DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Office Action is responsive to amendments filed for application 18/310,777 filed on 03/30/2026. Please note claims 1-3, 7-11, 14-16, and 19-22 remain in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7 of remarks, filed 03/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Panther, US-PG-PUB No. 2011/0002487 and Hayashi, US Patent No. 9,374,639, with supporting rationale provided by “Difference between DSP and General Purpose Processor” [online]. Differencebetween.info, 2014 (hereinafter DB).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 7-11, 14-16, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the term "an audio signal" in lines 3-4 and again in line 7, resulting in improper antecedent basis for the term “the audio signal” in at least line 14.
Claims 2-3, 7-11, 14-16, and 19-22 are rejected as being dependent upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-11, 14-16, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Tang et al (hereinafter Tang), US-PG-PUB 2021/0058704 (previously cited) in view of Panther, US-PG-PUB No. 2011/0002487 and Hayashi, US Patent No. 9,374,639, with supporting rationale provided by “Difference between DSP and General Purpose Processor” [online]. Differencebetween.info, 2014 (hereinafter DB).
Regarding claim 1, Tang discloses an electronic device (A mobile terminal (e.g. mobile phone).....¶[0025], lines 1-4), comprising:
a display configured to be bent or unfolded (A foldable screen (display).....¶[0052], lines 1-3) and provide content (The screens provide video content.....¶[0053], lines 3-5);
a plurality of audio output modules, comprising circuity (The terminal includes two or more physical speakers.....¶[0023], lines 4-5), configured to output an audio signal (Speakers output sound (audio signals).....¶[0034], lines 6-8);
a main processor, comprising processing circuitry (Shown in Fig. 10, processor (1010) hardware (comprising circuitry).....¶[0099], lines 1-8); and
an audio output unit, comprising circuitry (The audio output unit comprises a speaker (comprising circuitry).....¶[0116], lines 8-10), configured to receive and process an audio signal (The audio output unit receives audio data from memory and converts (processes) said data.....¶[0116], lines 1-4) from the main processor (Shown in Fig. 10, the main processor acts as an interface between the memory and the audio output unit) and to route the audio signal to the audio output modules (Audio data is converted and output (routed) by the audio output unit.....¶[0116], lines 1-4) based on audio signal routing set by the main processor (The mobile terminal (including audio routing setting and functionality) is controlled by the main processor, further detailed below.....¶[0125], lines 1-2);
wherein the main processor is configured (The processor is configured to execute a program implementing the speaker and display control methods.....¶[0128], lines 1-8), to:
set the audio signal routing to route the audio signal to the plurality of audio output modules (A stereo audio signal may be output (routed) through the first and second speakers (audio output modules), requiring the audio signal routing to be set for said plurality.....¶[0046], lines 1-3) based on a request for outputting an audio signal from a program executed by the electronic device (An application program of the device performs a sound play function (request to output an audio signal).....¶[0124], lines 4-7);
determine one or more first audio output modules from among the plurality of audio output modules for outputting the audio signal (The audio mode, which controls on (outputting the audio signal) and off (not outputting the audio signal) modes of device speakers (audio output modules) is determined based on a use state of the terminal.....¶[0034], lines 13-15, ¶[0032], lines 1-4), based on a flex state of the display (The use state is based on the folding state (flex state) of the display.....¶[0036], lines 1-4);
activate a first audio output module to output the audio signal (In a third-type mode a first speaker (first audio output module) is in a play mode (activated).....¶[0048], lines 1-4) and deactivate second audio output modules other than first audio output module (In the same third-type mode, the second speaker (second audio output module) is in an off mode (deactivated).....¶[0048]); and
based on a changing of the flex state of the display (The audio mode changes based on the folding state (flex state) of the display.....¶[0041], lines 1-11) from a first state to a second state (States include an unfolded first-type state and folded third-type state, either of which may be an initial or final (first or second) state during a transition.....¶[0042], lines 1-10) while the audio signal is output (During an audio mode switch a speaker may have an audio signal that is being output fade from strong to weak.....¶[0033], lines 2-7), determine a second number of audio output modules corresponding to the second flex state (During a state change the number of audio output modules being used is updated (determined) based on the final (second state), to one module if the final state is folded, or two modules if the final state is unfolded.....¶[0041], lines 7-11, ¶[0048], lines 1-4, ¶[0046], lines 1-3);
based on the second number of audio output modules being greater than a first number of audio output modules corresponding to the first flex state (If the flex state changes from a folded (first) state to an unfolded (second) state the corresponding number of audio output modules changes from one to two.....¶[0042], lines 1-10, ¶[0048], lines 1-4, ¶[0046], lines 1-3), activate at least one second audio output module (If the audio mode changes from third-type to first-type, the second speaker is set in a play mode (activated).....¶[0046], lines 1-3); and
based on the second number of audio output modules being less than the first number of audio output modules (If the flex state changes from an unfolded (first) state to an folded (second) state the corresponding number of audio output modules changes from two to one.....¶[0042], lines 1-10, ¶[0048], lines 1-4, ¶[0046], lines 1-3), deactivate at least one first audio output module (Moving from an unfolded first-type (first state) audio mode to the third-type disables (deactivates) a previously enabled second speaker.....¶[0048], lines 1-4, ¶[0046], lines 1-3).
Tang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the routing is not reset during activation and deactivation of audio output modules, and additionally fails to explicitly disclose an auxiliary processor, separate from the main processor, instead disclosing an audio output unit. Although this audio output unit is capable of receiving and processing audio data (¶[0116], lines 1-3), and although the processor of Tang may include multiple processing units (¶[0125], lines 8-10), it is not explicitly disclosed that the audio output unit is comprised of such an auxiliary processor.
Panther teaches an electronic device wherein, as shown in Figs. 7-9 based on a changing of the display state of the display from a first portrait state to a second landscape state (In an example, the device is rotated from 90 degrees to 180 degrees.....¶[0041], lines 9-13, ¶[0044], lines 5-8) while the audio signal is output (The “R” audio channel is at a maximum amplitude when the device is at 90 degrees.....¶[0041], lines 5-8), deactivating at least one first audio output module (As the device rotates the amplitude of a signal may be fully suppressed, thus deactivating the speaker (audio output module).....¶[0041], lines 9-13), and activating at least one second audio output module (Shown in Fig. 9, as the device rotates from 90 to 180 degrees (912 and 914 on the X axis, respective), speaker (audio output module) C transitions from outputting the left channel, to being deactivated as it crosses the X axis, to activating again to output the right channel at about 90% intensity.....¶[0042]), without resetting the audio signal routing (Shown in Fig. 8, audio routing is set via variable resistors (810, 814) which control an amplitude of a signal provided to speakers (A, B, C). Shown in Fig. 9, the signal routing is adjusted as the device rotates, but volume is steadily controlled via the variable resistors, instead of resetting at the processor level.....¶[0040], lines 4-8).
Panther and Tang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of adjusting smartphone audio routing as set forth by applicant’s specification pg 1, lines 25-29. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang by Panther to provide the benefit of gradual change of audio, avoiding abrupt transition points (Panther, ¶[0038], lines 3-4). Such modification would make obvious the feature(s) wherein the routing is not reset during activation or deactivation of audio output modules.
This combination still fails to explicitly teach an auxiliary processor, as the functions of both Tang and Panther are each ascribed to one generic processor.
Hayashi teaches an electronic device comprising an auxiliary processor (The signal process section of Fig. 2A comprises a digital signal processor (DSP)…..Col. 4, lines 5-6), comprising processing circuitry (The DSP processes signals, requiring circuitry at least for their reception and output…..Col. 4, lines 5-7), separate from a main processor (A control section (16) of the device reads and operates based on programs stored in RAM, and, based on the circumstantial evidence of the prior art, is clearly directed towards a (main) processor separate from the DSP of the signal process section…..Col. 3, line 64 – Col. 4, line 2) and configured to receive and process an audio signal from the main processor (The control section sends audio data to the process section…..Col. 4, lines 2-5) and to route the audio signal to the audio output modules (Shown in Fig. 2A, the signal process section outputs audio to D/A converters and speakers…..Col. 4, lines 8-10) based on audio signal routing set by the main processor (Output is based on control of the control section (main processor)…..Col. 4, lines 10-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tang and Panther by Hayashi to provide the benefit better performance, lower latency, and lower cost when used for signal processing as compared to a generic microprocessor (DB, Pg. 2, ¶1). Such modification would make obvious the feature(s) of an auxiliary processor, comprising processing circuitry, separate from the main processor and configured to receive and process an audio signal from the main processor and to route the audio signal to the audio output modules based on audio signal routing set by the main processor.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Tang, Panther, and Hayashi, as explained above, discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
Tang additionally discloses wherein the display is configured to provide content as the display is folded around a folding axis (The screen may be in a display state (providing content) when it’s folded as shown in Fig. 5.....¶[0037], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tang, Panther, and Hayashi, as explained above, discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
Tang additionally discloses wherein the display is configured to provide content as one end thereof is unfolded (The screen may be in a display state (providing content) when it’s unfolded as shown in Fig. 2.....¶[0037], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Tang, Panther, and Hayashi, as explained above, discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
Tang additionally discloses wherein the first flex state is a state in which the display is unfolded, and the second flex state is a state in which a portion of the display is bent (As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the transition from first to second state may be a transition from an unfolded to folded state).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Tang and Liu, as explained above, discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
Tang additionally discloses wherein the second flex state is a state in which the display is unfolded, and the first flex state is a state in which a portion of the display is bent (As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the transition from first to second state may be a transition from a folded to unfolded state).
Claim 9 is rejected under the same grounds as claim 1, as the methods recited therein are encompassed by the functions of the apparatus of claim 1.
Claim 10 is rejected under the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 11 is rejected under the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim 14 is rejected under the same grounds as claim 7.
Claim 15 is rejected under the same grounds as claim 8.
Claim 16 recites the same function as recited in claim 1 and as taught in the rejection of claim 1 by the combination of Tang, Panther, and Hayashi as disclosed above.
Regarding the additional limitations of claim 16, Tang additionally teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which (A software program may be stored on non-volatile computer-readable memory.....¶[0124], lines 1-13), when executed by an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising (The processor of the electronic device is configured to execute a program implementing the speaker and display control methods.....¶[0128], lines 1-8).
Claim 19 is rejected under the same grounds as claim 7.
Claim 20 is rejected under the same grounds as claim 8.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Tang, Panther, and Hayashi, as explained above, discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
Tang additionally teaches wherein, in response to the request for outputting the audio signal (An application program of the device performs a sound play function (request to output an audio signal).....¶[0124], lines 4-7), the main processor is configured to set audio signal routing for all of the plurality of audio output modules and set the plurality of audio output modules to be in an output-available state (When in the state of Fig. 3, all three output modules may be in use.....¶[0066], lines 1-2, 8-11).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Tang, Panther, and Hayashi, as explained above, discloses the electronic device of claim 1.
Tang additionally teaches wherein the main processor is configured to cancel the set audio signal routing in response to a request to stop outputting the audio signal (While stop requests are not explicitly mentioned by Tang, based on the circumstantial evidence of the prior art (¶[0025], ¶[0053], lines 1-4), the mobile terminal of Tang is clearly guided towards a cellphone capable of starting and stopping playback of audio, such stopping resulting in audio signals no longer being routed (cancelling the routing)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al, US Patent No. 11,144,277 teaches a system of audio control for a device based on reducing the power to the speakers.
Dantrey, US-PG-PUB No. 2015/0117666 teaches an electronic device where an audio processing engine routes audio in accordance with a separate processor.
Pereira, US Patent No. 9,615,176 teaches a mobile terminal wherein an audio signal is gradually transferred from one speaker to another based on a rotation state of the terminal.
/SEAN RINEHART/Examiner, Art Unit 2694
/FAN S TSANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2694