DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. The amendment filed December 22, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-42 are still pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-8, 10, 17, 18, 23, 25, 27, 29, 31, 34, 36, 37, 39, 40 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boehm et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0052990 A1, hereinafter "Boehm").
Regarding Claim 1, Boehm teaches an apparatus for audio signal transformation (device for applying DRC gain factors to a HOA signal, Fig. 8, Para. [0050]), comprising:
a determination unit (a processor or one or more processing elements of device for applying DRC gain factors to a HOA signal, Para. [0050]) configured for determining, using spherical harmonics information, a transformation rule (gain factors, an iDSHT used with a transform matrix obtained from spherical positions of virtual loudspeakers and quadrature gains q, Para. [0050]) for transforming an audio input signal within a first domain, being different from a spherical harmonics domain (for transforming HOA signal into the spatial domain [first domain] different from the spherical harmonics domain, Para. [0050]), and
a transformation unit (a processor or one or more processing elements of device for applying DRC gain factors to a HOA signal, Para. [0050]) configured for transforming, using the transformation rule, the audio input signal, being represented in the first domain, to acquire a transformed audio signal being represented in the first domain (HOA signal is converted into the spatial domain using iDSHT with a transform matrix obtained from spherical positions of virtual loudspeakers and quadrature gains q, and then transformed in the spatial domain by multiplying with the gain factors to obtain a dynamic range compressed transformed HOA signal, Para. [0050]),
wherein the spherical harmonics information comprises information on a plurality of spherical harmonics and/or comprises information being represented in the spherical harmonics domain (an iDSHT is used with a transform matrix obtained from spherical positions of virtual loudspeakers and quadrature gains q, Para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 2, Boehm teaches wherein the audio input signal and the transformed audio signal are represented in the first domain, being a spatial domain, which is different from the spherical harmonics domain (the HOA input signal is represented in the spatial domain, Para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 3, Boehm teaches wherein the first domain is an equivalent spatial domain (the HOA input signal is represented in the equivalent spatial domain, Para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 4, Boehm teaches wherein the transformation rule comprises transformation information, wherein the transformation information comprises one or more transformation matrices and/or a plurality of transformation vectors and/or a plurality of coefficients for transforming the audio input signal, being represented in the first domain to acquire the transformed audio signal, being represented in the first domain (gain factors, an iDSHT used with a transform matrix obtained from spherical positions of virtual loudspeakers and quadrature gains q, Para. [0050]),
wherein the transformation information depends on the plurality of spherical harmonics (gain factors, an iDSHT used with a transform matrix obtained from spherical positions of virtual loudspeakers and quadrature gains q, Para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 5, Boehm teaches wherein the transformation information depends on transformation information for transforming audio content in the spherical harmonics domain (gain factors, an iDSHT used with a transform matrix obtained from spherical positions of virtual loudspeakers and quadrature gains q, Para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 6, Boehm teaches wherein the transformation information for transforming audio content in the spherical harmonics domain comprises one or more transformation matrices and/or a plurality of transformation vectors and/or a plurality of coefficients for transforming the audio content in the spherical harmonics domain (gain factors, an iDSHT used with a transform matrix obtained from spherical positions of virtual loudspeakers and quadrature gains q, Para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 7, Boehm teaches wherein the determination unit is configured to determine the transformation rule such that the transformation rule is configured to implement a spatial rotation of the audio input signal within the first domain (transformation rule is configured to implement a spatial rotation; gain factors, an iDSHT used with a transform matrix obtained from spherical positions of virtual loudspeakers and quadrature gains q, Para. [0050]), and
wherein the transformation unit is configured to transform, using the transformation rule, the audio input signal, being represented in the first domain, by conducting the spatial rotation of the audio input signal in the first domain to acquire the transformed audio signal being represented in the first domain (spatial rotation is conducted when HOA signal is converted into the spatial domain using iDSHT with a transform matrix obtained from spherical positions of virtual loudspeakers and quadrature gains q, and then transformed in the spatial domain by multiplying with the gain factors to obtain a dynamic range compressed transformed HOA signal, Para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 8, Boehm teaches wherein the determination unit is configured to determine the transformation rule by determining a rotation matrix or a plurality of rotation vectors or a plurality of coefficients of the rotation matrix within the spherical harmonics domain (transformation rule determines a rotation matrix; gain factors, an iDSHT used with a transform matrix obtained from spherical positions of virtual loudspeakers and quadrature gains q, Para. [0050]), and by converting the rotation matrix of the plurality of rotation vectors or the plurality of coefficients of the rotation matrix from the spherical harmonics domain into the first domain (HOA signal is converted into the spatial domain using iDSHT with a transform matrix obtained from spherical positions of virtual loudspeakers and quadrature gains q, and then transformed in the spatial domain by multiplying with the gain factors to obtain a dynamic range compressed transformed HOA signal, Para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 10, Boehm teaches wherein the determination unit is configured to transform the plurality of spatial directions to acquire a plurality of transformed directions of the first domain (an iDSHT used with a transform matrix obtained from spherical positions of virtual loudspeakers and quadrature gains q, Para. [0050]), and
wherein the determination unit is configured to determine the transformation rule such that the transformation rule depends on information on the plurality of spherical harmonics for the plurality of transformed directions (an iDSHT used with a transform matrix obtained from spherical positions of virtual loudspeakers and quadrature gains q, Para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 17, Boehm teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to receive a transformation input (device for applying DRC gain factors to a HOA signal, the device comprising a processor or one or more processing elements adapted for receiving a HOA signal and one or more gain factors, Para. [0050]),
wherein the determination unit is configured to determine the transformation rule for transforming an audio input signal within the first domain depending on the transformation input (transformation rule is dependent on received HOA signal and gain factors, Para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 18, Boehm teaches wherein the transformation rule comprises a first transformation matrix (an iDSHT, Para. [0050]),
wherein the determination unit is configured to determine a further transformation rule comprising a further transformation matrix (transform matrix obtained from spherical positions of virtual loudspeakers and quadrature gains q, Para. [0050]), and
wherein the determination unit is configured to determine an interpolated transformation matrix by interpolating between the first transformation matrix and the further transformation matrix (HOA signal is converted into the spatial domain using iDSHT with a transform matrix obtained from spherical positions of virtual loudspeakers and quadrature gains q, Para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 23, Boehm teaches an apparatus for audio signal transformation (device for applying DRC gain factors to a HOA signal, Fig. 8, Para. [0050]), comprising:
a first conversion unit (a processor or one or more processing elements of device for applying DRC gain factors to a HOA signal, Para. [0050]) configured for converting an audio input signal from a first domain into an equivalent spatial domain (transforming HOA signal into the spatial domain [equivalent spatial domain], Para. [0050]), wherein the first domain is different from the equivalent spatial domain (HOA domain is different from the equivalent spatial domain, Para. [0050]),
a transformation unit (a processor or one or more processing elements of device for applying DRC gain factors to a HOA signal, Para. [0050]) configured for transforming the audio input signal, being represented in the equivalent spatial domain, depending on a transformation rule within the equivalent spatial domain to acquire a transformed audio signal, being represented in the equivalent spatial domain (HOA signal is converted into the equivalent spatial domain using iDSHT with a transform matrix obtained from spherical positions of virtual loudspeakers and quadrature gains q, and then transformed in the equivalent spatial domain by multiplying with the gain factors to obtain a dynamic range compressed transformed HOA signal, Para. [0050]), and
a second conversion unit (a processor or one or more processing elements of device for applying DRC gain factors to a HOA signal, Para. [0050]) for converting the transformed audio signal from the equivalent spatial domain into the first domain (the transformed equivalent spatial domain audio signal is converted back into the HOA domain, Para. [0050]).
Regarding Claim 25, it is similarly rejected as Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 27, it is similarly rejected as Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 29, it is similarly rejected as Claim 17.
Regarding Claim 31, it is similarly rejected as Claim 18.
Regarding Claim 34, it is similarly rejected as Claim 1. The decoder can be found in Boehm (Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 36, it is similarly rejected as Claim 23. The decoder can be found in Boehm (Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 37, it is similarly rejected as Claim 1. The method can be found in Boehm (Para. [0049]).
Regarding Claim 39, it is similarly rejected as Claim 23. The method can be found in Boehm (Para. [0049]).
Regarding Claim 40, it is similarly rejected as Claim 1. The non-transitory digital storage medium can be found in Boehm (Para. [0051]).
Regarding Claim 42, it is similarly rejected as Claim 23. The non-transitory digital storage medium can be found in Boehm (Para. [0051]).
4. Claims 20-22, 24, 26, 28, 32, 35, 38, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0104493 A1, hereinafter "Kim").
Regarding Claim 20, Kim teaches an apparatus for audio signal transformation (audio encoder 900 and audio decoder 920, Figs. 30 and 31, Paras. [323] and [0342]), comprising:
a first conversion unit (first conversion unit 924, Fig. 31) configured for converting an audio input signal from a first domain into a spherical harmonics domain, wherein the first domain is different from the spherical harmonics domain (first conversion unit 924 converts the 3 transmitted audio signals 905 from the spatial domain [first domain] into the spherical harmonics domain 915, Fig. 31, Paras. [0342] - [0357]),
a transformation unit (transformation unit 926, Fig. 31) configured for transforming the audio input signal, being represented in the spherical harmonics domain, depending on a transformation rule within the spherical harmonics domain to acquire a transformed audio signal, being represented in the spherical harmonics domain (transformation unit 926 transforms the audio signal 915 represented in the spherical harmonic domain based on the transformation information 913 within the spherical harmonic domain to acquire a transformed audio signal 903, Fig. 31, Paras. [0342] - [0357]), and
a second conversion unit (second conversion unit 914, Fig. 30) for converting the transformed audio signal from the spherical harmonics domain into the first domain (second conversion unit 914 transforms the transformed spherical harmonics domain signal 915 into spatial audio domain signal 905, Fig. 30, Paras. [0323] - [0332]).
Regarding Claim 21, Kim teaches wherein the first domain is a spatial domain, which is different from the spherical harmonics domain (first conversion unit 924 converts the 3 transmitted audio signals 905 from the spatial domain [first domain] into the spherical harmonics domain 915, Fig. 31, Paras. [0342] - [0357]).
Regarding Claim 22, Kim teaches wherein the first domain is an equivalent spatial domain (first conversion unit 924 converts the 3 transmitted audio signals 905 from the spatial domain [first equivalent spatial domain] into the spherical harmonics domain 915, Fig. 31, Paras. [0342] - [0357]).
Regarding Claim 24, Kim teaches wherein the transformation rule comprises transformation information, wherein the transformation information comprises one or more transformation matrices and/or a plurality of transformation vectors and/or a plurality of coefficients for transforming the audio input signal, being represented in the first domain to acquire the transformed audio signal (inverse rotation angle parameter 913 [transformation information], Fig. 31, Para. [0346]).
Regarding Claim 26, Kim teaches wherein the transformation rule is configured to implement a spatial rotation of the audio input signal (transformation rule 913 is used to perform rotation on the input signal 915, Fig. 31, Para. [0346]), and
wherein the transformation unit is configured to transform, using the transformation rule, the audio input signal by conducting the spatial rotation of the audio input signal (transformation unit 926 may perform a rotation in accordance with the rotation matrix based on the inverse rotation angle parameter 913, Fig. 31 Para. [0346]).
Regarding Claim 28, Kim teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to receive a transformation input (receives transformation input 913, Fig. 31),
wherein the transformation unit is configured for transforming an audio input signal depending on the transformation input (transformation unit 926 transforms the audio signal 915 based on the transformation information 913, Fig. 31, Paras. [0342] - [0357]).
Regarding Claim 32, Kim teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to perform a binauralization processing to the transformed audio signal, being represented in the first domain, to acquire a binaural output (audio signal transformation using a mobile device to create realistic binaural output (Para. [0433]).
Regarding Claim 35, it is similarly rejected as Claim 20.
Regarding Claim 38, it is similarly rejected as Claim 20. The method can be found in Kim (Paras. [0363] - [0410]).
Regarding Claim 41, it is similarly rejected as Claim 20. The non-transitory digital storage medium can be found in Kim (Para. [0363]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 9, 19, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boehm et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0052990 A1, hereinafter "Boehm") in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0104493 A1, hereinafter "Kim").
Regarding Claim 9, Boehm fails to explicitly teach wherein the determination unit is configured to determine the transformation rule by determining a rotation matrix or a plurality of rotation vectors or a plurality of coefficients of the rotation matrix directly within the first domain without converting rotation information from the spherical harmonics domain into the first domain.
However, Kim teaches wherein the determination unit is configured to determine the transformation rule by determining a rotation matrix without converting rotation information from the spherical harmonics domain into the first domain (soundfield analysis unit 910 is used to obtain rotation angle parameter 911 without converting rotation information from the spherical harmonics domain into the first domain, Fig. 30, Para. [0324]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the audio signal transformation apparatus (as taught by Boehm) to include determining a rotation matrix without converting rotation information from the spherical harmonics domain into the first domain (as taught by Kim). Doing so will lead to less computation and improved efficiency.
Regarding Claim 19, Boehm fails to explicitly teach wherein the apparatus is configured to perform a binauralization processing to the transformed audio signal, being represented in the first domain, to acquire a binaural output.
However, Kim teaches audio signal transformation using a mobile device to create realistic binaural output (Para. [0433]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the audio signal transformation apparatus (as taught by Boehm) to include binauralization processing to the transformed audio signal in the first domain to acquire a binaural output (as taught by Kim). Doing so will provide a highly realistic sound experience (Kim Para. [0433]).
Regarding Claim 33, it is similarly rejected as claim 19.
7. Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0104493 A1, hereinafter "Kim") in view of Boehm et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0052990 A1, hereinafter "Boehm").
Regarding Claim 30, Kim fails to explicitly teach wherein the transformation unit is configured to determine an interpolated transformation matrix by interpolating between the first transformation matrix and the further transformation matrix.
However, Boehm teaches wherein the transformation unit is configured to determine an interpolated transformation matrix by interpolating between the first transformation matrix and the further transformation matrix (HOA signal is converted into the spatial domain using iDSHT with a transform matrix obtained from spherical positions of virtual loudspeakers and quadrature gains q, Para. [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the audio signal transformation apparatus (as taught by Kim) to include interpolating between the first transformation matrix and the further transformation matrix (as taught by Boehm). Doing so will lead to improved computational efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 11-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed December 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent Claim 1, applicant argues (see applicant’s remark, pages 18-21), Boehm clear outlines: ... receiving a HOA signal and one or more gain factors, transforming 40 the HOA signal into the spatial domain ... In other words an HOA signal, which is by definition represented in the Higher Order Ambisonics (HOA) domain, is to be transformed from that Higher Order Ambisonics domain to the spatial domain. In contrast, claim 1 defines: transformation rule for transforming an audio input signal within a first domain ...
In response to applicant’s argument above, Boehm teaches HOA audio signal transformed into the spatial domain [mapped as the first domain different from a spherical harmonics domain] and the spatial domain undergoes transformation by multiplying with gain factors to obtain a dynamic range compressed signal [i.e. a gain based transform still within the spatial domain] (see Figs. 7 and 8, Paras. [0012], and [0045]-[0050]).
Independent Claims 1, 23, 34, 36, 37, 39, 40, and 42 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Boehm.
The rejections of Claims 1, 23, 34, 36, 37, 39, 40, and 42 under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Boehm are maintained.
Dependent Claims 2-8, 10, 17, and 18 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Boehm.
The rejections of Claims 2-8, 10, 17, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Boehm are maintained.
Dependent Claims 9, 19, and 33 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boehm in view of Kim.
The rejections of Claims 9, 19, and 33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boehm in view of Kim are maintained.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jax et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0155653 A1) teaches representing spatial audio scenes using higher-order Ambisonics HOA technology. Magariyachi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0007783 A1) teaches an audio processing device with a matrix generation unit which generates a vector for each time-frequency with a head-related transfer function obtained by spherical harmonic transform by spherical harmonics.
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIMEZIE EZERIWE BEKEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691