt, but they are provided downstream of the second transfer station.
Contact Information
/LKR/
1/8/2026
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852