DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16, 20-21, 24, 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer et al. (US 2012/0183830 A1) in view of Sasaki (US 2018/0183065).
Regarding claim 16, Schaefer discloses a method of operating a rechargeable battery system (method, see Abstract), said method comprising implementing a heat spreader element in one or each of a plurality of battery cells and bringing the heat spreader element in thermal contact with one or a plurality of external cooling means (battery cells 2” comprises a heat-conductive plate 9 which is partially arranged within the packaging 5 [0050], Fig. 3-4; battery housing 3 filled with cooling liquid 4 [0036], cooling liquid lines 22 [0041], cooling device 12 [0042]), allowing the heat spreader element to receive internal heat of the one or each of the plurality of battery cells and transport the internal heat to the one or the plurality of external cooling means (a section of the heat-conductive plate 11 is arranged at the bottom of the packaging 5 and is completely enclosed by a cooling liquid 4 [0050] and, thus, the ‘heat spreader element’ (section of heat-conductive plate 11) is in thermal contact with the external cooling means (cooling liquid 4, cooling liquid lines 22, cooling device 12; battery housing 3 filled with cooling liquid 4 [0036], cooling liquid lines 22 [0041], cooling device 12 [0042]).
However, Schaefer does not disclose said heat spreader element comprises a material selected from pristine graphene, reduced graphene oxide, graphene fluoride, graphene chloride, graphene bromide, graphene iodide, hydrogenated graphene, nitrogenated graphene, chemically functionalized graphene, brass, Ti, Ni, Mg alloy sheet, silicon nitride, boron nitride, aluminum nitride, boron arsenide, a composite thereof, or a combination thereof.
Sasaki discloses a battery comprising a first heat-conducting layer including a first region containing a heat-conducting material with good thermal conductivity (Title, Abstract, Fig. 1-26), wherein the heat-conducting material includes Ni, silicon nitride, boron nitride, aluminum nitride ([0078]).
Schaefer and Sasaki are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely batteries including a heat conducting layer with the anode, electrolyte and cathode stack.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use one of the heat conducting materials taught by Sasaki to form the heat conducting plate of Ni, silicon nitride, boron nitride or aluminum nitride because Sasaki teaches these materials are compatible to be used within the anode, electrolyte and cathode stack of the battery and have good thermal conductivity for evenly distributing heat across the surface as well as dissipate heat for improved performance.
Regarding claim 20, modified Schaefer discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Schaefer further discloses the one or the plurality of external cooling means is selected from a heat sink, a heat pipe, a vapor chamber, a stream of flowing fluid, a thermoelectric device, a heat exchanger, a radiator, or a combination thereof (battery housing may be filled with vapor of the cooling liquid [0007] which suggests a vapor chamber; cooling liquid may freely flow [0008] which suggests a stream of flowing fluid; heat exchanger in form of a cooling liquid line 22 [0045]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Schaefer discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Further regarding the material properties recited in claim 21 (“said heat spreader element comprises a high thermal conductivity material having a thermal conductivity no less than 10 W/mK”), the published specification of the instant application discloses heat spreader materials include graphite sheet, Ag, Cu, Al, steel, among other materials, having a thermal conductivity no less than 10 W/mK in paragraphs [0036] and [0065]-[0066]. It is noted that once the material is disclosed to be Ni, silicon nitride, boron nitride, aluminum nitride (see Sasaki, Ni, silicon nitride, boron nitride, aluminum nitride [0078]), and, therefore is substantially the same as the heat spreader element of claim 21, it will, inherently, display recited properties (see MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 24, modified Schaefer discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Schaefer further discloses the step of implementing the heat spreader element inside the one or each of the plurality of battery cells comprises placing the heat spreader element in physical or thermal contact with an anode or a cathode for removing heat therefrom (two conductors protrude through the packaging of the battery cell and may have thermal conductivity [0013], the conductor itself comprises a heat transfer element [0015]; Since heat transfer is possible between the conductors having thermal conductivity and the cooling device 12 (‘external cooling means’), the conductors are capable of receiving heat from the cooling device.).
Regarding claim 26, modified Schaefer discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Schaefer further discloses the one or each of the plurality of battery cells has an anode terminal and a cathode terminal for operating the one or each of the plurality of battery cells and the heat spreader element is in thermal contact with the anode terminal or the cathode terminal and wherein said bringing the heat spreader element in thermal contact with one or a plurality of external cooling means comprises bringing the anode terminal or the cathode terminal in physical or thermal contact with the one or the plurality of external cooling means (a section of the heat-conductive plate 11 is arranged at the bottom of the packaging 5 and is completely enclosed by a cooling liquid 4 [0050] and, thus, the ‘heat spreader element’ (section of heat-conductive plate 11) is in thermal contact with the external cooling means (cooling liquid 4, cooling liquid lines 22, cooling device 12)).
Regarding claim 27, modified Schaefer discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Schaefer further discloses the heat spreader element is in thermal contact with a protective housing or a cap of a protective housing and said bringing the heat spreader element in thermal contact with one or a plurality of external cooling means comprises bringing the one or a plurality of external cooling means to thermally or physically contact the protective housing or the cap, removing heat therefrom (a section of the heat-conductive plate 11 is arranged at the bottom of the packaging 5 [0050], Fig. 3-4, such that the section 11 is in thermal contact with the packaging 5).
Claim 17, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer et al. (US 2012/0183830) in view of Sasaki (US 2018/0183065), as applied to claims 16, 20-21, 24, 26-27 above, and further in view of Fortenbacher (US 2018/0108956).
Regarding claim 17, modified Schaefer discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Schaefer further discloses the heat spreader element has an end connected to an electrode terminal of the one or each of the plurality of battery cells or a tab protruded out of a protective housing of the one or each of the plurality of battery cells and wherein the method comprises (a) bringing the electrode terminal or the tab in thermal contact with the one or the plurality of external cooling means (a section of the heat-conductive plate 11 is arranged at the bottom of the packaging 5 and is completely enclosed by a cooling liquid 4 [0050] and, thus, the ‘heat spreader element’ (section of heat-conductive plate 11) is in thermal contact with the external cooling means (cooling liquid 4, cooling liquid lines 22, cooling device 12).
However, Schaefer does not disclose (b) operating the one or the plurality of external cooling means to keep the one or each of the plurality of battery cells at a temperature lower than a desired temperature when the one or each of the plurality of battery cells is discharged or when the one or each of the plurality of battery cells supplies power to an external device.
Fortenbacher discloses a heating element and a thermally conducting material included in a battery, wherein the heating element is activated by turning on/off a switch in response to readings of a temperature sensor (Title, Abstract, [0042], [0077]).
Schaefer and Fortenbacher are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely thermal management of batteries using heat conductive plates/thermally conducting material.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schaefer by incorporating a temperature sensor and switch because Fortenbacher teaches controlling battery temperature within operating range to maintain performance ([0002]-[0006]).
Regarding claim 25, modified Schaefer discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Schaefer further discloses the heat spreader element has the tab protruded outside of the protective housing and wherein said step (a) comprises controllably making the tab in thermal contact with the one or the plurality of external cooling means (a section of the heat-conductive plate 11 is arranged at the bottom of the packaging 5 and is completely enclosed by a cooling liquid 4 [0050] and, thus, the ‘heat spreader element’ (section of heat-conductive plate 11) is in thermal contact with the external cooling means (cooling liquid 4, cooling liquid lines 22, cooling device 12)).
Claim 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer et al. (US 2012/0183830) in view of Sasaki (US 2018/0183065), as applied to claims 16, 20-21, 24, 26-27 above, and further in view of Christian et al. (US 2013/0108897).
Regarding claim 18, modified Schaefer discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, modified Schaefer does not disclose a step of operating a temperature sensor for measuring an internal temperature of the one or each of the plurality of battery cells.
Christian discloses mitigation of thermal propagation for batteries using a graphene coated polymer barrier substrate (Title, Abstract, Fig. 1-4B), wherein equipment such as thermistors may be situated on the substrate ([0026], Fig. 4A-4B).
Schaefer and Christian are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely heat conductive plate/substrates for managing battery temperature.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schaefer by incorporating a thermistor on the heat conductive plate because Christian teaches improved safety and efficiency by closely monitoring battery temperature.
Regarding claim 19, modified Schaefer discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, modified Schaefer does not disclose the step of operating a temperature sensor comprises operating the heat spreader element as a temperature sensor for measuring the internal temperature of the one or each of the plurality of battery cells.
Christian discloses mitigation of thermal propagation for batteries using a graphene coated polymer barrier substrate (Title, Abstract, Fig. 1-4B), wherein equipment such as thermistors may be situated on the substrate ([0026], Fig. 4A-4B).
Modified Schaefer and Christian are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely heat conductive plate/substrates for managing battery temperature.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schaefer by incorporating a thermistor on the heat conductive plate because Christian teaches improved safety and efficiency by closely monitoring battery temperature.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s arguments directed to prior art references Schaefer and Sasaki not showing or suggest the remaining claim limitations directed to the heat spreader element material in claim 16 (see Remarks field 1/29/2026), this is not found to be persuasive because paragraph [0078] of Sasaki still teaches Ni, silicon nitride, boron nitride or aluminum nitride, which overlap with the claimed list of materials.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 3/11/2026