DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits, in response to the claims received 5/2/2023. Claims 1-21 are pending for prosecution below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)(s) file on has been considered by the examiner. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,6-12,15-17,19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al, (Ito), (USNO.2015/0015205)
As for claim 1, Ito discloses and shows in Figs. 1-3,5-7 a wall-mountable storage system comprising: wall-mountable storage system comprising: a first storage structure configured to mount to a wall (via ref’s coupling parts), the first storage structure including a modular accessory interface (via ref’s terminals) and an alignment interface (via ref’s engaging parts); and a modular accessory configured to engage with and be supported by the modular accessory interface; wherein the first storage structure is configured to receive power from an external power source (ref’s AC adapter) and output power to the modular accessory (par.[0026-0033,0045]).
As for claim 2, Ito discloses and shows in Figs. 1-3,5-7 the first storage structure is configured to align with a second storage structure, the second storage structure includes charging circuitry configured to charge a battery pack, and
the first storage structure is configured to provide power to the second storage structure (par.[0026-0033,0045])
As for claim 3, Ito discloses and shows in Figs. 1-3,5-7 modular accessory includes a primary charging module electrically connectable to the first storage structure and configured to couple to and charge a power tool battery pack
As for claim 4, Ito discloses and shows in Figs. 6 primary charging module is slidably coupleable to a secondary charging module in a vertical direction, and the primary charging module is configured to provide electrical power from the first storage structure to the secondary charging module (par.0030-0031]).
As for claim 6, Ito discloses and shows in Figs. 6 primary charging module is a first primary charging module, the modular accessory includes a second primary charging module configured to engage with and be supported by a second modular accessory interface of the first storage structure, and the second primary charging module is electrically connected to the first primary charging module.
As for claim 7, Ito discloses and shows in Figs. 6 the second primary charging module is electrically connected to the first primary charging module by a cable
As for claim 8, Ito discloses and shows in Figs. 1-3,5-7 primary charging module is a dual bay charging module configured to charge two power tool battery packs
As for claim 9, Ito discloses and shows in Figs. 6,7 removed from the first storage structure, the primary charging module is coupleable to a modular accessory interface of a tool box
As for claim 10, Ito discloses and shows in Figs. 6,7 he modular accessory includes a power tool including a battery, and the first storage structure is configured to charge the battery via the modular accessory interface.
As for claim 11, Ito discloses and shows in Figs. 6,7 modular accessory includes a power tool storage accessory configured to support and charge a power tool
As for claim 12, Ito discloses and shows in Fig. 3 modular accessory includes a shelving unit (via ref’s pockets) including one or more shelves and integrated charging circuitry, the shelving unit configured to receive electrical power from the first storage structure and output electrical power to a power tool
battery pack using the integrated charging circuitry (par.[0026-0033,0045])
As for claim 15, Ito discloses and shows in Figs. 1-3,5-7 a wall-mountable storage system comprising: a first storage structure configured to mount to a wall (via ref’s coupling parts), the first storage structure including integrated charging circuitry (via ref’s charging input part), a battery pack interface configured to charge a battery pack, and an alignment interface (via ref’s engaging parts); wherein the second storage structure is configured to receive power from an external power source (ref’s AC adapter) and output power to a modular accessory (par.[0026-0033,0045]).
As for claim 16, Ito discloses and shows in Figs. 3-4 the battery pack interface includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a first battery pack interface configured to engage with a battery pack of a first voltage and a second battery pack interface configured to engage with a battery pack of a second voltage, wherein the first voltage is different from the second voltage
As for claim 17, Ito discloses the battery pack interface is configured to selectively charge a battery pack of a first voltage and a battery pack of a second voltage, wherein the first voltage is different from the second voltage (par.[0044]).
As for claim 19, Ito discloses and shows in Fig. 6 the first storage structure includes an alternating current power output port. (via AC socket)(par.[0045])
As for claim 20, Ito discloses and shows in Fig.6 the first storage structure includes a shelf.
As for claim 21, Ito discloses and shows in Fig. 6 the wall is at least one selected from a group consisting of a wall of a building, a wall of vehicle, a wall of a trailer, a wall of a tool box (via ref’s carrying case).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Van Der Linde et al, (Van Der Linde), (USNO.2015/0041464)
As for claim 13, Ito discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a shelving unit includes a work light configured to receive electrical power from at least one selected from a group consisting of the first storage structure and a power tool battery pack
Van Der Linde discloses a shelving unit includes a work light configured to receive electrical power from at least one selected from a group consisting of the first storage structure and a power tool battery pack (par.[0063])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Ito by using a shelving unit includes a work light configured to receive electrical power from at least one selected from a group consisting of the first storage structure and a power tool battery pack for advantages such as providing user convenience (par.[0041]), as taught by Van Der Linde.
Claim(s) 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Wong et al, (Wong), (USNO.2015/0253818).
As for claims 14 and 18, Ito discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a wall least one selected from a group consisting of a wall of a building, a wall of vehicle. Furthermore, differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose first storage structure includes a universal serial bus port.
Wong discloses and shows in Fig.5 a wall least one selected from a group consisting of a wall of a building, a wall of vehicle. Furthermore, Wong discloses first storage structure includes a universal serial bus (ref’s connectors; Fig. 6) (par.[0060])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of Ito by using a wall least one selected from a group consisting of a wall of a building, a wall of vehicle. Furthermore, differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose first storage structure includes a universal serial bus port for advantages such as providing user device accessibility (par.[0060]), as taught by Wong.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the secondary charging module includes a foldable leg configured to support the secondary charging module against a wall., in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claims
Contact Information
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859