DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3,6-16,18 and 20-21 are pending. Claims 1 and 15 are independent.
This Application was published as US 20240371386.
Apparent priority is 2 May 2023.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments are considered but are either unpersuasive or moot in view of the new grounds of rejection that, if presented, were necessitated by the amendments to the Claims.
Response to Arguments
35 USC 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 15, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyrholm (US 20200213726 A1) in view of Chen (US 20230095526 A1) and Boyle (US 20180176702 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dyrholm discloses: 1. A method of processing audio signals, comprising: receiving an audio signal via a plurality of microphones; ("[0024] The first, the second and the third microphone unit 11, 12, 13 constitute a main microphone array 14, with an output in the form of a vector. The main microphone array 14 thus provides as output a main input vector MM=(X, Y, Q) comprising as components the first, the second and the third input audio signal X, Y, Q." )
generating, based on a neural network trained to detect a biometric voice ID unique to a known audio source, an inference about whether a first frame of the received audio signal includes the biometric voice ID; ("[0035]... The auxiliary voice detector 35 may derive a user-voice activity signal VAD from the auxiliary voice measure VF such that the user-voice activity signal VAD indicates voice activity when the main input vector WM only, or mainly, contains voice sound V of the user 6, and the main beamformer controller 32 may determine one or more components dMX, dMV, dMQ of the steering vector dM from values of the main input vector MM collected during periods wherein the user-voice activity signal VAD indicates voice activity. ..." - The periods read on a first frame. See [0071] for further description of time periods.)
determining whether the first frame of the audio signal includes speech associated with multiple audio sources; and (not explicitly disclosed)
selectively steering a beam associated with a multi-channel beamformer toward a direction-of-arrival (DOA) of the first frame based at least in part on the inference about whether the first frame includes the biometric voice ID ("[0035] Alternatively, or additionally, the main beamformer controller 32 may determine the steering vector dM in dependence on the auxiliary voice measure VF...")
and whether the first frame includes speech associated with multiple audio sources, wherein selectively steering the beam includes: refraining from steering the beam toward the DOA of the first frame responsive to determining that the first frame includes speech associated with multiple audio sources. (not explicitly disclosed)
Dyrholm does not explicitly disclose the voice activity detector is based on a neural network trained to detect a biometric voice ID unique to a known audio source. Dyrholm also does not explicitly disclose determining if the audio signal includes multiple audio sources, or refraining from steering the beam toward the DOA if the speech is associated with multiple audio sources.
Chen discloses: a neural network trained to detect a biometric voice ID unique to a known audio source (“ [0050] Target speaker VAD model 176 provides system functionality for determining whether an audio recording contains the target speaker's voice or not. In an embodiment, the target speaker VAD model 176 may process an audio recording that has been determined by the multi-speaker detection module 174 to only contain speech from a single user. The target speaker VAD model 176 may compare the audio recording to a target speaker's voiceprint to determine whether the audio recording contains the target speaker's voice or not… In an embodiment, target speaker VAD model 176 may comprise a ML model, such as one or more neural networks, CNNs, DNNs, or other ML models. Target speaker VAD model 176 may include one or more parameters, such as internal weights of a neural network, that may determine the operation of target speaker VAD model 176.”)
Dyrholm and Chen are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose methods of voice activity detection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dyrholm to use the neural network for detecting VAD by a target speaker as disclosed by Chen. Doing so would have been beneficial for faster processing. (Chen [0073]) This combination also falls under simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results or use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Chen further discloses: determining whether the first frame of the audio signal includes speech associated with multiple audio sources (“[0147] At step 1204, the multi-speaker detection model 174 analyzes the audio frame to determine whether the audio frame includes only a single-speaker or multiple speakers. Multi-speaker detection model 174 may analyze the audio frame and based on features of the audio frame, such as the consistency or distribution of characteristics of the speech in the audio frame, areas of silence or breaks in speech, overlapping speech, and other features, determine whether one speaker or multiple speakers are speaking in the audio frame. Output of the multi-speaker detection module 174 may comprise a binary classification of whether one speaker is speaking or multiple speakers are speaking.” )
Dyrholm and Chen are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose voice activity detection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with the teaching of Chen to detect how many speakers are active, in order to only activate steering the beam toward the current frame if it contains only the target user. Doing so would have been beneficial to activate the beamformer mode in a particularly helpful environment (Boyle [0052]).
Chen does not disclose selective steering of the beam being further based on whether the first frame includes speech associated with multiple audio sources.
Boyle discloses: wherein selectively steering the beam includes: refraining from steering the beam toward the DOA of the first frame responsive to determining that the first frame includes speech associated with multiple audio sources. ([0052] The sound processor module 25 may comprise a classifier unit (which may be functionally implemented in the sound processor unit 24) for determining a presently prevailing auditory scene by analyzing the input audio signals, as it is known in the art (for example, the classifier may determine that a single speaker in a noisy environment is speaking to the patient). The output of such classifier may be used, for example, to activate the beamformer mode once an auditory scene is detected in which beamforming is particularly helpful (for example, when the classifier found that there is a single speaker in a noisy environment);…” – activating the beamformer only when a single speaker is in a noisy environment reads on refraining from steering if multiple speakers are detected)
Dyrholm, Chen, and Boyle are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose voice activity detection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with the teaching of Boyle to only activate the beamformer a single user is detected. Doing so would have been beneficial to activate the beamformer mode once an auditory scene is detected in which beamforming is particularly helpful (Boyle [0052]).
Claim 15 is a system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale. Additionally, “a processing system; and a memory storing instructions” of the Claim are taught by Dyrholm (“microcontrollers” [0079]; “firmware or software” [0079] – software would inherently be stored in some form of memory).
Regarding claim 21, Dyrholm discloses: 21. The method of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of microphones are coupled to a device; (Fig. 4 shows that Microphone Units 11 and 12 are coupled to a device Auxiliary Controller 40.)
the known audio source is a user of the device; and (“[0035] Alternatively, or additionally, the main beamformer controller 32 may determine the steering vector dM in dependence on the auxiliary voice measure VF. The auxiliary voice detector 35 may derive a user-voice activity signal VAD from the auxiliary voice measure VF such that the user-voice activity signal VAD indicates voice activity when the main input vector WM only, or mainly, contains voice sound V of the user 6…”)
the biometric voice ID comprises one or more unique biometric characteristics unique to a voice of the user. (not explicitly disclosed)
Dyrholm does not explicitly disclose a biometric voice ID.
Chen discloses: the biometric voice ID comprises one or more unique biometric characteristics unique to a voice of the user. (“[0048] Voiceprint extractor 172 provides system functionality for extracting a voiceprint from an audio recording. A voiceprint may comprise a digital representation of voice characteristics of a speaker…” – see also “[0062] Voiceprint extractor 172 receives and processes recorded voice 300 and generates voiceprint 310 based on the voice characteristics of recorded voice 300. The voice characteristics may comprise features of a person's voice that distinguish the voice from the voices of other people and may be dependent on physical features such as the shape and size of a speaker's vocal tract…”)
See motivation statement for claim 1.
Claim(s) 2-3, 6-13, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyrholm in view of Chen and Boyle as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Rosener (US 20090252351 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Dyrholm discloses: 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the inference comprises a ternary value indicating that the first frame includes the biometric voice ID, that the first frame does not include the biometric voice ID, or that the neural network is undecided as to whether the first frame includes the biometric voice ID. ("[0078] Although the examples disclosed herein are based on a main beamformer 31 configured as a MVDR beamformer, the principles of the present disclosure may be adapted to other adaptive beamformer types that require a steering vector, a user-voice activity signal VAD and/or a no-user-voice activity signal NVAD for proper operation." Chen discloses the biometric voice ID as mapped in claim 1 above.)
Dyrholm does not explicitly disclose an undecided signal. Neither does Chen or Boyle.
Rosener discloses: wherein the inference comprises a ternary value indicating that the first frame includes the biometric voice ID, that the first frame does not include the biometric voice ID, or that the neural network is undecided as to whether the first frame includes the biometric voice ID. ("[0031]… VAD processor 20 outputs an output signal 30 to processor 22 indicating voice activity, no voice activity, or an indeterminate status." )
Dyrholm, Chen, Boyle and Rosener are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose methods of voice activity detection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Dyrholm in view of Chen with an option for an unknown status. Doing so would have been beneficial so that an alternate VAD method could be used if the VAD cannot determine the state. (Rosener [0042].)
Regarding claim 3, Dyrholm discloses: 3. The method of claim 2, wherein the selective steering of the beam comprises: refraining from steering the beam toward the DOA of the first frame if the ternary value indicates that the first frame does not include the biometric voice ID or if the ternary value indicates that the neural network is undecided as to whether the first frame includes the biometric voice ID. ("[0035]… The main beamformer controller 32 may further restrict modification of the steering vector d.sub.M to periods wherein the user-voice activity signal VAD indicates voice activity. …" – modifying the steering vector only when there is voice activity means that when there is no voice activity the steering is restricted. This would also include undecided, as in an undecided state there would not be a voice activity signal. Chen discloses the biometric voice ID as mapped in claim 1 above.)
Regarding claim 6, Dyrholm discloses: 6. The method of claim 2, further comprising: determining a probability of speech in the first frame of the received audio signal, the selective steering of the beam being further based on the probability of speech in the first frame. ("[0052] The auxiliary beamformer controller 34 may e.g. compare the candidate voice measure VW to the auxiliary voice measure Vr and update the auxiliary weight vector Br when the candidate voice measure VW exceeds the auxiliary voice measure VF. Alternatively, or additionally, the auxiliary beamformer controller 34 may compare the candidate voice measure VW to a voice measure threshold, update the auxiliary weight vector BF when the candidate voice measure VW exceeds the voice measure threshold and then also update the voice measure threshold to equal the candidate voice measure VW." )
Regarding claim 7, Dyrholm discloses: 7. The method of claim 6, wherein the selective steering of the beam comprises: refraining from steering the beam toward the DOA of the first frame if the probability of speech in the first frame is less than a threshold probability. ("[0052] The auxiliary beamformer controller 34 may e.g. compare the candidate voice measure VW to the auxiliary voice measure Vr and update the auxiliary weight vector Br when the candidate voice measure VW exceeds the auxiliary voice measure VF. Alternatively, or additionally, the auxiliary beamformer controller 34 may compare the candidate voice measure VW to a voice measure threshold, update the auxiliary weight vector BF when the candidate voice measure VW exceeds the voice measure threshold and then also update the voice measure threshold to equal the candidate voice measure VW." )
Regarding claim 8, Dyrholm discloses: 8. The method of claim 6, wherein the selective steering of the beam comprises: steering the beam toward the DOA of the first frame if the probability of speech in the first frame is greater than or equal to a threshold probability, ("[0052] …update the auxiliary weight vector BF when the candidate voice measure VW exceeds the voice measure threshold …" – see claim 7)
the first frame does not include speech associated with multiple audio sources, (disclosed by Dyrholm in view of Chen and Boyle as mapped in claim 1 above)
and the ternary value indicates that the first frame includes speech associated with a known audio source. (“[0078] Although the examples disclosed herein are based on a main beamformer 31 configured as a MVDR beamformer, the principles of the present disclosure may be adapted to other adaptive beamformer types that require a steering vector, a user-voice activity signal VAD and/or a no-user-voice activity signal NVAD for proper operation.” – see claim 2 regarding an undecided value)
Regarding claim 9, Dyrholm discloses: 9. The method of claim 6, wherein the multi-channel beamformer comprises a minimum variance distortionless response (MVDR) beamformer that reduces a power of a noise component of the audio signal without distorting a speech component of the audio signal. ("[0029] The main beamformer controller 32 preferably operates according to the widely used Minimum Variance Distortionless Response (MVDR) beamformer algorithm." )
Regarding claim 10, Dyrholm discloses: 10. The method of claim 6, further comprising: calculating a filter associated with the MVDR beamformer based on a covariance of the noise component of the audio signal and a covariance of the speech component of the audio signal. ("[0029]... If the desired signal and the undesired noise are uncorrelated, then the variance of the beamformer output signal equals the sum of the variances of the desired signal and the noise. The MVDR beamformer algorithm seeks to minimize this sum, thereby reducing the effect of the noise, preferably by estimating a noise covariance matrix for the main input vector MM and using the estimated noise covariance matrix in the computation of the components BMX, BMY, BMQ of the main weight vector BM as well known in the art." )
Regarding claim 11, Dyrholm discloses: 11. The method of claim 10, further comprising: determining the covariance of the speech component of the audio signal ( “[0029]… If the desired signal and the undesired noise are uncorrelated, then the variance of the beamformer output signal equals the sum of the variances of the desired signal and the noise.”; see also “[0030] … The steering vector dM may thus easily be computed from the main input vector MM when it only contains voice sound V of the user 6….)
when the probability of speech in the first frame is greater than or equal to a threshold probability, the first frame does not include speech associated with multiple audio sources, and the ternary value indicates that the first frame includes the biometric voice ID. (See mapping of claim 8)
Regarding claim 12, Dyrholm discloses:12. The method of claim 10, further comprising: determining the covariance of the noise component of the audio signal ([0029]… The MVDR beamformer algorithm seeks to minimize this sum, thereby reducing the effect of the noise, preferably by estimating a noise covariance matrix for the main input vector MM and using the estimated noise covariance matrix in the computation of the components BMX, BMY, BMQ of the main weight vector BM as well known in the art.”)
when the probability of speech in the first frame is less than a threshold probability, the first frame includes speech associated with multiple audio sources, or the ternary value indicates that the first frame does not include the biometric voice ID. (This portion is simply the inverse of claim 8. It would be obvious that the sounds that are not target sounds are noise.)
Regarding claim 13, Dyrholm discloses: 13. The method of claim 10, further comprising: refraining from determining the covariances of any of the speech component or the noise component of the audio signal when the probability of speech in the first frame is greater than a first threshold probability but less than a second threshold probability or the ternary value indicates that the neural network is undecided as to whether the first frame includes the biometric voice ID. (“[0060]… Preferably, the auxiliary voice detector 35 further provides a no-user-voice activity signal NVAD in dependence on the auxiliary beamformer score EF or the candidate beamformer score EW not exceeding a no-user-voice threshold EN, which is lower than the user-voice threshold EV. Using the auxiliary beamformer score EF or the candidate beamformer score EW for determination of a user-voice activity signal VAD and/or a no-user-voice activity signal NVAD may ensure improved stability of the signaling of user-voice activity, since the criterion used is in principle the same as the criterion for controlling the auxiliary beamformer. …” Dyrholm discloses a user-voice threshold EV, and a lower no-user-voice threshold EN, and that either can be used. Using the higher user-voice threshold would mean that if the signal is between the two thresholds, it would not steer the beamformer (determine covariances).)
Claim 16 is a system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 2 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 18 is a system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 8 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyrholm in view of Chen and Boyle as applied in claim 1 above, in further view of Stoltze (US 20190313187 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Dyrholm in view of Chen and Boyle does not disclose the additional limitations.
Stoltze discloses: 14. The method of claim 1, further comprising: storing the DOA of the first frame responsive to steering the beam toward the DOA of the first frame; ("CURRENT/MOST RECENT DOA 473" Fig. 4B)
determining a DOA of a second frame of the received audio signal; ("DOA CALC 471" Fig. 4B)
determining whether the DOA of the second frame is within a threshold range of the stored DOA; and ("[0036]...The logic 470 then examines the valid DOA store 472 to determine if the current DOA angle θ calculated by the function 471 falls within a valid DOA range..." )
selectively steering the beam toward the DOA of the second frame based at least in part on whether the DOA of the second frame is within the threshold range of the stored DOA. ("[0036]... and if the current angle θ is a valid DOA, and if the most recent angle θ calculated by the function 471 is different than the current or most recent DOA, then the angle of arrival module 468 sends the currently calculated DOA angle θ to the BF 120." )
Dyrholm, Chen, Boyle, and Stoltze are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose voice activity detection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with the teaching of Stoltze to only steer the beam toward the current frame if it is within a valid range. Doing so would have been beneficial “to steer a microphone array beam such that it captures sound information of interest (voice information from a source located in a sound field of interest) and attenuates other sound, such as sound information from a source that is not located in the sound field of interest.” (Stoltze [0037])
Claim 20 is a system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 14 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bastyr et al. (US 20140278394 A1). Bastyr discloses a beamformer which stops steering when non-user voices are detected ([0040]).
/JON CHRISTOPHER MEIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2654
/HAI PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2654