DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/4/2025 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and a copy with initials is attached herewith.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 5/2/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant's election with traverse of Group II (Claims 8-20) in the reply filed on 12/4/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search and examination of all of the claims could be made without serious burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because: The inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper. Therefore, claims 8-20 are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 8, 9-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by David et al (US 20200282863 A1).
Regarding claim 8, David discloses a system (100) for heating a battery of a vehicle, comprising a first cell (110) having a first cell type; a second cell (130) having a second cell type; a direct current converter (DC/DC converter) (120) having a first side coupled to the first cell and a second side coupled to the second cell; and a processor (102) configured to control flow of a first current between the first cell and the second cell through the DC/DC converter to heat the first cell and the second cell during a first heating phase (first mode); and control flow of a second current between the second cell and the DC/DC converter (102) to heat the second cell during a second heating phase (second mode) [Abstract; Fig. 1; paragraph 0008, 0014, 0035-0036, 0039-0040, 0042-0048, 0050; claim 1].
Regarding claim 10, David teaches that the first heating rate of the first cell (110) is greater than a second heating rate of the second cell (130) [paragraph 0014, 0050, 0063].
Regarding claim 11, David teaches that the processor is further configured to select a magnitude of the first current based on the first heating rate [paragraph 0009, 0016, 0040, 0044-0045, 0048, 0061]
Regarding claim 12, David teaches that the processor is further configured to switch from the first heating phase to the second heating phase when a first temperature of the first cell rises to a target temperature [paragraph 0009, 0016, 0040, 0044-0045, 0048, 0061].
Regarding claims 13-14, David teaches that the processor is further configured to operate the vehicle in one of a propulsion mode and a heating mode, wherein the DC/DC converter couples the second cell to a motor of the vehicle in the propulsion mode and couples the second cell to the first cell in the heating mode [paragraph 0009, 0016, 0040, 0044-0045, 0048, 0061].
Regarding claim 15, David discloses vehicle comprising a system (100) for heating a battery of the vehicle. The system comprises a first cell (110) having a first cell type; a second cell (130) having a second cell type; a direct current converter (DC/DC converter) (120) having a first side coupled to the first cell and a second side coupled to the second cell; and a processor (102) configured to control flow of a first current between the first cell and the second cell through the DC/DC converter to heat the first cell and the second cell during a first heating phase (first mode); and control flow of a second current between the second cell and the DC/DC converter (102) to heat the second cell during a second heating phase (second mode) [Abstract; Fig. 1; paragraph 0006, 0008, 0014, 0035-0036, 0039-0040, 0042-0048, 0050; claim 1].
Regarding claim 17, David teaches that the first heating rate of the first cell (110) is greater than a second heating rate of the second cell (130) [paragraph 0014, 0050, 0063].
Regarding claim 18, David teaches that the processor is further configured to select a magnitude of the first current based on the first heating rate [paragraph 0009, 0016, 0040, 0044-0045, 0048, 0061]
Regarding claim 19, David teaches that the processor is further configured to switch from the first heating phase to the second heating phase when a first temperature of the first cell rises to a target temperature [paragraph 0009, 0016, 0040, 0044-0045, 0048, 0061].
Regarding claim 20, David teaches that the processor is further configured to operate the vehicle in one of a propulsion mode and a heating mode, wherein the DC/DC converter couples the second cell to a motor of the vehicle in the propulsion mode and couples the second cell to the first cell in the heating mode [paragraph 0009, 0016, 0040, 0044-0045, 0048, 0061].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David et al (US 20200282863 A1) as applied in claims 8 &15 and further in view of Shidore et al (US 20220102769 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, David remains silent that the DC/DC converter generates an alternating current to heat the first cell and the second cell. However, it is known in the art to control the DC/DC converter to provide alternating current to both sub-packs to result in battery self-heating [paragraph 0049, 0052]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
/MUHAMMAD S SIDDIQUEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723