DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-8, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by May et al (US# 2010/0070150).
May et al discloses all the limitations of the instant claim including; a primary brake control unit 18a; a secondary brake control unit 18b; a first remote data power concentrator 22a or 20a (both appear to receive data and some degree of power to operate) configured to receive a first command from the primary brake control unit 18a and a second command from the secondary brake control unit 18b [0034]; and an electric brake actuator 16 or 16/20a configured to receive the first command or the second command from the first remote data power concentrator in response to a first signal.
Regarding claim 3, a first electric brake actuator controller 20a is coupled to the electric brake actuator 16; and a first actuator control disposed in the first electric brake actuator controller, the first actuator control configured to receive the first command from the primary brake control unit 18 and transmit the first command to the first remote data power concentrator 22a. [0040] discloses a first aircraft interface 28a that communicates with the primary RDC 22 for the EMAC 20 so that signals may be exchanged with one or both of the BSCUs 18.
Regarding claim 4, a second electric brake actuator controller 20b coupled to the electric brake actuator 16; and a second actuator control disposed in the second electric brake actuator controller, the second actuator control configured to receive the second command from the secondary brake control unit 18b (via redundant connection between 11b and 22a, figure 1) and transmit the second command to the first remote data power concentrator22a. [0040] discloses a first aircraft interface 28a that communicates with the primary RDC 22 for the EMAC 20 so that signals may be exchanged with one or both of the BSCUs 18.
Regarding claim 7, the first command and the second command include the same information. [0032] indicates the two BSCUs are for redundancy, therefore they should provide the same information.
Regarding claim 8, May discloses a brake system, comprising: a wheel 10; an electric brake actuator 16 or 16/20a configured to apply a braking force to the wheel; a remote data power concentrator 22a or 20a configured to send a brake command to apply the braking force to the electric brake actuator; a primary brake control unit 18a configured to send a first command to the remote data power concentrator; and a secondary brake control unit 18b configured to send a second command to the remote data power concentrator, wherein the brake command is at least one of the first command or the second command.
Regarding claim 11, a primary electric brake controller 20a is coupled to the electric brake actuator; and a first actuator control disposed in the primary electric brake controller, the first actuator control configured to receive the first command and transmit the first command to the remote data power concentrator 22a , wherein the remote data power concentrator 22a sends the first command to the electric brake actuator in response to a first signal. [0040] discloses a first aircraft interface 28a that communicates with the primary RDC 22 for the EMAC 20 so that signals may be exchanged with one or both of the BSCUs 18.
Regarding claim 12, a second electric brake actuator controller 20b is coupled to the electric brake actuator 16; and a second actuator control disposed in the second electric brake actuator controller, the second actuator control configured to receive the second command from the secondary brake control unit 18b (via redundant connection between 11b and 22a, figure 1) and transmit the second command to the first remote data power concentrator 22a, wherein the remote data power concentrator sends the second command to the electric brake actuator in response to a second signal. [0040] discloses a first aircraft interface 28a that communicates with the primary RDC 22 for the EMAC 20 so that signals may be exchanged with one or both of the BSCUs 18.
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strengert et al (US# 2010/0198473).
Strengert et al discloses all the limitations of the instant claim including; a primary brake control unit 14/20a/22a or 28a; a secondary brake control unit 14/20b/22b or 28b; a first remote data power concentrator (control portion of 30a which is remote from 12/14/28, receives data in the form of control signals from 28a/20a/22a/16a and power from 40a) configured to receive a first command from the primary brake control unit 14/20a/22a or 28a and a second command from the secondary brake control unit 14/20b/22b or 28b [0035]; and an electric brake actuator (actuator of actuator device 30a) configured to receive the first command or the second command from the first remote data power concentrator in response to a first signal.
Regarding claim 2, the primary brake control unit 28a is in communication with the secondary brake control unit 28b (via 46/48) and wherein the first remote data power concentrator 30a transmits the first command received from the primary brake control unit 28a in response to the primary brake control unit and the secondary brake control unit determining that the primary brake control unit is an active brake control unit. [0035]-[0039][0068]
Regarding claim 3, a first electric brake actuator controller 28a is coupled to the electric brake actuator 30a; and a first actuator control disposed in the first electric brake actuator controller, the first actuator control configured to receive the first command from the primary brake control unit 14/20a/22a and transmit the first command to the first remote data power concentrator 30a. [0068]
Regarding claim 4, a second electric brake actuator controller 28b is coupled to the electric brake actuator 30a; and a second actuator control disposed in the second electric brake actuator controller, the second actuator control configured to receive the second command from the secondary brake control unit 14/20b/22b and transmit the second command to the first remote data power concentrator 30a. [0068]
Regarding claim 5, the first remote data power concentrator 30a is configured to transmit the first command from the first actuator control 14/20a/22a to the electric brake actuator and ignore the second command from the second actuator control in response to the first signal. [0068] normal operation.
Regarding claim 6, the first remote data power concentrator 30a is configured to transmit the second command from the second actuator control and ignore the first command from the first actuator control in response to a second signal. [0068] when 28a has failed.
Regarding claim 7, the first command and the second command include the same information.
Regarding claim 8, Strengert et al disclose a brake system, comprising: a wheel [0028]; an electric brake actuator (actuator of 30a) configured to apply a braking force to the wheel; a remote data power concentrator (control portion of 30a) configured to send a brake command to apply the braking force to the electric brake actuator; a primary brake control unit 14/20a/22a or 28a configured to send a first command to the remote data power concentrator 30a; and a secondary brake control unit 14/20b/22b or 28b configured to send a second command to the remote data power concentrator 30a, wherein the brake command is at least one of the first command or the second command.
Regarding claim 9, the primary brake control unit 28a is in communication with the secondary brake control unit 28b (via 46/48) and are determined to determine an active brake control unit and wherein the brake command is the first command in response to the primary brake control unit being the active brake control unit. [0035]-[0039][0068] normal operation.
Regarding claim 10, the brake command is the second command received from the secondary brake control unit in response to the secondary brake control unit being the active brake control unit. [0068] when 28a has failed.
Regarding claim 11, a primary electric brake controller 28a is coupled to the electric brake actuator; and a first actuator control disposed in the primary electric brake controller, the first actuator control configured to receive the first command and transmit the first command to the remote data power concentrator 30a , wherein the remote data power concentrator 30a sends the first command to the electric brake actuator in response to a first signal. [0068] normal operation and signal.
Regarding claim 12, a second electric brake actuator controller 28b is coupled to the electric brake actuator; and a second actuator control disposed in the second electric brake actuator controller, the second actuator control configured to receive the second command from the secondary brake control unit 28b and transmit the second command to the first remote data power concentrator 30a, wherein the remote data power concentrator sends the second command to the electric brake actuator in response to a second signal. [0068] signal that 28a has failed.
Regarding claim 13, the first signal identifies the primary brake control unit as an active brake control unit and the second signal identifies the secondary brake control unit as the active brake control unit. [0068] normal operation and signal.
Regarding claim 14, the remote data power concentrator 30a receives the second signal in response to an error in the primary brake control unit. [0068] signal that 28a has failed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strengert et al (US# 2010/0198473) in view of Forghani et al (US# 2022/0212642).
Strengert et al disclose a brake assembly including: an electric brake actuator (actuator of 30a) configured to apply a braking force to a wheel; a first actuator control 14/20a/22a or 28a configured to send a first command; a second actuator control 14/20b/22b or 12/16b or 28b configured to send a second command; and a remote data power concentrator (control portion of 30a) configured to receive the first command and the second command and send the first command to the electric brake actuator and ignore the second command in response to a first signal. [0068] Strengert et al further disclose a vehicle having various numbers of wheels [0009], but lack the specific an aircraft comprising a landing gear assembly. Forghani et al disclose a similar brake system and further suitability in a land vehicle, such as a truck, a train, or a car; or an aircraft, in which case the wheels correspond to those installed on a landing gear. [0036] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the braking system of Strengert et al in an aircraft having wheeled landing gear, such as suggested by Forghani et al, to increase the utility of the brake system by providing redundant braking in aviation applications.
Regarding claim 16, the remote data power concentrator 30a is further configured to send the second command to the electric brake actuator and ignore the first command in response to a second signal. [0068] signal that 28a has failed.
Regarding claim 17, the remote data power concentrator 30a receives the second signal in response to an error received by the first actuator control. [0068] signal that 28a has failed.
Regarding claim 18, the first command and the second command are the same, the first signal identifying a primary brake control unit 28a as an active control unit for the electric brake actuator 30a. [0068] in normal operation the commands from 28a and 28b should be the same and 28a is primary for 30a and 28b is primary for 30b.
Regarding claim 19, Strengert et al disclose a brake pedal 14 configured to send a third signal that is an indication of an amount of braking force to apply to the electric brake actuator; a primary brake control unit 28a configured to receive the third signal and send the first command to the first actuator control 30a in response to the third signal; and a secondary brake control unit 20b/22b configured to receive the third signal and send the second command to the second actuator control 28b in response to the third signal.
Claims 2, 9-10 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over May (US# 2010/0070150) in view of Strengert et al (US# 2010/0198473).
Regarding claim 2, May further discloses the primary brake control unit 18a is in communication with the secondary brake control unit 18b (figure 1), but lack the disclosure of the first remote data power concentrator transmitting the first command received from the primary brake control unit in response to the primary brake control unit and the secondary brake control unit determining that the primary brake control unit is an active brake control unit. Strengert et al disclose a similar redundant control system and further teach a remote controller 30a configured to receive a first command from a primary brake control unit 28a and a second command from a secondary brake control unit 28b and concentrator transmitting the first command received from the primary brake control unit in response to the primary brake control unit and the secondary brake control unit determining that the primary brake control unit is an active brake control unit. [0068] during normal functioning. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the remote data power concentrator 22a of May to coordinate the control signals of the redundant control units 18a/18b such as taught by Strengert, including transmitting the first command received from the primary brake control unit in response to the primary brake control unit and the secondary brake control unit determining that the primary brake control unit is an active brake control unit, as an obvious means of coordinating the redundant control in a balanced manner.
Regarding claim 9, May further discloses the primary brake control unit 18a is in communication with the secondary brake control unit 18b (figure 1), but lack the disclosure of the first remote data power concentrator transmitting the first command received from the primary brake control unit in response to the primary brake control unit and the secondary brake control unit determining that the primary brake control unit is an active brake control unit. Strengert et al disclose a similar redundant control system and further teach a remote controller 30a configured to receive a first command from a primary brake control unit 28a and a second command from a secondary brake control unit 28b and concentrator transmitting the first command received from the primary brake control unit in response to the primary brake control unit and the secondary brake control unit determining that the primary brake control unit is an active brake control unit. [0068] during normal functioning. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the remote data power concentrator 22a of May to coordinate the control signals of the redundant control units 18a/18b such as taught by Strengert, including transmitting the first command received from the primary brake control unit in response to the primary brake control unit and the secondary brake control unit determining that the primary brake control unit is an active brake control unit, as an obvious means of coordinating the redundant control in a balanced manner.
Regarding claim 10, Strengert et al teach the brake command is the second command received from the secondary brake control unit in response to the secondary brake control unit being the active brake control unit. [0068] when 28a has failed.
Regarding claim 13, Strengert et al teach the first signal identifies the primary brake control unit as an active brake control unit and the second signal identifies the secondary brake control unit as the active brake control unit. [0068] normal operation and signal.
Regarding claim 14, Strengert et at teach the remote data power concentrator receives the second signal in response to an error in the primary brake control unit. [0068] signal that 28a has failed.
Regarding claim 15, May discloses an aircraft, comprising: a landing gear assembly 12a including a wheel 10a ; a brake assembly 14 coupled to the wheel, the brake assembly including: an electric brake actuator 16 configured to apply a braking force to the wheel; a first actuator control 20a configured to send a first command; a second actuator control 20b configured to send a second command; and a remote data power concentrator 22a. May further discloses redundant connection of control units 18a/b to the remote data power concentrator [0032]-[0034], but do not indicate how the redundancy is coordinated. May specifically lacks the disclosure of the remote data power concentrator being configured to receive the first command and the second command and send the first command to the electric brake actuator and ignore the second command in response to a first signal. Strengert et al disclose a similar redundant control system and further teach a remote controller 30a configured to receive a first command and a second command and send the first command to an electric brake actuator and ignore the second command in response to a first signal. [0068] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the remote data power concentrator 22a of May to send the first command to an electric brake actuator and ignore the second command in response to a first signal, as taught by Strengert et al as an obvious means of coordinating the redundant control in a balanced manner.
Regarding claim 16, as modified, the remote data power concentrator 22a is further configured to send the second command to the electric brake actuator and ignore the first command in response to a second signal. Note [0068] of Strengert et al.
Regarding claim 17, as modified, the remote data power concentrator 22a receives the second signal in response to an error received by the first actuator control. [0068] of Strengert et al.
Regarding claim 18, as modified, the first command and the second command are the same, the first signal identifying a primary brake control unit 18a as an active control unit for the electric brake actuator. In normal operation the commands from 18a and 18b should be the same and 18a is primary for 20a/16 and 18b is primary for 20c/16.
Regarding claim 19, May disclose a brake pedal [0033] configured to send a third signal that is an indication of an amount of braking force to apply to the electric brake actuator; a primary brake control unit 18a configured to receive the third signal and send the first command to the first actuator control 20a in response to the third signal; and a secondary brake control unit 18b configured to receive the third signal and send the second command to the second actuator control 20b (via 22a) in response to the third signal.
Regarding claim 20, as modified, the primary brake control unit 18a communicates with the secondary brake control unit 18b to determine an active brake control unit and wherein the primary brake control unit sends the first signal in response to determining that the primary brake control unit is the active brake control unit. [0035]-[0039][0068] of Strengert et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK