DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a CIP of PCT/US2021/057804 filed 11/03/2021. PCT/US2021/057804 has PRO 63/109,374 filed 11/04/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 05/02/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/24/2026. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I drawn to a peptide, in the reply filed on 03/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant further elects the species of SEQ ID NO: 5, as a result, claim 2 is withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Status
Claims 2, 8-10 are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1, 3-7, and 11-14 are being examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 depends on the withdrawn claim 10 which recites a method and not a composition. Claim 10 is withdrawn and is not being examined. The claim is therefore indefinite because the metes and bounds are not known. Thus, it is unclear what claim the claim is intended to depend from. For examination purposes, claim 14 is interpreted as depending on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Interpretation
The claim scope has been interpreted as set forth below per the guidance set forth at MPEP § 2111. If Applicant disputes any interpretation, Applicant is invited to unambiguously identify any alleged misinterpretations or specialized definitions in the subsequent response to the instant action. Applicant is advised that a specialized definition should be properly supported and specifically identified (see, e.g., MPEP § 211 l.0l(IV), describing how Applicant may act as their own lexicographer).
Independent claim 1 recites a peptide with the article “comprising”. Claim 7 depends on claim 1 which recites that the peptide comprises at least six contiguous amino acid residues from the N-terminal domain of MMP-13. Claim 11 recites similar claim language. Examiner is interpretating that the peptide of claim 7 comprises the amino acid sequences recited in claim 7 and 14.
"Comprising" is an open-ended transitional term (see, e.g., MPEP § 2111.03(1)), wherein additional amino acids residues are not excluded. However, "'[c]omprising' is a term of art used in claim language which means that the named elements are essential" (see, e.g., id.; see also Genentech, Inc. v. Chiron Corp., 112 F.3d 495, 501, 42 USPQ2d 1608, 1613 (Fed. Cir. 1997)).
Claims 1, 3-7, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rooney (WO 2018/187356A2 – hereinafter “Rooney”).
Rooney teaches immunotherapeutic peptides, peptide binding agents, and their use, for example, in the immunotherapy of cancer (Abstract). Rooney teaches that the peptide comprises at least 8 contiguous amino acids of the epitopes of Table 1-6 (claim 1), that the peptide is between 6 and about 25 amino acids in length, or between about 9 and about 15 amino acids in length [0007, 0106]. Rooney teaches a composition comprising the peptides from Table 1-6, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, or excipient [0012, 0144, 0160, 0255]. Rooney teaches that the peptides are comprises at least 8 contiguous amino acids of the sequence including Table 3 and Table 3 teaches that MMP-13 sequence (See Table 3 at bottom of Page 76) which comprises the instant N-terminal domain of SEQ ID NO: 2, and thus comprises at least six contiguous amino acid residues from the N-terminal domain of MMP-13.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Rooney to include peptides that comprise at least six contiguous amino acid residues from the N-terminal of MMP-13 since Rooney teaches that the peptides are between 6 and about 25 amino acids in length and derived from the sequences including the MMP-13 sequence and for use as immunotherapeutic peptides. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using the teachings of Rooney to arrive to the instant invention since Rooney teaches that peptides can derived from the instant SEQ ID NO: 2, and the peptides can have a length similar to the instant length and for use in the instant way as immunosuppressive peptides. The disclosures render obvious claims 1 and 11.
Regarding claim 3, Rooney teaches the MMP-13 sequence (See Table 3 at bottom of Page 76). This sequence of Rooney comprises at least six contiguous amino acids residues of 245-256 of the instant SEQ ID NO: 4.
Regarding claims 4-6, Rooney teaches that the peptide comprises at least 8 contiguous amino acids of the epitopes of Table 1-6 (claim 1), that the peptide is between 6 and about 25 amino acids in length, or between about 9 and about 15 amino acids in length [0007, 0106]. Rooney teaches a composition comprising the peptides from Table 3, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, or excipient [0012, 0144, 0160, 0255]. Rooney teaches the amino acid sequence of the MMP-13 sequence (See Table 3 at bottom of Page 76) which comprises the instant N-terminal domain of SEQ ID NO: 2. This sequence comprises 6-25, 6-20, and 6-13 contiguous amino acids on the N-terminal domain of MMP-13, rendering obvious claims 4-6.
Regarding claim 7, Rooney teaches the MMP-13 sequence (See Table 3 at bottom of Page 76), which comprises at least six contiguous amino acids residues of the instant SEQ ID NO: 4. Examiner notes that claim 7 depends on claim 1 and claim 1 recites the transitional article “comprising”. The cited reference, Rooney teaches peptides that are same length as the instant peptides teaches that the peptides are derived from the instant sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2, and the sequence comprises some of the sequences recited in claim 7 such as SEQ ID NO: 5, rendering obvious claim 7.
Regarding claims 12-13, Rooney teaches that the peptide comprises at least 8 contiguous amino acids of the epitopes of Table 1-6 (claim 1), that the peptide is between 6 and about 25 amino acids in length, or between about 9 and about 15 amino acids in length [0007, 0106]. Rooney teaches a composition comprising the peptides from Table 3, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, or excipient [0012, 0144, 0160, 0255]. Rooney teaches the amino acid sequence of the MMP-13 sequence (See Table 3 at bottom of Page 76) which comprises the instant N-terminal domain of SEQ ID NO: 2, rendering obvious claims 12-13.
Regarding claim 14, Rooney teaches the MMP-13 sequence (See Table 3 at bottom of Page 76), which comprises at least six contiguous amino acids residues of the instant SEQ ID NO: 5. Rooney teaches a composition comprising the peptides from Table 3, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, or excipient [0012, 0144, 0160, 0255]. Examiner notes that claims recite the transitional article “comprising”. The cited reference, Rooney teaches peptides that are same length as the instant peptides teaches that the peptides are derived from the instant sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2, and the sequence comprises some of the sequences recited in claim 14 such as SEQ ID NO: 5, rendering obvious claim 14.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MERCY H SABILA/Examiner, Art Unit 1654