Claim status: claims 1-20 are pending in this Office Action.
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Prior Art Reiection:
Applicant's arguments to claims 1 have been fully considered but they are deemed not persuasive. In response to the argument, please see the new mapping in below
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Natarajan (US20150319182A1) hereafter referred to as “Natarajan”.
Regarding to claim 1:
Natarajan discloses A method of intrusion detection comprising:
detecting a network event associated with a resource ([0002] dynamic cloud-based malware behavior analysis. [0004] receiving known malware signatures at one or more nodes in a cloud-based system; monitoring one or more users inline through the one or more nodes in the cloud-based system for regular traffic processing comprising malware detection and preclusion)
determining a first identifier and second identifier associated with the detected network event ([0038] whether email traffic is to be monitored, whether certain web sites are to be precluded. [0037] web sites and/or content that is disallowed, restricted domains … threat classifications, e.g., a list of known viruses, a list of known malware sites, spam email domains, a list of known phishing sites, et. [0084] Using the URL Risk Analyzer, the original URL as well as the IPs and URLs resulting from the Dynamic Analysis are further analyzed.
performing a first lookup of a first element representing the first identifier in a first probabilistic data structure ([0037] the classifications of content items according to threat classifications, e.g., a list of known viruses, a list of known malware sites, spam email domains, a list of known phishing sites, etc. [0047] Content items may be mapped to index values of the detection processing filter 112 by a hash function that operates on an information key derived from the information item. The information key is hashed to generate an index value (i.e., a bit position). A value of zero in a bit position in the guard table can indicate, for example, absence of information, while a one in that bit position can indicate presence of information. Alternatively, a one could be used to represent absence, and a zero to represent presence. Each content item may have an information key that is hashed. Note: an index value zero or one (hashed domain) is a first probabilistic data structure)
performing a second lookup of a second element representing the second identifier in a second probabilistic data structure (([0037] the classifications of content items according to threat classifications, e.g., a list of known viruses, a list of known malware sites, spam email domains, a list of known phishing sites, etc. [0047] Content items may be mapped to index values of the detection processing filter 112 by a hash function that operates on an information key derived from the information item. The information key is hashed to generate an index value (i.e., a bit position). A value of zero in a bit position in the guard table can indicate, for example, absence of information, while a one in that bit position can indicate presence of information. Alternatively, a one could be used to represent absence, and a zero to represent presence. Each content item may have an information key that is hashed. Note: an index value zero or one (hashed domain) is a second probabilistic data structure)
determining the first identifier does not exist in the first probabilistic data structure based on at least the element returned by the first lookup (([0037] the classifications of content items according to threat classifications, e.g., a list of known viruses, a list of known malware sites, spam email domains, a list of known phishing sites, etc. [0047] Content items may be mapped to index values of the detection processing filter 112 by a hash function that operates on an information key derived from the information item. The information key is hashed to generate an index value (i.e., a bit position). A value of zero in a bit position in the guard table can indicate, for example, absence of information, while a one in that bit position can indicate presence of information. Alternatively, a one could be used to represent absence, and a zero to represent presence. Each content item may have an information key that is hashed. Note: an index value zero or one (hashed domain) is a first probabilistic data structure)
determining the second identifier exists in the second probabilistic data structure based on at least the second element returned by the second lookup ([0037] the classifications of content items according to threat classifications, e.g., a list of known viruses, a list of known malware sites, spam email domains, a list of known phishing sites, etc. [0047] Content items may be mapped to index values of the detection processing filter 112 by a hash function that operates on an information key derived from the information item. The information key is hashed to generate an index value (i.e., a bit position). A value of zero in a bit position in the guard table can indicate, for example, absence of information, while a one in that bit position can indicate presence of information. Alternatively, a one could be used to represent absence, and a zero to represent presence. Each content item may have an information key that is hashed. Note: an index value zero or one (hashed domain) is a second probabilistic data structure);
performing a first action in response to a determination that a rule is satisfied based on the first identifier not exist in the first probabilistic data structure and the second identifier existing in the second probabilistic data structure ([0037] the classifications of content items according to threat classifications, e.g., a list of known viruses, a list of known malware sites, spam email domains [0047] generate an index value (i.e., a bit position). A value of zero in a bit position in the guard table can indicate, for example, absence of information, while a one in that bit position can indicate presence of information. [0044] providing a hash index … for malware, virus detection. [0050] determine the presence and/or absence of information, e.g., whether a particular URL has been checked for malware; whether a particular executable has been virus scanned,. [0079] a BA policy (step 802), the operational method 800 checks if content is suspicious (step 808). … If the content is not suspicious … performs the regular traffic processing (step 804). [0080] If the content is suspicious … blocks the content and shows the user a block page (step 824). The block page notifies the user that the content was suspicious and blocked. [0033] a content item, e.g., a web page. [0037] content items … malware sites, spam email domains, a list of known phishing sites)
wherein the first probabilistic data structure is associated with a first identifier type and the second probabilistic data structure is associated with a second identifier type (([0037] the classifications of content items according to threat classifications, e.g., a list of known viruses, a list of known malware sites, spam email domains [0047] generate an index value (i.e., a bit position). A value of zero in a bit position in the guard table can indicate, for example, absence of information, while a one in that bit position can indicate presence of information … the presence of file information in a virus scan log. [0044] providing a hash index … for malware, virus detection. Note: virus domains and absence of virus domain a first identifier type and second identifier type)
Regarding to claim 2:
Natarajan discloses The method of claim 1, wherein said performing a lookup comprises:
generating a hash of the first identifier ([0047] the detection processing filter 112 may be used as the first stage of an information lookup procedure … The information key is hashed to generate an index value … identify the Uniform Resource Locator (URL) address of URL requests as the information key and hash the URL address); and
performing the lookup on the first probabilistic data structure using the generated hash as an index key ([0047] the detection processing filter 112 may be used as the first stage of an information lookup procedure … The information key is hashed to generate an index value (i.e., a bit position). A value of zero in a bit position in the guard table can indicate, for example, absence of information. Note: table with bits of zeros and ones is probabilistic data structure)
Regarding to claim 3:
Natarajan discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining whether a second identifier exists in a second probabilistic data structure (Fig. 2 [0084] the IPs and URLs. [0100] packets having IP address, DNS name or URL matching the search string. [0047] The information key is hashed to generate an index value (i.e., a bit position). A value of zero in a bit position in the guard table can indicate, for example, absence of information, while a one in that bit position can indicate presence of information … identify the Uniform Resource Locator (URL) address of URL requests as the information key and hash the URL address; or may identify the file name and the file size of an executable file information key and hash the file name and file size of the executable file [0050] the detection processing filter 122 may be a guard table … the master threat data 124 may classify content items by threat classifications, e.g., a list of known viruses, a list of known malware sites, spam email domains, list of known or detected phishing sites, etc … Other remedial actions and processes may also be facilitated by the authority node 120. Note: a table 122 (comprise zeros and ones) is a second probabilistic data structure) ; and
performing a second action in response to determining that the first identifier does not exist in the first probabilistic data structure ([0048] Thus, if the detection processing filter 112 indicates that the content item has not been processed (not checked for malware, virus scane), then a worst case null lookup operation into the threat data 114 is avoided, and a threat detection can be implemented immediately [0047] an information lookup procedure … The information key is hashed to generate an index value (i.e., a bit position). A value of zero in a bit position in the guard table can indicate, for example, absence of information, … may identify the Uniform Resource Locator (URL) address of URL requests as the information key and hash the URL address [0050] determine the presence and/or absence of information, e.g., whether a particular URL has been checked for malware; whether a particular executable has been virus scanned, etc. [0032] cloud-based security system to sandbox unknown content (which can also be referred to as BA content) in the cloud, to install the unknown content for observation and analysis, and to leverage the results in the cloud for near immediate protection from newly detected malware. Note: install the unknown content for observation and analysis, and to leverage the results in the cloud for near immediate protection from newly detected malware is performing a second action) and that the second identifier exists in the second probabilistic data structure. ([0084] the IPs and URLs [0047] A value of zero in a bit position in the guard table can indicate, for example, absence of information, while a one in that bit position can indicate presence of information … identify the file name and the file size of an executable file information key and hash the file name and file size of the executable file [0049] The detection processing filter 122 may include data indicating whether content items have been processed (checked for malware, virus scane). [0050] the detection processing filter 122 may be a guard table … the master threat data 124 may classify content items by threat classifications, e.g., a list of known viruses, a list of known malware sites, spam email domains, list of known or detected phishing sites, etc … Other remedial actions and processes may also be facilitated by the authority node 120. Note: table 122 (see fig.2) is second probabilistic data structure; file name or URLs have been processed for malware/virus and threat classification is the second identifier exists in the second probabilistic data structure)
Regarding to claim 4:
Natarajan discloses The method of claim 2, wherein the first identifier type or the second identifier type comprise:
a username ([0043] user login credentials for registered users of the enterprise 200 system. Such credentials may include a user identifiers, login passwords, and a login history associated with each user identifier);
an access token;
a device identifier;
an application identifier;
a query identifier (0047] identify the Uniform Resource Locator (URL) address of URL requests. [0048] queries where the answer to a request for information is usually positive. Such instances may include, for example, whether content at a given URL has been scanned); or
a process identifier (0047] identify the Uniform Resource Locator (URL) address of URL requests.
Regarding to claim 6:
Natarajan discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the first action comprises at least one of ([0048] Thus, if the detection processing filter 112 indicates that the content item has not been processed, then a worst case null lookup operation into the threat data 114 is avoided, and a threat detection can be implemented immediately.):
logging the network event ([0039 receives user requests to external servers [0043] user login credentials for registered users of the enterprise 200 system. Such credentials may include a user identifiers, login passwords, and a login history associated with each user identifier. [0047] identify the Uniform Resource Locator (URL) address of URL requests);
providing an alert or a notification to at least one of an owner or administrator of the resource; denying access to the resource;
dropping traffic associated with the network event;
rerouting traffic associated with the network event;
isolating traffic associated with the network event; or
terminating a connection associated with the network event.
Regarding to claim 7:
Natarajan discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the first probabilistic data structure comprises at least one of:
a Bloom filter ([0048] the detection processing filter 112 may be a Bloom filter implemented by a single hash function. The Bloom filter may be sparse table, i.e., the tables include many zeros and few ones);
a counting Bloom filter;
a Ribbon filter;
an XOR filter; or
a cuckoo filter.
Regarding to claim 8:
Natarajan discloses A system for intrusion detection comprising:
a processor ([0005] a processor); and
a memory device that stores program code structured to cause the processor to ([0005] a processor communicatively coupled to the network interface and the data store; memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to):
[Rejection rationale for claim 1 is applicable].
Regarding to claim 9:
[Rejection rationale for claim 2 is applicable].
Regarding to claim 10:
[Rejection rationale for claim 3 is applicable].
Regarding to claim 11:
[Rejection rationale for claim 4 is applicable].
Regarding to claim 13:
[Rejection rationale for claim 6 is applicable].
Regarding to claim 14:
[Rejection rationale for claim 7 is applicable].
Regarding to claim 15:
Natarajan discloses A computer-readable storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions, that when executed by a processor, cause the processor to ([0005] a processor communicatively coupled to the network interface and the data store; memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to):
[Rejection rationale for claim 1 is applicable].
Regarding to claim 16:
[Rejection rationale for claim 2 is applicable].
Regarding to claim 17:
[Rejection rationale for claim 3 is applicable].
Regarding to claim 18:
[Rejection rationale for claim 4 is applicable].
Regarding to claim 20:
[Rejection rationale for claim 6 is applicable].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1,148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natarajan (US 20150319182 A1), in view of Martin (US20180004942 A1)
Regarding to claim 5:
Natarajan teaches The method of claim 1,
Natarajan does not explicitly disclose inserting the first identifier into the first probabilistic data structure by: hashing the first identifier with a plurality of hash functions to determine a plurality of mapped elements of the first probabilistic data structure, wherein the plurality of hash functions comprise uniform and independent hash functions that map to different elements of the first probabilistic data structure, updating values of the determined plurality of mapped elements of the first probabilistic data structure based on said hashing the first identifier with the plurality of hash functions.
Martin teaches further comprising: inserting the first identifier into the first probabilistic data structure by:
hashing the first identifier with a plurality of hash functions to determine a plurality of mapped elements of the first probabilistic data structure, wherein the plurality of hash functions comprise uniform and independent hash functions that map to different elements of the first probabilistic data structure (Fig. 1 [0033] The system can also define a k-number of different hash functions —based on a target false positive rate (e.g., <1%)—to map elements from the network accounting log to the bit array [0034] the system can feed event metadata (e.g., an external IP address, a hostname, or a URL) of this event from the network accounting log to each of the k hash functions to calculate k array positions for this element and then set bits at each of these positions to 1 in order …. by feeding the threat element to each of the k hash functions to get k array positions [0032] in Block S120, the system can write metadata (IP address, URL or domain name, and hostname) of network events represented in the network accounting log to a probabilistic data structure; and
updating values of the determined plurality of mapped elements of the first probabilistic data structure based on said hashing the first identifier with the plurality of hash functions ([0033] the system can generate an empty Bloom filter containing a bit array of m bits—all set to null—proportional to: a time window represented by the network accounting log (e.g., one year) [0034] the system can feed event metadata (e.g., an external IP address, a hostname, or a URL) of this event from the network accounting log to each of the k hash functions to calculate k array positions for this element and then set bits at each of these positions to 1 in order. Note: see fig. 1 entries of ones is updated on S120)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Martin and apply them on the teachings of Natarajan to further implement disclose inserting the first identifier into the first probabilistic data structure by hashing the first identifier with a plurality of hash functions to determine a plurality of mapped elements of the first probabilistic data structure, wherein the plurality of hash functions comprise uniform and independent hash functions that map to different elements of the first probabilistic data structure, updating values of the determined plurality of mapped elements of the first probabilistic data structure based on said hashing the first identifier with the plurality of hash functions. One would be motivated to do so because in order to improve better system and method to provide k-number of different hash functions to map elements from the network accounting log to the bit array (Martin, [0033]).
Regarding to claim 12:
[Rejection rationale for claim 5 is applicable].
Regarding to claim 19:
[Rejection rationale for claim 5 is applicable].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
This action is a final rejection and is intended to close the prosecution of this application. Applicant’s reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to this action is limited either to an appeal to the Patent Trial and Appeal Board or to an amendment complying with the requirements set forth below.
If applicant should desire to appeal any rejection made by the examiner, a Notice of Appeal must be filed within the period for reply identifying the rejected claim or claims appealed. The Notice of Appeal must be accompanied by the required appeal fee.
If applicant should desire to file an amendment, entry of a proposed amendment after final rejection cannot be made as a matter of right unless it merely cancels claims or complies with a formal requirement made earlier. Amendments touching the merits of the application which otherwise might not be proper may be admitted upon a showing a good and sufficient reasons why they are necessary and why they were not presented earlier.
A reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to a final rejection must include the appeal from, or cancellation of, each rejected claim. The filing of an amendment after final rejection, whether or not it is entered, does not stop the running of the statutory period for reply to the final rejection unless the examiner holds the claims to be in condition for allowance. Accordingly, if a Notice of Appeal has not been filed properly within the period for reply, or any extension of this period obtained under either 37 CFR 1.136(a) or (b), the application will become abandoned.
/HIEN V DOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2449
/VIVEK SRIVASTAVA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2449