DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-9 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/22/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/26/2023, 01/11/2024, 02/24/2026, 04/22/2026, and 08/03/2026 were filed. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 12, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al (CN 105395071 A).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou discloses a beverage system, comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1 #4 main body) having a brew chamber (Fig. 1 #12 bean-milling brewing chamber) and first flow channel (Fig. 1 shown in the figure below) having a fluid outlet (Fig. 1 shown in the figure below);
a lid (Fig. 1 #1 upper cover) movably coupled to the housing (Fig. 1 #4 main body) via a hinge (Page 8 second para. ---"The coffee maker set in the body 4 of the water tank 2 and a heater 3, a water tank 2 connected with the heater 3. top part of the body 4 is provided with an outer cover 1.1 , outer cover 1.1 is hinge-connected or separated is connected with body 4, an upper cover 1, a bottom cover 1.3 and body 4 form a coffee machine.) and being movable between an open position (Fig. 2 shows the open position) and a closed position (Fig. 1 shows the closed position),
the lid (Fig. 1 #1 upper cover) having a second flow channel (Fig. 1 shown in the figure below) having a fluid inlet (Fig. 1 #17 inlet), wherein the first flow channel is configured to fluidly couple to the second flow channel at the fluid inlet and fluid outlet when the lid is in the closed position (Shown in figure 1);
a first cover (Fig. 1 #15 flap) connected to the lid (Fig. 1 #1 upper cover), the first cover (Fig. 1 #15 flap) configured to slidingly engage the fluid outlet (Fig. 1 shown in the figure below) when the lid transitions from the closed position (Fig. 1 shows the closed position) to the open position (Fig. 2 shows the open position) (The flap closes when the cover is in closed position and the flap opens when the cover is in open position.).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 10), and Zhou teaches wherein the first cover (Fig. 1 #15 flap) is configured to retract into the housing (Fig. 1 #4 main body) when the lid (Fig. 1 #1 upper cover) transitions from the open position (Fig. 2 shows the open position) to the closed position (Fig. 1 shows the closed position) (Fig. 1 shows the flap retracted into the housing when the lid is in the closed position.).
Regarding claim 21, Zhou teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 10), and Zhou teaches wherein the fluid outlet (Fig. 1 shown in the figure above) and the fluid inlet (Fig. 1 #17 inlet) fluidly disconnect from each other when the lid transitions from the closed position to the open position (Fig. 2, representing the open position, shows the inlet and outlet being fluidly disconnected.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (CN 105395071 A) as applied to claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 10), but does not teach wherein the first cover is positioned on a first side of the hinge, and the brew chamber is positioned on a second side of the hinge, opposite the first side.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first cover positioned on a first side of the hinge, and the brew chamber positioned on a second side of the hinge, opposite the first side, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 V. C.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (CN 105395071 A) as applied to claim 10, in view of Glucksman et al (US 9,192,260).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 10), but does not teach wherein the first cover is a flexible body.
Nonetheless, Glucksman in the same field of endeavor being beverage brewing devices teach wherein the first cover (Fig. 8 #34 flexible disc) is a flexible body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhou by incorporating the flexible first cover as taught by Glucksman for the benefit of permitting water to flow when the cover is exposed to pressure.
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (CN 105395071 A), in view of Anthony et al (US 2021/0120999).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou discloses a beverage system, comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1 #4 main body) having a brew chamber (Fig. 1 #12 bean-milling brewing chamber) and first flow channel (Fig. 1 shown in the figure below);
a lid movably (Fig. 1 #1 upper cover) coupled to the (Fig. 1 #4 main body) via a hinge (Page 8 second para. ---"The coffee maker set in the body 4 of the water tank 2 and a heater 3, a water tank 2 connected with the heater 3. top part of the body 4 is provided with an outer cover 1.1 , outer cover 1.1 is hinge-connected or separated is connected with body 4, an upper cover 1, a bottom cover 1.3 and body 4 form a coffee machine.) and being movable between an open position (Fig. 2 shows the open position) and a closed position (Fig. 1 shows the closed position),
the lid (Fig. 1 #1 upper cover) having a second flow channel (Fig. 1 shown in the figure below) fluidly coupled to the first flow channel (Fig. 1 shown in the figure below), the second flow channel (Fig. 1 shown in the figure below) including a first outlet (Fig. 1 #14 nozzle) configured to direct fluid into the brew chamber (Fig. 1 #12 bean-milling brewing chamber),
and a second outlet (Fig. 1 shown in the figure below) configured to direct fluid from the second flow channel (Fig. 1 shown in the figure below) prior to reaching the first outlet (Fig. 1 #14 nozzle); and a cover (Fig. 1 #15 flap).
However, Zhou does not disclose a cover connected to the lid, the cover configured to prevent flow through the second outlet when the lid is in the closed position.
Nonetheless, Anthony in the same field of endeavor being beverage brewing devices teaches a cover (Fig. 9b #106 primary lid) connected to the lid (Fig. 9b #108 secondary lid), the cover (Fig. 9b #106 primary lid) configured to prevent flow through the second outlet (Fig. 9b #84 84 cavity) when the lid (Fig. 9b #108 secondary lid) is in the closed position (Shown in figure 9a.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhou by incorporating the cover as taught by Anthony for the benefit of allowing or preventing fluid flow through the outlet.
Regarding claim 15, Zhou in view of Anthony teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 14), and Anthony teaches wherein the cover (Fig. 9b #106 primary lid) is configured to allow flow through the second outlet when the lid is in the open position (When the cover is open, water can flow to the cavity.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhou by incorporating the cover as taught by Anthony for the benefit of allowing or preventing fluid flow through the outlet.
Regarding claim 16, Zhou in view of Anthony teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 14), and Zhou teaches wherein the cover is compressed between the second outlet and the housing when the lid is in the closed position (Shown between figures 1-2 below).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou in view of Anthony teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 14), but does not teach wherein the cover is rotatably connected to an inner surface of the lid.
Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cover rotatably connected to an inner surface of the lid, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 V. C.
Regarding claim 18, Zhou in view of Anthony teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 14), and Zhou teaches wherein the cover (Fig. 1 #15 flap) is configured to contact pressurized fluid flowing through the second outlet when the lid (Fig. 1 #1 upper cover) is in the open position (Shown in Fig. 1) (Page 5 second line describes the flap as a water resisting device.)
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (CN 105395071 A) in view of Anthony et al (US 2021/0120999) as applied to claim 14, further in view of EUGSTER FRISMAG AG et al (DE 202013105439 U1) (hereinafter referred to as “AG”).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou in view of Anthony teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 14), but does not teach wherein at least one fluid runoff channel is arranged adjacent the brew chamber and configured to collect fluid which passes through the second outlet.
Nonetheless, AG in the same field of endeavor being beverage brewing devices teaches wherein at least one fluid runoff channel (Fig. 4 #8 follower channel) is arranged adjacent the brew chamber (Fig. 4 #2 brewing station) and configured to collect fluid which passes through the second outlet (Fig. 4 shows fluid being collected by the #8 follower channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhou in view of Anthony by incorporating the runoff channel as taught by AG for the benefit of collecting excess liquid.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (CN 105395071 A) in view of Anthony et al (US 2021/0120999) as applied to claim 14, further in view of Zhan et al (CN 108236375 A).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou in view of Anthony teaches the system as appears above (see the rejection of claim 14), but does not teach wherein a valve is positioned within the second flow channel and configured to direct fluid to the second outlet when the lid is in the open position.
Nonetheless, Zhan in the same field of endeavor being beverage brewing devices teaches wherein a valve (Fig. 3 #52 second valve) is positioned within the second flow channel (Fig. 3 #6 first passage) and configured to direct fluid to the second outlet (Hole at the upper end of Fig. 3 #5 control valve) when the lid (Fig. 3 #2 cover) is in the open position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhou in view of Anthony by incorporating the valve as taught by Zhan for the benefit of free switching in the process of receiving and discharging liquid.
Conclusion
/JOE E MILLS JR./ Examiner, Art Unit 3761