DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Allowable Subject Matter
The examiner appreciates applicant pointing out the typographical error regarding claim 6, which is not included in the art rejection below. Claim 6 would be allowable if placed into independent form with an additional amendment overcoming the instant 101 rejeciton.
Claim Interpretation
The claim limitation invokes the 112(f) interpretation because under the broadest and most reasonable interpretation and based on applicant’s file specification, see [0028-0029], a calculation unit or “processor” is a generic computer component.
The legal standard for determining if a claimed phrase, that does not recite "means," invokes § 112 para. 6 was set forth in Williamson v. Citrix Online, LLC, 792 F.3d 1339 (Fed. Cir.2015). In the section of the Williamson opinion designated as en bane, 10 and with respect to claim terms that do not recite the word "means," Williamson held: When a claim term lacks the word "means," the presumption can be overcome and§ 112, para. 6 will apply if the examiner demonstrates that the claim term fails “to function without reciting sufficient structure for performing that function.” Watts [v. [v. XL Sys., Inc.], 232 F.3d [877] at 880. MPEP 2161.01. The claims thereby invoke 112(f) because the calculation unit/processor, itself, is not sufficient structure for performing the claimed functions, as these functions require additional programming. An off-the-shelf processor does not have a structural ability to perform the claimed functions without special programming, i.e. the sufficient structure for performing that function. In the instant claim, the examiner concluded the claimed function of “determine an indicator based on the first sensor data, wherein the indicator indicates a probability of a presence of a movement of interest of the bike, determine a weighting factor based on the second sensor data; weight the indicator by the weighting factory, and detect whether the movement of interest is given based on the weighted indicator” requires special programming with corresponding structure for performing the claimed function found in [0028-0029]. In light of MPEP 2181(II)(B), the claimed functions, discussed above, are outside the co-extensive features of a generically claimed computer component, i.e. processor; thereby requiring special programming to perform the claimed function of calculating.
101 Rejection
The examiner disagrees that the claims are not directed towards an abstract idea. The claims here are merely an abstract idea implemented on a computer and are not directed to an improvement in the way computers operate or the bike itself. While the claimed invention aids detecting motion, the determinations of indicator data, weighting functions, and detections of motion involve calculations, as detailed by applicant specification in para. [0030-0041], which disclose the mathematical approaches applied to the sensed data. Thus here, as in Electric Power, “the focus of the claims is not on … an improvement in computers as tools, but on certain independently abstract ideas that use computers as tools.” Elec. Power, 830 F.3d 1350, 2016 WL 4073318, at *4 [119 USPQ2d 1739].
Further, the claims as an ordered combination do not provide significantly more to the abstract idea, as the sensors and their attachment to a bike are well known and conventional in the art of theft motion detection; as shown below in the art rejections. These additional elements merely link the abstract ideas to a technology while not providing significantly more to the abstract ideas as the sensors and claimed computer components are not bettered or improved by these calculations. Further, the result of these calculations has no impact on any of the additional elements recited.
Applicant alleges that the claims are an improvement on the technology of detecting false theft, however the claim isn’t directed towards the alleged improvement, but rather the detection of motion. Therefore, this argument is not persuasive. Further, the argued limitations regarding using the indicator as a probability of a presence of motion, weighted by a weight function are some of the abstract concepts identified by the examiner in Step 2A. In Step 2B, it cannot be the abstract concepts themselves that improve a technology or technical field but rather the additional elements or extra solution activities such that the claims themselves amount to significantly more than the abstract concept.
102 Rejection
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 and 10-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim has been amended to recite “a processor”. However, the term “processor” lacks support in the instant specification. The specification discloses a “calculation unit” comprised of a first sensor processing unit, a second sensor data processing unit, a weighting unit, and a decision unit; see para. [0028-0029]. Therefore, it is unclear what structure constitutes the newly recited “processor” and how it is configured to perform the claimed functions, i.e. determining an indicator, determining a weight factor, detecting movement, and sending a notification, which are disclosed as being performed by separate “units” of a calculation unit and not a processor.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As discussed above, amended claim 10 now recites 'a processor configured to'. However, the specification, particularly paragraphs [0028]-[0029], does not provide sufficient support for this amendment. The specification discloses a “calculation unit” composed of specific “units”, rather than a generic processor. Therefore, it is unclear how an undisclosed processor is configured to perform these steps, as the specification attributes these actions to a calculation unit. To advance prosecution, the examiner has interpreted the claim as reciting the originally disclosed 'control unit', consistent with the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A processor/calculation unit in claim 10, which corresponding structure found in [0028-0029].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites: determining an indicator based on the first sensor data, wherein the indicator indicates a probability of a presence of a movement of interest of the bike, determining a weighting factor based on the second sensor data; weighting the indicator by the weighting factor; and detecting the movement of interest is given based on the weighted indicator; which falls into the abstract idea grouping of mathematical concepts. Applicant’s filed specification in para. [0024] discloses the determined indicator is based on a calculated covariance matrix, the determination of the weighting factor being based on a disclosed weighting function, see para [0035] and lastly, the detecting whether the movement of interest is given based on the calculated weight factor being based on a simple mathematic comparison against a threshold. Therefore, as supported by applicant’s filed specification, the identified abstract idea falls into the abstract idea grouping of mathematical concepts.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional element bike merely links the abstract idea to a field of use, as neither the performance or result of the abstract idea improves the bike itself. MPEP 2106.05(f)
The additional element first and second sensors integrated thereon, as generically recited, merely read as additional elements performing the insignificant pre-solution activity of data gather; as these sensors are merely feeding the abstract idea the needed data to perform the abstract idea without integrating the abstract idea into a practical application. MPEP 2106.05(g)
The claimed “sending a notification to a user in response to the movement of interest being detected” does not improve the other additional element sensors or bike. Therefore, the claimed notification does not meaningfully limit the claim, as it fails to recite details of a how solution to a problem is accomplished. MPEP 2106.05(f)
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the bike and the sensors, as generically claimed, merely link the abstract idea while the sensors feed the needed data to perform the abstract idea. Neither the result or notification of the abstract idea does anything to improve the bike, sensors or the data collected, and therefore fails to amount to significantly more.
Claim 2, 3, 11, and 12 further define the sensors without providing significantly more or integrating the abstract idea into a practical application. The claimed sensor are well-known sensors collecting data in a conventional manner.
Claims 4-7 further define the calculated weight factoring without providing significantly more or integrating the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claims 8 and 13 further define a step of high-pass filtering and/or low-pass filtering of the second data, which further defines the abstract idea falling into the abstract idea grouping of mathematical concepts. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize high or low pass filtering to involve mathematics because they involve transfer functions, differential equations FFT and convolution, all of which are core mathematical concepts. Therefore, the claim fails to provide significantly more or integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claims 9 and 14 further define subjecting the temporal curve to a bias correction when determining the envelope which further defines the abstract idea falling into the abstract idea grouping of mathematical concepts; as evidenced by para. [0033]. Therefore, the claim fails to provide significantly more or integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 10 recites: determine an indicator based on the first sensor data, wherein the indicator indicates a probability of a presence of a movement of interest of the bike, determine a weighting factor based on the second sensor data; weighting the indicator by the weighting factor; and detect whether the movement of interest is given based on the weighted indicator; which falls into the abstract idea grouping of mathematical concepts. Applicant’s filed specification in para. [0024] discloses the determined indicator is based on a calculated covariance matrix, the determination of the weighting factor being based on a disclosed weighting function, see para [0035] and lastly, the detecting whether the movement of interest is given based on the calculated weight factor being based on a simple mathematic comparison against a threshold. Therefore, as supported by applicant’s filed specification, the identified abstract idea falls into the abstract idea grouping of mathematical concepts.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional element bike merely links the abstract idea to a field of use, as neither the performance or result of the abstract idea improves the bike itself. MPEP 2106.05(f)
The additional element sensors, as generically recites, merely read as additional elements performing the insignificant pre-solution activity of data gather, as these sensors are merely feeding the abstract idea the needed data to perform the abstract idea without integrating the abstract idea into a practical application. MPEP 2106.05(g)
The claimed “send a notification to a user in response to the movement of interest being detected” does not improve the other additional element sensors or bike. Therefore, the claimed notification does not meaningfully limit the claim, as it fails to recite details of a how solution to a problem is accomplished. MPEP 2106.05(f)
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the bike and the sensors, as generically claimed, merely link the abstract idea while the sensors feed the needed data to perform the abstract idea. The result of the abstract idea does nothing to improve the bike, sensor or the data collected, therefore the additional elements fail to amount to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez (10,643,441) in view of Akella et al. (10,816,987).
With respect to claim 1, Sanchez teaches in Fig. 1A-1D a method for detecting a movement (via motion sensors; abstract) of interest of a bike (116) having a first sensor (i.e. a gyroscope; Col. 8 lines 10-16) and a second sensor (335a) integrated thereon (as Sanchez teaches a tracker 118 having gyroscopic and acceleration sensors, and the tracker being integrated on the bike through a screw, Col. 5 lines 29-32), the method comprising: sensing first sensor data (for example, angular velocity via the gyroscopic sensor) by way of the first sensor (gyroscopic sensor; Col. 8 lines 10-16) of the bike (116); determining an indicator (i.e. angular velocity motion data) based on the first sensor data (gyroscopic sensor; Col. 8 lines 10-16), wherein the indicator indicates a probability of a presence of a movement of interest of the bike (as Sanchez teaches in Col. 8 line 62 to Col. 9 lines 5, if the indicator, i.e. sensed data, indicates the motion data is above a threshold, there is a high probability the bike is in motion); sensing second sensor data by way of the second sensor of the bike (as the acceleration sensor sense acceleration data, Col. 8 lines 10-16), wherein the second sensor data describes a strength of a movement of the bike (as based on the sensed acceleration data, if the data is above a threshold, it describes a strength of the movement of the bike, Col. 8 line 62 to Col. 9 line 5); detecting whether the movement of interest is given based on the indicator (as based on the determined threshold crossing, the method determines the movement is of interest); and sending a notification (i.e. an alert) to a user in response to the movement of interest being detected (Col. 9 lines 6-18).
Sanchez remains silent regarding determining a weighting factor based on the second sensor data; and weighting the indicator by the weighting factor.
Akella et al. teaches a similar determination of a weighting factor based on sensor data (s316); and weighting the indicator by the weighting factor (as s316 applies the weight factor to the sensor data; Col. 19 line 63 to Col. 20 line 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the method of Sanchez to include the data processing step of applying a weight factor to the sensor data, as taught in Akella et al. because such a modification improves the accuracy of that data, Col. 2 lines 61-66, thereby improving the theft detection in Sanchez.
With respect to claim 2, Sanchez as modified teaches the method wherein the second sensor (335a) is an accelerometer, Col. 13 lines 33-35.
With respect to claim 3, Sanchez as modified teaches the method wherein the first sensor is a gyroscopic sensor (Col. 8 lines 10-16).
With respect to claim 4, Sanchez, as modified by Akella et al. teaches the method wherein the weighting factor (as taught in Akella et al.) is a factor that increases with increasing strength of the movement and decreases with decreasing strength of the movement (as Akella et al. teaches the weight factors increase when there is a higher probability of a collision with an object, like a bike, thereby reading on when the strength of the movement of the object increases, so does the weight factor and when the strength of the movement decreases, so does the weight based on the probability of collision, Col. 10 lines 20-37).
With respect to claim 5, Sanchez, as modified by Akella et al. teaches all that is claimed in the above rejection of claim 1, but remains silent regarding the weighting factor is determined from the second sensor data (i.e. the acceleration data) such that it falls within a range of values between 0 and 1.
It has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation, as set forth in MPEP § 2144.05(III)(A).
In this instance, a person having ordinary skill in the art has the capability to perform the engineering calculations to optimize the range taught in the prior art, see Akella, Col. 20, lines 3-7.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the weighting factor range from 1 to 10 as taught by Akella to the claimed 0 and 1 range because such a modification provides a universal standardized way to represent the relative importance of the different items.
With respect to claim 10, Sanchez teaches in an apparatus Fig. 1A-1D for detecting a movement (via motion sensors; abstract) of interest of a bike (116), the apparatus being integrated onto the bike (as Sanchez teaches a tracker 118 having gyroscopic and acceleration sensors, and the tracker being integrated on the bike through a screw, Col. 5 lines 29-32), the apparatus comprising: a first sensor (i.e. a gyroscope; Col. 8 lines 10-16) configured to sense first sensor data (i.e. angular velocity); a second sensor (335a) configured to sense second sensor data (i.e. acceleration data), wherein the second sensor data describes a strength of a movement of the bike (as based on the sensed acceleration data, if the data is above a threshold, it describes a strength of the movement of the bike, Col. 8 line 62 to Col. 9 line 5); and a “processor/calculation unit” (as taught in the abstract of Sanchez and as best understood by the examiner; see above 112(a) and (b) rejections above) configured to: determine an indicator based on the first sensor data (i.e. angular velocity motion data), wherein the indicator indicates a probability of a presence of a movement of interest of the bike (as Sanchez teaches in Col. 8 line 62 to Col. 9 lines 5, if the indicator indicates the motion data is above a threshold, there is a high probability the bike is in motion), detect whether the movement of interest is given based on the indicator (as based on the determined threshold crossing, the method determines the movement is of interest); and send a notification (i.e. an alert) to a user in response to the movement of interest being detected (Col. 9 lines 6-18).
Sanchez remains silent regarding the processor determine(s) a weighting factor based on the second sensor data; and weight(s) the indicator by the weighting factor.
Akella et al. teaches a similar determination of a weighting factor based on sensor data (s316); and weighting the indicator by the weighting factor (as s316 applies the weight factor to the sensor data; Col. 19 line 63 to Col. 20 line 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the method of Sanchez to include the data processing step of applying a weight factor to sensor data, as taught in Akella et al. because such a modification improves the accuracy of that data, Col. 2 lines 61-66, thereby improving the theft detection in Sanchez.
With respect to claim 11, Sanchez as modified by Akella et al. teaches the method, wherein the accelerometer is configured to sense an existing acceleration along multiple axes (Sanchez teaches the accelerometer senses acceleration data in response to the bike falling over, which indirectly teaches sensing an existing acceleration along multiple axes, which is a specific event requiring sensing in a multi-axis, Col. 13 lines 33-38).
With respect to claim 12, Sanchez remains silent regarding the gyroscopic sensor is configured to sense an existing rotation along multiple axes of rotation.
Akella teaches a gyroscope sensor configured to sense an existing rotation along multiple axes (as Akella et al. teaches sensing pitch, roll and yaw; Col. 8 lines 15-42).
Because both Sanchez and Akella teaches gyroscopic sensors, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to substitute the senor is Sanchez with the multi-axis gyroscopic sensor of Akella to achieve the predictable results of sensing motion. Further, such a modification increases the sensitivity of detecting motion, thereby improving the theft detection in Sanchez.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9, 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims with amendments to overcome the 101 rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lim et al. (2010/0161545) which teaches using weighting factors to combined sensor data to create characteristic values for each sensor.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW G MARINI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853