Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Restriction Requirement Response and Amendment filed on 12/30/2025; and IDS filed on 12/30/2025 and 05/02/2023.
Claims 33-39 have been canceled.
Claims 13-15, 17-19, 27-29, 31 are directed to non-elected species
Claims 1-32 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 13-15, 17-19, 27-29, 31 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-in-part, 4-32) and specie elections of “high outputostomy”, “about 50mg”, “administered twice monthly”, “wherein the patient does not experience substantial adverse effects” in the reply filed on 12/30/2025 is acknowledged, wherein Applicant states these elections reads upon claims 1, 4-12, 16, 20, 21, 23-26, 30, 32 for prosecution on the merits. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Note, claims 13-15, 17-19, 27-29, 31 are directed to non-elected species.
Note, the following rejection is based upon art which was found incidental to the search for the elected species. This is not indicative that the entire scope of the claims has been examined; however, the following art is being applied in an effort to promote compact prosecution of the case.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12, 16, 20-26, 30, 32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 8,236,760. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent recites a method for treating short bowel syndrome in a subject in need thereof, comprising: providing a composition comprising exendin-4 (SEQ ID NO:3), a fragment of exendin-4 having the sequence disclosed by SEQ ID NO: 4, a fragment of exendin-4 having the sequence disclosed by SEQ ID NO: 5, exenatide (SEQ ID NO: 1), or combinations thereof, and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient or carrier; and administering a therapeutically effective amount of the composition to the subject to treat the short bowel syndrome(see claim 1), wherein exenatide is a GLP-1 receptor agonist.
The difference between instant application and the patented claims is that the patent claims include additional limitations. Thus, the invention of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”, and, therefore, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the claims of the patent and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, 2nd paragraph
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 10-11, 16, 20-21, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “long-acting” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “long” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this instance when is the acting NOT long?
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 10, 16, 21, 24 contain the term "GLP-1", which is not defined by the claims. Claims must stand alone to define the invention, and should not rely on the description or the drawings to give them meaning (see Ex Parte Fressola, 27 USPQ 2d 1608). Thus, claim 1, at the very least, should define "GLP-1" by its formal chemical name; once "GLP-1" is defined, the term "GLP-1" may be subsequently recited.
Claim 11 recites “about 50 mg to about 50 mg”. This appears to be a typographical error, wherein the second 50 mg should be 150 mg.
The term “substantial” in claims 20 ad 32 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantial” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this instance when is the adverse effects NOT substantial?
Regarding claims 20 and 32, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PIMENTEL et al (US 8,236,760).
PIMENTEL teaches a method for treating short bowel syndrome in a subject in need thereof, comprising: providing a composition comprising exendin-4 (SEQ ID NO:3), a fragment of exendin-4 having the sequence disclosed by SEQ ID NO: 4, a fragment of exendin-4 having the sequence disclosed by SEQ ID NO: 5, exenatide (SEQ ID NO: 1), or combinations thereof, and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient or carrier; and administering a therapeutically effective amount of the composition to the subject to treat the short bowel syndrome(see claim 1), wherein exenatide is a GLP-1 receptor agonist.
Note, the prior art’s method would have substantial adverse effect as claimed by Applicant, because the prior art’s method has the same ingredient and active steps as claimed by Applicant, unless proven otherwise.
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HVISTENDAHL et al (Effect of Liraglutide Treatment on Jejunostomy Output in Patients With Short Bowel Syndrome: An Open-Label Pilot Study. Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition. 2018 Jan; 42(1):112-121; see IDS filed on 05/02/2023).
Regarding claim 1, HVISTENDAHL teaches treating short bowel syndrome (see title) comprised of subcutaneously administering once daily a GLP-1 (glucagon-like peptide-1) receptor agonist, such as liraglutide (see abstract) and exenatide (see pg. 113, 1st col). Additional disclosures include: expanding the half-life from <2 minutes in the native peptide to 13 hours in the dipeptidyl peptidase-4-resistant GLP-1 analogue, wherein plasma half-lives of peptide hormones are currently a "hot topic" when developing new therapeutic pharmaceuticals for treatment within the SBS indication (see pg. 119, 1st col).
Regarding claim 2, HVISTENDAHL teaches the patient has high output ostomy (see pg. 120, 1st col).
Regarding claim 3, HVISTENDAHL teaches the patient has end-jejunostomy (see abstract).
Regarding claim 4, HVISTENDAL teaches exenatide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 16, 20-26, 30, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HVISTENDAHL et al (Effect of Liraglutide Treatment on Jejunostomy Output in Patients With Short Bowel Syndrome: An Open-Label Pilot Study. Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition. 2018 Jan; 42(1):112-121; see IDS filed on 05/02/2023) in view of SCHELLENBERGER et al (US 2010/0323956) and BIOSPACE (Diabetes Drug VRS-859 (Exenatide-XTEN) Featured at American Diabetes Association Annual Scientific Meeting. (2010)).
As discussed above, HVISTENDAHL teaches Applicant’s invention,
HVISTENDAHL does not teach fusing with a half-life extension polypeptide, such as unstructured polypeptide.
SCHELLENBERGER teaches the prior art had known of fusion proteins comprising one or more extended recombinant polypeptides with a non-repetitive sequence and/or unstructured conformation (XTEN) linked to glucose regulating peptide (GP) (see [0007]), wherein GPXTEN fusion proteins exhibits enhanced pharmacokinetic properties compared to GP not linked to XTEN, wherein the enhanced properties include but are not limited to longer terminal half-life, larger area under the curve, increased time in which the blood concentration remains within the therapeutic window, increased time between consecutive doses, and decreased dose in moles over time (see [0013]). Additional disclosures include: GLP-1 (see [0133]); exenatide and exendin-4 linked to AE864 (see [0068]-[0069]), wherein GLP-1 analogs can be used as glucose regulating peptides in the GPXTEN (see [0131]), which would include exenatide (see [0131]),wherein exenatide reads on Applicant’s SEQ ID NO: 1 (see Applicant’s specification after [0043]); the XTEN is fused to the glucose regulating peptide on an N- or C-terminus of the glucose regulating peptide (see [0024]).
BIOSPACE teaches the prior art had known of exenatide-XTEN (see title).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate fusing with a half-life extension polypeptide, such as unstructured polypeptide, with a GLP-1 agonist, such as exenatide or exendin-4. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because the half-life extension polypeptide would increase the half-life of GLP-1 agonist, and reasonably would have expected success because both references dealt with the same field of endeavor, such as GLP-1 agonist.
The references do not specifically teach dosing in the amounts and time, such as once monthly, as claimed by Applicant. The dosing amount and timing of a specific active ingredient in a method is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal dosing amount and timing in order to best achieve the desired results, such as therapeutic effective treatment, decreasing of adverse effect, etc. Especially when the prior art teaches the half-life extension polypeptide (XTEN) will increase “time in which the blood concentration remains within the therapeutic window, increased time between consecutive doses, and decreased dose in moles over time”. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of dosing amount would have been obvious at the time of Applicant's invention.
Telephonic Inquiries
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618