DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 1/6/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a search of all the claims would not impose a serious burden on the Office. This is not found persuasive because inventions I-XII would require separate fields of search including different search queries. Where it is necessary to search for one of the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other inventions (e.g., employing different search queries), a different field of search is shown. See MPEP 808.02. This is sufficient to establish a serious search and/or examination burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 7-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/6/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoji et al (JP2019073704A, machine translation is referenced herein).
Regarding claim 1, Ryoji teaches an ink composition comprising a resin, a zeolite and a solvent [P12L23-24]. Therefore, the ink is a liquid.
The zeolite comprises primary particles of average size of 40 nm or more and 1000 nm or less [P9L7-10]; and a secondary or higher-order particles of average size of 50 nm or more and 3000 nm or less in which primary particles are aggregated [P9L21-25].
Thus, the secondary or higher-order zeolite particles read on the claimed inorganic filler comprising a zeolite, with the particle size of 50-3000 nm (0.05-3 µm) overlapping the claimed particle size of 1.0-10 µm.
The primary zeolite particles read on the claimed small particle size inorganic filler, with the particle size of 40-1000 nm (0.04-1 µm) overlapping the claimed particle size of 0.1-1.0 µm.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding claim 2, Ryoji teaches that the ink composition comprises a dispersant [P13L21-23], including 3-aminopropyltriethoxysilane, 3- (2-aminoethyl) aminopropyltrimethoxysilane, dimethylamine, tributylamine, trimethylamine, cyclohexylamine, ethylenediamine, polyethyleneimine [P13L41-47].
Regarding claim 3, Ryoji teaches that the zeolite’s CBU contains d6r [P3L22-23, P40L7-8].
Regarding claim 4, Ryoji teaches that the zeolite is an aluminosilicate [P6L54].
Regarding claim 5, Ryoji teaches that the resin can be an epoxy resin [P10L25, P10L54-56]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select epoxy resin as the resin in Ryoji’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 6, Ryoji teaches that the resin can be an epoxy resin as stated above. Ryoji teaches that the viscosity of the composition is easy to handle by selecting the right resin molecular weight [P11L39-40, P11L] and the right solvent content [P13L16]; and viscosity adjustment can be easily performed [P17L30-31].
Thus, Ryoji recognizes the claimed viscosity being affected by factors such as resin molecular weight and solvent content; and viscosity adjustment can be easily performed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize viscosity based on the aforementioned factors by routine experimentation, thereby arriving at the claimed viscosity at 23°C of 0.1 Pa.s or more and 250 Pa.s or less. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762