Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are presented for examination on the merits.
Priority
Applicant's claim for the benefit of U.S. provisional patent application 63/391,460 filed July 22, 2022 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5/2/2023 was filed before the filing of a first office action on the merits. As such, the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
FIG. 1 is objected to, because label “110” is listed twice. Is this intended?
FIG. 5 is objected to, for failure to present a stand-alone drawing that aids the reader in understanding the invention. Please describe each step in the flowchart, in addition to the labels. Please cut and paste descriptive terms from the specification. No new matter may be added.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 recites two male charging ports. Is this intended? If not, please consider “a male charging port, wherein the male charging port . . .” Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0126724 to O’Connor et al.
With respect to Claim 1, O’Conner teaches an electric vehicle portable charger device comprising: a battery positioned within a body (“housing”); a charging cord (26); a female charging port in electrical communication with the battery (240); and a male charging port in electrical communication with the battery via the charging cord (24). (FIG. 1)
O’Conner teaches an equivalent system operable to perform the method recited in the instant invention, but does not use the same verbiage; however, the applied reference(s) need not use the same terminology, or disclose the limitations verbatim. For example, O’Conner teaches a male charging port comprising a handle in FIG. 1, and a human machine interface comprising a button ([0019];[0032]) for activating the charging system; together they teach a handle comprising a button for activating the charging system. The structures are a simple substitute for the recited limitation. See, KSR international Co. v. Teleflex Inc. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify O’Conner to include the specified verbiage and recited limitation.
With respect to Claim 2, O’Conner teaches wherein the male charging port is positioned on a charging handle. (FIG. 1 (handle shown in FIG. 1 but not labeled); [0016]; [0019])
With respect to Claim 3, O’Conner teaches wherein the charging handle is comprised of a button. ([0019], human machine interface comprising buttons, cell phone; [0032])
With respect to Claim 4, O’Conner teaches wherein the female charging port is positioned on the body. (FIG. 1)
With respect to Claim 5, O’Conner teaches the system being portable (title). It would be obvious to position a handle on the body. See, KSR international Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (“Use of known technique, and applying same to achieve predictable results).
With respect to Claim 6, O’Conner teaches wherein the male charging port is comprised of an AC Type 1 charging port, an AC Type 2 charging port, a DC CHAdeMo charging port, or a DC CCS charging port. ([0017])
With respect to Claim 7, O’Conner teaches wherein the female charging port is comprised of an AC Type 1 charging port, an AC Type 2 charging port, a DC CHAdeMo charging port, or a DC CCS charging port. ([0045])
With respect to Claim 8, O’Conner teaches an electric vehicle portable charger device comprising: a battery positioned within a body; a battery indicator ([0020]); a fastener ([0032]); a charging cord; a female charging port in electrical communication with the battery; a male charging port; and a male charging port in electrical communication with the battery via the charging cord. (FIG. 1)
With respect to Claim 9, O’Conner teaches a fastener to latch the male port 24 to the connector. ([0045]). It would have been obvious to try that fastener as a suction cup. See, KSR international Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (“choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success”).
With respect to Claim 10, O’Conner teaches wherein the fastener is positioned on the body. (FIG. 2 shows an assembled housing/battery bank, including plural fasteners at the ends of the longitudinal members)
With respect to Claim 11, O’Conner teaches wherein the battery indicator is comprised of a display screen. ([0019])
With respect to Claim 12, O’Conner teaches wherein the display screen is comprised of an LED screen. ([0019])
With respect to Claim 13, O’Conner teaches wherein the battery indicator displays a power amount of the battery. ([0020])
With respect to Claim 14, O’Conner teaches wherein the male charging port is positioned on a charging handle. (FIG. 1)
With respect to Claim 15, O’Conner teaches wherein the charging handle is comprised of a button. ([0019])
With respect to Claim 16, O’Conner teaches wherein the male charging port is comprised of an AC Type 1 charging port, an AC Type 2 charging port, a DC CHAdeMo charging port, or a DC CCS charging port. ([0017])
With respect to Claim 17, O’Conner teaches wherein the female charging port is comprised of an AC Type 1 charging port, an AC Type 2 charging port, a DC CHAdeMo charging port, or a DC CCS charging port. ([0045])
With respect to Claim 18, O’Connert teaches a method of using an electric vehicle portable charger device, the method comprising the steps of: providing an electric vehicle portable charger device comprised of a female charging port, a battery, and a charging handle with a male charging port (FIG. 1); charging the battery by inserting a male electric vehicle charger into the female charging port ([0045]; attaching a body of the device to an electric vehicle via a fastener positioned on the body (FIG. 1;[0029]); and inserting the male charging port of the charging handle into a charging port of an electric vehicle and pressing a button on the charging handle to charge the electric vehicle via power stored in the battery ([0025];[0019];[0032]).
O’Conner teaches an equivalent system operable to perform the method recited in the instant invention, but does not use the same verbiage; however, the applied reference(s) need not use the same terminology, or disclose the limitations verbatim. For example, O’Conner teaches a male charging port comprising a handle in FIG. 1, and a human machine interface comprising a button ([0019];[0032]) for activating the charging system; together they teach a handle comprising a button for activating the charging system. The structures are a simple substitute for the recited limitation. See, KSR international Co. v. Teleflex Inc. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify O’Conner to include the specified verbiage and recited limitation.
With respect to Claim 19, O’Conner teaches wherein the male charging port is comprised of an AC Type 1 charging port, an AC Type 2 charging port, a DC CHAdeMo charging port, or a DC CCS charging port. ([0017])
With respect to Claim 20, O’Conner teaches wherein the female charging port is comprised of an AC Type 1 charging port, an AC Type 2 charging port, a DC CHAdeMo charging port, or a DC CCS charging port. ([0045])
Conclusion
/WILLIAM J JACOB/ Examiner, Art Unit 3696