DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I directed towards claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 30 September 2025 is acknowledged.
The Examiner acknowledges the cancellation of claims 20 and 27. Claims 1-17 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “inferior attachment configured to secure the tibial strut with respect to the ankle” of claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because: “12” is used to refer to a waist band in Figs. 1A-B [Applicant’s Specification ¶0057] and sensors in Fig. 11; “14” is used to refer to a fastener in Figs. 1A, C [¶0042] and a controller in Fig. 11; “16” is used to refer to a right leg assembly in Fig. 1A [¶0042] and an effector in Fig. 11; “18” is used to refer to a left leg assembly in Fig. 1A [¶0042] and a transceiver in Fig. 11; “20” is used to refer to a femoral strut in Figs. 1A, 3 [¶0044] and a remote device in Fig. 11; “22” is used to refer to an attachment point in Figs. 1A, 2 [¶¶0044, 0052] and a wearable platform in Fig. 11.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “108” in Fig. 4 is not recited in the Applicant’s Specification.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 3, 10, 15 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 should read “at least one motion detector assembly, the at least one motion detector assembly comprising:” [lines 2-3].
The Examiner notes that the limitations of lines 4-8 of claim 1 should be tabbed to the right to indicate what the motion detector assembly comprises. The limitations of lines 4-8 of claim 1 have each been considered to comprise the motion detector assembly.
Claim 1 should read “[[the]] a femur with respect to [[the]] a hip” [line 7].
Claim 1 should read “[line 8] [wherein the Examiner notes the different dash and hyphen used to refer to the medial-lateral direction and the anterior-posterior direction, as well as the double space between the “-“ and “posterior”].
The Examiner notes the each of claims 2-17 should read “[[A]] The wearable physical therapy system as in Claim…” [line 1 in each noted claim].
Claim 3 should read “[[the]] a knee” [line 2].
Claim 10 should read “[[the]] a length of the femoral strut” [lines 1-2].
Claim 15 should read “the femoral strut.” [line 2].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner Notes: currently, NO limitation invokes interpretation under § 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 5, 16-17, and those dependent therefrom is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “a tibial strut extending between the knee attachment and an inferior attachment” [lines 1-2], which is considered to lack antecedent basis, as claims 1 and 5 fail to previously define a knee attachment. The recited limitation of claim 5 is further considered to render claim 5 indefinite, as it is not clear whether claim 5 is meant to define a new element of a knee attachment [as in the recited limitation should read “[[the]] a knee attachment”]; or whether claim 5 is meant to be dependent from any of claims 3-4, which each define a knee attachment, such that the knee attachment as recited in claim 5 would have antecedent basis. For examination purposes, the Examiner has interpreted either identified interpretation to be applicable in light of any prior art applied under § 102 or § 103.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the sensor” [line 1], which is considered indefinite, as claim 1 recites “hip sensors” [line 6], such that it is unclear whether the sensor as recited in claim 16 is meant to refer to a singular sensor of the sensors as defined in claim 1 or refer to each of the sensors as defined in claim 1. For examination purposes, the Examiner has interpreted either identified interpretation to be applicable in light of any prior art applied under § 102 or § 103. The Examiner notes that claim 17 is considered to recite similar subject matter [“the sensor” (line 2)] that is similarly indefinite and is interpreted similarly to claim 16 above mutatis mutandis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shim (US-20150231018-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shim teaches
A wearable physical therapy system, comprising:
a wearable support comprising a waistband [second waist fixing unit 12 (Shim ¶0089, Figs. 1-2)] and at least one motion detector [The first detection unit 200a may include at least one of, for example, a joint angle sensor, an inclination sensor, an acceleration sensor, and an inertial measurement unit (IMU). The first detection unit 200a may be installed in at least one of the first joint 21 and the first link 22 (Shim ¶0100); the walk-assistive unit 2 may include a pair of the first structure units 20 and 20a (Shim ¶0063); Hereinafter, the single first to third structure units 20, 30 and 40 will be described, but the corresponding descriptions may be equally applied to pairs of the respective structure units (Shim ¶0064), wherein the first detection unit 200a is considered to be included in each of the first joint 21/first link 22 and first joint 21a/first link 22a], the motion detector assembly comprising:
a femoral strut extending between a superior end and an inferior end [first link 22 (Shim ¶0065, Figs. 1-2), wherein as depicted in Figs. 1-2, the first link 22 is considered to extend from a superior end (towards first joint 21) and an inferior end (towards second joint 31)];
a polyaxial connection between the superior end and the waistband [first joint 21 (Shim ¶0065, Figs. 1-2); For example, as the first joint 21 is rotated in front and rear directions of the wearer, the first link 22 is rotated by drawing a circular arc on a plane (hereinafter referred to as an "x-y plane") formed by the x and y axes with respect to the first joint 21. In addition, the femoral region of the wearer may be rotated on the x-y plane with respect to the first joint 21 in the same direction as the rotation direction of the first link 22. As another example, as the first joint 21 is rotated in left and right directions of the wearer, the first link 22 is rotated by drawing a circular arc on a plane (hereinafter referred to as a "y-z plane") formed by the y and z axes with respect to the first joint 21. In addition, the femoral region of the wearer may be rotated on the y-z plane with respect to the first joint 21 in the same direction as the rotation direction of the first link 22 (Shim ¶0070), wherein rotation in each of the x-y and the y-z plane as defined in Fig. 2 is considered to read on the joint being a polyaxial connection];
hip sensors in motion sensing communication with the polyaxial connection, configured to capture data reflecting movement of the femur with respect to the hip in the medial – lateral direction, anterior - posterior direction and rotation of the femur [The first measuring unit 210a is connected to the first joint 21 to obtain information related to movements of the first joint 21. The information related to the movement of the first joint 21 may include at least one of a rotation angle (Shim ¶0101), wherein as noted in Shim ¶0070, the rotation may include movement in the medial-lateral direction (movement in y-z plane) and anterior-posterior direction (movement in x-y plane)].
Regarding claim 2, Shim teaches
A wearable physical therapy system as in Claim 1, comprising a left leg motion detector assembly and a right leg motion detector assembly [Shim ¶0100, wherein as noted in Shim ¶¶0063-0064, the motion detector assembly as described in Shim ¶0100 is considered to apply to each of the first structure units 20/20a (left/right leg motion detector assemblies)].
Regarding claim 3, Shim teaches
A wearable physical therapy system as in Claim 1, further comprising a knee attachment configured to secure the inferior end of the femoral strut with respect to the knee [a first fixing unit 23 for fixing the first link 22 to the femoral region of the wearer may be provided in an inner side or an outer side of the first link 22 (Shim ¶0069); the first fixing unit 23 may be made of a metal material, an elastic material such as rubber and the like. The first fixing unit 23 may be implemented in the form of a chain as shown in FIG. 1, in the form of a band with elasticity, or in the form of a strap, however example embodiments are not limited thereto. For example, various fixing means which can be considered by those skilled in the art in order to fix the first link 22 to the femoral region or the like may be included in an example of the first fixing unit 23 (Shim ¶0072, Figs. 1-2); at least one second fixing unit 33 and 34 for fixing the second link 32 to the lower thigh region of the wearer may be provided in an inner side or an outer side of the second link 32 (Shim ¶0076), wherein the first fixing unit 23 and the second fixing unit 33 together are considered to form a knee attachment that is considered to secure the inferior end of the femoral strut (the end of the first link 22 towards the second joint 31) relative to a wearer’s knee].
Regarding claim 4, Shim teaches
A wearable physical therapy system as in Claim 3, wherein the knee attachment comprises a flexible cuff [Shim ¶¶0069, 0072, 0076, wherein disclosure of the first fixing unit 23 and the second fixing unit 33 each comprising a band with elasticity is considered to read on the broadest reasonable interpretation of a flexible cuff].
Regarding claim 5, Shim teaches
A wearable physical therapy system as in Claim 1, further comprising a tibial strut [second link 32 (¶0073, Figs. 1-2)] extending between the knee attachment and an inferior attachment configured to secure the tibial strut with respect to the ankle [second fixing unit 34 (Shim Fig. 1), wherein as depicted in Fig. 1, the second link 32 extends from the area where the first fixing unit 23 (knee attachment) is positioned to the second fixing unit 34, which as depicted in Shim Fig. 1 secures the second link 32 (tibial strut) relative to a wearer’s ankle].
Regarding claim 6, Shim teaches
A wearable physical therapy system as in Claim 5, further comprising a foot attachment, for securing the tibial strut with respect to a wearer's foot [The foot rest unit 42 is a part for supporting soles of the wearer, and includes a third fixing unit 43 to mutually fix the foot of the wearer seated on the foot rest unit 42 and the foot rest unit 42 (Shim ¶0082), wherein the third fixing unit 42 is considered to fix the wearer’s foot relative to the second link 32 (tibial strut)].
Regarding claim 8, Shim teaches
A wearable physical therapy system as in Claim 6, further comprising at least one sensor for measuring flexion or extension of the foot [The third joint 41 may also receive a torque from the joint driving unit 220 configured to rotate in various directions and angles, and may have one DOF (Shim ¶0081); The third detection unit 200c may detect at least one of movements of the third joint 41, the foot rest unit 42, and the wearer's ankle joint. The third detection unit 200c may include at least one of a joint angle sensor, an inclination sensor, an acceleration sensor, and an IMU (Shim ¶0104); The third measuring unit 210c may measure information related to movements of the third joint 41, and may transmit the measured information to the processor 120 (Shim ¶0105), wherein measuring rotation in various directions and angles is considered to read on measuring flexion or extension of the wearer’s foot, as Shim Figs. 4-5 are considered to depict flexion/extension of the wearer’s foot throughout a measured gait cycle].
Regarding claim 9, Shim teaches
A wearable physical therapy system as in Claim 6, further comprising at least one sensor for measuring rotation of the foot [Shim ¶¶0081, 0104-0105, wherein measuring rotation in various directions and angles is considered to read on measuring rotation of the wearer’s foot].
Regarding claim 10, Shim teaches
A wearable physical therapy system as in Claim 3, wherein the length of the femoral strut between the waistband and the knee attachment is adjustable [A length of the first link 22 may be adjustable. Thus, the wearer may adjust the length of the first link 22 to match the length of his or her own femoral region before or while wearing the walk-assistive apparatus 1 (Shim ¶0068)].
Regarding claim 16, Shim teaches
A wearable physical therapy system as in Claim 1, wherein the sensor collects angular position and time data [Shim ¶¶0100-0101, wherein the system configured to be worn while the wearer walks (Shim Figs. 4-5) is considered to read on the sensor(s) collecting time data].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim, as applied to claim 6 above, in view of Ortlieb (US-20190254908-A1).
Regarding claim 7, Shim teaches
A wearable physical therapy system as in Claim 6.
However, while Shim discloses the use of different sensors to measure joint motion in one degree of freedom [which is considered to refer to flexion/extension of the foot/rotation of the foot in the x-y plane, as depicted in Shim Figs. 2, 4-5], Shim fails to explicitly disclose the system further comprising at least one sensor for measuring pronation of the foot.
Shim discloses the same sensors for measuring joint motion in more than one degree of freedom and further discloses the use of said sensors in motion sensing communication with joints to allow for rotation in a medial-lateral direction and anterior-posterior direction [Shim ¶¶0070, 0100-0101].
Ortlieb discloses a wearable exoskeleton system comprising elements configured to attach the system to a wearer’s foot, wherein the system allows for ankle pronation [Based on the embodiments described herein, the present invention brings the following features and advantages:… freedom of movement−up to 8 motorized joints (hip adduction, hip flexion, knee flexion, ankle flexion)+6 passive joints (pronation ankle, ankle support, internal rotation hip in standing position) (Ortlieb ¶¶0081, 0088); Foot element 500 is a physical interface with the foot or the shoe of the user. Connection between second leg assembly 410 and foot element 500 is preferably made flexible to allow several degrees of freedom of the foot such as the ankle plantar-/dorsi-flexion, the internal/external rotation of the leg and the ankle eversion/inversion. For example, the connection between assembly 410 and interface element 500 may be realized with a ball-joint made of a rigid part to which two gummy elements are compressed together using a screw of metric size M8. This joint could be located close to the ankle natural joint with small translation along the y-axis for example. Element 500 would preferably be made flexible to allow a natural rolling of the foot during walking (Ortlieb ¶0122)], wherein Ortlieb further discloses sensors positioned relative to the wearer’s foot for measuring orientation [First pivot joint 200, first pivot element 300 and 400 may include absolute angular sensors such as potentiometers to allow a simple initialization of the device and a redundancy in the position sensing. Multiple sensors such as inertial measurement units and force sensors may be integrated within the physical interface elements 100 and/or 500, or at the connection point between the interfaces and the rest of the structure. These sensors may be used to detect the intention of the user, measure the reaction forces with the ground, measure the orientation of the device and the slope of the ground, etc. for example. Such sensors allow to control in closed loop the strength support provided by the device to the user (Ortlieb ¶0123)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Shim to employ further comprising at least one sensor for measuring pronation of the foot, so as to provide additional contextual information regarding foot/ankle orientation during gait.
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim, as applied to claim 10 above, in view of Wang (US-20200281745-A1).
Regarding claim 11, Shim in view of Wang teaches
A wearable physical therapy system as in Claim 10.
However, Shim fails to explicitly disclose wherein the femoral strut comprises first and second telescopically extendable components.
Wang discloses an exoskeleton system comprising a wearable support comprising a femoral strut, wherein the femoral strut comprises first and second telescopically extendable components such that a length of the femoral strut is adjustable [Each of the telescopic thigh bars 7 consists of an upper thigh bar 12 and a lower thigh bar 13. The upper thigh bar 12 and the lower thigh bar 13 are both made of aluminum tubes, three rows of threaded through holes are formed on an upper end of the lower thigh bar 13 in one row, and the upper end of the lower thigh bar 13 is connected with a bottom end of the upper thigh bar 12 via the threaded through holes and bolts to realize the stepped length adjustment of the telescopic thigh bar 7 (Wang ¶0027, Fig. 1)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Shim to employ wherein the femoral strut comprises first and second telescopically extendable components, as this modification would amount to mere simple substitution of one known element [length adjustment mechanism of Shim] for another [telescopic elements of Wang for length adjustment] with similar expected results [MPEP § 2143(I)(B)].
Regarding claim 12, Shim in view of Wang teaches
A wearable physical therapy system as in Claim 11, wherein the first and second components are tubular [Wang ¶0027, Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 13, Shim in view of Wang teaches
A wearable physical therapy system as in Claim 12, further comprising a knee module carried by the knee attachment [The second detection unit 200b may detect at least one of the movements of the second joint 31, the second link 32, and the wearer's knee joint to convert the detected movement to electrical signals, and transmit the electrical signals to the processor 120. The second detection unit 200b may include at least one of the joint angle sensor, the inclination sensor, the acceleration sensor, and the IMU. The second detection unit 200b may be installed in at least one of the second joint 31 and the second link 32. In the same manner as the first detection unit 200a, a part of the second detection unit 200b may be installed in the second joint 31, and the other part thereof may be installed in the second link 32 (Shim ¶0102), wherein the first fixing unit 23 and the second fixing unit 33, that are considered to form the knee attachment, are considered to facilitate coupling of the second joint 31 to the wearer’s knee (Shim Fig. 1), such that the second detection unit 200b (knee module) located in the second joint 31 is carried by the knee attachment].
Regarding claim 14, Shim in view of Wang teaches
A wearable physical therapy system as in Claim 13, comprising at least one sensor in the knee module, configured to measure flexion and extension at the knee [Shim ¶0102; The second measuring unit 210b may obtain information related to the movement of the second joint 31. The information related to the movement of the second joint 31 may include at least one of a rotation angle, an angle speed, and an angle acceleration (Shim ¶0103)].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim in view of Wang, as applied to claim 14 above, in further view of Goldfarb (US-20140142475-A1).
Regarding claim 15, Shim in view of Wang teaches
A wearable physical therapy system as in Claim 14.
However, Shim fails to explicitly disclose further comprising electrical conductors extending through the femoral strut.
Shim does discloses wired communication to transmit control signals to the system of Shim [the generated control signals may be transmitted to the walk-assistive unit 2 through wired or wireless communication (Shim ¶0086)]. Shim also discloses transmitting sensor measurements from each sensor positioned on the system to a processor [The information obtained in the first detection unit 200a may be transmitted to the processor 120 (Shim ¶0099); A parameter measured in the first measuring unit 210a may be transmitted to the processor 120 (Shim ¶0101)], wherein the processor is positioned superior to the femoral strut [In addition to the processor 120, the main body 10 may also include a memory (not shown) (Shim ¶0108, Fig. 2)].
Goldfarb discloses a wearable physical therapy system comprising an exoskeleton configured to be coupled to a wearer’s hips, thigh, and shank, wherein Goldfarb discloses extending electrical conductors within an interior of structural elements of the exoskeleton [As noted above, the connectors 112R, 112L, 114R, and 114L can be configured to provide mechanical and electrical connections. Referring back to FIG. 5B, in the event that an electrical connection is needed between the thigh segment 108R and shank segment 106R, wires can be routed through the interior of connector 112R to electrical contacts 530. A corresponding set of electrical contacts (not shown) would also be provided in the interior of receiving element 506 (Goldfarb ¶0052, Fig. 2, 5B)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Shim in view of Wang to employ wherein electrical conductors extend through the femoral strut, as this modification would amount to mere simple substitution of one known element [wired/wireless connection of Shim] for another [wired connection through interior of structure] with similar expected results [wired connection] [MPEP § 2143(I)(B)].
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim in view of Sankai (US-20100121232-A1).
Regarding claim 17, Shim teaches
A wearable physical therapy system as in Claim 16.
However, Shim fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sensor comprises a rotary encoder.
Sankai discloses a wearable physical therapy system for measuring a joint angle between a hip and a femur, wherein Takahashi discloses the use of a rotary encoder for collecting angular position data [Furthermore, each of the driving motors 120, 122, 124, and 126 has the angle detecting unit 24-1 (24-2). For example, an angle sensor is used as the angle detecting unit 24-1 (24-2). The angle sensor is, for example, a rotary encoder for counting the number of pulses proportional to the joint angle of each of the first joint 164 and the second joint 166, and outputting, as the sensor output, electric signals in accordance with the number of pulses corresponding to the joint angles (Sankai ¶0144, Fig. 3)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Shim to employ wherein the sensor comprises a rotary encoder, as this modification would amount to mere simple substitution of one known element for another with similar expected results [MPEP § 2143(I)(B)].
Conclusion
/SEVERO ANTONIO P LOPEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3791